Northeast Collection Bureau CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
08/11/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Threatened to contact someone or share information improperly
  • Talked to a third-party about your debt
  • CA
  • 92505
Web
On XXXX XXXX 2017 @ XXXX, a woman contacted a family member & informed my relative that she is calling to speak to me regarding " a legal matter that we have in our office. It is important she contacts us right away ''. That woman gave no regards to my relative requesting she contact me herself directly at the number provided. When asked for the company name, phone and her name ... she did not provide the company name or her name, but only provided the phone number for me to contact. She then ended the call giving no other opportunity for my relative to ask for her name & company name once again. On XXXX XXXX 2017 @ XXXX, I received a call on my wireless phone from a number located in XXXX XXXX , FL XXXX w/ no voice message left. However, the number that appeared on my wireless phone is the same contact my relative was given so I returned the call @ XXXX using that info provided. A male individual named " XXXX XXXX '' stated to me, " unless specific details was given to you or a message was left, disregard the call as I am not able to assist you ''. As soon as I ended that call, my employer was receiving a call @ XXXX from the same phone number. The receptionist greeted the inbound call accordingly stating the company name, and " XXXX XXXX '' proceeded to state " this call is in regards to the pending legal case we have in our office for XXXX ''. " XXXX XXXX '' disregarded the fact that he contacted me at my place of my employment even after the company was disclosed. All representatives involved in this situation from this company, XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, violated my privacy rights under the Federal Consumer Rights Act. As well as, prior to the rounds of calls placed in one day, no written correspondence was sent to me on any level ( via email or ground mail ). This company has a valid address to send correspondence to reach me at, which would allow me to respond accordingly. But instead opted to handle the matter by calling other parties unaffiliated to the matter on hand. Upon requesting for proof to validate call made concerning this " pending legal matter '', On XXXX XXXX @ XXXX, I received a correspondence via email from NCB with no signature or title of the person who the correspondence is from
12/02/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • AZ
  • 850XX
Web Servicemember
On XXXX XXXX, 2015 I received a call from the phone number XXXX. The phone call did not feature a " live '' conversation- that is, I did not speak with a human being. The only message I received was " Hello. We are calling about a pre-legal matter. If you have retained an attorney, have them call us at XXXX. Thank you. '' I called the number back immediately after the call disconnected and received a message of " Hello. NO one is available to take your call. Leave a message and someone *may* return your call as soon as possible. '' There was no identification of who the company was, nor was there an option to speak with someone. I researched the number in question and found the company to be a company named the " Northeast Collection Bureau. '' I do not have currently, nor have I ever had in my possession any documentation from this company proving any kind of debt. I am offended by their attempts to contact and feel that, the nature of their phone call ( " this is a legal matter, you will have your attorney call us immediately '' ) is both harassment and extremely threatening. I WILL NOT BE THREATENED BY A COMPANY THAT IS TOO LAZY TO PROVIDE PROOF OF THE EXISTENCE OF A DEBT.
10/07/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • GA
  • 300XX
Web
I have received numerous phone calls to my cell phone ( XXXX ) from XXXX ; sometimes, 2-3 calls back to back in one day. The number will ask you to press XXXX to speak with someone ; however, no one is ever available to take the call. Today ; I was called, yet again and this time XXXX XXXX answered after selectingXXXX, I advised I had no knowledge of the bill stated owed XXXX, he advised I needed to look it up on the internet to find out. I asked him to no longer contact me. He stated he would contact me at a later date. The repetitive phone calls to my cell phone are harassing, and should be covered under the TCPA. Since Northeast Collection XXXX is n't able to provide any details to the bill, yet continue to harass me, I request a cease and desist before I move forward with legal action. A written request has also been sent XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX NY XXXXEvery call received ( answered and missed ) is documented and printed, including the voice mail messages left.
05/14/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • ND
  • 581XX
Web
I keep getting a class from a number who says I owe a debt for a bank account. When I tried finding out information about the debt the man that I spoke to was rude and literally hung up on me, all he said is it was a bank account and would n't give me any details as far as amounts. A few days later I received another call and was hung up on because I explained I was n't comfortable giving out my personal information ( including my social security ). They refused to give me any information, including giving me their mailing address to verify that they are a legit organization so I can verify if the debt was mine. I tried researching them to on-line and I was n't able to find anything based on the phone number they called from.
08/31/2016 No
  • Other financial service
  • Refund anticipation check
  • Fraud or scam
  • VA
  • 24503
Web
A scheme attempted to obtain money by false pretense. The scheme blackmailed a consumer through the consumer financial protection bureau website on XXXX XXXX, 2016 at XXXX XXXX. That is apparent money laundering scheme. The scheme claimed that there was no call placed. The FTC Do Not Call Registry affidavit or transcript must be transparent. The consumer already got confirmation by the FTC., which would help deter time wasting and resource embezzlement that would harm the liaison and the cfpb examination process which in the long run would result in conflict of interest and procurement fraud. Someone got away with identity theft and bilking. It implies that XXXX is at harm in bogus tax refund.
09/09/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • CA
  • 958XX
Web
Someone named XXXX XXXX calling from XXXX has called me and family members. This person is very aggressive in tone. He has left threatening messages. I have no idea why this person is calling me, and more importantly he and this company are not following the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. The first couple of times he called he did not leave identifiable company information. He calls after hours, and he calls family members, and friends. I have tried repeatedly to contact this individual/company, and I only reach an unidentifiable voice mail box. The number they call from and leave for me to call back is XXXX XXXX.
01/27/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • NY
  • 112XX
Web
On XXXX XXXX, XXXX @ XXXX XXXX I received a call from XXXX ( Northeast Collection Bureau ) asking to collect a medical debt ( {$700.00} ) for my daughter who 's a minor. They said she visited the XXXX XXXX on XXXX XXXX, XXXX. They had my full name and the last XXXX digits of my social security. They could n't provide me with an account no., physician name and the reason for the visit to the hospital. Since they refused to give me any information, I refuse to give them any information of myself. I hung up my phone and called my child 's insurance company and I was told that there is no outstanding bills.
12/28/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • ID
  • 836XX
Web
Northeast Collection Bureau repeatedly calls, from varying phone numbers, giving different names, always with a harassing tone, claiming they have a debt that needs paying. They refuse to name the original creditor or the amount owed. Currently do not have any debt in collections associated with this company. They have been told repeatedly to cease calling. Ignored. I 've researched the company name online, and found many complaints that they are a scam agency, scaring people into paying them, and that many of their targets had to get legal counsel or police involved to stop the harassment.
03/19/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened to sue on too old debt
  • CA
  • 945XX
Web
Have been getting call from NORTHEAST COLLECTION BUREAU claiming that I owe {$650.00} to XXXX XXXX XXXX ( NJ ) where I lived before ( 9 Years Back ). I have repeatedly asking them to send the details of bill and they ask me to contact the XXXX XXXX XXXX directly, giving me the reference number XXXX. I contacted them but they could not trace the details. Today they have threatened me for legal action, if I do not settle the bill. I have paid a settled amount of {$470.00}. I am not able to verify the credibility of this debt company and not sure if these charges are valid
06/08/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Communication tactics
  • Used obscene/profane/abusive language
  • GA
  • 302XX
Web
I received a call from Northeast Collection Bureau about a debt with XXXX XXXX. The company did not leave a message and when I called back the guy as very rude. I asked for the name of the company he was giving partial information. When I hung up the phone, the guy called me back still being rude. When I asked for the address of the company, he stated " why so you can send a cease and desist because you ca n't pay your bills '' then hung up. This company did not send me any letter in the mail or nothing. This my first time hearing about this company.
01/21/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened to sue on too old debt
  • MO
  • 631XX
Web
I have never heard from or of this company and this message was left on my voicemail : We have made several attempts to get in contact with you regarding the pre legal matter We suggest you do not ignore this notice press 1 to speak to an associate now or contact this office immediately at XXXX if you have retained the services of an attorney you may have your counsel contact this office on your behalf this communication is from a debt collector. This is an attempt to collect a debt any information obtained will be used for that purpose.
12/29/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • AR
  • 720XX
Web Servicemember
On XX/XX/XXXX I received a phone call at my place of employment from a XXXX XXXX calling from XXXX ( northeast Collection Bureau ). He stated that my file was bought by them and am currently {$3000.00} in debt, but that is not the amount I was told in XX/XX/XXXX. In the month of XX/XX/XXXX I was told {$1200.00}.
07/22/2017 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • GA
Web
The company Ncb has been calling me about making a payment for a loan that I did n't apply for. The amount is {$3900.00}. I would like this issue resolve because it 's lowering my credit score tremendously. The phone calls started in XX/XX/XXXX and have been done on a daily basis ; several times a day.
02/19/2016 Yes
  • Bank account or service
  • Other bank product/service
  • Account opening, closing, or management
  • CA
  • 951XX
Web
I was called about an amount of {$260.00} that I owed to the bank XXXX XXXX from this number ( XXXX ) XXXX I made payment of the amount of XXXX from XX/XX/XXXX to XX/XX/XXXX I was expected and told to get up paper received in the confirmation of my payment for this account I never have gotten it
10/05/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • MI
  • 494XX
Web Older American
This agency continues to call even after I have explained XXXX times - XXXX messages and XXXX direct connection - that this number no longer belongs to the person they are seeking. My phone service identifies the number as Northwestern Debt Collectors. XXXX
06/18/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • IL
  • 604XX
Web
We keep getting calls from an agency. When call them back to find out about the debit, I am told they do n't have a record of my number and they will take me off the list. The calls have not stopped and I have called them several times with the same result.
05/18/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • MI
  • 481XX
Web
I keep getting harrassing collection calls on my cell phone for someone I have never met and when I tried to call the company to correct this i got a very profain recorded message and then they hang up. The only thing I know is thier phone number is XXXX.
06/12/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • GA
  • 301XX
Web
I have provided proof that the debt was paid previously, it appears the debt was passed on to another collection agency and the payment not noted. I continue to be called and have a log of those calls.
07/09/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened arrest/jail if do not pay
  • PA
  • 173XX
Web
Keep calling my phone and job threaten with legal action also arrest
04/14/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened arrest/jail if do not pay
  • GA
  • 303XX
Web
Phone calls harassing to sue me and/or send me court and jail.
07/25/2017 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened or suggested your credit would be damaged
  • NY
  • 11208
Phone
11/08/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • ND
  • 580XX
Phone
08/22/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Talked to a third party about my debt
  • VA
  • 24503
Web
06/02/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • Used obscene/profane/abusive language
  • LA
  • 70055
Phone Older American
01/21/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • MI
  • 48390
Web
01/15/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • GA
  • 30068
Phone
12/02/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • GA
  • 30062
Web
11/18/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • FL
  • 34769
Web
11/06/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • DC
  • 200XX
Web
09/03/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • MN
  • 554XX
Web
08/16/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • NJ
  • 07002
Web
07/20/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • GA
  • 30102
Web
06/13/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Right to dispute notice not received
  • CA
  • 92115
Web Servicemember
01/26/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Communication tactics
  • Threatened to take legal action
  • TX
  • 77033
Web
01/14/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • GA
  • 30066
Web Servicemember
01/05/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • WI
  • 53225
Web
12/30/2014 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Contacted me instead of my attorney
  • MD
  • 210XX
Web Older American
12/16/2014 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • AZ
  • 85086
Web
10/28/2014 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Talked to a third party about my debt
  • MD
  • 210XX
Web
09/10/2014 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Talked to a third party about my debt
  • FL
  • 33811
Web
09/02/2014 No
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Talked to a third party about my debt
  • NY
  • 14226
Web
09/02/2014 No
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Contacted me after I asked not to
  • NY
  • 14226
Web
09/02/2014 No
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Contacted me after I asked not to
  • NY
  • 14220
Web
06/26/2014 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • CA
  • 92675
Web
05/08/2014 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened arrest/jail if do not pay
  • AZ
  • 85286
Web
01/23/2014 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened to sue on too old debt
  • AZ
  • 85249
Web