Nationwide Debt Reduction Services, LLC CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
08/07/2018 Yes
  • Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service
  • Debt settlement
  • Confusing or misleading advertising or marketing
  • MD
  • 214XX
Web
My daughter called me to inform me that we received an official looking letter in the mail addressed to me that looked to be from a bank or financial institution and that it looked important. I asked her to open it and let me know what it was, and as she read it off to me, it appeared to be a threatening sounding letter from a debt collector trying to resolve an outstanding debt. After she read it to me, i asked her who its was from and she couldn't figure it out. I told her not to worry because we didn't owe anyone, and that it must be a mistake. When i got home I looked at it and determined that it was a misleading scam advertisement from Nationwide Debt Reduction Services that was sent to me because I simply have revolving debt, not because i have any debt that needs to be settled. I have outstanding credit, but this letter is written is such a way as to suggest that failure to call them within 10 days will suffer major financial hardship. I was able to figure it out, but it tricked and scared my daughter, and certainly would scare others into calling them. It is an outrageous and deceptive attempt to use fear to incite people into calling them. If this isn't illegal, it should be. Its simply wrong and should be stopped.
07/29/2019 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit repair services
  • Fraud or scam
  • PA
Web
One year ago I was contacted by a Debt Repair Service telling me that in three years my Credit Card debt would be taken care of if I spent so much money per month. I should have know in he very beginning it was a scam. My name was never correct, the Creditors could not find my information, I requested a paper contract so I could see what the exactly to expect and to have actually something in writing. I never signed anything the agent did it all and I still remember his name because I told him twice make sure you do not put my nickname on that. Guess what he did .... I was paying {$300.00} a month for over a year for this I asked every month problem to please send me hard copies so I can see what is happening and how this really works since no one seemed to be able to answer me. I was sued by XXXX, XXXX and all XXXX XXXX could find was a payment for {$190.00}. In one year I paid XXXX and nothing but {$190.00}. was paid out. Now I have to file bankruptsy to get out from under this mess. I have asked them repeatedly to give me that money back or at least {$3000.00} of it sinced they did nothing but get me into a bigger mess. I want that money, what they did was not right and now has cost me my retirement.
09/05/2018 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit repair services
  • Fraud or scam
  • VA
  • 220XX
Web
Ever since XX/XX/2018, I have been charged monthly by National Debt Reduction Services around the XXXX of each month with {$270.00}. During the initial interview prior to charging me, they informed me that they will work with some of the companies that I have current debt with ( XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, and XXXX XXXX ) to help significantly reduce the debt I owe them. They initially guaranteed that after 90 days, I would start seeing my debt from one of the companies become lower. However, it has been already 5 months, and instead of going lower, my debt has increased exponentially ( one of them has even doubled ). I also started receiving harassing calls from debt collectors on a daily basis ( sometimes even 4x a day ). I contacted them about this issue on XX/XX/2018 and they suddenly disclosed to me that they were waiting to reach a threshold amount so that they can begin negotiations with one of the companies, and that they are currently in negotiation with one of them. I am able to see my debt balance online with them, and I do not see this being reflected. I am highly suspicious that this may be a scam, so I would like Consumer Financial Protection Bureau to investigate further.
11/15/2019 No
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit repair services
  • Fraud or scam
  • NY
  • 112XX
Web
I have an issue with an Automobile company and as a result my financial situation took a turn for the worst, so I tried this company Nationwide Debt Reduction Services ( NDRS ) and this Debt Consolidation company was supposed to help me pay down my debt and try to restore some of my credit whiles I figure out my next step. I paid this company for over a year and a half to resolve my debt but, when I asked for some form of receipt showing that the debts were being paid off I was met with hostility or no response. I tried to reach out to several departments within this organization in order to obtain pertinent information that I could furnish to the credit card companies and also, to upload to the dispute department for credit scores to show that certain debts were paid off, to no avail my money was stolen by this company with no remorse and to date I have no proof of any debt being paid. It does not reflect on my credit score that any of these debts were paid off and by debts I mean 6 in total were supposed to be paid but I have nothing except my bank statements to show that the money 's were being deducted from my account by this company.
02/20/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • KY
Web
I have been trying to resolve a payoff balance and speaking to employee XXXX ( last name refused ) at XXXX. Last communication XXXX/XXXX/19, XXXX with no response. On Wed XX/XX//19 he and I agreed on a payoff balance of {$5300.00} and he would send a written agreement to confirm. After not re ceiving the agreement I called back and spoke to XXXX ( last name refused ) on XXXX/XXXX/19 XXXX XXXX in Customer Service Dept. she informed me XXXX misinformed me because an additional fee to payoff my balance would be {$2500.00} in addition to the {$5300.00} I have pending payments of {$500.00} + {$2100.00} which will add to my current payment {$2600.00} = {$5300.00}, I was suggestive to personal insults by XXXX
05/09/2018 Yes
  • Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service
  • Debt settlement
  • Confusing or misleading advertising or marketing
  • IN
  • 463XX
Web
Misleading Debt settlement notice from XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX, XXXX TX XXXX asks the consumer to contact our offices at XXXX within 10 days of receiving this notice. They assume that you have a outstanding credit balance and use the phrase **Failure to Call ** ominously highlighted in the middle of the page as a scare tactic. If you read past the middle of the page, the fine print explains that the example savings of over 40 % is Based on a single consumer situation who completed the entire program ... results from 2011 and that program fees are separate and not included in the example.
05/21/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • CA
  • 94131
Web
Nationwide Debt Reduction Services, XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX, XXXX, TX XXXX, uses deceptive business practices. They sent me a vague, threatening letter about how I owe them money. According to my annual financial report, I have XXXX outstanding debt. This letter is a scam to get me to call them. This company is not even accredited with the XXXX XXXX XXXX and there are many complaints about them and I'm sure those complaints don't even scratch the surface. I do not ever want them to contact me again. Nationwide Debt Reduction Services, you just wasted my entire morning and should be shut down.
08/16/2019 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit repair services
  • Problem with customer service
  • PA
  • 170XX
Web
I have been trying to cancel my service with nationwide debt reduction services for the past week. Every time I call in to cancel they won't provide a direct phone # for the cancellation department. They say they can only transfer me directly and than the phone disconnects. They force me to leave messages that are never returned. I am being sued by a credit card company because of nationwide debt reduction services. I just want to cancel the service and they are making it almost impossible for me cancel this service
11/18/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • NY
Web
I received a notice titled " Credit Settlement '' instructing me to pay {$510.00} a month to a company called Nationwide Debt Collection Services LLC XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX TX XXXX XXXX for {$33000.00} in credit card debt. It claims to be a settlement of debt from various credit card companies. I believe this is totally bogus and I have no such debt so I do not plan to respond. I'm concerned that others might be taken in by this and ripped off so I am notifying you. The notice is XXXX Dated XX/XX/2018.
03/13/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • KY
Web
I received a call on XX/XX/19 from a angry woman. This is HARASSMENT. I was never told orally or in writing I had the right to earn interest on my funds deposited. 2 ) I had the right to withdraw any of my funds on deposit at anytime without penalty. 3 ) The Nationwide Debt Reduction Administrator is not affiliated with them at all. This. Ocompany continues to call and harass me without providing me any of my requests for an account payment history and account audits.
06/15/2019 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit repair services
  • Confusing or misleading advertising or marketing
Web
I received information from Nationwide Debt Reduction Services , LLC concerning reducing my credit card balances, ,but i am not sure who these people represent. Are they real or just out to scam me out of my money? I have not contacted them or given them any of my information. Can you help me out?? Date of this pamphlet wasXX/XX/2019., ,credit card debt is {$18000.00}. and settlement is {$8200.00}, ,new proposed program payment would be {$290.00}. thank you.
05/23/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • MA
  • 021XX
Web
I received an official looking notice with an exterior label entitled " Credit Card Settlement ''. Inside this company implied that I had outstanding debt in collections and that I must contact them within 10 days to avoid an increase in debt due to interest and possibly fines. This is a high pressure and misleading notice, as I do not have any delinquent accounts. If this is not a prohibited advertising tactic, it should be.
02/23/2019 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit repair services
  • Problem with customer service
  • AZ
  • 850XX
Web Servicemember
In file number XXXX the company agreed not to contact me with offers in the future. I received another letter from them for the same issue.
10/02/2018 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit repair services
  • Confusing or misleading advertising or marketing
  • AZ
  • 850XX
Web Servicemember
I received this notice from Nationwide Debt Reduction Services LLC about Credit Card Settement with a 10 day response to the notice.
02/20/2020 No
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Other personal consumer report
  • Problem with a company's investigation into an existing issue
  • Was not notified of investigation status or results
  • MI
  • 49444
Web
01/08/2020 No
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • NE
  • 68106
Web
10/10/2019 No
  • Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service
  • Debt settlement
  • Confusing or misleading advertising or marketing
  • LA
  • 70056
Phone Servicemember
06/28/2019 Yes
  • Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service
  • Debt settlement
  • Fraud or scam
Phone
06/22/2019 No
  • Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service
  • Debt settlement
  • Unexpected or other fees
Fax
10/29/2018 Yes
  • Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service
  • Debt settlement
  • Fraud or scam
  • TX
  • 78232
Phone Servicemember
09/15/2018 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit repair services
  • Confusing or misleading advertising or marketing
  • MI
  • 485XX
Web
07/11/2018 Yes
  • Credit card or prepaid card
  • General-purpose credit card or charge card
  • Other features, terms, or problems
  • Other problem
  • KY
  • 40241
Web Older American