Municipal Collections of America Inc. CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
02/22/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened or suggested your credit would be damaged
  • IA
  • 52803
Web
I had a unwritten contract with XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX ( XXXX ) in XXXX for a property I rented in with several other tenants and my name was on the utilities. When I moved away from this rental I found out that I was on a budget billing program and me and the other tenants owed more money than we were paying due to them billing us less than our usage. The tenants left me with the bills so I consolidated my debt to pay off ( XXXX ) and the other utilities companies. When I consolidated this debt I called XXXX to have them send me a final bill that I never received. I then called ( XXXX ) XX/XX/XXXX to request the amount owed and mailed ( XXXX ) a check for {$120.00} via USPS the same day due to never receiving a final bill. On XX/XX/XXXX Municipal Collections of America, Inc. sent me a bill in via USPS for {$120.00} authorized by Iowa Code Section 8A.504. This same statement from ( MCOA ) stated the I had 30 days after receiving this notice that I could dispute the validity of the debt or any portion thereof, this ( MCOA ) would assume the debt was valid. After receiving this billI called ( MCOA ) the same night but they were closed. I called ( MCOA ) the following day and ( MCOA ) explained that I never paid the utility bill from 6/24/2010. I stated I wanted to dispute the debt and I requested to have all the information on this debt mailed to me at the same address they already had listed. I also asked ( MCOA ) how the dispute works and how much time this gives me to pay the bill or dispute it and they MCOA employee would not answer my question. I read the notice they sent me that said I 30 days and he said that since I'm disputing it " I don't have to worry about the time frame now ''. I explained that want to dispute this but want the time to exceed the amount given and have it hurt my credit. ( MCOA ) employee said that the time doesn't matter now that I'm in a dispute and refused to give me any information on the dispute or the time frame it gives me. The same day I called ( XXXX ) and asked if this was a scam or real debt and they responded that the debt was real. I asked for the dates and debt amount. They said they would send me the information via mail. I then asked why it took 9 years to bill me and she responded that they got a new system and the debt was found. After thinking it an hour later I called ( XXXX ) gain and requested my past billing history, my contract with them, and for an itemized bill for the debt I owed. I asked the why it took 9 years for them to bill me and the lady responded that they didn't have the resources to bill me earlier but now they do. A week later the only information ( XXXX ) they sent me was the final bill and the only information ( MCOA ) sent me was the same bill. After an estimated two to three weeks passed without ( MCOA ) calling me back about the dispute on XX/XX/XXXX I Called ( MCOA ) to request and update on the dispute. The ( MCOA ) employee asked me if I had a receipt from a bill I payed 9 years earlier and acted as if that was all the dispute was and they weren't going to get back to me on the subject. I requested the information on the debt such as my billing contract, and past billing history over the phone and the employee stated I couldn't request it over the phone and that I would request it through an outside source, I then asked why I couldn't request it verbally right now when the ( MCOA ) employee hung up on me. I called back and that ( MCOA ) employee forwarded me to the same person where he dropped the call again. I called back for a 3rd time and this employee at least attempted to try to help me. He said he would have someone contact me on the subject. I brought up the iowa code they used to send solve this debt section 8A.504 and how Iowa code 614.1 states that a unwritten contract statue of limitations is 5 years and I want to know how 9 years later collections is calling me and he couldn't explain. I requested the time I had left on the dispute before it was in collections and hurting my credit and he said it was all ready turned into collections even though that their employee told me that the 30 day time frame didn't matter when I started the dispute. Immediately after called ( XXXX ) and asked to get a copy of my contract again where the employee stated there is no copy because its a verbal contract and not a written contract. I asked how they can legally turn me into collections with a verbal contract debt after 9 years of them not contacting me even though Iowa code 614.1 clearly states under unwritten contacts that they have 5 years to confront me. The IRS typiclaly goes back 7 years but a utility bill expects me to go back 9? Nobody saves their recipe that the utility company doesn't give you 9 years to defend themselves over a {$120.00} dollar debt. Considering they employee at ( MCOA ) stated I'm now in collections and its damaging my credit I had to make the choice of paying a fraudulent debt or letting my credit be destroyed. I have since payed ( XXXX ) using their XXXX billing platform without the chance to properly dispute the fraudulent debt so it no long destroys my credit. There isn't a chance in XXXX I'm trusting Municipal Collections of America Inc. with my payment considering they hung up on me twice and never made a realistic attempt to dispute by debt but instead gave me the run around, false information, and couldn't support any information on the debt outside of a computer generated bill from 9 years earlier. Both of these companies need to be deeply audited considering their demanding payment without a legit chance to dispute the debt. They are granting a form of credit to people under verbal contracts that they can't support and then turning the debt into a collection agency thats most likely in the City of XXXX XXXX pocket.
04/12/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not disclosed as an attempt to collect
  • IL
  • 60458
Web
I received a notice from the XXXX dated XX/XX/2017 that I had XXXX parking tickets that I was on the pre-boot list, and to contact Municipal Collections of America XXXX Inc within 21 days to dispute the validity of debt, and that I will have the option to request a hearing. I contacted Municipal Collection of America on XX/XX/2017 and was advised that I owe tickets to the original creditor XXXX and that not only do I owe the amount placed with their office, but I must pay Municipal Collection of America their collection fee in addition to the debt placed with their office. I question if it was legal for their office to add a collection fee, and the representative advised that she could not confirm if the additional fee charge by their office is legal, and that no one in their office including management could confirm if the fee their office charged to the residence of XXXX was legal. I advised the representative that I dispute the additional fees added, and one of the tickets that I was not aware of which is a red light violation. The representative advised me to send it in writing which I sent via email on XX/XX/2017. I left a message within another department of Municipal Collection of America to dispute the validity of the debt, and requested a itemize statement that included Municipal Collection of America fees so that I can confirm if this is legal with my local Attorney General XXXX office by filing a Consumer Complaint. Today XX/XX/2017 I was contacted by Municipal collection, and received a voicemail to contact XXXX regarding this matter. Municipal FDCPA Violation : No Foti message left when leaving a voice message on a Generic Voicemail by XXXX Municipal FDCPA Violation : Upon Contacting XXXX Failed to validate identity, and to disclose the Mini Miranda during 2 point of communication contacts. Municipal FDCPA XXXX : Adding collections fees to debt that are not legal. This raises question as to how many other XXXX residents that have paid collection fees to Municipal Collections of America XXXX Inc paid by residents, and non residents. Failure to comply with the FDCPA, and I am requesting an investigation of this company for Illegal Collections Practices. Thank you in advance, XXXX Ph # XXXX email : XXXX
12/22/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • OH
  • 44720
Web
On XX/XX/18, I was contacted via voicemail by a woman who stated she was from MCOA, and asked that I call back. Once out of work at at XXXX I called the number back and, to which an automated line asked me to verify my personal Social Security Number, to which I did not provide ( at this point I believed the call to be a scam ). I reached a customer service agent, who then stated she matched my phone number to an account. She then stated they were calling regarding an unpaid photo - enforced traffic ticket that was almost four years old, and that it was for a speed violation in the XXXX of XXXX. I have never heard of the XXXX of XXXX, and the agent would not provide any further information, until I verified my personal information. I refused to verify any personal information over the phone, and requested a validation of debt be sent out. I was told they were unable, unless I verified my address. She also stated it could affect my credit record. I would like to note that I have never once recieved a ticket through the mail. The only ticket I recieved in my life was in XXXX, OH, and it was given directly from a police officer, and has been paid with reciept. I reached out to the XXXX, who confirmed there is nothing on my driving record, and recommended that I reach out to the cities clerk of courts to verify there is nothing there. I also checked my credit record to verify that there is nothing there. I then googled, " The XXXX of XXXX '', and came across the City clerks phone number, who transferred me to the police department. After speaking with one of the officer 's, they stated that there is a camera in there town but only one person can pull up tickets in there system, and they are not currently in. I was then told to call back later and see. Being that I was never notified of the debt and that the collections agency, who waited four years to attempt contact, stated they were unable to send any validation of debt, this collections attempt is in violation of the fair debt collections act. While this may be a scam call, phishing for information, if the " alleged '' Debt is real, action should be taken against this.This company is obviously attempting to scam people out of their money on debts that never existed.
09/02/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • OH
  • 45044
Web
The XXXXXXXX XXXX XXXXXXXX XXXX in Ohio has been operating a Speed Camera system. In XX/XX/XXXX, the camera system identified I was allegedly speeding through the XXXX. I was fined {$95.00} and was due to pay this fine by XX/XX/XXXX. I paid the fine by check ( copy of check and original fine notice attached ) on XX/XX/XXXX. I then received a second notice saying I now owe {$180.00} for the same violation. I finally reached someone who could speak with me about the situation and I was able to show that I had in fact paid the original notice. My contact was with a contact at a company called XXXX XXXX XXXX. XXXX XXXX XXXX apparently collects payments on behalf of the XXXX XXXX XXXXXXXX XXXX. Attached is email communication from XXXX XXXX XXXX confirming I paid my debt and the issue is resolved. The date is XX/XX/XXXX. On XX/XX/XXXX, I received a third collection notice now from a company called Municipal Collections of America , Inc . They claim I owe {$240.00} for the same alleged violation in XX/XX/XXXX to the XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. This complaint is against the XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXXXXXX and not the collection agency. I understand the collection agency has purchased the debt from the XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. I have sent a demand letter to the XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX requiring a letter from XXXX XXXX confirming the debt is paid and that all erroneous information has been removed from any and all systems. I 'm tired of this harassment. The issue of XXXX XXXX 's speed camera system is before the Ohio Supreme Court being considered unconstitutional. The collection practices of the XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXXXXXX are a violation of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act ( i.e. abusive and unfair ).
05/31/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • IL
  • 60110
Web Older American
I already filed two complaints with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau XXXX and XXXX the company was supposed to write me but they never did so I did n't know that the case was closed. The harassment continued so I made a complaint to the Attorney General of the State of Illinois XXXX XXXX File No : XXXX and they ordered them to stop, but they did n't and have now had XXXX XXXX XXXX cut off my mother 's phone and she is an elderly XXXX person. In addition, they have now hacked into my medical records at two different healthcare centers and have used my doctors ' medical license numbers to write prescriptions to both XXXX and XXXX in XXXX. I have contacted both the FCC and Congressman XXXX XXXX XXXX office and no one seems to have the ability to stop these people. It is no longer a company but a family because they own dozens of such companies and just move the debt around from company to company. The owners all have multiple aliases and addresses ; this really deserves a criminal investigation but the FBI does n't seem to be interested. Here are some of the names of the individuals behind these crimes. XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX and many more, all with multiple aliases and addresses.
02/10/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • AL
  • 36064
Web
Received a phone call today from XXXX. I usually do not answer these numbers but being that we had a mattress delivered I assumed it was the company for a survey which I was going to take because they provided expedient service. Like less than 24 delivery. Awesome. I answered said hello. She asked to speak to a " XXXX XXXX '' ... my name is difficult to pronounce for some but the way she was struggling to continue with her script I just hung up and chalked it up to spam. I decided to XXXX to find out what XXXX the number is attached to. It came back as XX/XX/XXXXXXXX XXXX XXXX of XXXX XXXX. This is a surprise to me as I NEVER am late on bills and payments. Thought seriously about every possible bill I could have and then XXXX further about this company. This is a fraudulent company attempting to collect on traffic tickets. I wish I had let her continue but the websites are the best I can offer. There is no reason for a debt collector to be calling me about a debt in Iowa when I've not been there. When I call back they just hang up. Something is fishy here. The number is used on the City of XXXX XXXX webpage and also City of XXXX. I've never been to either place https : XXXX https : XXXX
07/31/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • IL
  • 60475
Web
I have was contacted by MCOA back in XX/XX/XXXX. stating that my Driver Licenses would be suspended for tickets that was on a car that I co-signed for. I then told them that I did n't have the car and asked if the that has the car been notified yet.They told me no they had the right to go after me and not him and that they did n't suspend his. Also, I then told them that he had filed bankruptcy on XX/XX/XXXX and gave them the case number and told them they are trying to get double payment, they told me oh well and that I would have to pay as well because it was my name. On XX/XX/XXXX @ XXXX XXXX I spoke with XXXX XXXX and she stated that even thought it was filed that it was now out of her hands and that it was a part of the bankruptcy department and that she no longer had anything to do with this. I spoke with the bankruptcy department and they said that yes they have the case information but I had to speak with his lawyer to have them get my licenses back. When I explained to them that I have no contact with him they said oh well they would keep them. I also stated that I was on my credit report as well, she said oh well. ( they have removed the tickets )
01/15/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened arrest/jail if do not pay
  • IL
  • 60419
Web
On XXXX/XXXX/16, I received a call from a debt collector from a company called Municipal collections of America, I think. He called me to tell me that they were going to suspend my driver 's license for unpaid tickets. He said that we can file our XXXX ticket to the State of Illinois and suspend your drivers license. I informed the man that there are no tickets on my credit report. He said that we saw your disputes come thru from the major credit bureaus and we did n't dispute them. So I informed him that since you did n't validate the amounts or validate that I owed for those tickets, why are you trying to suspend my license? He said that he did n't want to hear anything other than if I was going to pay XXXX dollars. Then he could stop the process of suspending my license. I tried to ask the man why would you not validate the amounts and the accounts? He said that there is no time for all that, Am I going to pay the XXXX dollars? or do I want my license suspended? I said I am going to call XXXX to find out what is going on. He said, Im going to go forward with suspend your license. He hung up the phone.
03/04/2022 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • MO
  • 63139
Web
Municipal Collections of America called my elderly father multiple times on XX/XX/2022, to try and collect a debt issued by Iowa XXXX 's automated ticketing system. Despite my father 's voicemail clearly identifying himself as him ( and not me ), they continued calling him throughout the day. When I called them ( because my father asked me to ), I first wanted to know why they called my father and not me. I never got that far, because when the woman I spoke to informed me that she was recording the call, I informed her that I was also recording the call. She immediately hung up after stating that she did not consent to being recorded. Missouri is a one-party consent state and so is Iowa, in regards to recording calls, so I have no idea why she disconnected the call. I have received no direct communication from the debt collector at any point. The only reason I called is because they were harassing my father and he asked me to call them back so they'd leave him alone.
09/11/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Communication tactics
  • You told them to stop contacting you, but they keep trying
  • IA
  • 52240
Web
On XX/XX/2020 at XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX MCOA called me about a debt collection. They could not provide me with my address and told me they had been sending letters to a different address. I told XXXX to not contact me further over the phone. I followed up the conversation by emailing their information line which was provided to me over the phone and told them to not continue soliciting me over the phone but instead mail any future communication. On XX/XX/2020 at XXXX, XXXX XXXX from MCOA called me about this debt collection. When I asked them what MCOA stood for, they disconnected the line. I then called the number back and informed them of my prior request to not be communicated with and confirmed that they were not calling to inform me they were ending communication with me or pursuing legal action. They have also conducted multiple back-to-back phone calls and when I attempt to screen them with my phone which allows for a transcription, they disconnect.
02/16/2022 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • IN
  • 47331
Web
I received a " notice of liability '' from XXXX XXXX regarding an alleged automated speeding penalty. I wrote a letter to them and never heard anything back. Then, I got a collection letter from the entity described below : XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, ill. XXXX ticket number XXXX date XX/XX/21 acc # XXXX amt {$230.00} fax # XXXX agent : XXXX XXXX There are three problems with this alleged debt. First, I do not admit to driving the automobile at the time the automated ticket was generated. Second, the amount the city claimed I owed them ( {$170.00} ) is in excess of the statutory amount for the fine under XXXX XXXX ' Codified Ordinance XXXX. Third, the amount the collection agency alleged I owe is in excess of the amount claimed by XXXX XXXX. The collection agent is claiming I owe them more than the alleged original debt and both the amount of the original debt is in dispute and my liability are in dispute.
06/08/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • IL
  • 60461
Web
I was contacted by MCOA and was notified that I have a debt for XXXXXXXX for XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX ticket. I informed rep that I have not received written notice from XXXX XXXX PD or MCOA stating this debt and until I do, I will disregard any debt collection attempts by phone. I called XXXX XXXX PD and requested original citation be sent to my address. This was done and received on XXXX XXXX, 2015. I have yet to receive validation of collection for MCOA attempting to collect a debt. This information has been reported and is now on my credit report. I do not have an issue paying the original balance. However, I find it odd that a collection agency finds it appropriate that they can collect funds over the phone without validation of debt in writing to the consumer. I still occasionally receive calls, however, I will not be responding until I receive a written validation of debt.
09/05/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • IL
  • 60471
Web Older American
company sent a letter stating i owed for a traffic ticket the letter stated that if i wanted to dispute the ticket i was told by miss XXXX i could not dispute the charge i read to her the part in the letter that stated i could dispute the debt then she asked me why i wanted to dispute the charges i toldher that this did not apply to meshe said that this involved a XXXX and a XXXX i told her i have never owned a XXXX or a XXXX then she gave me the last 4 of the social and date of birth i told her that was not me then she asked me if i had a son was i senior or a junior i told her that i was not the person who she was looking for she got rude and indigant and hung up this company needs to correct their records and be punished for their actions
05/24/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • IL
  • 60653
Web
Repeated phone calls ( by very polite operators ) regarding some type of traffic violation in XXXX (? ) IL by someone driving a XXXX . I do not ( have not, will not ) own a XXXX , have no idea where XXXX (? ) IL is, and probably have never been there. My attempts to get these calls to stop have been unsuccessful because all they want is $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ with no documentation of the debt, and no research of who they are calling. Annoying, and offensive to be called at my work phone number about something that has nothing to do with me at all. The pleasant phone staff does not make up for the constant harassing phone calls.
09/29/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • OH
  • 45066
Web
I keep getting calls from this number XXXX asking for XXXX XXXX. There is usually a real agent on the phone and i have told them on at leas XXXX occasions to take me off their call list because this is my work cell phone. I continue to get these calls without fail everyday at XXXX. I have also received automated collection calls from other numbers from different area codes for this person ( at different times in the day ) which mention that this person ( XXXX ) is being collected on for unpaid debt. For some reason they have my work cell.
02/11/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was already discharged in bankruptcy and is no longer owed
  • IL
  • 60133
Web
Bill # 1. amount {$910.00} date XX/XX/XXXX - Village of XXXX XXXX ( insurance company issued a letter that amount charged is too high and the recommended amount was {$650.00} but the company still continues collection efforts for the higher amount. Plus the bill was issued in the minor 's name not including the parent. Collection efforts are against the dependent not the parent ). Actions taken by me - included this bill in the Chapter XXXX Bankruptcy repayment plan filed in XX/XX/XXXX but still receiving bills from collection agencies.
01/22/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • IA
  • 52803
Web
I received a letter from a company calling itself " Municipal Collections of America '' or " MCOA ''. They claim to be working for the city of XXXX to collect a debt of about {$200.00} on behalf of the city. However, there is no outstanding debt owed to the city as all our bills are current and we only receive electronic statements. They also mention several times on the letter how to pay and to share your credit card information with them in the mail. My hope is that these people will be shut down so no one will be taken advantage of.
04/11/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • IL
  • 60062
Web
MCOA AT XXXX is calling me repeatedly for a debt my sister owes them. I do not have any information for my sister and yet they are relentless in their calls. The last call was on XX/XX/XXXX at XXXX XXXX. If You dont provide them with your phone number or your account number they are extremely rude and will not give you the time of day. I dont have my sisters account number Or phone number so therefore I can not help them I just asked them to take me off their list which they will not do.
10/12/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to arrest you or take you to jail if you do not pay
  • IL
  • 60473
Web Servicemember
Last year in XX/XX/2017 I accumulated 5 unpaid red light tickets. MCOA ( collection agency for the municipality filed to suspend my drivers license. I paid them XXXX toward my 5 unpaid tickets which were XXXX each. Left me owing XXXX + their fees. Now again this year they have submitted to the Secretary of State to suspend my drivers license, but I dont have 5 or more unpaid tickets. They are illegally applying the law here. I only owe XXXX XXXX unpaid ticket plus fees.
08/27/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • MN
  • 55304
Web
Municipal Collections of America is attempting to collect citations from 2011 based on a photograph picture of a license plate. It was a car that I was not driving at the time nor have I ever driven in XXXX XXXX, IA. I could take pictures of peoples plates and send them debt collections letters so maybe this is a scam. either way they were only able to give me the make and model of a car I used to lease and an address that I haven't lived at in 6 years.
03/24/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • IL
  • 60638
Web
I keep getting harassing phone calls from XXXX municipal collections of america saying I owe tickets for a car I no longer have. I do not have a debt and have never received anything in the mail. When I ask about a letter they are rude and hang up. I have blocked them but still get the calls. I feel that because they want information over the phone that this is a scam.
04/13/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Communication tactics
  • Used obscene, profane, or other abusive language
  • VA
  • 23233
Web
XXXX from XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX ( XXXX ) XXXX IL XXXX called me on XXXX2018 claiming there was a parking ticket for an address I haven't lived at for years. I told him I never received a parking ticket, and he told me he was reporting me as refusal to pay and hung up. I called back hoping to get some proof of the debt but he refused and hung up again.
01/17/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • IL
  • 60609
Web
MCOA Municipal Collections of America had my driver license suspended with the state of Illinois, with no XXXX for recourse. But after multiple attempts MCOA has refused to provide me with verification of the date. I would like written proof of the debt sent to me to be verified before any payment is submitted.
09/13/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Talked to a third party about my debt
  • IL
  • 60461
Web
I was notified by XXXX ( collection agency ) that I owed a debt from a red light ticket XXXX from XXXX of 2014. I never received verbal or written notice from XXXX XXXX and was only contacted by XXXX. This resulted in a debt collection and negative mark to my credit score.
02/27/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • FL
  • 33149
Web Older American
Received a collection notice form a company called Muicipal Collections of America They did not include any back up for the debt collection. The debt collector cites a ticket in forrest XXXX XXXX. on XX/XX/XXXX. We live in XXXX and were no in XXXX on the date referenced.
05/28/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Talked to a third party about my debt
  • PA
  • 19001
Web
The debt collector contacted my son & daughter-in-law very soon after leaving message on my answering machine. I was already in contact with them, and told them I am contesting the validity of the debt. The debt collector has my current address and telephone number.
07/11/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • You told them to stop contacting you, but they keep trying
  • AR
  • 72712
Web
MCOA KEEPS COLLECTING ON DEBT DISCHARGED IN BK XXXX DISCHARGED XX/XX/XXXX. THEY KEEP COLLECTION FOR ALL CLASS ACTION MEMNBERS. XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX ETC..
11/13/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Communication tactics
  • You told them to stop contacting you, but they keep trying
  • IL
  • 60506
Web
they kept calling me about the ambulance bill
12/29/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • You told them to stop contacting you, but they keep trying
  • MD
  • 20746
Web
10/04/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • IL
  • 60471
Web
08/13/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • IA
  • 52246
Postal mail
08/13/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • OH
  • 44067
Web Servicemember
05/06/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • MD
  • 20603
Referral
12/10/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • PA
  • 16127
Web
07/20/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • IL
  • 61873
Web
05/11/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened or suggested your credit would be damaged
  • IL
  • 60466
Web Older American
01/19/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • IL
  • 60643
Web
05/29/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Threatened to contact someone or share information improperly
  • Talked to a third-party about your debt
  • IL
  • 60804
Web
10/18/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • Called before 8am or after 9pm
  • IA
  • 52314
Web
10/04/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • MI
  • 48336
Web
09/09/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • OH
  • 45067
Web Servicemember
07/14/2017 Yes
  • Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service
  • International money transfer
  • Wrong amount charged or received
Web Servicemember
04/24/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Communication tactics
  • You told them to stop contacting you, but they keep trying
  • IL
  • 60438
Phone
08/08/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • IL
  • 61201
Phone
06/17/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Communication tactics
  • Called after sent written cease of comm
  • IL
  • 60110
Web Older American
06/17/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Communication tactics
  • Called after sent written cease of comm
  • IL
  • 60110
Web Older American
08/27/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • IL
  • 60803
Web
06/25/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • IL
  • 60453
Referral
05/13/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Right to dispute notice not received
  • IL
  • 60463
Web
03/18/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • VA
  • 22193
Web
03/16/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • IL
  • 60619
Web
02/24/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • SC
  • 29483
Web
02/19/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • VA
  • 22191
Web
02/18/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • IL
  • 60411
Web
02/09/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Right to dispute notice not received
  • IL
  • 60520
Web
02/03/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not disclosed as an attempt to collect
  • IL
  • 60459
Web
12/22/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Communication tactics
  • Called after sent written cease of comm
  • IL
  • 60445
Web
11/18/2014 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • VA
  • 22192
Web Servicemember
08/21/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • IL
  • 60438
Web
08/12/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • IL
  • 60438
Web
07/26/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • IL
  • 60115
Web
06/30/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • IL
  • 60455
Web Servicemember
06/17/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • MS
  • 39345
Web
05/29/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was discharged in bankruptcy
  • IL
  • 60471
Web
01/13/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • IL
  • 60560
Web
01/06/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • IL
  • 60409
Web Servicemember