Model Finance Company CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
04/14/2020 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Struggling to pay your loan
  • Lender trying to repossess or disable the vehicle
  • CA
  • 917XX
Web
On or about XX/XX/2020 the city of XXXX came in to XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, CA XXXX ( XXXX XXXX XXXX ) and forced us to close due to corona virus threat. On or about XX/XX/2020 I was contacted by a representative of Model Finance Company regarding my due payment. Arrangements were made as follows : XXXX payment deferred at a cost of {$64.00} for interest fees of that month payable by XX/XX/2020, XXXX bill deferred for free. Today XX/XX/2020 at about XXXX pst I had a 1 minute conversation with a representative of Model Finance Company . I was asked to pay what I owe. I was asked why I wasnt receiving unemployment insurance benefits ( because the government promised to pay out of work self-employers ) the representative stated. I was asked if I had really applied. I was told he didnt like my attitude and then he told me, I was going to offer you some payment arrangements but now XXXX XXXX and I yelled XXXX XXXX back as he was hanging up in my face. I waited 2 minutes before calling back and asking to speak with a supervisor so I could file a formal complaint and request information on filing for harassment. I spoke with another man whom also refused to identify himself as he felt offended by my indignant response to his questions I believed to be unrelated as I was already exhausted from everything going on with the pandemic and being forcefully out of work. The gentleman then resolved to reposes my motorcycle that Ive never missed a payment on prior to this pandemic.
08/21/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Auto debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • CA
  • 933XX
Web
My Vehicle was repossessed a few years ago. In the state of XXXX the finance company must send do a few things. First is let you get your personal belongings out of the vehicle, which they did not. You also have your right to redeem the car. your right to reinstate the loan. If the creditor is selling the car at a private sale, the date of the sale if the creditor is selling the car at an auction, the date, time, and location of the sale, and a calculation of the deficiency balance ( or surplus, if applicable ), including a description of fees and charges. The creditor Mailed information to a wrong address. They mailed a letter to the address they picked up the vehicle, not the address on our contract. I asked them why they changed the mailing address and they have no record of why they changed it. I have proof of the mistake they made. My address was located in the city of XXXX. They mailed it to XXXX XXXX which was returned to them. I will attach copy of the letter they sent me with the wrong address on it. If you request a copy of my contract it will have another address listed. This should be deleted from my report since all the notice they sent was to the wrong address.
11/13/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Auto debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was result of identity theft
  • TX
Web
I 've sent multiple letters to this agency about this not being my account. After being advised by identitytheft.gov I 've completed and sent a fraud affidavit via certified mail. I can see they received it but nothing has changed. See supporting documents. even the USPS tracking. I am a victim of identity theft and noticed a collection from MODEL FINANCE COMPANY. I 've attempted to dispute multiple times, however, no response on their end. Not sure what else to do. The police department told me to contact the federal trade commission which I wrote a formal complaint against MODEL FINANCE COMPANY in regards to this matter. The FTC also instructed me to complete and theft affidavit through identity theft.gov. Attached is my document. Thank you
08/07/2020 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Old information reappears or never goes away
  • CA
  • 914XX
Web
I Had a vehicle repossessed about 4 years ago. I would like this account deleted on my credit reports. After they took the vehicle I was never given an inventory letter for my possessions in the vehicle, and never received notice before selling the car, " your lender must provide you with a notice at least 15 days before the sale date. In order to collect a deficiency, the notice must be given within 60 days of the repossession, and must include certain information, including your rights regarding reinstating the loan or redeeming the vehicle. XXXX XXXX. XXXX. XXXX XXXX ). "
05/18/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • TX
  • 773XX
Web
XXXX XXXX with Model Finance in XXXX XXXX CA has contacted me multiple times by phone and text ( also attached photos of another family member 's home ) on the pretext of trying to collect a debt from my XXXX yr old son who does not live at my home. He also had a representative deliver a letter to my home and a letter to another family member 's home addressed to my son - who does not live with either one of us. I had no part in the financing or application for financing for the recreational vehicle for which he says a debt is owed.
12/28/2017 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account information incorrect
  • TX
  • 760XX
Web
XX/2015 I voluntarily surrendered my vehicle in question to Model Finance, this is the first thing they are showing incorrectly. Second I was never late on a payment. Third they have sold this account to a collection agency XXXX XXXX XXXX so now Model Finance and XXXX XXXX XXXX are showing on my credit reports. I have disputed this several times through the credit bureau 's and called Model Finance on many occasions to no avail. I 'm not saying its not my account, just one needs to be removed or the other reporting correctly.
02/07/2018 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account status incorrect
  • TX
  • 761XX
Web
MODEL FINANCE sold my debt I owed them to XXXX XXXX XXXX. MODEL FINANCE is still showing a debt owed to them as well as XXXX XXXX XXXX showing a debt. Both are reporting on my credit report. So now if/when I apply for any type of loan or credit it looks as if I owe 2 different companies an unpaid debt, when in actuality its only XXXX XXXX XXXX that I owe the debt to since MODEL FINANCE no longer owns this debt.
08/26/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to arrest you or take you to jail if you do not pay
  • FL
  • 347XX
Web
XXXX from model finance company called and hurassed my mother about a XXXX XXXX and said he will take me to jail. Guy wouldnt let me get a word out and he yelled at my mother over the phone saying she is going to get arrested as well
05/26/2019 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Unable to get your credit report or credit score
  • Other problem getting your report or credit score
  • TX
  • 770XX
Web
I never in my life had a house never try to get one
05/26/2019 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Unable to get your credit report or credit score
  • Other problem getting your report or credit score
  • TX
  • 770XX
Web
I never in my life had a house never try to get one
03/30/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Auto debt
  • Communication tactics
  • You told them to stop contacting you, but they keep trying
  • TX
  • 76179
Web Servicemember
03/02/2020 No
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account status incorrect
  • TX
  • 77082
Web
02/09/2020 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem
  • Investigation took more than 30 days
  • CA
  • 91768
Web
01/04/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • CA
  • 91768
Web
03/15/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was already discharged in bankruptcy and is no longer owed
  • CA
  • 92126
Web Servicemember
09/30/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Threatened to contact someone or share information improperly
  • Contacted you after you asked them to stop
  • AR
  • 72205
Web
05/31/2017 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Improper use of your report
  • Credit inquiries on your report that you don't recognize
  • TX
  • 75249
Postal mail
08/22/2014 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Vehicle loan
  • Managing the loan or lease
  • CA
  • 92595
Web
10/29/2013 No
  • Consumer Loan
  • Vehicle loan
  • Problems when you are unable to pay
  • CA
  • 93001
Phone
03/06/2013 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Vehicle loan
  • Problems when you are unable to pay
  • CA
  • 92260
Web