MINNESOTA LIFE INSURANCE CO., THE CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
08/28/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Auto
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • KY
  • 41076
Web
In XXXX, My ex wife applied for a title loan through Personal Finance Company on her car and in doing so the company wanted me to cosign the loan for her. The original amount of the loan was for {$1000.00} she then got into a car accident and stopped making payments. In XXXX I received a wage garnishment order for {$20000.00} from this company and received no prior communications about the debt because I was not living with the original account holder since XXXX, on the garnishment order that I received from my employer shows a mailing address of a XXXX XXXX that I never used. Being a cosigner I know I am also responsible for the note but do not agree with paying accumulated interest of the loan, I have been in contact with the finance company and also with the collection company handling the account trying to come to a resolution. I have paid {$4000.00} so far on this account, however they are not attempting collections on the original account holder and trying to collect back interest of 29.22 %. I believe that this is a very unfair practice from this company I believe that I have fulfilled my obligation as the cosigner on the note paying the original loan amount plus other costs for the loan going into default. All the payments that have been made, came from me and not the original account holder. I believe that forcing me as a cosigner to pay accumulated interest since the loan has been in default is just wrong. I was informed by the collection agent handling the account that I have paid more then the original submission of the account. How is it legal for a company to keep accruing interest on {$1000.00} loan for many years that the account has been in default?
09/26/2017 Yes
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Installment loan
  • Charged fees or interest you didn't expect
  • IN
  • 47112
Web
I have a loan with personal finance in XXXX, Indiana. I recently called to discuss the amount due on my personal loan as it did n't seem like it was correct going by my records. I expressed my concern with a lady named XXXX. After talking with her she had no idea what was going on. I then asked to speak to the branch manager and was told they did not have one. I was shocked to find out that there was not an operating manager at the business. She informed me that there training supervisor was there. I spoke to her and she said she did not have time right now to discuss with me and would call me back that same day. This was Friday XXXX XXXX. I never received a call, had to call them and told that I would receive a call back Monday. This never happened. I am due for XXXX of charges that are not explainable. The company recently got bought out by mariner finance.
09/16/2016 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Managing the loan or lease
  • IN
  • 47401
Web
I was helping a friend with an auto transmission repair at XXXX XXXX they approved my financing at Personal finance here in XXXX Indiana they did not repair the car correctly they filed for bankruptcy I was out over XXXX on the loan personal fince manager said he would make it right I was appaulled they took XXXX off as a write off and all my credit reports show I was XXXX payments late that is totally wrong only had a 12 month loan for this transaction this was very unfair on there part they have had many complaints against them over the years. Thank You XXXX XXXX
04/27/2016 No
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Managing the loan or lease
  • IN
  • 46122
Web
I am going through XXXX XXXX I have consolidated and personal finance is one of my creditors that we have consolidated and XXXX from personal finance keeps calling me at work threating me that he do n't work with this company and they are going to garnish my wages. I am dealing with a guy named XXXX and he told me that yes they do work with personal finance. How do I get personal finance to stop calling me at work? The number for personal finance is XXXX. This bill was getting paid until I consolidated it. Please help me .. Thanks again XXXX XXXX my number is XXXX
06/27/2016 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Managing the loan or lease
  • IN
  • 47579
Web
I had a personal loan with Personal Finance Company opened on XXXX/XXXX/XXXX and refianced ( paid in full ) in XX/XX/XXXX. Multiple times, I have contacted Personal Finance Company to report the account information to the Credit Bureaus correctly and multiple times, they have continued to report incorrectly. The account was updated on XXXX/XXXX/XXXX ( 2 years and 4 months after it was closed ) and a 30 day late was marked for XX/XX/XXXX. This account was marked a 30 day late when it had been paid/closed/refienced in good standing 2 years and 2 months prior.
10/20/2017 Yes
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Installment loan
  • Problem when making payments
  • IN
  • 46036
Web
On XXXX-XXXX-17 I called to inquire why I was not receiving my statements. I was advised by the branch manager XXXX XXXX that the third party affiliate of XXXX XXXX XXXX ( XXXX? ) No longer sends out paper documents. I have to go online. I advised that I have the right as a consumer to request paper documentation. They said that I could not request this information to be mailed and there was nothing that they could do for me. I find it very unprofessional that they do not respect my rights. If they can not respect my rights the debt should be waived in full.
04/12/2017 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Problems when you are unable to pay
  • KY
  • 40291
Web
I am working with XXXX and I have four creditors calling as much as 15 times a day all hours, nights and weekends. Personal Finance XXXX KY., XXXX, XXXX KY, XXXX, XXXX, XXXX, and XXXX Bank. I also work in collections and with all the calls and the hour before XXXX and until after XXXX and on Sundays. They leave messages, and still call back more than what the FDCPA guidelines allow. Please help
10/17/2016 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Problems when you are unable to pay
  • IL
  • 60563
Web
I have a consumer loan that was past due, they sent a intenet to garnish to my job, I have sent a letter to them revoking the voluntary wage Assignment that they are not honoring, in addition to the fact they have sent the loan to an attorney
11/16/2015 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Problems when you are unable to pay
  • MO
  • 63136
Web
After i was unable to pay because of job loss and XXXX they sent in XXXX hard inquiries on my credit without my permission which resulted in my credit score and report being lowered.
04/27/2016 No
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Problems when you are unable to pay
  • WI
  • 53532
Web Older American
the almost the entire payment goes to interest not the pres able the balance is not going down
11/30/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • MO
  • 63031
Referral
11/21/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • MO
  • 63031
Postal mail
11/02/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • IN
  • 46619
Web Servicemember
10/23/2017 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account status incorrect
  • IL
  • 60431
Web
10/17/2017 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account status incorrect
  • KY
  • 41042
Web
09/28/2017 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account information incorrect
  • TN
  • 37748
Web
09/06/2017 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account information incorrect
  • IL
  • 60431
Web
07/21/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • KY
  • 40171
Web
06/06/2017 Yes
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Payday loan
  • Struggling to pay your loan
  • TN
  • 37931
Phone
06/01/2017 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Public record information inaccurate
  • IN
  • 47172
Web
05/10/2017 Yes
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Installment loan
  • Getting the loan
  • IN
  • 46142
Phone
11/07/2016 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Vehicle loan
  • Managing the loan or lease
  • KY
  • 40004
Postal mail
11/01/2016 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Managing the loan or lease
  • IL
  • 60471
Web
10/12/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • MO
  • 64118
Web
08/23/2016 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Vehicle loan
  • Managing the loan or lease
  • IN
  • 46250
Web
08/03/2016 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Problems when you are unable to pay
  • TN
  • 37040
Web
06/29/2016 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Problems when you are unable to pay
  • IN
  • 46214
Web
06/28/2016 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Managing the loan or lease
  • IN
  • 46516
Web
06/02/2016 No
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Problems when you are unable to pay
  • IL
  • 62301
Web
03/17/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Communication tactics
  • Used obscene/profane/abusive language
  • IN
  • 46250
Web
02/20/2016 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Problems when you are unable to pay
  • IL
  • 62234
Web
10/13/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • TN
  • 37721
Web Servicemember
09/30/2015 No
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on credit report
  • Account terms
  • IL
  • 60409
Web
08/31/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • IL
  • 62024
Web
07/02/2015 Yes
  • Payday loan
  • Charged fees or interest I didn't expect
  • IL
  • 60647
Phone
05/21/2015 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Problems when you are unable to pay
  • IN
  • 47630
Web
03/02/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Auto
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • KY
  • 40403
Fax
02/08/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Communication tactics
  • Threatened to take legal action
  • IN
  • 46637
Web
08/22/2014 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Managing the loan or lease
  • MO
  • 65536
Referral
07/31/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • IL
  • 62821
Referral
07/21/2014 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Problems when you are unable to pay
  • KY
  • 42301
Web
04/18/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • False statements or representation
  • Indicated committed crime not paying
  • KY
  • 40207
Web
03/18/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Communication tactics
  • Called after sent written cease of comm
  • MO
  • 64081
Web