Maximum Title Loans, LLC CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
03/07/2018 Yes
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Title loan
  • Charged fees or interest you didn't expect
Web
On XX/XX/XXXX I went to the Maximum Title Loans office at XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, AZ XXXX to get a title loan for a short term ( 2-3 months ) we have a small business and were waiting on some receivables to pay. I took my car and title in and asked for {$5000.00}, after the vehicle inspecting, paperwork and several phone calls to a woman that the young kid that was helping me told me was the owner I was told I was approved. I had to take my title to a title registration place down the street to add Maximum title to the title and bring it back to their office. When I returned I was given my check and was told that I would get a copy of all my paperwork sent to me via email. I did take a picture of the agreement that I signed prior to signing it to send to my husband and that was the only document that I left with aside from the check. I received a call on XX/XX/XXXX from a man by the name of XXXX calling to remind me of my payment on XX/XX/XXXX, he asked me if I remember if I had a promotion and I told him yes I did and he asked me what it was, I was a little confused as to why he wouldn't know this but I proceeded to tell him anyway that I had the 50 % off of the first payment. So he said okay well your first payment will be {$310.00}, I said that isn't the price that I had on the agreement that I signed, the first payment was {$470.00} which meant my first payment should be {$230.00} he said well that isn't correct because you opted for the promotion so the rate is different. I told him but the 50 % off the first month 's interest payment is highlight on the agreement that I signed and have a copy of on my phone. He said well send it to me and I will check into it for you and call you back. He called me back and said that the agreement I signed was not valid and he would email me one with the new rates. I did not sign this one, they changed the payment amount and switched it with the one I did sign. The page that I signed does not indicate that amount at all, they obviously have their agreements set up this way so that they can do the switch and bate on people. I went online to their website to make the payment of {$310.00} even though I didn't agree with the amount and when I logged on to make my payment the payment wouldn't process. It was late in the evening so I decided I would call the office in the following day to make the payment over the phone or ask for advice on how to pay online. Before I could do this I received a call from a woman that I was late and the I needed to make my payment and I told her that I had issues and that I intended to pay it today. She told me that I now had to pay the full amount because the 50 % off was void because I didn't make the payment on the due date. I tried to explain what happened and she hung up on me. Oddly enough I was able to now log on an pay online, so I paid the {$310.00} that I was had initially logged on to pay and then I received an email and a voicemail stating that I had an outstanding balance of {$350.00} and I needed to call XXXX back today to pay this amount.
03/13/2018 Yes
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Title loan
  • Vehicle was repossessed or sold the vehicle
  • AZ
  • 85016
Web
This is a complaint from XXXX XXXX ( consumer ) against Maximum Title Loans , LLC ( lender ) for Maximum Title Loans unfair, unethical, and illegal collection practices. As detailed below, Maximum has used threats and intimidation as part of its debt collection efforts against XXXX XXXX sending an agent to his home at night to intimidate his family. In XX/XX/XXXX, XXXX XXXX entered into what was purported to be a two year title loan agreement with Maximum Title Loans , LLC. As collateral for this loan, XXXX XXXX used two vehicles ( Vehicle 1, XX/XX/XXXX XXXX XXXX and Vehicle 2, XX/XX/XXXX XXXX XXXX ). Over the course of the next two years, XXXX XXXX paid back {$27000.00} on the {$13000.00} loan. Dispute arose regarding whether there was still an outstanding balance at the end of the two year repayment period. This eventually resulted in a lawsuit from Maximum Title against XXXX XXXX ( XXXX ). During a hearing, when the judge was not in the courtroom, the representative from Maximum Title, XXXX XXXX, made threatening remarks to XXXX XXXX. When the judge returned to the courtroom, XXXX XXXX told the judge that he was being threatened, and the judge revealed that the courtroom was being recorded and played back the audio recording. This revealed the recorded threats, leading to an argument between the judge and XXXX in which he accused the judge of being biased. As a response, the judge transferred the case to be heard by a different judge. Sometime after the initial filing, Maximum repossessed Vehicle 1. On XX/XX/XXXX, Vehicle 2 was shockingly repossessed out of the court parking lot while the parties met for mediation. Vehicle 2 contained clients XXXX medication, wallet, and work keys. That same day, XXXX XXXX obtained an emergency order from the court, ordering the return of both vehicles. Maximum Title stated that it would return the wallet, keys, and medication by having it delivered to XXXX XXXX, but would not return the vehicles. That night at XXXX, Maximum Title sent the angry, yelling, menacing tow truck drive to XXXX XXXX home address. The driver, in an interaction with XXXX XXXX wife, made accusations and refused to return the vehicles or XXXX XXXX possessions. The clients were so intimidated and frightened by this interaction that they filed for and were granted an injunction against harassment against Maximum Title representative XXXX XXXX the next day ( XXXX ). On XX/XX/XXXX, armed with an order from the court and police escort, XXXX XXXX was able to locate and recover Vehicle 2 from the tow truck drivers impound lot. Despite the XX/XX/XXXX court order, Maximum Title has not returned Vehicle 1.
02/15/2017 No
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Problems when you are unable to pay
  • AZ
  • 85017
Web
Hello, I contacted you last year about Maxium Title Loans harrasing me over a unpaid loan. The case number that I was given XXXX. We eventually went to court on this matter and the judge ordered that I would have to pay {$730.00}, which what was owed when I defaulted on the loan after paying almost a year on it. I was going to have my wages garnished. The judgement came on XXXX XXXX, XXXX. I received a call at work on XXXX XXXX, XXXX from somebody probing my coworkers for information. I had already left for the day and my coworker referred them to my human resource department, XXXX. There was also a voicemail left on my work number as well saying to give them a call. Within 30mins of my coworker calling me about the call they got, I received a phone call on my personal number. My number is not associated w/my name and can only assume that my HR department gave them my personal number. The number Maxium Title Loans called from was XXXX XXXX XXXX and the gentlemen said that they were going to move forward on garnishment and did I want to work something out. I was in shock that they were calling me after being instructed never to call me at work and they could have not have had my personal number without getting it from my employer somehow. All that information was in the first complaint. I told the gentlemen that we were in court almost a year ago and I have been waiting for the garnishment since the court date. The gentlemen said that I owed the company over {$1300.00}. I told him that my paperwork said that I owed {$730.00} and it 's not my fault that they waited almost 1 year to get an extra {$600.00} on interest. NOT FAIR!! I told the gentlemen to do what he needed to do because I was not working anything out with him or his company. The garnishment should have taken place immediately after our court date and not 1 year later to gain interest. I am also reaching out to the courts where the judgement came from to see if I can get back into court for this delay that will cost me {$600.00} ( case number XXXX XXXX ).
02/22/2016 No
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Problems when you are unable to pay
  • AZ
  • 85302
Web
I took out a loan in XXXX 2014 for {$1000.00}. I paid on the loan monthly for XXXX or 14months. Due to health issues I did n't work for 5 weeks and could n't make a payment for the first time since the duration of the loan. I communicated this to Maximum Title Loans and that did n't matter. All I heard that there was no grace period and that the payment needed to be paid. I told MTL that I would make the payment the following month and it would be a double payment. Before that day came I would receive 9 calls a day on my cellphone at multiple of XXXX. With me being at hardship my cellphone was finally disconnected.At this point I would be receiving calls at work. I took a few calls at work and told them when I would be paying and not to call me at work because I could n't receive personal calls. That did n't matter because I kept getting calls and MTL was told by multiple co-workers and then to my supervisor. This was also done at multiple of XXXX 's once a day. They were told so much to stop calling my work that I got a write up and was suspended for 90 days without receiving a bonus check. This all happen within 30 days of me back to work from being off for a month with health issues. Once that happen I was very upset with the company and refused to pay on the loan. I was a customer that always paid them and did n't appreciate the way I was treated after defaulting on XXXX payment. With that being said I am now going to court against this company as they are trying to get a judgement for {$1500.00} which is {$500.00} more than the orginal loan. I also have paid approximately $ XXXX {$2000.00} on the loan and was down to $ XXXX on the loan before I defaulted. I know that I owe the company but my no means do I owe triple the amount that I borrowed from the company. I was a good customer and they were very unprofessional once I defaulted. After losing wages I was n't even thinking about paying MTL at this point. Would n't ever recommend them to anybody.
10/04/2017 Yes
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Title loan
  • Problem with the payoff process at the end of the loan
  • AZ
  • 85224
Web
My loan is for {$4000.00} with a payment due on the XXXX of the month for {$200.00}. I was contacted on Sunday which was the XXXX of the month and asked for payment. I informed the representative that I could not pay until the XXXX of the month. The representative would not allow me to adjust the my payment date and stated the collection efforts would continue. Every two hours I was texted and called in which I answered the text and phone calls repeating that I could not pay until the XXXX and that I would also pay the late fees at that time. On Monday I repeated the information to all the various phone calls I also receive on Monday. The representative stated they needed my car until I could pay the payment. I repeated that I would pay the payment on the XXXX plus the late fees. The representatives were now becoming aggressive and threating to call and text my employer and that the are going to report my car stolen. I repeated that I could pay the {$200.00} in 7 days along with the late fees. They continued to harass me by phone, email, text and I replied to all of them with the same answer, I can pay on the XXXX and all late fees. Wednesday is today, and the representatives are calling around to my business relationships and threatened to report the car stolen. I have called the business, Maximum Title loans, and have attempted to speak to a individual about my account and have had to leave voice mails and have not bee called back, yet I have been asked 3 times to surrender my vehicle without explanation. Please assist me in mitigating the damage to my personal reputation and business well being from being slandered by these debt collectors and assist in obtaining reasonable terms of repayment and ability to request a payoff and close the account. My name is XXXX XXXX XXXX and I can be reached at XXXX
07/05/2018 Yes
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Title loan
  • Struggling to pay your loan
  • AZ
  • 85331
Web
I took out a XXXX title loan on my car XX/XX/2018 with a 60 day no pay. They sent me an email on XX/XX/2018 stating that my payment was Due XX/XX/XXXX, I called them immediately to discuss why there was a payment due they then said Oh our mistake you are on a 60 day no pay your payment isnt until Due XX/XX/XXXX, then 3 days later I receive a text message saying my payment is past due the 2 seconds later I receive another text message saying please disregard you have a 60 day no pay. Then Today XX/XX/2018 my step daughter receives a call from them saying I am behind on my title loan and I need to pay them. I called them again to verify and was told I have to pay the payment now and I am behind, I explain I was told I had a 60 day no pay they then said let me call you back I need to talk to a manager, then 2 hours later I call back and I was told I have a 60 day no pay my payment is due XX/XX/XXXX.. then 3 hours later I get another call from the supervisor stating my payment is was due XX/XX/XXXX I explained I no longer had the money to make the payment as I was told that i had a 60 no pay if I have to pay now can I pay when I get paid in a week and she said I was told wrong information and I have to pay now or It will be a felony and they are going to call the police and take my car ... I made calls to them and I have returned everyone there calls each and every time and they are continuously calling my employer and all my references and giving them information on this loan which I never agreed to have them give my personal information and since I have been in touch and reachable why are they allowed to call every reference and my employer giving them details on my loan? The company is Maximum Title Loan LLC in XXXX AZ
03/15/2016 No
  • Consumer Loan
  • Vehicle loan
  • Problems when you are unable to pay
  • AZ
  • 85207
Web Older American
I have had an auto title loan with Maximum Title Loans for several years. Interest payment was due on XX/XX/XXXX. On XX/XX/XXXX, I called MTL and told them I planned to sell the car, then pay off the loan and interest. Rep agreed to my proposal. My car was repossessed on Saturday, XX/XX/XXXX, when interest was 14 days past due. I received no notification that our agreement would not be kept. On Monday, XX/XX/XXXX, I spoke to an MTL rep, asked that MTL hold to our agreement of XX/XX/XXXX, that repo fee be reversed and car returned to me. They refused. I tried over a period of three weeks to obtain the name and email of the owner of MTL. The reps I spoke with refused to allow me to contact him. Finally, on XX/XX/XXXX, I was given the information. On XX/XX/XXXX I asked the owner by email to return the car ; he waited until two weeks later to respond to me. He said my car had been sold at auction on XX/XX/XXXX. I 've received no written notice of the sale of the vehicle nor any written accounting of balance due. They have repeatedly harassed, threatened and bullied me and my contacts. They continue to call up to 9 times a day, plus emails and voice messages. I have twice sent emails requesting that they stop phoning me and my contacts and have told them over the phone to stop calling me. All requests have been ignored. The car was worth much more in a private sale than at auction. Had MTL held to our agreement of XX/XX/XXXX, I would have sold the car and paid off the loan long ago and be now free of the debt.
08/12/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Communication tactics
  • You told them to stop contacting you, but they keep trying
  • TX
  • 76120
Web
XXXX XXXX XXXX kept calling and Harressing me consently regarding and XXXX XXXX after me and my XXXX XXXX contect person XXXX XXXX one of accounts Manager at XXXX XXXX XXXX at XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX has sent Both XXXX XXXX Store Manager on XX/XX/2019 and XXXX XXXX from XXXX XXXX XXXX Collection Department the Power Of Attorneys Authorization form to communication with as my Power Of Attorneys from XXXX XXXX XXXX regarding my loan account and amount to set up payment arrangement to get them to set up and settlement offer to settle loan account. And provided them the cease and desist notice on XX/XX/2019 to cease and desist and terminate any all collection Harressment cal and to direct all communication with XXXX XXXX XXXX my Power Of Attorney to settle my loan account they has on filed and they consently kept calling and Harressing me regarding loan dept.
03/10/2019 Yes
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Title loan
  • Struggling to pay your loan
  • AZ
  • 85201
Web
This company has sent a text message which is disparaging me, violating at least one law that I know of while also presuming to lecture me on the law. When I am currently represented by a bankruptcy lawyer and that is in full legal force right now. They have also been lying and fishing forum information from family and friends, lying to them and trying to trick them into paying for my mistake and getting involved in these scum. No weapon formed against me shall prosper. Everything they are doing is blatantly and flagrantly violating the law. The fines involved in what they're doing outweighs my debt to them, tenfold. This abusive behavior has to stop.
04/04/2017 No
  • Consumer Loan
  • Title loan
  • Charged fees or interest I didn't expect
  • AZ
  • 85331
Web Servicemember
Lender exchanged loan for legal services at " zero interest '' with legal service fees to be credit as earned. Lender has confirmed these terms in writing with the BBB and in numerous texts and email messages. If lender had done so as agreed, this loan should be recorded as paid in full by XX/XX/2013 at the latest. Lender has not repossessed the vehicle, but refuses to release the lien he has kept in place on my title with the state MVD, so I can not sell the vehicle. I also consider this failure to properly credit payment to my account and an improper attempt to collect a debt that is no longer owed.
05/30/2019 Yes
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Title loan
  • Charged fees or interest you didn't expect
  • AZ
  • 85254
Web
The company increased my contract interest rate after they had reduced the rate. The loan was offered as interest only when I requested principal and interest payments. The loan has been repaid 3 times over in interest payments. Now the company is harassing me and harassing family and friends after I have repeatedly asked them according to the fair debt collection act to not contact family and friends and harass them. I have asked them to stop harassing me and that this loan was paid back in interest 3 times over. This is usury and excessive interest.
03/04/2020 No
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Title loan
  • Loan payment wasn't credited to your account
  • AZ
  • 85260
Web
I have a title loan with maximum title loan and I borrowed {$5000.00}. I have since made approx 2500 in payments and they have not deducted any of these from the balance. They also refuse to give me a break down of what Im paying, what the penalty fees are or a breakdown of my total amount owed. They wont provide me with any documentation from my loan and have never given me a copy of the signed contract. Theyve been charging me {$100.00} or more per day and I have no reason to believe I am in default or responsible for any late penalties at all.
06/20/2018 No
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Title loan
  • Vehicle was repossessed or sold the vehicle
  • AZ
  • 85051
Web
When I was unable to repay the loan, the company repossessed the car immediately, and has continued to add on fees and harass me calling ( home and job ), texting, emailing, and even showing up at my home repeatedly, all though out the day, harassing myself and relatives. Saying that I owe a balance that is 6 times more than the original loan and after taking the vehicle. The harassment is absolutely ridiculous. I have to file bankruptcy solely in hopes that it will stop them but I have a feeling it will not as these people are relentless.
09/01/2016 No
  • Payday loan
  • Payment to acct not credited
  • AZ
  • 85295
Web
First and foremost I owe the company. How ever they hired someone to collect the money. He or she contacted me after XXXX and made empty threats to me and said they already made a visit to someone who they scared so bad to pay them. XXXX advised when I can pay in full and they continued to threaten met and said only way they leave is me paying or by the cops at my work. I asked not to be bothered at work but they declined and said they will see me the following day.
04/01/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Communication tactics
  • You told them to stop contacting you, but they keep trying
  • AZ
  • 85257
Web
Maximum Title Loans will call over and over and over multiple times in the span of minutes. Today they called 3 times in a row and XXXX XXXX, then called my work and left a message with my boss. I have asked them repeatedly not to contact me at work as I am not allowed to have personal calls at work, yet they continue to call me at work. I thought it was illegal to contact someone at their workplace after you have asked them to stop.
10/12/2017 Yes
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Title loan
  • Struggling to pay your loan
  • AZ
  • 85282
Web
XXXX trucks repossessed after working with them on setlling on date agreed. I agreed to pay amount Paid {$2500.00} and they said it 's not current. Asked to pay additional {$370.00} with no details on fees tagged on. Actions taken. Called to request detail additional charges and advised I would pay to bring current to get trucks back. Plus I had received numerous personal harrasing text from the Company
07/08/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Auto
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • AZ
  • 85345
Web
My son is delinquent on auto loan. Loan and title have no connection to me. My son stays at my home off and on. Debt collector has called my home phone and my cell phone multiple times. He has been vulgar and has even threatened that he knows people where I work and will make comments to try to have me terminated.
10/13/2018 Yes
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Title loan
  • Struggling to pay your loan
  • AZ
  • 85364
Web
07/19/2018 Yes
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Title loan
  • Struggling to pay your loan
  • AZ
  • 85021
Web
05/16/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Communication tactics
  • You told them to stop contacting you, but they keep trying
  • AZ
  • 85281
Phone
11/23/2016 No
  • Consumer Loan
  • Title loan
  • Charged fees or interest I didn't expect
  • AZ
  • 85249
Web
09/27/2016 No
  • Consumer Loan
  • Title loan
  • Charged fees or interest I didn't expect
  • AZ
  • 85226
Web
08/16/2016 Yes
  • Payday loan
  • Charged fees or interest I didn't expect
  • AZ
  • 85345
Web Servicemember
05/17/2016 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Title loan
  • Can't contact lender
  • AZ
  • 85206
Phone
10/06/2015 No
  • Consumer Loan
  • Title loan
  • Charged fees or interest I didn't expect
  • AZ
  • 85023
Web
07/17/2015 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Title loan
  • Charged fees or interest I didn't expect
  • AZ
  • 85212
Web Servicemember