Main Street Personal Finance CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
03/09/2020 No
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Payday loan
  • Money was taken from your bank account on the wrong day or for the wrong amount
  • OK
  • 73071
Web
I took out a Payday loan on Monday XX/XX/2020 at Approved Cash in XXXX, Oklahoma. XXXX is the employee who did the loan. On Friday XX/XX/2020 I called in to Approved Cash. XXXX answered the phone, I was upset because I tried to reloan after paying off a loan at another place, but they wouldnt let me because it would have been my 4th loan and the loan that I had at Approved cash made it my 5th loan. I didnt understand why it would have been my 5th loan because it was my 3rd loan. I didnt know how I was going to work it all out because I was expecting that loan. My loan for Approved Cash was due Monday, so I said Id figure it out and hung up. I was able to get a debt consolidation loan to pay of my loans. I got all my bills paid and was going to pay approved cash on my way home from work. I get a text that money is low in my account. I dont understand why. So I look andApproved Cash cashed my check early. Our agreement gives me until XXXX to pay it. They never gave me the chance to pay it Monday. The paperwork I signed said I have to till XXXX on Monday. I called them and XXXX answered the phone. I asked why there was {$560.00} taken out of my account. I had till XXXX to pay it. She said because and stuttered. I said what she did was illegal and wrong. She said her boss XXXX told her to. I said why?? She said it was because of the conversation we had Friday. I said that is ridiculous and you cant take money out because you think someone isnt going to pay. I said I wanted XXXX her bosses phone number and she refuses to give it to me! Then she says shell have her call me. XXXX calls, and I tell her what she has authorized is horrible, and I want my money back. She finally says that they will replace it and then asks when Ill be in to pay my loan, and I say later in the day after work. I had to call the bank and ask them how many overages I have. I had to leave to talk to XXXX and XXXX too. Not only did I have to lose time and money with my job, I am going to be charged {$35.00} for each overdraft. They never apologized, they never offered to pay my penalties or time I had to leave my job to handle this. She wouldnt even give me her SUPERVISORS number until I asked her several times throughout the day. I asked her who regulates these loans? Who do I call to let them know what you did to me and my account? She REFUSED. This is so wrong.
10/14/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Threatened to contact someone or share information improperly
  • Contacted you instead of your attorney
  • MI
  • 48151
Web
On XX/XX/18 at XXXX XXXX, I received a voicemail call stating the following ; Good morning this is XXXX XXXX from the compliance and processing division with asset (? ) XXXX. We are trying to locate and notify my ( first middle last name ) in reference to fraudulent activity that has taken place being associated with your social security number ending in XXXX. Associates in the legal department here has received the legal authorization to process this case against Ms. ( last name ). Case number XXXX into XXXX County District Courts. Ms ( last name ) once this case is charged, all legal rights will be forfeited. Service and process will be completed at a verified home address and/or place of employment and you will be due to appear for the matter. If you would like to have this case dismissed, you will need to contact the legal department immediately at XXXX ext XXXX. ( first middle last name ) you have officially been notified good luck to you. She also called a a third party ( friend of mine ) without my consent, stating the same. Using yet another phone number different from the ones they called me from. Im unsure how they even have her contact info. Afraid that this has happened she called me in a panic to ensure I was aware. I had my attorney contact them moments afterwards. He learned its actually a debt collector regarding a debt of mine. He asked that they not call back and would consult with me regarding it. On Friday XXXX called me again from yet another phone number different than the first and was very rude and obscene. When I asked did they speak with my attorney she became much louder and obscene with me. I asked that they contact him as Im sure he advised if they had anything to provide for me. She got louder, I asked if she was familiar with how the FDCPA worked, she said yes, and I informed she should know that the lies they left on my voicemail and my friends, are wrong and against the policy. Not once did she state they were a debt collector, but there was fraudulent activity on my credit according to the last four digits and my entire government name, and that they were not to contact me again. I then hung up. Two more times after that I received phone calls from another Michigan number that I did not answer.
07/01/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened arrest/jail if do not pay
  • MS
  • 39205
Web
I received a phone call from XXXX XXXX at XXXX XXXX on XXXX/XXXX/2016. The number is XXXX. XXXX XXXX. is XXXX. She stated she was not a debt collector but a litigation specialist from the check fraud unit. She stated that I had been charged on XXXX counts, check fraud, malicious fraud of a financial institution and theft by deception. The Docket # was XXXX XXXX. I told her this had been filed on Bankruptcy and she said it did not apply to Federal Monies. She said that they had contacted the prosecutors office and they wanted to officially file charges today. She then stated that the paperwork had already been sent to XXXX County and if they could not locate me within 24-48 hours they would suspend my license until an arrest had been made. She said she checked with the State attorney 's office and I would be issued a bond in the amount of {$4000.00}. She said she could try to assist me in not being arrested if that was what I wanted her to do. I told her sure. She placed me on hold as if to be contacting the States Attorney 's office. She came back to the phone and said unfortunately, I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but these are your options. I could send them a Certified Form - XXXX XXXX from XXXX The blue and white form in the amount of {$260.00}. She said the state attorney 's office agreed that if this was paid before XXXX. they would not charge the court cost, filing fees and other fees. But it had to be received by XXXX It was to be sent to XXXX XXXX the security receive code is XXXX, the Acct # is XXXX in the amount of {$260.00}. I told her I would send the money and call with the reference number. Once I hung up, I contacted my attorney and they told me it was a Scam, and they in turn called XXXX and they also called the Court. Once the money was not received by them at XXXX, I received a call from XXXX which is the Justice Court Number in XXXX County. I answered but nobody said anything. I called back and they said Justice Court and hung up. I called my lawyer back again and they then called XXXX at the Justice Court and they both instructed me not to send any money it was a Scam. XXXX was to contact the Sheriff 's Dept and I am to call also.
08/08/2017 Yes
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Payday loan
  • Struggling to pay your loan
  • LA
  • 70458
Web
I came into hardship when i had an XXXX XXXX i was out of work for almost 6 weeks before my loan was due i told them of the situation i came in before the day before i was due to see if i could get out on a Payment plan XXXX told me that would Just take longer to pay out and more money from me i told her i cant keep renewing loan she told if i can just bring in the XXXX how i did last time with XXXX that will be fine 2 days later i went back out of work again XXXX called me i told her i do not have anything i am not at work she asked if i could find someone to borrow XXXX dollars from i told her i will try but i doubt it she called my job my manager has told them to stop calling when i was relieved from the doctor to return back to work my very first day back i received a call from XXXX i told her i can not receive calls her and prior to that my manager has told her that today XXXX XXXX,2017 at approximately XXXX i received a call from XXXX stating she was XXXX with approved cash demanding i come in today to Renew or pay off my loan or she will take me to court i then told her i ask you to not call here and your calling me on a cell phone i then hung. This company has been doing rollovers when they know a customer cant afford to bring the whole payback amount, they denied me the extended Payment plan, wont stop calling my place of employment, and has threatened me with legal while im at work on a work landline, this is embarrassment, harrassment and due to this i am now getting wrote up by my employer for personal calls and could be possibly terminated
08/05/2019 Yes
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Payday loan
  • Money was taken from your bank account on the wrong day or for the wrong amount
  • MI
  • 49508
Web Older American
onXX/XX/19,IwentintothepaydayloanofficelocatedatXXXXXXXXXXXXtogetaloanfor{$400.00}.Iwantedtolendittomydaughterforherdepositonherapartment.Ipresentedcheck#XXXXintheamountof{$450.00}totheclerk.ShenotedthatmynextpaycheckfromSocialSecuritywasXX/XX/19.ThiswasonedaylessthantheXX/XX/19whichshesaidwaswithinher30-daytransactionalruleforrepayment.Ididnotthinktheonedaywouldbeanissue.Wellitturnedouttobeanissuebecausemydaughter'srepaymenttomeofwhatIborrowedtogivetoherdidnothappenwithin29days.IcalledtheMerchanttwice:boththeweekbeforetheloanwasdueandthedaybeforeitwasdue.Nooneseemedtohaveconcreteanswers,buttheclerkondutyputaonedayholdonthecheck.ThiswasfinebecauseIknewthemoneywouldbedepositedbymidnightandIwouldnotneedtheentire24hours. SincemySocialSecuritycheckdroppedatmidnightonXX/XX/19,IwentintothepaydayloanmerchantthenextmorningandredeemedCheck#XXXXforcash.ThecheckwasreturnedtomeandIhavethebankreceiptwhereIwithdrewthemoney.Somehowcheck#XXXXwaspresentedtothebankelectronicallyonXX/XX/19bythemerchantafterIhadalreadyrepaidthemwithacashpayment.ThecheckclearedmyaccountonXX/XX/19.Thismeansthemerchantgotpaidtwiceor{$900.00}.Thiscausedfiveoverdraftsinmyaccountplustheadditional{$450.00}whichshouldnothavebeentaken.Thiscreatesahardshipforsomeoneonafixedincomethatthemerchantwouldbethiscarelessordishonest.ThishasbeenamajorinconvenienceandIwillnotdropthisissuebecauseitmeansthatIwillbethreeweekswithmyaccountinanegativebalanceandIcan'ttakecareofmyfinancialobligationsforthemonthofXXXX.Thisincludesfood,gasandothernecessities.
09/10/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Impersonated attorney, law enforcement, or government official
  • MI
  • 48227
Web
This is the second time I have received a call. The most recent message that I received is as follows : " This message is for XXXX XXXX also known as XXXX XXXX. Last four social XXXX. Mrs. XXXX My name is XXXX XXXX with XX/XX/XXXX. I'm calling in regards to legal documents that were submitted to my office today for two counts of financial fraud, Mrs. XXXX, I was actually looking at your documents ... in regards to XXXX XXXX XXXX, that's the attorney that foreseeing your bankruptcy file under the honorable Judge XXXX XXXX XXXX. Mrs. XXXX the bankruptcy fraud are some serious allegations. We need to discuss that and this video surveillance with you, and then make arrangements to contact your attorney and the judge to see what we can do about this ma'am. I need you to call the attorneys office at XXXX. '' end voicemail. This is the second call of this nature that I have received from this number. The original phone number that called me was XXXX. This number is listed as XXXX XXXX. I called back and the " receptionist '' XXXX XXXX. I asked for the address. I was given XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, NC.
12/18/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Threatened to contact someone or share information improperly
  • Contacted your employer
  • AL
  • 36611
Web
The XXXX XXXX XXXX called my job multiple times speaking to multiple employees including the owner of the company stating they were going to serve me with legal documents for a garnishment. I called back asked them to never call my job again but the lady named XXXX XXXX said she did not have to. That they were coming for me. I told her any documents they need to serve me with can be served to my home she told me to she was not serving to my home. She was only going to serve to my job. She stated she did not have to stop calling me and I advised her per the FDCPA she did and she said no she just wanted to make sure I was at work and hung up on me. On a voice mail she left for me she stated that I could be arrested at my job. She stated she spoke to my supervisor which is untrue because I report directly to the owner of the company and he is out of town. This is very unprofessional and embarrassing to say the least. She would n't even tell me what the paperwork is related to. I would have resolved on the spot but she hung up. I have a feeling it is related to an XXXX XXXX payday loan.
02/19/2016 No
  • Payday loan
  • Charged bank acct wrong day or amt
  • IN
  • 46614
Web
I took out a payday loan and went on payments. When first payment was due I was unable to make the payment. I contacted the institution and told them I had XXXX and was short on cash due to being out of work and unable to make the payment. I was told they would submit the check to my bank and once it was returned I could call and make payment arrangements. So that check was presented to my bank, returned nsf ( charged fees ) and then I called and made payment arrangements. They accepted a payment arrangement from me for XX/XX/2016 on my next payday. On that date, they ran my check through again and my bank cleared it with nsf fees. I do n't think it 's lawful that after accepting a payment arrangement from me that they could run my ck through for full payment. They never disclosed to me when I made the payment arrangement that they would run my check though on my next payday. They had accepted a payment arrangement from me and turned around and resubmitted my check, now my acct negative and I am unable to pay my utilities.
09/26/2016 No
  • Payday loan
  • Charged bank acct wrong day or amt
  • LA
  • 70601
Web
On XXXX XXXX, 2016 I paid {$55.00} ( receipt ) is attached. That brought my remaining balance to {$300.00}. The lady advised that since I was just renewing my loan I would have to write her another check for {$350.00}. I explained that I did not have any more checks. She said you can bring your check in when you get it, but just pay the {$55.00} to avoid the check being deposited. I went to the loan store on XXXX/XXXX/16 to render the check. She told me that they had cashed the original check for {$350.00}. She apologized and said that all she could do was possibly refund the {$55.00} I paid ( when i asked for the refund she said she could not do it at this time ). My complaint is that my balance owed on my account was {$300.00} on XXXX/XXXX/2016 and they cashed a check for {$350.00} on XXXX/XXXX/2016. I did not authorize that transaction and it is fraud. They told me if I paid the {$55.00} to renew my loan they would not submit it to be cashed as I had settled my debt with them.
05/14/2015 No
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Problems when you are unable to pay
  • OK
  • 74129
Web
I took out a high interest title loan with Approved Cash, XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, OK ( XXXX ) XXXX. I was 1 month and 1 day late on my payment, but intended to get caught up on payday XXXX/XXXX/2015. On XXXX/XXXX/2015 in the middle of the night they repossessed my car without my knowledge. They want the full balance, and will not accept payments to get caught up. I have possessions in the car, including the tag, that they will not let me retrieve them without paying a fee. They also will not let me know where the car is located so that I can inspect it before the sale next week. I asked them what the procedure was for claiming any funds left over from the sale after the balance is paid, and they said that they are not allowed to sale the car for more than what is owed on the note. The car has a blue book value XXXX to XXXX times the amount owed. I have never heard of an auction that has a set top dollar price.
01/27/2016 Yes
  • Payday loan
  • Payment to acct not credited
  • CA
  • 92337
Web
In XXXX my husband got a probate cash advance from a " probate inheritance advance '' company called ACAC , Inc . They had him sign a deed of trust and recorded said deed of trust against the real property in his mother 's estate even thought they told him that they would not do that until the loan became due which was XXXX, XXXX. In XXXX XXXX they filed a petition to have him removed as administrator and to force the sale of the family home. Since that time we have been fighting them in the probate court. In XXXX of last year they filed a declaration showing that at the time of the transaction they did not have a Mortgage/lenders. We have filed a lawsuit against them. They are stating that it was an " advance '' and not a loan so California statutes do not apply. I am trying to find out what the difference is between a loan and an " advance ''. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
10/07/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened arrest/jail if do not pay
  • VA
  • 24501
Web
I was paying on a payday loan from Approved Cash the best I could. I had yet to pay this month 's payment. I was waiting on my money to come in. I had told them that I would pay this month. I had not paid on the third, yet told them it would be after the third before I would pay. I received a voicemail on my phone saying if I did not pay it now she would charge me with fraud. She said that she would call the police and have me arrested that day. I ended up having to borrow the money from my mother to pay the loan off. I went to another store to pay and was told that she should have not left that message. I was afraid to call or contact her store even to tell her it was paid. I was afraid that even when I paid it off that she would have me arrested.
11/24/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • MI
  • 48917
Web
I have advised them in writing and verbally to only contact me in writing. They are continually calling my place of employment using different numbers each time. For example XXXX and XXXX. In addition they are continuing to contact my contacts listed although I have advised also for them to stop calling them and harassing them. My address is the same and I will respond to anything that is sent to me in writing however I do not want to be contacted by phone. When I was contacted and asked to verbally stop, they insisted that I owe them money and that is why they will continue to call. I have back to back calls to my place of work, my cell phone, my husbands phone etc.
03/01/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • MS
  • 39576
Web Older American
I had a payday loan onXX/XX/XXXX for {$300.00} to be paid on XX/XX/XXXX Check was need sent to my bank. I called the company to take the check to my bank. Check as never been sent to my bank. The company than my account to collection, which than they my account to third collection company. I paid them XXXX to them on XX/XX/XXXX. The payment has never been give to the payday loan company. They have owing this money. Third party collection company will not return my calls. I have my Mastercard to verify all of my payment. No one can tell me after two year no money has been to my account.
04/03/2018 Yes
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Payday loan
  • Struggling to pay your loan
  • OK
  • 74873
Web
I borrowed {$500.00} and a month later I lost my job. I have been unemployed and explained to the company that as soon as I can get a job or find a way to borrow money I will pay them. I have been served papers to go to court despite the fact that I have no job. I can borrow {$10.00} a month from someone and pay but I was told I have to pay the full amount to avoid court. I have no way to do this. Im confused at why if Im willing to work something out why Im still being taken to court.
01/19/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to arrest you or take you to jail if you do not pay
  • LA
  • 70582
Web
XXXX XXXX in XXXX XXXX, has called me as a collection/private agency between XX/XX/XXXX threaten me and my family member saying they have cops on the way to serve me paper to have me arrest. Looking up my father information his social security, and giving it over the phone to other. tell my family they have them subpoena to testify on their behalf.
06/21/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Sued you without properly notifying you of lawsuit
  • VA
  • 24014
Web
I had applied for a home loan and found out there was a default judgement issued against me back in 2010 from XXXX XXXX XXXX.When I called the court I was told where they posted my court notice and I did not even live at that address which I can prove. The company is now out of business so I can not take court action against them for this.
03/25/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Threatened to contact someone or share information improperly
  • Contacted your employer
  • SC
  • 29626
Web
I had a payday loan with XXXX XXXX in XXXX, SC. They have called my job everyday for a few weeks now, and today was asked to stop contacting me at work. They stated they would then come see me at work if I couldn't talk to them over the phone. threatened to come up to my employer which is unacceptable.
09/27/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • OK
  • 74403
Web
The debt was paid and is closed in the state database but they are still calling me when i told them I remembered paying it and it is not open in the database she said no thats wrong i have called the state database they say it is closed
02/07/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Seized or attempted to seize your property
  • MI
  • 48532
Web
A company claiming to represent XXXX XXXX- A payday loan company that I neglected to pay contacted me threatening to seize my vehicle, claiming that I committed fraud and other allegations Company name is XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX Phone # XXXX
10/17/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Talked to a third party about my debt
  • MI
  • 49509
Web
I owe XXXX to a payday company and the debt collector told XXXX of my family members that I owed money and that they would sue me for XXXX if I did n't get in touch with them.
02/25/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to arrest you or take you to jail if you do not pay
  • MI
  • 48198
Web
Office of XXXX XXXX contacted me on XX/XX/2019 and threaded to send XXXX county to my home. Agent on the phone abusive and threatening. XXXX Is the call back number given.
07/19/2019 No
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Payday loan
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account status incorrect
Phone
03/21/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to arrest you or take you to jail if you do not pay
  • MS
  • 38701
Phone
04/10/2018 Yes
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Payday loan
  • Loan payment wasn't credited to your account
  • LA
  • 70726
Web
03/12/2018 No
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Payday loan
  • Can't contact lender or servicer
Phone
01/19/2018 Yes
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Payday loan
  • Struggling to pay your loan
  • OK
  • 73505
Web
11/30/2016 No
  • Consumer Loan
  • Vehicle loan
  • Problems when you are unable to pay
  • OK
  • 73099
Web
11/14/2016 Yes
  • Payday loan
  • Charged bank acct wrong day or amt
  • LA
  • 70360
Web
08/31/2016 No
  • Consumer Loan
  • Title loan
  • Lender repossessed or sold the vehicle
  • OK
  • 74010
Phone Servicemember
07/13/2016 No
  • Payday loan
  • Charged bank acct wrong day or amt
  • SC
  • 29571
Web
04/12/2016 No
  • Payday loan
  • Received a loan I didn't apply for
  • AL
  • 36603
Web
03/21/2016 No
  • Payday loan
  • Charged fees or interest I didn't expect
  • IN
  • 46614
Web
02/23/2016 No
  • Payday loan
  • Charged bank acct wrong day or amt
  • IN
  • 46614
Web
11/25/2015 No
  • Consumer Loan
  • Title loan
  • Lender repossessed or sold the vehicle
  • OK
  • 74953
Postal mail Older American, Servicemember
09/15/2015 No
  • Payday loan
  • Can't contact lender
  • SC
  • 29365
Web
08/27/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • AL
  • 36856
Phone
04/24/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • MI
  • 49424
Web
03/04/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Communication tactics
  • Called after sent written cease of comm
  • AL
  • 35579
Web
02/04/2015 No
  • Payday loan
  • Charged bank acct wrong day or amt
  • SC
  • 29649
Web
11/05/2014 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Title loan
  • Charged fees or interest I didn't expect
  • VA
  • 24502
Web
09/23/2014 No
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened arrest/jail if do not pay
  • MI
  • 49442
Web
03/17/2014 Yes
  • Payday loan
  • Charged fees or interest I didn't expect
  • MI
  • 49508
Web
03/12/2014 No
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Communication tactics
  • Threatened to take legal action
  • MI
  • 49548
Phone
02/19/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Contacted employer after asked not to
  • TN
  • 38116
Web
01/31/2014 Yes
  • Bank account or service
  • Other bank product/service
  • Making/receiving payments, sending money
  • DC
  • 20010
Web