Huntington Debt Holding LLC CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
08/24/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened or suggested your credit would be damaged
  • TX
  • 770XX
Web
Someone called me from XXXX XXXX ( on behalf of Huntington Debt Holdings ) about a debt that XXXX sent on a purchase that i had been reaching out to the merchant for a year about taking the product back. They allowed me 3 months for a return ( which they extended to 6 months later after i asked to return it ). I contacted them right after i received the product as there was XXXX XXXX on the mattress, the mattress was causing XXXX, and it looked used i had purchased this product using XXXX. I sent pictures to the merchant right after opening it, and they told me no one would pick it up due to covid and extended my return window. I called every month and continued emailing asking them to come get this mattress. They kept extending my return window and offering credits. I told them i dont want credits i want to return it. I informed XXXX of this and told them ive been asking the merchant to come get it as per being allowed to return it. They never came to get it. a man from XXXX XXXX called me, yelled at me, didnt let me speak, used intimidation tactics ( violating my FDCPA rights ) and then told me VERBATIM " we dont care what your reasoning is '' and that " Huntington Holdings '' does not care about my proof when i asked where i can forward my repeated correspondence. He then intimiated me by saying they will put negative remarks on my credit report if I refuse to pay it, despite me asking to provide the correspondence proof to Prove I had a return request in. Then he said " SO I HAVE TO LISTEN TO YOU THE WHOLE TIME ABOUT THIS? '' and hung up on me when i was providing dates, times and factual information that i can easily provide and asked him to stop talking over me, especially since he just threatened my credit and told me he doesnt care what my proof or reasoning is because lull cant help anymore ( which is false as this goes entirely back to them ). He also tried to say the debt was valdified because I made a few payments ( they collect multiple times a month at XXXX ) before asking to return it. I told him this doesnt validify debt and he got really irritated that I was aware of my rights. He also accused me of having received paperwork that i NEVER received. In fact, before today, i had NEVER heard of this company
02/05/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Indicated you were committing crime by not paying debt
  • KS
  • 66207
Web
On XX/XX/2020, I was contacted by XXXX XXXX from XXXX XXXX XXXX on behalf of Huntington Debt Holdings, LLC. XXXX XXXX called my cell phone twice within 5 minutes ( XXXX CST and XXXX CST ) and called my work immediately after looking for me. Upon answering the call at my work, I attempted to work out an agreement with Mr. XXXX, but he indicated that my account was in " garnishment '' status. I questioned this, as no legal action had not yet been served, nor a judgment levied against me. I probed this further, and said that there could not be a garnishment against me, as there had been no legal proceedings. Mr. XXXX then threatened me with legal action, saying it was " in garnishment status '' because the State of Kansas would just go ahead and approve their claim. I countered this with " well, since it was not presented in court, no garnishment could occur as of yet. '' Mr. XXXX then became very defensive, saying that I " took merchandise without paying for it. '' At that time, I demanded to speak with a different person, as I did not approve of his tone or professionalism. I spoke to a different representative at XXXX XXXX XXXX, and we came to an amicable agreement to pay the debt in full.
07/16/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • NY
  • 142XX
Web
My family and friends were receiving back to back calls and voicemails over the course of 20 minutes from a person saying they were from the Information Research Department asking for my address to send me a certified notice. I called the number back and was yelled at by a staff member of a company claiming to be XXXX XXXX XXXX. He forwarded me to his manager who said I owed a debt of {$510.00} to Huntington Debt Holdings LLC and that they were collecting on their behalf. I told him I never received a notice. He said it was sent to an old address of mine but he wouldnt provide me with a copy of the notice that Huntington allegedly sent. He would only provide a copy of a demand from XXXX which does not specify I have a right to dispute. I have called Huntington many times, left voicemails, and emailed. I can not get through to a person to request verification of debt. XXXX is threatening to send this debt to collections if I do not set up a payment plan with them by XXXX today. But I dont feel comfortable giving out my account information without verifying the debt. All I am looking for is verification of debt from the actual holder of the debt, Huntington Debt Holdings LLC.
02/14/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • MO
Web
I received a voicemail message stating that if I didn't return the call it would be escalated legally. This company never left their name or advised they were attempting to collect a debt. I returned the call the lady stated they were collecting on behalf of Huntington debt holdings. She stated they had bought the debt from XXXX XXXX. I informed her that I never received any communication stating the account was sold nor did they send a letter giving me the amount owed and opportunity to dispute the debt.
04/05/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • NM
Web
I was unaware of my account was XXXX XXXX XXXX was sold two different times. It was paid in full {$3900.00} to XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. The original Balance was XXXX with XXXX XXXX XXXX. Open date was XX/XX/XXXX. It is showing negative status as it has been paid in full as of XX/XX/XXXX. And still has a negative status. I am trying to at least get it to show " Paid in Full in Collections ''. I have call 4 total companies about this account. And seem to get no where.
08/06/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • TX
  • 774XX
Web
This account from XXXX XXXX was paid by XXXX XXXX XXXX ON XXXX.I was told that the account was never sold at all.I have tried to contact Huntinggton Debt Holdding with no reply.The account showed up like two weeks ago on my XXXX credit report but has a date of XXXX.I have never received any letters in the mail regarding the account. {$610.00} was paid on XX/XX/2021
10/07/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • AZ
  • 852XX
Web Servicemember
Loan was an illegal tribal loan that has been sold multiple times to non-tribal collection agencies that do not have any legal authority to collect. They refuse to provide anything. They are threatening to take my car and house despite neither being collateral for the loan.
08/02/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • IA
  • 507XX
Web
I sent a letter to Huntington Debt Holding requesting specific information in regards to an account theyre reporting on my credit report and have yet to hear anything back in regards to that letter.
07/30/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Communication tactics
  • Called before 8am or after 9pm
  • CA
  • 930XX
Web
Company by the name Huntington Debt Holdings, LLC has emailed me before XXXX to tell about a debt. I had reviewed the email and it was sent at XXXX my time.
08/16/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • MI
  • 492XX
Web
I check my credit report and I see a account is not mine I never lived on Ny and I never take any loan or debt on that country
10/04/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • IA
  • 50702
Web
08/16/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was result of identity theft
  • ID
  • 83634
Web Servicemember
08/06/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • NH
  • 03104
Web
07/15/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • TX
  • 77042
Web
01/12/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • False statements or representation
  • Told you not to respond to a lawsuit they filed against you
  • OH
  • 45255
Web
09/04/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • CA
  • 90027
Web
07/10/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • FL
  • 32605
Postal mail