Hirshberg Acceptance Corporation CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
06/07/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Sued you without properly notifying you of lawsuit
  • MI
  • 48045
Web
I was contacted in XX/XX/XXXX, via U.S. mail, by Hirshberg Acceptance of XXXX, MI ( a debt buyer ) that they had acquired my XXXX XXXX credit card account claiming a balance of {$2000.00}. In XX/XX/XXXX they wrote me again, this time offering a " settlement. '' OnXX/XX/XXXX, I sent them a letter via U.S. mail wishing to resolve the obligation. I informed them that the amount due was {$1000.00} and with my current family financial distress would only be able to pay $ XXXX/month. Hirshberg worte back on XX/XX/XXXX and agreed to the offer to make payments on the {$1000.00} balance but at $ XXXX/month. I started to write Hirshberg and explain I could only make $ XXXX/month at this time with the expectation to increase to $ XXXX/month when my finances improved. However, on the same day ( XX/XX/XXXX ), I received a letter from XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX attempting to collect the same debt. I promptly wrote XXXX a letter via U.S. mail requesting they provide documentation that they owned the debt as another company was attempting to collect the same debt. I also wrote Hirshberg via U.S. mail requesting documentation that they owned the debt as another company was attempting to collect the same debt. I never heard back from XXXX. Hirshberg requested the name of the other company ( I did not provide ) and sent me documentation on XX/XX/XXXXXX/XX/XXXX that they owned the debt. They provided copies of their purchase agreements along with a XXXX copy of a spreadsheet listing my information for the debt. However, in an effort to show me the column headers they taped my information OVER TOP OF ANOTHER PERSON 'S INFORMATION NAME, ADDRESS, PHONE NUMBER, DEBT INFORMATION AND SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER. ( I still have this information ). I received no further communication from Hirshberg until my bank account was garnished in XX/XX/XXXX. I immediately contacted the court and found out that they had won a judgment from me in the amount of {$2200.00} ( up from {$2000.00} ). I had never been served or summoned that they had filed a court date. I immediately filed an objection to the garnishment and received a court date. In the time before the court appearance, they removed two withdrawals from my bank account in the amount of {$330.00} and {$340.00}. In court, I was able to stop the garnishment, but the judge would not lower the awarded amount of {$2200.00} even though I explained Hirshberg had originally agreed to accept {$1000.00} and that I was not served or notified of a court appearance. However, in the courtroom, it was agreed by all parties that Hirshberg would accept $ XXXX/month payments beginning XX/XX/XXXXuntil paid in full. From the paperwork I received as part of the garnishment, it stated the amount of the unsatisfied judgment was {$2200.00} which included interest and court costs. There was no mention on the judgment that there would be interest ( daily ) charged AFTER and continuing until the balance was paid. I ended up paying {$3200.00} with the interest they charged for a judgment they received in the amount of {$2200.00} - over {$1000.00} in interest. ( Ironically, the amount of the original debt ... {$1000.00} ). Pretty good profit on a debt that they paid pennies on the dollar for ...

{$330.00} - XXXX Garnishment {$340.00} - XXXX Garnishment {$50.00} - XXXX 2 payments @ $ XXXX/month {$300.00} - XXXX 12 payments @ $ XXXX/month {$300.00} - XXXX 12 payments @ $ XXXX/month {$300.00} - XXXX 12 payments @ $ XXXX/month {$300.00} - XXXX 12 payments @ $ XXXX/month {$300.00} - XXXX 12 payments @ $ XXXX/month {$300.00} - XXXX 12 payments @ $ XXXX/month {$300.00} - XXXX 12 payments @ $ XXXX/month {$170.00} - XXXX 7 payments @ $ XXXX/month {$250.00} - XXXX 5 payments @ $ XXXX/month I was never able to find out if they were entitled to collect interest AFTER the judgment. ( It was stated in the paperwork that they were entitled to interest and court costs at the judgment they received for {$2200.00}. ) Unfortunately, you really need legal representation to fight these debt collection companies but find that it is usually hard to afford. I found that is was impossible and pointless to represent yourself in court.

02/18/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Sued you without properly notifying you of lawsuit
  • MI
  • 48473
Web
I was sued and a judgement for a 17 year old credit card debt was entered against and they sent the summons to an address that I haven't ever lived at. It was my sister 's old address and a summons was never served there for either of those court dates. My sister said that someone came there in early XXXX and asked if I lived there and she told them that I do not live there and they left. This company was able to locate my current work address for a garnishment order so they should have been able to locate my current address because it's on my credit report and they purposely stated that they sent a summons to the wrong address and I haven't seen proof that someone even signed for that summons. I don't remember this debt and don't feel that I have been able to fairly answer to this. Also if it's 17 years old can I be sued over this? I called the court and they said a judgement was entered against me in XXXX for XXXX and renewed on XXXX and was for XXXX plus XXXX in interest totalling XXXX but I have no knowledge of either of these judgments and the reason I am finding out about this is because a garnishment order was sent to my employer and they informed me. Is there anything I can do to stop this or get this resolved without being garnished. Were my legal rights violated? Wouldn't XXXX even be past the statute of limitations if this debt is 17 years old? I only have 14 days to figure this out according to the court papers. Did this company break a law by not serving me correctly? I called the attorney on this and she said that nothing can be done and they do whatever they need to do to collect this debt. I don't even know if this debt is truly mine. I would like to know my legal rights regarding this. I just found out recently that an ex wife that I've been divorced from for several years still has a credit card with my name on it and I shouldn't be responsible if I didn't create the debt but with such limited information I can't defend myself on this. The only information I have is that the debt is 17 years old and that this company went to court without properly notifying me twice and a judgement against me was made and now I'm being garnished.
09/29/2020 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Information is missing that should be on the report
  • MI
  • 481XX
Web
On XX/XX/XXXX of XXXX, I bought a vehicle that was financed through Modern Financial Services of XXXX. Being a first time car buyer I expected my credit to take a while to show up but was still waiting for it to come. Around XXXX of XXXX, I was still not seeing anything on my credit report from this company, so I called and questioned them. They told me we are currently having troubles with our credit Reporting, it should be there in a couple months. Around comes XX/XX/XXXX, I call again because there is still no credit report from them. Another month and a half goes by, I decide to refinance. So around XX/XX/XXXX, I refinance away from Modern Financial Services, still not seeing a credit report from this company. It has been over a year that I was financed through them, so I expected to see a years worth of credit from them, which one member of the company, XXXX, told me would happen. He told me every time I called, we will be reporting fairly, you will see a years worth of credit on your report as soon as its approved. Then when I viewed my credit today, XX/XX/XXXX it was finally there, but I was only given one months worth of credit and was told that was all I will be receiving, which is unfair and in many different ways, and I was lied to, and I have read that this is not the first time this has happened.
07/08/2022 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Getting a loan or lease
  • Fraudulent loan
  • MI
  • 48327
Web
On XX/XX/XXXX I purchased a XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXXXXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX MI XXXX ( XXXX ) XXXX. The vehicle was XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, MI XXXX ( XXXX ) XXXX. Upon purchase, I did do a test drive, but I requested to take the vehicle in for a inspection and informed the salesman that I would be doing so that day and was told because someone had stolen a vehicle that I was unable to drive the vehicle so far away for the inspection. I signed a as is no dealer warranty buyers guide but was in fact given a dealer warranty and the dealer is refusing to make the repairs needed to the vehicle. The vehicle was sold to me without a Catalytic Converter and just a straight pipe and was totaled out in a accident in XXXX and I was not made aware of that at the time of sale. I took the vehicle to be inspected also my insurance company had the vehicle inspected by a third party and everyone has come to the same conclusion that I was sold a lemon vehicle. I haven't reached out to XXXX XXXX XXXX because I'm afraid to be intimidated by them. I need help with this issue please.
12/13/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Right to dispute notice not received
  • MI
  • 486XX
Web
To whom it may concern I have been in contact with a debt collector that works out of the office of XXXX. Address : XXXX, XXXX, MI XXXX. They claimed that they had sent notices about the credit card debt but I never received any information from then until I had been informed from mine and my wifes bank that our savings account was being garnished. After I contacted the company I received a letter from them. I sent them the information they requested and a letter of debt validation ( certified mail ) on XX/XX/2016. I called them today XX/XX/2016 and they are refusing to send me any information about the debt they claim I owe. From the research I have done they are breaking the law under the ( FDCPA ).
05/26/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • MI
  • 48842
Web
This company has been garnishing my State taxes the past eight years and recently have begun garnishing my wages and attempting to garnish my bank accounts. I have never received any information as to what the debt is that I owe, how they acquired it and how much it is, or whether or not there is an option to make monthly payments. The only contact I receive from them occurs after a court date that I was not made aware of, usually stating that I owe them the exact same amount every year and that they have been awarded my stat taxes. Recently I attempted to call them to find out the nature of this debt, no one answered the phone and my call was not returned.
11/05/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Auto debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was result of identity theft
  • MI
  • 48141
Web
I am XXXX XXXX, and I am sending this request myself to address the inaccuracies on my Credit Reports. Regardless of the numerous written requests, the inaccurate account listed below is still reporting on my credit report in violation of Federal Law. They failed to comply with the Fair Credit Reporting Act, 15 USC sections 1681i within the time declared by law and continued reporting of unconfirmed information which now, given all my efforts to address it directly with the creditor, as willful negligence and non-compliance with federal statutes. Here is the account that needs to be removed : MODERN FINANCE CORP - XXXX
06/11/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Auto
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Right to dispute notice not received
  • MI
  • 48328
Web
Financed A Car in 2011 XXXX XXXX XXXX ... XXXX XXXX ( Buy Here Pay Here ) For XXXX dollars had It almost Paid Off Down to XXXX Dollars ... Car Started Giving Me Multiple Problems Called My Dealership Asking If They Could Have It Fixed Or Put Me In Another Vechicle They Basically Told Me No It Wasent Thier Problem ... I lost Out On Money & Also Had To Find Rides Back & Fourth To Work..Called Them Up To Come & Get The Car & They Wouldnt Take It Back ... Financed From Them Before in Good Standing ... They Also Went out Of Business Shortly After ...
02/01/2021 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account information incorrect
  • MI
  • 48227
Web
XXXX The company reported to my credit the same account at separate time with ( 2 ) separate amounts thats owed ( 1 ) amount stated XXXX and the 2nd amount stated XXXX ( for the same account ), It impacted my credit score lowering it dramatically in which case caused a loan I was applying for to be denied. Ive contacted the company explaining this issue only to be placed on hold and then hung up on. Ive recently reached out again in XX/XX/2021 and still havent had any luck.
12/01/2023 Yes
  • Credit reporting or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Improper use of your report
  • Credit inquiries on your report that you don't recognize
  • MN
  • 551XX
Web
THE COMPANY XXXX XXXX XXXX CONTINUES TO INQUIRE INTO MY CREDIT FILE WITHOUT MY PERMISSION, UNAUTHORIZED ACCESSING MY CREDIT FILE CAUSING HARD INQUIRY. I BELIEVE THEY ARE STEALING MY PERSONAL INFORMATION FOR SELL. I HAVE PLACED NUMEROUS FRAUD ALERT ON MY CREDIT FILE, AND XXXX XXXX INQUIRES INTO MY CREDIT FILE EACH YEAR MY FRAUD ALERT EXPIRES.
07/07/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Sued w/o proper notification of suit
  • MI
  • 488XX
Web
I was notified by my bank that my bank account was frozen on XXXX/XXXX/2016 for a debt I have not been notified about or received any notice of. I have received no collection forms, calls, letters to this point from this company in at least 12 years of said debt. I have yet to receive notice of this debt but my bank account is now froze.
09/22/2018 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Improper use of your report
  • Credit inquiries on your report that you don't recognize
  • MI
  • 48207
Web
On XX/XX/XXXX Hirschberg Acceptance ILLEGALLY submitted a hard inquiry my credit report with malicious intent. I called them On XX/XX/XXXX to request a removal and purpose on the inquiry and they stated there was no reason. They are upset because I won a court case against them in XX/XX/XXXX.
12/19/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • MI
  • XXXXX
Web
My State income tax refund was garnished and my bank accounts have been garnished. I do n't know what this is about. I have n't received information about this. To whom I supposedly owe money, how much, when etc ... I have tried to contact Hirshberg Acceptance repeatedly with no success.
10/24/2022 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Auto debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Sued you without properly notifying you of lawsuit
  • MI
  • 48238
Web Servicemember
A judgement was issued unjustly. I was never served with notice and was XXXX XXXX XXXX when the judgement was given. The amount asked is not what I paid for in the vehicle or reflecs any amount paid.
11/22/2021 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Public record information inaccurate
  • MI
  • 48125
Web
I notice someone checked my credit report who I did not authorize. XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX
03/14/2022 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Auto debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • MI
  • 48341
Web
08/05/2021 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem
  • Investigation took more than 30 days
  • MI
  • 48121
Web
05/30/2020 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Improper use of your report
  • Credit inquiries on your report that you don't recognize
  • MI
  • 48393
Web
05/23/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • AZ
  • 85251
Web
12/14/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Auto
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Right to dispute notice not received
  • MI
  • 48076
Web
06/29/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Talked to a third party about my debt
  • MI
  • 48423
Web
03/03/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • MI
  • 48066
Web