G. Reynolds Sims & Associates, P. C. CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
08/16/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Communication tactics
  • Threatened to take legal action
  • MI
  • 483XX
Web
G. Reynolds Sims, took over a credit card debt that I had for approximately $ XXXX last year, around XXXX XXXX. I was actually wrapping up a divorce at the time. I was making monthly payments and having them auto deducted from my checking. I moved however did not change my phone number and also forwarded my mail as well as legally changed my address. Five month later this law firm contacts me and says I now owe them over $ XXXX. They requested documents, tax returns, pay vouchers, bank statements, which I provided back at the end of XXXX XXXX. I did not hear from them again until recently when they, without communication or notification garnished my bank account taking all my money, plus the bank charged a {$120.00} fee for doing so. They took {$400.00} and this occurred about two weeks ago. I found out about it when I tried to purchase food with my debit card and it was declined. I logged onto my bank website to find my account balance to be XXXX. I called the bank and they investigated these transactions and indicated that G. Reynolds Sims garnished my account. How is it legal and fair that a company can do such things. I was reasonably trying to work with them to settle this debt and make payments. None of the XXXX other companies I 've dealt with had any problems calling me or sending me communications by mail to resolve my debts. I was and have been doing the responsible thing and trying to pay these debts and not just declaring bankruptcy like many people seem to do and just walk away. Can your agency please assist with this company and their handling of my account? How can a company purchase a debt for pennies on the dollar then turn around and charge over 30 % interest on the original debt amount? If this is legal then I think I want to go into the business of buying charged off credit card accounts as well. To be honest I am fearful of them and their tactics. I have been nothing but cooperative with them and have not been trying to dodge them like some consumers do. I am at my wits end with them and am at a total loss as to what to do in handling them. Any assistance you can provide or any recourse with this firm would be much appreciated.
03/21/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • False statements or representation
  • Impersonated attorney, law enforcement, or government official
  • MI
  • 483XX
Web
On or about XX/XX/XXXX. G Reynolds Sims & associates, P.C., XXXX XXXX XXXX ( XXXX ), XXXX XXXX XXXX ( XXXX ) et al, filed or caused to be filed a debt collection lawsuit using the name XXXX , XXXX as plaintiff in the XXXX district court of Michigan. G.Reynolds Sims & associates, P.C. attempted garnishments of this consumer 's state of Michigan tax returns for several years following judgement issued in favor of XXXX , XXXX by the XXXX XXXX district court. Additional facts are as follows : 1. XXXX XXXX was divested of all its assets in a bankruptcy in XXXX. See public records 2. G. Reynolds Sims & associates, P.C. continues to put itself forth as a collection agency located within the territorial bounds of the state of Michigan. See attached screenshots 3. A search of the Michigan department of licensing and regulatory affairs occupational licensing database does not show results for G. REYNOLDS SIMS & ASSOCIATES, PC as licensed collection agency in Michigan. See attached screenshots 4. Licensing/ unlicensed status confirmation requests are sent to the Michigan department of licensing and regulatory affairs. Response pending 5. G.Reynolds Sims & Associates PC was without an assignment of debt from the alleged original creditor either to G. Reynolds Sims & Associates, P.C or the alleged plaintiff XXXX , XXXX ( court documents available on request ) 6. An attorney associated with G.Reynolds Sims & Associates, P.C filed the only affidavit in the XXXX XXXX action of XXXX claiming knowledge of XXXX XXXXs business records in spite of XXXX XXXX never having a custodian of records. See attached affidavit and public bankruptcy filings concerning the XXXX XXXX bankruptcy. 7. G.Reynolds Sims & Associates, P.C still continues to act as a collection agency to this day. See attached 8. Collateral CFPB complaints against XXXX , XXXX and XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX have been filed. See attached screenshots for complaint ID numbers.
02/07/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • MI
  • 481XX
Web
In XX/XX/XXXX, I got a credit card from XXXX XXXX XXXX, now XXXX XXXX. I used the credit card up to the limit of {$1500.00} and had trouble making the required payments. In XX/XX/XXXX I was requested to go to the bank and make a payment of {$630.00}. I understood this to be a reduced amount that if it were payed, the balance of the debt would be forgiven and the card closed out. I went to the bank and made that payment of {$630.00}. In XX/XX/XXXX, I got a summons to appear in court and was required to make additional payments of {$100.00} per month to pay down the outstanding debt. I thought the debt was paid already. So during the time frame of XX/XX/XXXX-XX/XX/XXXX, through a combination of payments and garnishment of my income tax returns, {$3600.00} was paid. Added to the prior payment made at the bank, I have paid {$4200.00} total against the original credit card debt of {$1500.00}. Given that I CAN NOT pay you any more, you are just adding to my stress level. Currently I am social security XXXX, diagnosed with XXXX XXXX, seeing a XXXX twice monthly. I am also supporting another person on my SS. I am XXXX, XXXX and will likely not work again. I barely have enough money to make it month to month. I am asking in fairness, that after paying {$4200.00} total, against a debt of {$1500.00} that any balance remaining be forgiven.
05/10/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • WI
  • 543XX
Web
Law Office of G. Reynolds Sims And Associates, P.C. XXXX XXXX is a Collection Agency. XXXX XXXX associates had been contacting/harassing me since XX/XX/XXXX for a debt they ca n't prove. They also contacted my brother XXXX times, XXXX of them was at his place of employment. They told my brother that they are trying to contact me to collect on a debt that I owe. I sent XXXX XXXX XXXX letters in XX/XX/XXXX disputing the collection. I have not received a response to my XXXX letter. I thought that everything was ok until I was contacted from XXXX this year ( XX/XX/XXXX ) indicating that I have XXXX open collections account on my credit report. I had received several calls from collection reps. Especially from XXXX, whom was very rude, talked over me, told me to contact someonethat can pay the debt for me or I should sell something. He then asked for mybank account number. I told XXXX XXXX I want proof of the debt that they are trying to collect. He said it is my responsibility to prove it. I asked him how can I prove it if itdid n't happen. I am still trying to get this dispute resolved.
05/06/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • False statements or representation
  • Impersonated attorney, law enforcement, or government official
  • MI
  • 483XX
Web
On or about XX/XX/2012 G.Reynolds Sims & associates P.C. filed a complaint against this consumer in the name of XXXX , XXXX in the XXXX district court of Michigan. G.Reynolds Sims & associates P.C., attached to their complaint, an affidavit sworn to by a lawyer from their firm and endorsed by a woman without an active notary commission with the State of Michigan. Michigan law prohibits lawyers or lawyers from a firm from acting as witnesses in cases they're litigating on behalf of clients. Michigan law further prohibits unauthorized use of a notary. This consumer is not certain whether it was actually XXXX XXXX XXXX that unlawfully notarized the affidavit or if G Reynolds Sims & associates P.C. unlawfully used her name unbeknownst to her. Nothing in the record at the XXXX district court of Michigan indicates that the plaintiff ever appeared in an adversarial process, YET THE DEBT COLLECTION ACTIVITIES CONTINUE TO THIS DAY. A collateral complaint has also been filed with the State of Michigan Office of the Great Seal.
05/25/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • MI
  • 49221
Phone
08/15/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • FL
  • 33971
Postal mail
10/23/2015 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Taking out the loan or lease
  • GA
  • 303XX
Web Older American
06/05/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Sued w/o proper notification of suit
  • MI
  • 482XX
Web Servicemember
12/10/2013 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Auto
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • MI
  • 48504
Web Older American, Servicemember
11/07/2013 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • MI
  • 48239
Web