Forest Recovery Services LLC CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
03/05/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • NY
  • 11960
Web
I am disputing an erroneous debt collection letter from Forest Recovery Services, LLC XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, IL XXXX ( XXXX ) XXXX ( see enclosed ) in the amount of {$1600.00} on behalf of XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, a fraudulent company that is not licensed and has been sanctioned and ordered to cease and desist operations in numerous states due to fraudulent, illegal, unfair and deceptive consumer practices. XXXX XXXX, XXXX issued a fraudulent, illegal contract for the cremation service of my mom on XX/XX/XXXX, based on the deliberately deceptive pretense that they were a family-owned and operated, licensed funeral home and cremation provider '' in New Jersey. On its website, XXXX, XXXX XXXX, XXXX, represents itself to be locally owned, operated and licensed nationwide in all states. Owned and operated by XXXX XXXX XXXX and XXXX XXXX, XXXX, XXXX XXXX, XXXX is in fact not licensed in any state, nor is it an actual funeral home or cremation provider, but is instead a web-based marketing company that targets grieving families who have just lost a loved one in a nationwide scam that covertly subcontracts cremation services to a local funeral home. Essentially, XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX acts as a body broker. As such, I was defrauded by XXXX XXXX, XXXX, and will be filing complaints with the Federal Trade Commission and the New York and New Jersey Attorneys General accordingly. Cited below is a sample of various state actions taken against XXXX XXXX, XXXX, with relevant supported documentation enclosed in this complaint. In COLORADO : See enclosed documents. On XX/XX/XXXX, the Office of Funeral Home and Crematory Registration of the State of Colorado ordered a summary suspension against XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX dba XXXX XXXX XXXX and XXXX XXXX, Appointed Designee, also known as XXXX XXXX XXXX, and XXXX XXXX XXXX. XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX is owned and operated by XXXX XXXX and XXXX XXXX XXXX, also known as XXXX XXXX. The address of record for XXXX XXXX XXXX is XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX, CO, XXXX which is a virtual office. Respondents do not reside within the state of Colorado. Respondents are in the business of providing funeral goods or services to the public through their website XXXX. Respondents do not have appropriate equipment or personnel to provide funeral goods or services it contracts from its registered business address in XXXX XXXX, Colorado, as it is a virtual address. Respondent advertises that it is a licensed cremation provider and cremations are performed by licensed funeral directors. Respondent is not a Colorado crematory and does employ licensed funeral directors who are able to perform cremations in the state of Colorado. Respondent is using the advertising and/or its Colorado registration to conduct unlicensed funeral practice in several states including, but not limited to : Florida, Massachusetts, Tennessee, Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Virginia, California, Texas, and Wisconsin. A number of these states have either issued Cease & Desist orders or Advisory Notices to its consumers. Several others are conducting investigations. Approximately 30 complaints have been registered with the Federal Trade Commission. The Director found objective and reasonable grounds to believe that the public health, safety, or welfare required emergency action and/or the Respondent was guilty of multiple violations of the Mortuary Science Code, codified at Article 54, Title, C.R.S. Effective XX/XX/XXXX at XXXX XXXX, the registration to practice as a funeral establishment in the state of Colorado of XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX was summarily suspended pursuant to section 24-4-104 ( 4 ), C.R.S., pending proceedings to determine whether the Respondent 's registration to practice as a funeral establishment should be further disciplined in accordance with section 12-54-401, C.R.S. On XX/XX/XXXX in a Final Agency Order, the State of Colorado ordered XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX to immediately Cease & Desist and refrain from any further acts for which a registration to practice as a funeral establishment by the laws of the state of Colorado. In FLORIDA : See enclosed documents. On XX/XX/XXXX an immediate final order was filed on XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX ( XXXX. ) XXXX, and XXXX XXXX. XXXX XXXX XXXX and XXXX XXXX XXXX conducted funeral-related services in the state of Florida without possessing a valid Florida license. On XX/XX/XXXX, XX/XX/XXXX, and XX/XX/XXXX XXXX and/or Legacy provided false and fraudulent documentation purporting to imply that XXXX was licensed and authorized in Florida to receive and handle human remains for cremation. Pursuant to Florida Statutes an unlicensed person shall be presumed to be an irreparable harm to the public health, safety, and welfare. Funeral establishment directors and embalmers are called upon to provide their services to citizens at a time when the citizens are most vulnerable, immediately following the death of a loved one. It was ordered that XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX and XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX ( XXXX ) XXXX, and XXXX XXXX are prohibited from and shall cease and desist immediately from selling or offering to sell funeral services, including direct disposition, on an at-need basis in Florida. From planning or arranging the details of any funeral service, including direct disposition, with the family or any friends of the decedent or any other person responsible for the service in Florida. From making, negotiating, or completing the financial arrangements for a funeral service, including direct disposition, on an at-need basis in Florida. From any use of any word, term, title, or picture that would imply that it engaged in the practice of funeral directing, including direct disposition, or that it is holding itself out to the public as being engaged in the practice of a funeral establishment, including direct disposition in Florida. From, engaging in any financial dealings with funeral home customers that involve the collection of monies or the determination of funeral expenses, including direct disposition expenses in Florida. Finally, from holding themselves out to the people of this state through an internet web site to be licensed funeral establishments and licensed direct disposition. In GEORGIA : For a copy of the full Assurance of Voluntary Compliance contact : The Superior Court of XXXX County, Georgia, Reference : Civil Action File : XXXX On XX/XX/XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX dba XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, XXXX XXXX ( Owner ), and XXXX XXXX XXXX ( Manager/Operator ), individually, entered an Assurance of Voluntary Compliance ( AVC ) with the Attorney General of the State of Georgia pursuant to O.C.G.A. Sections 10-1-390 et seq., of the Fair Business Practices Act ( FBPA ). This is the Final Action. XXXX and XXXX, Respondents XXXX XXXX ( Owner ) and XXXX XXXX XXXX ( Manager/Operator ) are now and have been for a period engaged in consumer or consumer acts or practices in the conduct of trade or commerce in part or wholly within the state of Georgia. XXXX XXXX XXXX and its dba XXXX XXXX XXXX are registered with the Colorado Secretary of State in good standing. The Attorney General contends that Respondents, XXXX XXXX and XXXX XXXX XXXX have used unfair or deceptive acts or practices in conduct of consumer transactions and consumer acts or practices in trade or commerce. According to the Voluntary Compliance ( AVC ), Respondents shall immediately cease and refrain from engaging in any business practices with respect to consumers including but not limited to practicing funeral directing, that requires licensing by the Georgia Board of Funeral Services as set force in O.C.G.A. 43-18-1 et seq. unless or until they obtain the required licensing. Respondents must also comply with all disclosure requirements set forth in the Funeral Rule ( a statute under the Federal Trade Commission Act ), specifically 16 C.F.R. 453.2 requiring complete and accurate 1 ) disclosures to consumers who ask by telephone about their offerings and prices, 2 ) disclosures in the required general price list, and 3 ) disclosures in the required statement of funeral goods and services selected, with respect to pricing disclosures and " cash advance '' items. In addition to the Assurance of Voluntary Compliance, Respondents XXXX XXXX and XXXX XXXX XXXX agreed to notify CPU in writing of any change in the name of XXXX or XXXX, including the use of any alias or fictitious names within thirty ( 30 ) days of the change in name or use of an alias or fictitious name. For a period of two ( 2 ) years they will notify CPU of their involvement with any other business offering funeral and/or cremation services to consumers.
11/27/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was result of identity theft
  • FL
  • 32905
Web
XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX SEC # XXXX DOB XXXX/XXXX/XXXX ADDRESS XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX FL XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX {$120.00} Your company have violated FCRA 615 ( f ) ( 15 U.S.C. 1681m ( f ) ) ( f ) Prohibition on sale or transfer of debt caused by identity theft You have not responded to my request to provide me with an investigation report. I need this resolve, under the Fair Credit Reporting Act, these disputed items may not appear on my credit report if they can not be supported by any evidence ( 1 ) In general No person ( company ) shall sell, transfer for consideration, or place for collection a debt that such person has been notified under section 1681c-2 of this title has resulted from identity theft. ( 2 ) Applicability The prohibitions of this subsection shall apply to all persons collecting a debt described in paragraph ( 1 ) after the date of a notification under paragraph ( 1 ). ( 3 ) Rule of construction Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to prohibit -- ( A ) The repurchase of a debt in any case in which the assignee of the debt requires such repurchase because the debt has resulted from identity theft ; ( B ) the securitization of a debt or the pledging of a portfolio of debt as collateral in connection with a borrowing ; or ( C ) the transfer of debt as a result of a merger, acquisition, purchase and assumption transaction, or transfer of substantially all of the assets of an entity. A person that furnishes information to any consumer reporting agency shall have in place reasonable procedures to respond to any notification that it receives from a consumer reporting agency under section 1681c-2 of this title relating to information resulting from identity theft, to prevent that person from refurnishing such blocked information. The reference items are listed below please take this matter very serious Forest Recovery Service {$120.00} I have report your company to consumerfinance.gov As a form of record and I am prepare to sue your company Example In re XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX Litigation, Case No. XXXX, in the XXXX XXXX XXXX for the XXXX XXXX XXXX California Stop collection proceedings against me Signatures on applications and accounts Investigators report XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX SEC # XXXX DOB XXXX/XXXX/XXXX ADDRESS XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX FL XXXX
01/05/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • IL
  • 60466
Web
I received a letter dated XX/XX/XXXX from Forest Recovery Services, LLC, that I owed {$20000.00} to XXXX XXXX XXXX and that I had 30 days to dispute the validity of the debt before the debt was assumed " valid ''. I immediately asked for validation ( sent certified mail ) and on that same exact day XX/XX/XXXX, I was notified by XXXX that the negative data had been entered onto my credit file. I then disputed the account with XXXX asking them for validation and they quickly validated the account. On XX/XX/XXXX I received a questionable " Account Transaction History '' printout, a lease and a " Move Out Calculation '' report. This was not substantial evidence proving that I made such debt. I then sent a certified letter to Forest Recovery Services, LLC, requesting further investigation. I also sent a certified letter to XXXX making them aware and they continue to report the debt, without proper validation. What proof was submitted, because the proof I received does not conclude I made those charges. If you take a look at their evidence, it is inconclusive. Yes, that is my name and yes I did once reside at that said address but nothing was submitted proving the charges were made by me. No receipt nor invoice, a certified letter or email to me nor checklist provided. Taking a look at the " Move out Calculations " printout, it states that I " vacated '' this unit on XX/XX/XXXX but if you look at the lease, written note states " XX/XX/XXXX Keys on counter. '' If XX/XX/XXXX is when they assessed the charges, other tenants or vandalism could have occurred to cause such charges as XX/XX/XXXX is 5 months after XX/XX/XXXX. Forest Recovery could not provide any substantial information suggesting this debt of over {$20000.00} is mine therefore this account should not be reporting on my credit file.
04/07/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • NY
  • 11960
Web
I submitted a complaint to the CFPB on XX/XX/XXXX against Forest Recovery Services, LLC XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, IL XXXX ( XXXX ) XXXX. On XX/XX/XXXX, the resolution was submitted as follows : Company 's Response : " We will close this account '' DESCRIPTION OF NON-MONETARY RELIEF : " We will cease and desisit '' ( sp ) Forest Recovery Services, LLC, is NOT honoring their stated resolution. They have not closed this account, nor have they ceased or desisted. They are calling my telephone and sending me more harassing debt notices. Please see attached files. Instead of doing what they stated they would do in response to my complaint, which is cease and desist, close the account, they are actively engaging in complicit behavior with their client, XXXX XXXX, who is running a nationwide fraudulent body broker scheme that targets grieving families who have just lost a loved one. I am now forced to include Forest Recovery Services, LLC XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, IL XXXX ( XXXX ) XXXX in my complaint to the NY Attorney General about XXXX XXXX an illegal company that has been operating fraudulently in all 50 states and has been legally sanctioned by numerous attorneys general.
02/15/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • FL
  • 34953
Web Older American
I had an appointment with XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX on XX/XX/XXXX for a sleep study. They told me the co-pay was {$35.00} and i paid for it on my CC. Months latter they billed me for {$160.00} additional co-pay. I called and they lied that my insurance company gave them the wrong co-pay. My insurance company says they did not make an inquiry about the co-pay. I think they drum up business by lying about the co-pay in hopes they can use the term " uncovered services '' threaten collection. If they had told me the co-pay was {$200.00} I would not have done the sleep study. I have disputed the debt on my credit bureaus twice and they keep validating it. The charge is not for " an uncovered service '' they I am obligated to pay. It is for an item I paid when the service was delivered that they mis-quoted the co-pay amount. It is not for another service that was not covered. The collection agency they are using is Forestrecvy and they opened the case with the credit bureaus on XX/XX/XXXX a year since the last transaction between us has occurred.
07/15/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • NY
  • 10701
Web
To Whom It May Concern : I, XXXX XXXX, am disputing an account that was added to my credit report. under the name of ; FOREST RECOVERY SERVICES. Account Number XXXX DATE opened XX/XX/XXXX. I am unfairly being penalized for a service I received in an emergency room, at XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX on XX/XX/XXXX. My insurance covered all my service. My balance when I was discharge at the hospital was {$0.00}. I am a XXXX low-income woman who is insured by NY XXXX and XXXX. I became aware of this account because I received an alert from my credit monitor. I immediately contacted the hospital and was told my balance was {$0.00}. I strongly believe this is an injustice towards me. I have the patient account statement documents to prove my service was covered by my insurance. At no time the doctor informed me I will be charged additionally. I had job offers and opportunities refused because of this negligence. The outcome of this wrongdoing has caused me emotional distress. Please help me seek justice.
09/04/2020 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Information belongs to someone else
  • FL
  • 33233
Web
Recently, I received a copy of my credit report and found several inquiries and accounts on my credit report that were not opened by me ( See attached Police Report ). I don't have any knowledge of these accounts being open. They were opened fraudulently. I understand that under federal law, ( Sec.602 ( a ) ( b ) of the Fair Credit Reporting Act. ) unauthorized inquiries, and fraudulent accounts shall not be allowed to be placed on my file unless I have approved it.The presence of these fraudulent accounts and inquiries on my credit report constitutes inaccurate information, which must be removed under the ( Sec.602 ( a ) ( b ) ) Fair Credit Reporting Act. Respondent, please have the following accounts removed from my credit file immediately because I did not authorize them, these creditors do not possess my signature, on any documentation, conveying my authorization to inquiry for a loan, or a line of credit.
02/11/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • FL
  • 33324
Web
In XX/XX/XXXX, I contacted XXXX regarding an unrecognized account on my credit report from FOREST RECOVERY SERVICES. XXXX responded back to the dispute indicated they were able to verify the debt however Forest Recovery has never sent me any notifications under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act ( FDCPA ) that I owe any debt nor did the status of the dispute update. It still a status date of XXXX which means XXXX never investigated and never provided any documentation with my signature on it to legally verify this debt is mines either. THIS IS A CLEAR VIOLATION OF FCRA. I did some research and learned the the XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX died in XXXX. So they are attempting to collect on an account from a deceased doctor and that I have never did business with. THIS DEBT IS NOT MINES.
02/04/2021 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Improper use of your report
  • Reporting company used your report improperly
  • FL
  • 32352
Web
On XX/XX/2020 I made contact with Forest Recovery LLC, about a debt that says I owe them {$3300.00}. In my letter I ask them to validate the debt they are saying I owe them and they couldn't. Ive given them enough time to respond and I am at the point where I'm about to take legal action against them for misuse of credit reporting as well as, a violation of the 4th amendment, violation of HIPPA. According to FCRA you are not to report a debt unless it has been validated and they could not validate them debt being reported on my account. I am giving 15 days to remove this invalidated debt from my credit report or I will file charges against them per my rights
07/22/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • FL
  • 33713
Web
I have a water bill on my credit that I already paid and was send to a collection agency without my knowledge. I get calls night and day from collection agency with treated, judgement and repossession of my belonging. I am very XXXX with all this treated, I get XXXX kids at home and scare that someone will come to my house when I am at work and just take everything without my knowledge.
10/10/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Indicated you were committing crime by not paying debt
  • OH
  • 44286
Web
Tried fix I sent a letter.get, I called this told dr office, this bill not mine was granddaughter, I took her to dr they put her stuff with my name .I sign her in! It was billed wrong to my son insurance! I called dr office they put down on paper wrong information, they never fixed it so insurance wont pay it!! Dr office keep billing me!! It not my bill,
05/12/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • OH
  • 44024
Web
i just checked into my credit and i have past medical bills due to a XXXX and all the bills where payed in full and now i have bills in collections and the baby was an XXXX so all the medical bills where addressed with final paper work 6 months after the XXXX there should n't be any past medical exps the attorneys had it all payed and shut
05/20/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not disclosed as an attempt to collect
  • FL
  • 33701
Web
I get XXXX collections account under my name with Forest Recovery Services for XXXX differences amount who does n't belong to me. I want this collection to stop calling me and harassing me on the phone and I want this debts to be removed immediately from my credit report. I do not have any idea who this company his.
04/25/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • FL
  • 33067
Web
Forest Recovery Svcs just reported a {$1200.00} debt on my credit report. Prior to the appearance of this account on my report, I did not receive a notice of my right to dispute. This is a violation of my rights under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act.
04/16/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CO
  • 80004
Web
This is a collection for something that I never agreed to and is not mine. It has damaged my credit score immensley and affected my ability to get a home loan.
12/11/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was result of identity theft
  • SC
  • 29223
Web Servicemember
I am a victim of identity theft and this debt does not belong to me. Please see the identity theft report and legal affidavit attached.
01/20/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was already discharged in bankruptcy and is no longer owed
  • FL
  • 34748
Web
Debt is past statute of limitations.
06/28/2021 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem
  • Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
  • KY
  • 40229
Web
05/05/2021 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem
  • Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
  • FL
  • 32763
Web
04/25/2021 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Information belongs to someone else
  • FL
  • 32114
Web
04/13/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Impersonated attorney, law enforcement, or government official
  • CA
  • 93727
Web
01/26/2021 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem
  • Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
  • FL
  • 32763
Web
10/28/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • TX
  • 78041
Web
10/23/2020 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Information belongs to someone else
  • SC
  • 29488
Web
06/17/2019 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Old information reappears or never goes away
  • FL
  • 33615
Web
04/17/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • FL
  • 33705
Web
04/01/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • NJ
  • 07981
Web
02/06/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
Postal mail
06/17/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • FL
  • 33713
Web
11/30/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • FL
  • 33705
Referral
08/15/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • OH
  • 44094
Web
04/27/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • CA
  • 96130
Postal mail
08/18/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • FL
  • 34668
Web
03/17/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Communication tactics
  • Threatened to take legal action
  • FL
  • 32439
Referral
03/17/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Communication tactics
  • Threatened to take legal action
  • FL
  • 32439
Referral
06/12/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • CA
  • 92860
Web
12/30/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Right to dispute notice not received
  • FL
  • 34264
Web