Cordoza & Wexler Recovery Services CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
08/23/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • CA
  • 93711
Web
For the last couple of months XX/XX/XXXX through present Ihave been receiving a call from some company which looks like a local number calling - could not recognize what they were saying on my voicemail - person speaking sounded distorted - stated something about need signature and social security number - press 1 to accept message or call back an XXXX number - couldn't really understand them - I ignored it but on Tuesday XX/XX/XXXX received another call so I finally returned a call to the number on my caller ID which looked local and someone answered and I asked them who they were and why were they calling me - they stated they were from Cordoza and Wexler a settlement company and asked is this and they stated my name and that they were trying to collect a debt on a payday loan from XXXX which was never repaid - what was really upsetting was they had my bank name and some of my other personal information & my email address - I do not remember taking out a payday loan from the company they stated and for the amount they stated which was quite large and what is really crazy is the payday loan companies only allow you to take out loans in an amount comparable to your wages - I know for a fact I could not have taken out a loan for that amount - she told me that I could find proof of payment and send it to them so I went through all my XXXX receipts and could not find any record of any type of payday loan - I knew there wouldn't be one - after that I was really upset so I called them back and I flat told them I don't know who the XXXX you are & how you possibly got my personal information but you can go take a flying powder as far as I'm concerned and please send me proof of any type of documentation that I owe this debt and paperwork with my signature and I will be forwarding this on to my attorney and I will be filing a complaint with the Consumer Finance group - as of today I have not seen any type of documentation from them through email and I don't know if they have my address so I will be checking my mail the next several days to see if anything is mailed to me which I doubt - I plan to contact local law enforcement and Lodge a complaint for fraud and extortion against this group of people - I am truly sick and tired of all the scam artists in this world who try to take from people who have worked hard all their life. One thing further I was part of the breach at XXXX and possibly they got information from there and that is how they're trying to scam people Please be aware that this group of people are scam artists and are trying to collect money that you do not owe or possibly have already paid back.
09/21/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • IL
  • 62959
Web
Started receiving several calls a day from several different telephones numbers leaving a call back number. In just a two day period I received a call from XXXX on XX/XX/XXXX at XXXX XXXX and XXXX XXXX. XX/XX/XXXX at XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX and XXXX XXXX. XX/XX/XXXX at XXXX XXXX. On XX/XX/XXXX I called the number back at XXXX XXXX and spoke with XXXX XXXX, ( spelling? ) who is with Cordoza & Wexler Recovery Services. He said he represents XXXX. I said I was trying to return a call to XXXX XXXX XXXX who had left several disturbing messages about taking legal action against me. He said that they worked or contracted for him. XXXX said that he represented XXXX and that I had a credit card with XXXX and was trying to collect a balance due. I told him that I did not recall having a credit card with XXXX and would like to have a number or address with XXXX so I could get something in writing from XXXX. He said XXXX no longer had any information because they closed my account in XX/XX/XXXX and the last payment I made was in XX/XX/XXXX. I also received a phone call from XXXX in regards to XXXX that stated I had 2 accounts with XXXX and that it was now a " felony '' because the balance was over a {$1000.00} but they could drop one of the balances and could change the other to {$300.00}. They sent an email but I only had an hour to make a decision once it was received and opened to respond. I kept telling them I wanted a letter. XXXX said they didnt send letters because they could be altered. The managers name there is XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. XXXX knew XXXX. I received a letter from Cordoza & Wexler Dated XX/XX/XXXX stating current balance {$710.00} with a approved offer of amount dut {$520.00} with a due date of XX/XX/XXXX but I didn't receive the letter until XX/XX/XXXX. I have not made any further contact with either. I do believe there should be statute of limitations and I feel should be able to get a copy of the original contract with XXXX. But as stated above XXXX told me there was no longer any paper work since XXXX has closed the account.
03/26/2019 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • False statements or representation
  • Impersonated attorney, law enforcement, or government official
  • LA
  • 70072
Web
I received a voicemail from XXXX stating I needed to call back XXXX to avoid being served documents that were being filed against my social The caller gave their name, but the call was muffled so I could not make the individual 's name, They did not identify the company they were calling from. I called the XXXX phone number. A man picked up saying his name was XXXX. He did not identify the name of the company. I told him I received a message to call this number. he looked up the number I was calling from and said he was pulling my file from the attorney. After waiting on hold for a few minutes, the call was disconnected. I called back and woman named XXXX XXXX answered. I advised that I had been disconnected. She again looked up my phone number. After some time, she came back and said she was reviewing my file and saw where it stated that I had requested a debt verification letter to be sent. I told her that I did not even know what company she was associated with as no one had said who they were associated with in the calls. She then got very agitated and said " I can see why XXXX hung up on you then ''. She then disconnected the call. I called the number back again. XXXX again answered. I asked him what the name of the company was that I was contacting. He told me it was XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. I asked for the address. He gave me an address of XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, NY. While XXXX was still on the phone, I XXXX the address he gave me and it came up as being a XXXX store. I told XXXX that the address he provided was for a XXXX store. He told me I was lying and that was their physical address. He then disconnected the call. I contacted the XXXX store at XXXX. I verified that their correct address was XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, NY. I asked if there was a neighboring business by the name of XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. The associate stated that there was no business by that name that was physically located at that address.
01/08/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • CA
  • 93711
Web
I'm calling to report a company called Cordoza & Wexler - approximately six months ago I was harassed by this company for a debt I do not owe and I don't even know what they're talking about something to do with a payday loan and I've had a few in my lifetime and they were all paid back - the case number before was XXXX - the last time they called me they said I owed {$900.00} - now they're saying I owe {$700.00} - the person I talked to today was XXXX XXXX and I told him to stop calling this number and they had contacted me before and he blatantly lied and said we have never contacted you and then he backpedaled and said oh I see we did call you before - and you need to clear this debt - I told him no one has tried to serve me any documentation - and he said how do you know and I told him I'm home all day no one is coming to my door and that I had asked them to provide me with proof that I owe this debt before and I have never received anything so please stop calling and harassing me - I told him once again to provide documentation and all he did was talk over me - these are definitely scam artists and I just want these people to go away and what irritates me is he has my social security number. I don't know who these people are but they are horrible - I have blocked them and they keep calling so I called today to find out who they were. The last time that I reported this apparently you tried to contact them and they did not get back to you and the case was closed. I am beyond irritated with this group. The phone number that was on my caller ID is XXXX.
08/01/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was result of identity theft
  • CA
  • 94590
Web Servicemember
On XX/XX/XXXX, I received a phone call from this company. I spoke to a person who represented herself as a supervisor. Her voicemail says her name is XXXX. Another agent referred to her as Ms. XXXX, I believe. She recited my name, birth date, and even social security number correctly. She purported to be looking for my address or place of business for the purpose of service of process regarding a complaint made to their company by another company ( XXXX XXXX XXXX ) regarding alleged loans from XX/XX/XXXX and XX/XX/XXXX. I refused to provide any additional information. However, I told them that I made no such transactions and that I suspected identity theft. I also asked for the contact information of the attorney or law firm handling the matter, so that I might contact them to resolve the issue. I was informed that there is currently no attorney involved. That their company refers cases to various unspecified attorneys. I asked to have them provide me the name of the firm or attorney to whom they refer the case when they do so. They refused to provide any information. When I told them that I am a licensed California attorney, they asked for my bar number. I told them that it is a matter of public record and that they can contact the state bar or look it up online. I asked Ms. XXXX whether the company is registered to do business in California. She stated that it is. However, I have not located any registration for this company with the California Secretary of State.
04/19/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • CA
  • 95694
Web
Hello, On XX/XX/XXXX I took out a {$400.00} loan with XXXX XXXX. The debt was assumed by XXXX XXXX ultimately and I paid it off as of XX/XX/XXXX. I have all the documents from XXXX XXXX and XXXX XXXX to support this and have spoken with someone from XXXX XXXX today who verified this. However, I have received a call from attorneys Cordoza and Wexler who say that I still have an outstanding account with XXXX XXXX and they would like to serve me with a court order! This is absurd as I have paid off the account and have proof. The person I spoke with stated this is on my credit report. I have today downloaded all three credit reports as of today and there is NOTHING from XXXX or any outstanding creditor for that matter. I feel as though someone is trying to bilk me. I recently spoke with XXXX XXXX who assured me that I am not delinquent with them. I called XXXX XXXX XXXX back and they told me I would need to clear this up in the courts. I have never been served and would never appear for a matter I am absolutely innocent of! I have the proof that I have taken care of this loan yet they respond aggressively and defensively. I have also asked XXXX XXXX to contact them directly. I have been informed by XXXX XXXX they they are in no way involved with Cordoza and Wexler and have the transcript to prove it. I am attaching the e-mail from XXXX XXXX and the chat transcript with XXXX XXXX. i have all my credit reports here but for obvious reasons did not want to attach those.
01/24/2019 No
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • CA
  • 95376
Web
I have been repeatedly contacted by agents form XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX located at XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, NY XXXX ( XXXX ). They have left voicemail on my personal cellphone to confirm my whereabouts and threatened that if I do not respond, charges are going to be filed in my county of residence ( they don't name the county ). I have answered the phone several times, and a recording tells me to contact their offices. On one occasion 3 weeks ago, they called me at work and I spoke to someone who said they were collecting for a payday loan company that I paid in full, although there was a dispute on the interest -- I borrowed {$300.00} and paid back {$450.00} in 4 weeks, but the company claimed I owed {$150.00} more. Those types of loan sharking loans are not even legal in California anymore. That debt occurred approximately 8 or 9 years ago in XXXX or XXXX! In California, the statute of limitations is 4 years. Anyway, I told this to the collector, reminded him it was not legal to claim on a time barred debt and asked him to stop calling. He insisted that they were going take legal action, got very nasty and I told him to sue me and notify me of the Court date before I just hung up. Today, when I answered another call telling me to call their office, I did call, got their contact information, and advised that I was reporting them to the FTC and CFPB. unfortunately, the FTC is closed right now, but i will make a complaint as soon as they are open.
10/02/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was already discharged in bankruptcy and is no longer owed
  • VA
  • 22406
Web Servicemember
Received a phone call with a recording that there was a legal case against me, which is completely false to begin with. The usual stuff stating they needed to get my signature on legal documents at work or home, etc. Pressed 1 and was connected XXXX XXXX ( I believe that was his name ) from Cordoza and Wexler Recovery Systems. This debt was discharged in a XXXX XXXX Bankruptcy XXXX. I must have received 20 calls on this, which I have mostly ignored except to tell them it was in Bankruptcy, they are trying to collect for XXXX XXXX XXXX. Even tried telling me that because it was through a tribe it wasn't dischargeable even though tribes only have the same rights as a state generally. Seems to be a pattern with Payday Lenders making these false claims and not once have I ever actually been served legal documents from these folks like they keep threatening. By the way a simple internet search on the company will yield several complaints, probably enough to to start an investigation. I'm surprised I actually got a name this time. The phone Number I was actually called from is ( 540 ) 385-0601 ( most likely spoofed ). From the XXXX their contact information is below : Cordoxa and Wexler Recovery SystemXXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, NY XXXX http : //www.cordozawexlerrecoveryservices.com/ ( XXXX ) XXXX Thank you,
08/15/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • TX
  • 76502
Web
I was contacted by Cordoza & Wexler Recovery Services on XX/XX/XXXX. They left a voicemail for my husband and me stating that they had a case under maiden name ( XXXX XXXX ) and SSN and needed to contact me in order to recoup money owed to a creditor, or the case would go to court. I called them back at XXXX. At the time they did not provide me with much information, other than a payday loan originating in XXXX that went unpaid in XXXX was now needing to be paid or go to court. I did not take out such a loan. I called them back on XX/XX/XXXX for more information and they sent me an email with the information stating that XXXX XXXX XXXX was the payday loan provider. They also provided me with an old XXXX checking account number, which has been one of my accounts. I called XXXX XXXX XXXX, and XXXX XXXX, both pay day loan providers they listed and they both confirmed that I do not and never had pay day loans with them and they confirmed that they did not turnover to Cordoza & Wexler for recovery services. I last spoke with a XXXX at Cordoza and she said that I could settle for {$190.00} before they sent over to court. The voicemail received on XXXX was from XXXX XXXX XXXX. The email I received with the " proof '' of the debt came from XXXX XXXX at XXXX.
07/06/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Sued you in a state where you do not live or did not sign for the debt
  • WI
  • 53590
Web
Received VOICEMAIL message today on mobile phone from number, XXXX " " my name. '' This is XXXX XXXX I'm a carrier with the county responsible for serving you legal documents pertaining to your social security number. This is an attempt to locate you at your residence or place of employment to obtain signature. This is a fail attempt it will result in a missed court appearance on your behalf. To stop the practice of being served or prevent a missed court appearance that you please press one to be connected to be directly connected to a representative or connect the filing party at XXXX. When I called them they stated they were from the law office of Cardoza and Wexler. When I pressed for more information I was either hung up on or left on hold until I hung up. The debt they are sighting is an old payday loan that has already been paid over 3 years ago.
08/08/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • VA
  • 23015
Web Servicemember
Company or agent of the company has been contacting and leaving threatening messages on both my office phone and my mothers phone saying that they have a serious matter and I need to call them back to confirm my work address so they can deliver " legal papers '' to me. They use different local phone numbers each time. The scripted person that makes the call will not provide me any information at all just expects me to give them my SSN, Birth Date, Address. I called their office and was told the calls where from an agent of theirs. This person gave me the company name and address but would not send me any write confirmation of a debt or tell me what the important legal papers where. I have confirmed my credit report has nothing from this company. ( XXXX ) XXXX Cordoza & Wexler Recovery Services XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, NY XXXX
07/19/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • DE
  • 19904
Web
I received an automated phone call from XXXX which stated to press 1 to speak to a person regarding debt. I reached a person XXXX who stated she was with XXXXXXXX XXXX XXXX XXXXXXXX company. She advised I had a debt with XXXX XXXX XXXX loan from 2012 for {$320.00} but with late fees and interest added on total owed is {$920.00}. When I asked her to verify the company address and or website so I could call myself before providing any credit card information she became rude and disconnected the call. I have received no further calls or any documentation in the mail advising of any past due debt or court documents of any legal action against me. I have paid my loan entirely with XXXX XXXX XXXX loan and owe nothing.
04/29/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • False statements or representation
  • Impersonated attorney, law enforcement, or government official
  • CA
  • 91406
Web
I filed a complaint last XX/XX/2018 against this same company claim number XXXX Today I received this message below : " Hello, once again, this is XXXX XXXX what I attempted to serve you at your residence and your place of employment to gain your signature in regards to the legal documents. However, I was unsuccessful in doing so now, I am obligated under these documents as a director if you will be fine at this point the process will continue without you if you wish to stop any and I'll proceedings please contact the filing party at XXXX. Please reference account number. '' They called from a cell phone XXXX. I called the number and got a message that it was Cordoza and Wexler again.
06/07/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • IL
  • 60619
Web
Cordoza and wexler services comstantly call me about a civil lawsuit for money owed on a debt. I do not have any passed due bills or accounts. I do not know how they got personal information about me. They keep calling me asking me to confirm information. I refuse to do so because they appear to be a shady company that tries to manipulate people into paying money that person does not owe. They left messages over the phone claiming i can pay them directly. One person even called me a liar repeatedly when i told him that he was a scam artist and that i am not the person he was looking for. His name was XXXX XXXX XXXX.
03/19/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to arrest you or take you to jail if you do not pay
  • TX
  • 77000
Web
We have been contacted repeatedly along with our family members and place of employment. They have made multiple threats regarding coming by our place of residence to arrest, serve papers, file court documents, etc ... They will not provide any detail and we have checked our credit reports which there is nothing showing as an owed debt. We would like to file formal harassment charges. Please have them stop all communications to family members, employers and me. We have requested this with Cordoza directly several times but they just hang up and say they are coming to our house. Stop the threats!
03/27/2019 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • False statements or representation
  • Impersonated attorney, law enforcement, or government official
  • NJ
  • 07726
Web
Received a phone call identifying herself as a county server attempting to obtain signature at my home or my job In order to not process documents so I dont miss my court date. Indicated that if I dont cal their number and provide file number ( no file # provided ) court proceedings will continue without my presence. Call received from XXXX. Asked to call XXXX. Person to call was XXXX XXXX. When I called the number a man answered and said my husband owed them, they had several conversations. Not true. When told to put info in writing and send through mail, he hung up.
06/20/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • False statements or representation
  • Impersonated attorney, law enforcement, or government official
  • NV
  • 89436
Web
I have received several phone calls from a company claiming to work for the county. They state that they are trying to serve me legal documents and by not returning the phone calls it will result in a missed court appearance and a warrant being issued for my arrest. I have called them back repeatedly, informed them that I am recording the phone calls, at which time they immediately hang up on me. I have no idea what the debt is for, if it is a real debt or if it is a scam. They are calling 5 or more times a day.
05/09/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was already discharged in bankruptcy and is no longer owed
  • NJ
  • 07506
Web
A person named : XXXX XXXX Called me at work telling me that I own money to XXXX XXXX, This account was already discharged on Bankruptcy and she is telling me is another account. When I asked to send me all the paper work to my address the person was very rude an told me ill see in court. The number was XXXX. The male that was rude call me back from a XXXX I also sent the bankruptcy papers to a Fax XXXX
06/04/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • False statements or representation
  • Impersonated attorney, law enforcement, or government official
  • CA
  • 92596
Web
XX/XX/2018 called said they tried to serve me at my job I don't work so not possible. Said if miss court date used foul language. Call back number is XXXX.i located them to be in Pennsylvania. When I asked for company name they said Cordova and wexler when asked for address they hung up.i called back voicemail said 8 by 8.didnt give me case number asked for personal information.
01/10/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to arrest you or take you to jail if you do not pay
  • CA
  • 95678
Web
I got a call from XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX ( State : PA ) with numer ==> XXXX telling me that i need to pay. I recently migrated from XXXX XXXX and do not owe anyone anything. Please assist and take the response company to task.
11/20/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Threatened to contact someone or share information improperly
  • Contacted your employer
  • CA
  • 91406
Web
I have called the company on several occasions and they never answer. the calls get disconnected. they call every day and now have contacted my employer. I have asked them to stop calling me.
10/17/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • You told them to stop contacting you, but they keep trying
  • CA
  • 90804
Web
This company keeps calling my job & I dont know them & I owe no one. They are also sending robo calls I have proof if needed
05/18/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was already discharged in bankruptcy and is no longer owed
  • CA
  • 90034
Web
04/17/2019 Yes
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Payday loan
  • Struggling to pay your loan
  • NM
  • 87401
Web
03/05/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • OH
  • 44615
Web
11/06/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • OH
  • 44615
Web
10/24/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • CA
  • 91328
Web Servicemember
10/24/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • CA
  • 91328
Web Servicemember
08/10/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • UT
  • 84501
Phone
07/19/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
Phone
06/11/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • VA
  • 23937
Web
04/11/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • False statements or representation
  • Indicated you were committing crime by not paying debt
  • NY
  • 14094
Web Older American