Cooper Hoffman Klein Associates CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
12/21/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • False statements or representation
  • Indicated committed crime not paying
  • MI
  • 48843
Web
I sent this complaint to the XXXX back in XXXX but wanted to advise you as well as the XXXX had no luck with this and these people continue to call me every single week threatening Criminal Prosecution : I have been receiving calls every week since XXXX/XXXX/2015. Voice mail was left by XXXX XXXX from Cooper Hoffman and Klein. She called three times indicating that a criminal action was pending against my last XXXX digits of SSN and if I did not call to make a statement in my defense criminal papers would be sent to XXXX XXXX. They did not indicate what it was regarding. This law firm does not appear to exist as I have tried search for it. I do see there are quite a few reports on it being a scam. They also contacted my brother XXXX told him I had a criminal complaint against me and I needed to call them back. That itself is against the law for this so called 'collection'or 'criminal ' action. On XXXX/XXXX/2015 XXXX left a VM told me I was avoiding her and that she is signing off on criminal complaint to XXXX XXXX clerks office and they are requesting a license suspension. On XXXX/XXXX/2015 I received a recorded message from the same phone number that there was an issue involving my personal bank account and I needed to call or my have my attorney call. On XXXX/XXXX/2015 I received another voice mail that was a 1 minute and 27 seconds in length from a gentleman stating his name was XXXX XXXX XXXX? ) XXXX. He said I was avoiding them and that as of XXXX that day they were filing a motion and sending an affidavit binding me to court costs and fees and a second supporting deposition with the " people of XXXX XXXX '' versus ( me - leaving name out ) in which I am the main defendant. They clearly do not even know what forms are involved or the proper plaintiff should be when you file a 'complaint ' not motion against someone to initiate legal action. Now every week I receive recorded messages stating it is my final notice and to call them back. The phone numbers they are calling from are : 1 ) ( XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX 2 ) ( XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX The number they state to call back is : XXXX at either ext XXXX or XXXX. I obviously know this is some sort of scam especially when they do not even know the proper forms to file or who the Plaintiff should be. My concern is those who are actually frightened of these calls and actually pay these people.They need to be stopped!! I certainly would have received something in the mail prior to these phone calls if any action was against me. I do not even know what they are calling about - they tell me a criminal complaint and something against my personal bank account. Please do what you can to stop this scam, it is horrible for people to lose their money to these ignorant people. You would think that if they are calling from a supposed law firm that they could at least know the proper forms and proper parties to be named, this is so ridiculous. I refuse to answer their calls and I will not try to contact them as I feel this is some sort of scam and I want no part of it. I have since blocked their number but I still see them come in on my blocked call list every week. The pattern seems to be one week they will call on Monday and Wednesday and the next week they will call on Tuesday and Thursday.
07/17/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Right to dispute notice not received
  • TX
  • 76036
Web
On XX/XX/2015 a man name XXXX called stating, he works for Attorney Copper, Hoffman and Klein and he is collecting for his client, on a online payday loan that I suppose to have got. He is attempting to collect the debt. I explained to the young man, I did n't or have a loan and I need documents showing this debt, he said I have the contract, I told the man, I do n't have any contract inreference to this debt and I need to have something. He said if, I do n't pay today, I will be getting served papers and I will be responsible for that fee as well and my wages will be garnished, I would have to pay XXXX or full amount with fee 's that makes it {$1300.00}, I kept asking for documents of this matter and he kept telling me he knows, it 's me, have my bank information and ss #. I told him mail me documents, was n't getting anywhere I got off the phone. On XX/XX/2015 a XXXX XXXX or XXXX, said she is calling from Copper Hoffman and Klein Attorney office, before she can start, I told her I need documents of this so called debt, she said, you have the contract, I explained to her, I do n't have any documents in reference to this so called debt, and send me documents and stop calling me at work and on my cell. I need these so called documents so I can give to my Attorney, she asked me for information, I said NO, mail me documents of this debt. I just hung up, then 10 minutes later she called back from a different telephone number, I told her with my co workers here, stop calling me and send me a debt validation letter, I even asked for their address and would n't give it. She said you will be served and go to jail, I said XXXX do n't threaten me or call my job or cell anymore. I will wait to be served. They still be calling from XXXX different telephone numbers, I blocked them, then private numbers call asking for me or I just do n't answer. This account I have no Idea what they are speaking on, all I asked is for proof and their address so I can do letters. I work for the Government and I am involved where my information was stolen through the XXXX, every since that has happened, I am getting these phone calls. In the background you hear TV 'S and music. I 've called both numbers back the numbers are XXXX man answers,XXXX man and woman answers. Both same voices who calls me. Iive looked them up and ca n't find this company. I do n't know if it 's real, but I do n't think so. They are very rude, unproffesional, like to threat wage garnisments and serve papers and keep calling work and cell after been asked and told not to call anymore and I am requesting these documents and they say it 's 4-6 years old check online with a check and go and we could get the people on line, I just want to see these documents and these calls to stop, wo n't give me there address to write them so I can request to submit a validation letter and do a cease and desist letter.I have nothing in reference to this so called debt, they say they have my bank information, last XXXX and where I work. But ca n't provide me anything just threats and saying you owe this. Thank you for your time in this matter XXXX XXXX
11/28/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened arrest/jail if do not pay
  • TX
  • 78240
Web Servicemember
It began when my relatives kept receiving phone calls that I owed to a payday loan company that I never took a loan out on. My relatives gave me the debt collectors contact info, and I returned their phone call. They proceeded to say that they had served me with an affidavit to an address I have never dwelled in, XXXX, and that this was an issue of a loan taking out in XX/XX/XXXX. I checked my bank statement to corroborate their story and I did not receive any fund in the timeframe they are accusing me of. I proceeded to explain this and asked if they could send me a copy of this affidavit, and they proceeded to say they do not bend over backwards for people that did not pay their bills ; than when I preceded to say it was public record, and it should not be that difficult they hung up. About a week later the same company called me this time after my relatives said they would report them. They proceeded to tell me the same song and dance, and I told them it is XX/XX/XXXX the fictitious debt you trying to collect is too old. Than they said you live in this state or this state, and I said neither, than they said where you live, and I said if you have an affidavit for my arrest you should know. Than, I got transferred again I told this individual that I was in the military at the time of this so called payday loan and military members are not allowed to get payday loans, and they said that 's not true, when indeed it is. And I told him if I had a warrant out for my arrest I would not be able to have a job that has a XXXX, which I do. He than proceeded to yell and scream and call me a scumbag that does n't pay my bills, I could n't do anything but laugh because they got caught in their own scheme, and were getting mad at me, then they hung up. I received one more phone call with them stating they have my commanding officer 's information from a base I have not been stationed at for years, and I told them good luck with that, than the hung up on me again.
12/08/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Communication tactics
  • Threatened to take legal action
  • UT
  • 84074
Web
calls started XXXX/XXXX/2015 from XXXX XXXX from XXXX XXXX and XXXX saying I owed a debt from XXXX and that I never paid this and he was going to file criminal charges for check fraud because I took money from the company with no intent of paying it back I had a payment arrangement with XXXX that I made a payment on he called my work number XXXX gave him my cell and he left a message XXXX/XXXX/2015 saying since I do n't want to take care of my responsibilities he was going to file said charges I spoke with him several times and acknowledge my debt he likes to hang up on people I eventually that same day spoke with someone and made a arrangement of XXXX every 2 weeks I asked him if I could do XXXX something every week instead he said yes as long it was the same amount of money with in the same amount of time so after the first payment XXXX/XXXX/2015 of XXXX I called and asked if I could go to the every week payment and I was told no then hung up on I called again and was told yes he was changing it now so on XXXX/XXXX/15 the XXXX was pulled again so I called XXXX/XXXX/2015 to talk to him they do n't know who he is they say I am combative and I only talked to XXXX XXXX which was incorrect and say that I can not dictate them how to do there jobs when I clearly said it would be the same amount of money they can not under stand they are rude and do n't understand that I am owning up to the debt or I would not have made arrangements to pay at all I ask them for documentation and they can not or refuse to show me anything also I am not going to be harassed and threatened over XXXX
12/31/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened arrest/jail if do not pay
  • MD
  • 20782
Web
I took out a loan with XXXX XXXX in XXXX California. I only owe {$310.00}. I have been contact by XXXX XXXX XXXX, Cooper Hoffman Klein and Associates, XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX and XXXX about the same {$310.00}. I was coerced by XXXX XXXX which claimed it was located in Ohio to set up a payment play of 6 months paying {$110.00} from my Social Security monthly check. XXXX XXXX XXXX threaten to file paper work with XXXX XXXX XXXX in California to garnish my wages. I set up the payment plan and the first payment of {$110.00} and it was debited from my Social Security check account card XXXX XXXX, XXXX. I requested that XXXX XXXX XXXX send me a bill so I can see the exact charges and they would not produce a bill saying they do everything via email or electronically. By law XXXX XXXX XXXX or Cooper Hoffman and Klein Associates has five business days to send me an itemized bill and a requested to send me the copy of the payment plan I set up with them. I contacted XXXX XXXX and found out {$310.00} was all I owed and that they XXXX sold the debt to XXXX XXXX on XXXX XXXX, XXXX. Then XXXX XXXX sold the {$310.00} on XXXX XXXX, XXXX to XXXX XXXX XXXX. I was harassed over the phone by the legal team of XXXX XXXX XXXX Cooper Hoffman and Klein and Associates saying they could not send me an itemized bill stating I had to set up a payment plan plus pay the entire amount prior to getting an itemized bill and my payment plan information. I never denied that I owed XXXX XXXX {$310.00}. I would like to pay my debt of {$310.00} to XXXX XXXX directly.
12/04/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened arrest/jail if do not pay
  • TX
  • 75088
Web
Cooper, Hoffman, Klein and Associates contacts me multiple times a day leaving threatening voicemails regarding debts and bank accounts I have never had and do not owe on. Every call that is made, a different case number is given. When I contacted the company, I was threatened with legal action and prison if I did not pay although the representative threatening me can not supply any evidence of a debt owed. When asked for address to come to the company to discuss, I am given the run around. Representatives of this company have contacted me falsifying themselves as actual XXXX XXXX Process Servers stating that they are employed by the XXXX XXXX Police Department. Each time this company calls, it is under a different phone number with a different representative, with a different case number regarding a variance of criminal offenses that I have not committed. This company has threatened to garnish my wages, sue me, come to my home, and have me sent to prison. All searches for this company only show as being a fraudulent company attempting to squander money from innocent people where it is not due. Cooper, Hoffman, Klein, and Associates do not have a website. They are not affiliated with XXXX. They are a complete scam and do not stop harassment at any cost.
11/12/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • MI
  • 48910
Web
I have a relative-by-marriage who apparently has some sort of debt. I have not spoken to her in 5 years and do not have a way to contact her. And yet somehow a debt collection agency ( though it may very well be a SCAM ) has gotten my phone number and for over a year has been calling me at least once a month with automated messages ( from more than XXXX phone number ), saying they are trying to reach my relative to serve her with collection papers. I have tried to tell them that I am not her and do not have a way to reach her, but they still contact me. I tried to download Call Blocking apps on my smartphone ( as they are calling my cell number ), but they are n't very effective and just auto-disconnect the call when I try to answer to tell them to stop calling me, but do n't stop the calls from coming through. I have also text-responded to these phone numbers with the same message, but I am still being harrassed. Now it is to the point where they have called me 9 TIMES IN THE PAST 3 WEEKS. Two weeks in a row, they called me 3 days in a row, from the number XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. XXXX this number shows that it is WIDELY reported to be a scam number, FAKE debt collection agency XXXX XXXX -- XXXX ).
09/17/2015 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Taking out the loan or lease
  • TX
  • 75217
Web
I honestly do not know what this company is calling my mother for, in regards to me. I returned a call to XXXX and when I was connected to extension XXXX to a XXXX, all he asked what was my location. When I asked XXXX XXXX what this was in regards to because I was searching online for some information on XXXX and Associates, and I could not find anything. XXXX XXXX then became very irate and said that it was irrelevant, and If I wanted to make this hard or easy. I then told XXXX XXXX, that 's just it sir, make what hard or easy? I am just trying to see why you all keep harassing my mother. He then yelled very loudly to serve you papers, or something of that sort. and I said, papers for what I do n't think I 've done anything wrong. He then became very angry and proceeded to hang up on me, but before the phone hung up, he was heard saying just send the units out. All the while he was talking over me. I do not know what this call was about, but whoever XXXX XXXX is was very rude and unprofessional to me, in addition to scaring and harassing my mother. I do n't appreciate this kind of harassment, especially when I respectfully asked for information and was n't given any.
11/18/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • Threatened to take legal action
  • CA
  • 91224
Web
They call me numerous times a day with threatening voicemails about taking me to court and me having to pay court costs, but they have n't sent anything in writing stating why I owe them and for what, how much, etc. They are calling my previous place of business, my home ( which I never give out ) and my cell phone- I get at least 5 calls a day. Please help- if they would mail me validation of debt I would be more inclined to call them, but they have not. All they do is leave threatening voicemails. I do n't know who they are ( besides being a debt collector ) and why I owe them. They never stated what account they 're collecting on, and further more, when they call my old place of business they 're leaving a voicemail on someone else 's voicemail- this information should be private. It clearly says someone else 's name when the voicemail comes on- so they should n't be leaving a message with them at all. I have n't worked there in months. It 's humiliating because my previous employer is contacting me again about this. I 've told them to ask them to stop calling, but they clearly ( Cooper-Hoffman ) are not complying as requested.
10/29/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened arrest/jail if do not pay
  • TX
  • 78665
Web
I continue to receive calls from an automated recording from Cooper, Hofffman, Klein and Associates threatening to take an illegal action. I have contacted the number and asked that they please do not contact me at work as personal phone calls are not permitted. The individual that answered XXXX refused to listen to my request and would not transfer me to anyone else for assistance. She said that she had every right to contact me and that she was going to call " XXXX County Police Dept '' and file charges and that I should expect an officer to show up at my place of employment to arrest me. She refused to give me her fax number so that I could send a cease and desist letter to this organization. She then hung up on me. I called back later that afternoon and another person provided the fax number to me. I faxed the cease and desist letter to XXXX on XXXX XXXX, 2015 @ XXXX. Fax confirmation number is XXXX. I have sense received calls from this same organization on a daily basis with an automated recording being left on my work voice mail. I can not get them to stop contacting me and need assistance. Please advise.
02/13/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • TN
  • 37398
Web
I continue to receive repeated calls and threatening voice mails on my Straight Talk cell phone from someone at " Cooper, Klein, Hoffman/XXXX and Associates '' at ( XXXX ) XXXX mostly but a few other numbers as well, all with out of state area codes. The voice mail threatens legal action against " XXXX XXXX '' and references " file number XXXX. '' The voice mail demands a call back at ( XXXX ) XXXX to avoid this action. I am not XXXX XXXX. I have had this phone number since 2012 and my number is on the Do Not Call Registry. I have previously experienced similar calls at this number for a " XXXX XXXX. '' I was able to get those calls stopped by talking with the caller but have been unsuccessful with the callers looking for " XXXX XXXX. '' The calls taper off for a month or two but always resume after a brief hiatus. I have spoken with Straight Talk and was told there is nothing they can do. They advised blocking the calls or changing my phone number. Unfortunately, changing my phone number is no guarantee that I would not get yet another tainted number and be no better off than I am now.
01/20/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Contacted employer after asked not to
  • TX
  • 77365
Web
For the past couple of months, several individuals have been contacting from the same phone number claiming to be lawyers from the offices of XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX and Cooper, Hoffman, Klein & Associates. They have called my personal cell phone and my place of work several times a day, every day. I have repeatedly asked them stop calling me at work because I am not allowed to receive phone calls of this nature at work. They have not complied and continue to call. When they call, they yell at me on the phone, tell me that they are sending someone to come arrest me immediately, and usually end up hanging up on me. I have repeatedly asked them to send me a validation letter of the debt that they say that I owe and the refuse. I have also asked them for an address so that I could send a written request to them to stop contacting me at work and they have refused this as well. They have even called my work and told my employer that they were sending a cop to come arrest me right that moment. They have told me that I have committed check fraud and that I have written hot checks.
10/27/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened arrest/jail if do not pay
  • MI
  • 48653
Web
Have been recieving threatening and rude phone calls saying I owe money on a payday loan that I know nothing about. Said they would put criminal and civil charges on me if I did not cooperate and pay. I told the man I would not pay money until I received a notice in the mail in which I then have 30 days to decide what I want to do. He got very upset about me saying that and said he would add a request to get my license suspended on top of the criminal and civil charges. A few hours later I received a call from the number of the county clerks office and it was a man stating they had received paperwork on my case and I had 24 hours to work things out with cooper hoffman and klein or they would be serving me papers to appear in court. I then called the county clerks office and they told me they had not received anything and there are no males working in their office. Obviously it was a fake call. These people are low life scammers trying to take our hard earned money. They need real jobs instead of trying to take the money I worked my XXXX off for. XXXX.
10/28/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not disclosed as an attempt to collect
  • MI
  • 48154
Web
A company named Cooper Hoffman Klein and Associates called and stated they were investigating my bank account and I would be sent for prosecution for a debt for a payday loan from 6 years ago, they threatened to file a claim that would garnish me, send me to jail if I did not pay them XXXX today XX/XX/XXXX and the remained of the money in XXXX payments XX/XX/XXXX. I asked for proof the debt that they said they would e-mail me and I have not received anything they said I was a low life and I know I owe the money and it is time to pay. The represent themselves as a law-firm but I can not find anything about the firm. When I googled the company and phone numbers everything states it is a scam. They would not give me the address of the firm.They have called my parents leaving information about my so called debt while speaking with them. My parents are elderly and this is very upsetting to them. The phone numbers they call from are XXXX XXXX
08/11/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened to sue on too old debt
  • CT
  • 06320
Web
I received a phone call at my job about a think cash loan from 2011. The person told me that the debt had been charged off. He said he had a file related to my social security number and verified my date of birth. He proceeded to tell me that I am going to be sued for defrauding a bank and charged with writing a bad check. After asking me a series of questions, he then said did I want to pay the $ XXXX on my own or take it to court. I told him I could n't discuss it with him right now because I am at work. He asked for a number I could be reached at, I did n't give him one. I took his number XXXX XXXX. He told me he worked for Cooper, Hoffman, Klein and Associates. XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX VA XXXX. I did a XXXX search and saw that the phone number given was associated with a scam. I also did a XXXX search on the address and that law firm does n't come up for that address.
02/22/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • False statements or representation
  • Impersonated an attorney or official
  • IL
  • 61046
Web Servicemember
This company says they are Cooper Hoffman and Kline and Associates, threatening court case on my ex wife and they have been calling me for almost a yea.r I have called them back explained who she is to me that I have no information and I have also repeatedly asked them to stop calling my number. Its always a robocall from multiple phone numbers but they always leave the same call back number { XXXX } with a case number but each call is threatening. I am retired military and these calls keep coming, they are disturbing and I ca n't take anymore. Please help me to stop them, I have my number on the do not call list now. and I am going to file a complaint with all the companies that I can until this stops. Also I went on line and saw that there are many complaints about this company so now I know they are scamming people out of money. Pelase help!
11/11/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • Used obscene/profane/abusive language
  • OH
  • 44836
Web
This company named Cooper, hoffman, klein and associates, has hounded me by telephone, at my home, work and my mother in law. They have used foul language at my place of work when asked to not contact me any further, they used the XXXX word to our receptionist at work, That persons name was XXXX, then I spoke to her I repeatedly asked her to not call me, I do n't know what she was speaking about in regards to owing something, I told her to send it to me by US mail, she told she did n't have to do that and that I was to pay up right then. They continue to call under many different numbers with automated messages, after they have been asked to stop many times. They have done every communication attempt in total disrespect! Frequent or repeated calls, Threatened to take legal action, general herrassment!
12/08/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened arrest/jail if do not pay
  • TX
  • 77069
Web
This Company called my house phone 3 times, they left a recorded message on answering machine, then a lady called ( from XXXX ) and asked for a XXXX XXXX and I told her she had the wrong number and no one by that name lived here and that we had this phone number for over 8 years and not to call again. About 3 hours later we get a recorded message ( from XXXX ) saying we needed to contact because we had been sued and would be arrested if we didnt contact them to setup payment. I hit XXXX to talk to someone and a guy answered and I told him that they called earlier and I told them they had the wrong number and not to call my home again. I asked them their address and they gave me XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX Texas XXXX, but that XXXX belongs to XXXX and they said they called them about using there address.
03/28/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • False statements or representation
  • Indicated committed crime not paying
  • AL
  • 36110
Web
I received a payday loan from XXXX in XXXX. I was under the impression that they took the funds from account. However early in the year of XXXX my mom was contacted stating that a company had a warrant out for my arrest if I did not contact them. So I contacted the company handling the situation for XXXX XXXX. I told them I never performed any fraud and that XXXX had their money. They explained that they did n't and thatvi needed to pay ASAP. I informed them of the amount that I was able. The company stated that was not acceptable. I did pay them XXXX $ towards the debt. But they contacted all my references that I used and them that I performed fraudalant activities and was facing jail time. They call my phone at least XXXX to 30 times each day back to back. This almost cost me to lose my job.
11/11/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • KY
  • 41015
Web Servicemember
Almost daily automated calls leaving messages they call " courtesy '' call about a debt that I do not owe as it is not and never was mine. I have no overdue bills, no cosigner obligations, nothing of the sort. The automated calls state " This message is being left for '' [ what sounds like ] XXXX The message states that this is a final call before action is taken, mentions attorneys and a case number. The number on caller ID is XXXX and shows XXXX XXXX, TX as the originator. I called the number and asked who they are and why they are calling me and the person hung up on me when I pressed them. This has been going on for months, though not quite as frequently as it has of late.
11/18/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Talked to a third party about my debt
  • TX
  • 75901
Web
Apparently this company told a friend of mine that we had written a bad check in 2013 and they are an attorney on behalf of this client. This company shared false information and personal information to people that I know. This company also called my phone and stated they were contacting me regarding fraud charges and wanted to get a defense statement for prosecution. They represented themselves as attorneys. When I asked them for their location to come to their office they stated they were located in XXXX. I told them my attorney and I could come to their office to discuss what " charges '' were being filed against me.
08/25/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened arrest/jail if do not pay
  • UT
  • 84129
Web
This company has called daily requesting that I pay a bill for a checkloan with a Paydayone company that is out of business, they told me they were coming to pick me up to go to jail, told me I would be served a summons, called me a filthy Debtor and XXXX, I have requested that they stop calling me and they continue they change their numbers and call when I asked for an address to send payment they said they only accept a prepaid debit card for payment no cashiers check or money order so I still was unable to get an address from them. they have no information on their company over the internet and no address.
07/16/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened to sue on too old debt
  • TX
  • 78641
Web
This was a payday loan from nearly 5 years ago where I lapsed in payment because I had to XXXX due to an unrelated reason. I am being threatened to be taken to court for the amount of {$1400.00} plus attorney and legal fees, the amount of which is more than the loan amount was originally. They are calling me and representing themselves as an attorney 's office by name of Cooper, Hoffman, Klein & Associates. Please let me know my legal rights and if they are a legitimate group as I can not find them listed. I can not afford to pay the amount they are asking. They call under ( XXXX ) XXXX.
08/14/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • NV
  • 89139
Web
Received a call from XXXX at my work from Cooper Hoffman Klein and Associates. The caller identified himself as being from the XXXX XXXX subpeona processing department. He said to avoid a warrant and arrest I had to make immediate arrangements with him. I asked for proof of debt. His response was that he is representing an arbitration firm and is not a debt collector. He said he did n't have to abide by rules that debt collectors must follow. He repeatedly threatened me with subpeona and arrest for fraud, that this was my last chance to avoid prosecution.
08/25/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • OH
  • 44256
Web
My XXXX year old daughter is receiving non-stop calls on her cell phone from " Cooper Hoffman & Klein Associates '' attempting to collect a debt from someone named " XXXX XXXX ''. We block the calls but they keep calling from other phone numbers. I called on XXXX/XXXX/15 and spoke to XXXX - I explained the situation and he hung up on me. They reference Case # XXXX and have called from these numbers : ( XXXX ) XXXX ; ( XXXX ) XXXX and ( XXXX ) XXXX. The voicemails threaten legal action and someone will show up at our house.
10/25/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened to sue on too old debt
  • IA
  • 50317
Web
Cooper Hoffman Klein & Associates began calling relatives of mine in XXXX. They have not yet mailed or sent any verification of this " debt ''. A week later, i sent a certified letter, which was returned & left s voicemail that under the Fair Debt collection practices act, to cease communication with anyone in my family. They called my employer XXXX XXXX, which they still did n't verify and I repeated to cease communication. Have found since they 've contacted XXXX relatives without my prior knowledge.
12/10/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened arrest/jail if do not pay
  • MI
  • 48309
Web
I 'm receiving multiple calls from an Debt collector claiming to be from Cooper, Hoffman, and Kline - XXXX XXXX. They have called me several times at my job with numerous threats to prosecute me due to fraud. When I called them back to verify their company name, address, etc. they were extremely rude and short. They are calling my cell phone, employer, and family members. Although I 've included this extension, they are calling me from multiple extension and different phone numbers
12/22/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened arrest/jail if do not pay
  • TX
  • 77302
Web
I received voice messages repeatedly about a debt I am not sure I owe. This company keeps threatening me to take me to court in XXXX XXXX and will not offer me information about the debt. When I spoke with someone finally he became very rude and would talk over me and would not let me speak then he hung up on me. I do not feel this is a legitimate debt but most importantly I think they are using illegal scare taticts.
11/23/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • TX
  • 76548
Web Servicemember
" Cooper, Hoffman, Klein and Associates '' continues to harass me by calling my cell phone in attempt to collect another person 's debt. They have yelled at me, misrepresented themselves as lawyers, threatened to take me to court and refused to stop calling me after I asked them to remove my number from the account that does n't belong to me.
12/01/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Communication tactics
  • Threatened to take legal action
  • IL
  • 60142
Web
Continuous calls from Cooper Hauffman & Klein. I have been ignoring their calls for months after my request for a debt validation letter was ignored. They continue to call and harass me multiple times per day. They use foul language, threatening tactics and will not stop despite my verbal request that all communication be by postal mail.
02/03/2017 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • KY
  • 41042
Web Older American
I am receiving calls in error. I have told the company they have the wrong number but they continue to call. I gave them my number and was told they would not call but they continue to call and threaten me with legal action. I am not the person they are calling for and do not know the person they are calling for.
12/17/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • Threatened to take legal action
  • TX
  • 78728
Web
My wife, employer and I have received multiple calls daily for the last week regarding a legal matter. Messages state that court papers would be filed in my County of residence. When I return calls no one will give me specific information.
09/23/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • TX
  • 76177
Web Servicemember
I keep getting calls, they have called my ex husband and my work. They threaten a lawsuit jail time and to have my drivers license revoked.
03/14/2020 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • FL
  • 33312
Web
XX/XX/2018- Hoffman associates in the amount of XXXX this debt is not mine. I have disputed it
12/29/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Talked to a third party about my debt
  • TX
  • 75075
Web
Debt collector called my minor son and left threatening message regarding a debt I do n't owe.
09/17/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened arrest/jail if do not pay
  • MD
  • 20748
Web
Thy stated that I wrote a bad check and that I was going to have fraud charges against me
12/17/2015 Yes
  • Payday loan
  • Can't contact lender
  • TX
  • 76086
Web
12/11/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • False statements or representation
  • Impersonated an attorney or official
  • MO
  • 63775
Web
11/19/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 92653
Web
11/18/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CO
  • 80004
Web
11/09/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Communication tactics
  • Threatened to take legal action
  • AL
  • 35594
Phone Servicemember
11/05/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • Threatened to take legal action
  • TX
  • 77477
Web
11/05/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • MI
  • 48197
Web
11/03/2015 Yes
  • Payday loan
  • Payment to acct not credited
  • TX
  • 78748
Web
10/22/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • MI
  • 48221
Phone
10/08/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened arrest/jail if do not pay
  • TX
  • 78006
Web
09/18/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 91764
Web
08/04/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 92653
Web
07/21/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened arrest/jail if do not pay
  • CA
  • 95124
Referral
07/07/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened arrest/jail if do not pay
  • MA
  • 01581
Web Servicemember