Consumer Recovery Solutions, LLC CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
07/17/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to arrest you or take you to jail if you do not pay
  • VA
  • 22408
Web
In XX/XX/XXXX, I was contacted by a woman from an unknown/blocked number. She left a message on my voice mail identifying herself as a Local Process Server and her name is XXXX XXXX. She said that she will come to the house and my workplace to serve me summons, and that if I want to stop being served or to re-schedule the date for them to come and serve me, then I should call this number : XXXX. I then called that number and the person who answered was XXXX XXXX. ( I'm not even sure if they are using legit names ) She identified herself as a Paralegal hired by a Collection Agency, who apparently I owed the money from. She said that I had an overdraft charge from XXXX XXXX XXXX in XXXX amounting to {$45.00} and that it multiplied because of interests and Atty fees and now the total amount is amounting to {$810.00}. She said that they are sending a Process Server on XX/XX/XXXX to my house and to my workplace, not unless I will pay that amount. I told her that I don't owe money in XXXX XXXX XXXX. I asked the name of their company but she wouldn't tell me. I would like to get more information about them and also see how they came up with that amount, but she's quick to dismiss any questions I have. She said that she has no time for questions because she has other clients to attend to. She threatened me saying that it's either I pay the whole amount upfront or she will send the Process Server to the house and end up being arrested. I said I don't have money to pay that because I haven't been working since last year because of my XXXX XXXX XXXX and XXXX XXXX. But because she got me scared, I offered to pay just {$25.00} a month because that's the only amount I can afford. She became very nasty and abusive after that. She said that if I won't pay them up front, they will increase it more to 10x that amount. She got me worried and scared again when she threatened me that, then suddenly she hang up the phone. After a few minutes she called back and told me that they are willing to accept half of the original amount, so she advised me to pay {$400.00}. I told her that even with that amount, I really don't have any money to pay that at all, so I said, I might just go ahead and attend the court hearing so I can defend myself as I really don't owe any money from XXXX XXXX XXXX, and also the judge will listen to my situation. She got so agitated when I said that, saying that the Judge will not listen because it's already on " default ''. And because she was so good in intimidating me with her scare tactics, and unending threats of embarrassment and arrest, she was able to squeeze me and forced me to agree on paying that amount at the end of the month, even though I know that I really don't have any money at all to pay it. She was able to convince me to sign an agreement to pay the amount at the end of the month by signing the agreement electronically. She said that if I don't sign it that day, they will be forced to send somebody to the house on that same day to arrest me. It seems like they are using a third party to sign documents electronically and the company 's name that they used for electronic signing is XXXX. She convinced me to give her my debit card information, my social security number, my Father 's name and my Mother 's maiden name. Then she had somebody send an email to me from XXXX for the signing of an agreement to pay the {$400.00} to XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, which is to be taken in my bank account at the end of the month. Their number indicated in the agreement is : XXXX. I always think that I'm not XXXX, but I don't know how she was able to convince me to agree to pay that amount and to give her all my personal information when she asked me to. After the electronic signature was done, I was so devastated because it's so hard to believe that I paid for something I don't really owe to begin with. After that, I made a lot of research about that number and I found tons and tons of red flags and complaints against them. They are using the same scare tactic to all their victims. It's the " Fake Process Server Scam '' to scare and threaten innocent people and extort money from them. I cried so hard because I couldn't believe that I let myself fall into their trap. The next day I immediately contacted my bank to block them and I also requested for a replacement card so they wont be able to extort money from me. Please do something about those people because they are messing the lives of innocent people. What they are doing is extortion. They are big time Scammers.They scare people, harrass, intimidate, abuse and threaten people, just so to get their hard earned money. When they emailed me the agreement to be signed, the names of the company involved are : " XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX '' and " Consumer Recovery Solutions ''. They used the service of a third party company named " XXXX '' to sign the agreement electronically. I tried to click the reply button and send them emails, but it was all returned back to sender, which means that their emails are not even legit, except for that one time when they needed me to sign, then it went through. After that, their email address no longer exist. Please stop those companies from doing illegal business. They target innocent people and extort money from them. What they are doing is extortion, please stop them, anybody can be their victim at any time.
12/02/2019 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened or suggested your credit would be damaged
  • KS
  • 66441
Web Servicemember
I was called on XX/XX/XXXX by a gentleman representing himself as working for a 3rd party collection agency called XXXX. Upon talking to him he of let me know his name was XXXX XXXX and he had taken over a debt that I owed to a creditor. He claimed that I old a creditor over an even higher cost named XXXX XXXX whom I have never heard of. He began to tell me that the original amount that was taken out was one amount but somehow because the interest rate doubled I now owed them roughly an even larger amount due. Again I have no idea who this collection agency is nor I have I received any information any correspondence and/or any form of validation to who they are. Upon talking to the gentleman also he began to keep up conversation with me regarding this debt that I owed stating that if it was not paid that he/ would move forward or his company would move forward in litigation in order to obtain the funds to eliminate the debt owed to a company called XXXX XXXX. Additionally he also informed me that if I did not agree to pay the said amount the company would move forward and sue me for the amount owed. During our conversation on the phone the gentleman named XXXX XXXX continued a conversation with me outside of the realm of the conversation regarding the debt. He continued to discuss with me information that was irrelevant to the debt himself. He then returned to his communication with regard to the consequences that could be done to me if I did not pay the amount of the debt due. I have attached our phone conversation to this claim. He also failed to inform me that he was a debt collector and that his call was an attempt to collect monies owed. He threatened me with litigation for a debt that I did not owe. He also informed me that he would send me copies of all of my documentation regarding this issue. It has been a week and a half and I still have yet to receive any form of documentation that would establish any agreement with the company he claims. He completely lied about everything that he said and caused me to have XXXX XXXX and XXXX and XXXX XXXX because he has called over 15 times. He also said that he was located in XXXX New York, however, nowhere on the internet search does it show that this company has offices outside of California or Florida. Please help me to find out who this is. He had my personal information such as my date of birth, last 4 of my social security number, my address and the my occupation which can be found on my credit report. This is out right fraudulent financial activities. Please investigate this company.
06/06/2017 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Communication tactics
  • Used obscene, profane, or other abusive language
  • NH
  • 03801
Web
This collector is n't calling me too much, and they have not used any inappropriate language, or anything like that. In fact, they were careful with their choice of words, but were clearly attempting to make it sound like I would be taken to court over a {$90.00} medical bill. The exact voice message left today XX/XX/XXXX by " XXXX XXXX '' was this : " This message is for ___ if this is not ____ please hang up. This is XXXX XXXX calling again with the office of CRS I was just calling as a courtesy to you and I am not sure if you 're aware what 's taking place here or not. I 'm now being asked to have a case in your name reviewed for final disposition. I just wanted to make you aware of this, as a courtesy to you before that took place. At this point you do need to contact me immediately now it 's XXXX use your case number as a reference when you call which is XXXX . And again I need to speak with you immediately or you can have representation call me immediately on this as well '' I 've uploaded the voice message. When I later spoke to XXXX XXXX he knew very well that he chose his words in the voicemail carefully and pointed out that he said that I " can have '' representation. So in his head it was no threat of legal action. The use of " Disposition '' instead of " Deposition '' is obvious that they are doing what they can to make this seem like they are not wording this as a threat - but they are.
12/11/2017 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • OR
  • 97381
Web
I received a message last on XX/XX/XXXX or XXXX XXXX 2017 and could not understand what the woman was saying, but it sounded very serious, so I did what I could to call back. I finally got through after five repeated tries, without being able to leave a message and spoke with a woman named XXXX XXXX XXXX. She explained to me that her law firm was going to sue me if I did n't pay almost 800 dollars from over 10 years ago. I explained to her that it 's been way too long, and that there 's no way I owe that much. It was from when I was XXXX and opened up a XXXX XXXX checking account. I got hit with some overdraft fees that I could n't pay, so the account closed and went to collections. Scared that I was going to be sued, before reading about the NFCPA and all my rights, I reluctantly agreed over the phone to set up a payment plan that was completely unreasonable at XXXX dollars every two weeks. She urged me to sign the documents they emailed right away, which I did not. I tried to call back but could n't get through until the following Monday when I realized they went ahead and charged my bank the first XXXX dollars even though I never signed and planned to arrange another way of dealing with this. The company is Consumer Recovery Solutions and I was billed through XXXX XXXX.
06/21/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • AL
  • 35124
Web
Representative of firm called Consumer Recovery Solutions, name of rep XXXX XXXX, phone number XXXX, called to attempt to collect on an overdrawn checking account from XXXXXXXX XXXX, overdrawn in 2010. Original overdrawn amount was {$130.00}. Was attempting to collect {$700.00}, and threatened that their firm has attempted a court summons recently, though he could not say when. We have received no mail, or any other notification, of the overdraft or the attempt to collect. He referenced a case number, XXXX. We initially agreed to pay, but moments later, changed our mind. Our bank told us that to fully cancel the transaction before it took place, we would need to close the debit card fully that we provided to them. This is a damage to us, and we will be without the debit card. We have suffered significant emotional stress due to this call, and this entire ordeal. When I attempted to contact this firm, I did speak with the rep, XXXX XXXX, and told him we wanted some paper form of the original debt and who it was owed to, and told us we would not be provided that information, then abruptly hung up the phone.
10/04/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • CA
  • 94014
Web
On XX/XX/2018, my sister sent me a recorded voicemail addressed to me regarding a civil complaint that was to be sent out as a court summons. The message was threatening and I was surprised as to why and how it was sent to my sister. XXXX XXXX, a local process server, left me this message with a contact number which I called immediately which is XXXX. I was told that I had a XXXX XXXX debt. At the time, I did have the mentioned debt but it was already being handled with a legitimate creditor. That day I made an inital payment via debit card of {$430.00}. For the next five months ( XXXX ), {$170.00} was automatically deducted from my card. Yesterday, I stopped future payment with the companys billing services ( XXXX ) and also contacted my bank to stop any deductions as well. Yesterday, I got a voicemail from XXXX XXXX, a lead paralegal of the firm. Her number is XXXX. The past two days Ive tried to contact her but I only get her voicemail. There is also a possibility that they reported my refusal to pay remaining balance to credit agencies. My score suddenly dropped 5 points immediately.
06/05/2019 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Impersonated attorney, law enforcement, or government official
  • PA
  • 16159
Web Servicemember
Consumer Recovery Services LLC. XXXX I called them after a " server '' contacted me via my work phone to give me a case # that I was being sued. They gave me the phone number for the Consumer Recovery services. The case number was just the case number for the CRS LLC. XXXX XXXX who identified themselves as a paralegal that works for the law offices that were taking me to court. that I was going to owe them over {$1800.00} if it went to court, but I could settle with them for {$360.00}. I asked XXXX if she worked for a collections agency or a Law firm. She confirmed again that she worked for the law firm. I asked to be emailed a copy of the proof of debt. She emailed me a page stating how much I owed, but not actual proof of debt. This page only had a company name and phone number, no address As soon as I mentioned that I needed proof I was told that I would only get it if we went to court. She quickly ended the conversation and hung up.
06/05/2019 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • MO
  • 64117
Web
On XX/XX/XXXX I received a phone call stating that a XXXX XXXX had received my file via fax and she was going to serve me court papers on Friday XX/XX/XXXX. They also left this same voicemail with my name on three other peoples phone. I called the number back and spoke with a guy who said I owed XXXX from XXXX. He said it was for a bank account and I asked him to send me information on what I owed. He said the only way I could see that is if I didn't pay and got sued. Then I could ask for it from the Judge. I told him I would not pay this without seeing what the charges were for. They have called me 2 more times today.
04/10/2019 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • CA
  • 92020
Web
A person ( s ) has been contacting my daughter and saying their is a court matter that I need to address. I tried calling the number today with the " case '' number and I was given no information without offering sensitive information like my birthdate and social security number. The lady " XXXX XXXX '' said I called yesterday and said I wasn't me and said I was a liar. No such event happened. I would like whoever this is to please stop contacting my family.
08/12/2019 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • GA
  • 30078
Web
From : XXXX XXXX Subject : Fraud ob XXXX Check I did not write a check to XXXX for XXXX. I have not written any hand checks since XX/XX/2019 for XXXX please remove charges and reverse courtesy pay. I should have XXXX in my account! Please investigate now and remove fraud XX/XX/2019 Withdrawal Fee / Courtesy Pay Fee In the amount {$30.00} XXXX XXXX - {$35.00} - {$63.00} XX/XX/2019 ACH Withdrawal / XXXX XXXX - {$30.00} - {$28.00}
08/30/2017 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • NY
  • 11570
Web
I get calls all the time from random numbers around the country saying there is a complaint against me. Sometimes they are recordings and other times they are people throwing out scary words such as " garnish, affidavit, etc '' Now they are calling my wife and my mother-in-law and this is why I have submitted my complaint to you. The most recent numbers are : XXXX XXXX I am more than happy to help you catch them!
11/06/2019 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • IN
  • 46260
Web
I was told on XX/XX/2019 voicemail was left stating great I they are scheduled to deliver a summons and that if I dont respond that this will be a refusal. I ask fo a VOD they did not send me the info only a letter stating its in the office. Then stated I can not get the VOD until I sign documents.
01/16/2019 No
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Impersonated attorney, law enforcement, or government official
  • CA
  • 95118
Web
My sister received a voicemail of a civil complaint towards me regarding a debt. I called the Company CONSUMER RECOVERY SOLUTIONS XXXX on XX/XX/2019. I set up a payment schedule for a debt of XXXX through XXXX XXXX XXXX. I have signed a contract which I regret doing.
06/25/2021 No
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • TX
  • 77568
Web
08/13/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • OR
  • 97301
Web
05/15/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • IA
  • 52732
Web Older American
12/01/2017 No
  • Debt collection
  • Payday loan debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to arrest you or take you to jail if you do not pay
  • LA
  • 70129
Web
08/29/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • MD
  • 21701
Referral
08/18/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened to sue on too old debt
  • PA
  • 15232
Web