COMMUNITY BANK SYSTEM, INC. CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
02/16/2022 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem caused by your funds being low
  • Overdrafts and overdraft fees
  • NY
  • 14034
Web
On Saturday, XX/XX/2022, I received an email from XXXX informing me that my bank ( Community Bank, NA ) had declined a funds transfer from my checking account due to insufficient funds. This surprised me, because I had never overdrawn an account in my life. I went to the bank website and I discovered that the checking account had indeed been overdrawn since XX/XX/2022. However, from the date of the event, even until the time of this submission, I have received no electronic communication from my own bank to alert me to this situation. I have received no email, no text messages, no phone messages -- even though the bank had all of those contacts, and even though I had signed up for electronic statements and was accustomed to receiving all of my communication from the bank electronically. I have been receiving email communication from this bank concerning statements and fraud alerts for several years. I had no reason to believe -- and the bank 's past behavior gave me no reason to believe -- that other important communication, such as overdraft notices, would not also arrive electronically. Upon investigation, I discovered that I had received several written notices from the bank through the regular mail. However because I was not accustomed to receiving consequential communications from the bank via regular mail -- not even statements -- I had left them unopened. The first of these was dated XX/XX/2022. Allowing three working days for delivery the earliest it could have reached me was XX/XX/2022. However, by this point the situation was already out of control. The account had already incurred seven paid-item fees for a total of {$250.00} in overdraft-related fees on an overdraft amount of {$400.00}. The first part of my complaint, then, is that I was not notified in a timely manner of the overdraft. I had been encouraged and conditioned by the bank to expect important communications to arrive by email. However no email notifications were sent. Notifications sent by regular mail would not have arrived in time for me to act to prevent additional fees from accumulating. The second part of my complaint is that the overdraft fees are vastly disproportionate to amount of the overdraft. As of XX/XX/2022, which was the first working day on which I was both aware of the situation and able to contact the bank, the negative balance in the account was {$1100.00}, of which {$540.00} was fees charged by the bank and {$640.00} was from transactions. Additionally, the bank was now charging a daily {$5.00} fee on the account, which works out to an annualized interest rate of 282 % on the actual amount of my overdraft, exclusive of fees. When I spoke with the bank manager on XX/XX/2022 the negative balance on the account, exclusive of fees, stood at {$640.00} after two weeks. Compared to the average positive balance in the account, which had been in the thousands for more than ten years, this is a trivial amount. I don't get anything extra when I have a {$10000.00} positive balance. If once in ten years the account goes negative by a few hundred dollars does fairness demand that I be severely penalized? It's absurd. I pointed out the problems with the notifications and the excessive nature of the fees. I also pointed out that I had done the responsible thing and contacted the bank as soon as I was aware of the problem. I proposed a simple and gentlemanly solution. I would make up the negative balance with an immediate wire transfer and the bank would withdraw its fees. The manager sought authorization from the home office, however the most they would allow was seven of the then fourteen {$36.00} charges and seven {$5.00} charges, for a total of {$280.00}. This, however would still have left me with {$250.00} in fees on an overdraft of {$640.00}, with more fees to come. The outside transfer would have taken several days to complete, during which time additional charges and resubmissions, over which I had no control were still posting to the account. I have since tried to get XXXX to redirect their resubmissions to a different account however their system apparently makes this impossible. On XX/XX/2022 I proposed to the manager that I would make good on the overdraft amount with a transfer and they could decide whether or not to come after me for the fees. But I later discovered that this proposal is complicated by the fact that child support payments that are being paid to the account electronically can not be immediately redirected. I have had to send a letter to XXXX NY, which will take up to two weeks to be processed. I do not know, then, at this time, what the total overdraft will be. And neither do I have access to the child support payments that are being deposited in my account, which are intended for the benefit of my children and not the benefit of the bank or its shareholders.
07/12/2022 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Other banking product or service
  • Managing an account
  • Funds not handled or disbursed as instructed
  • NY
  • 14817
Web
I just now explained the situation with my bank account in detail to a CFPB agent- I opened an account with Community Bank NA , years ago. The branch that I opened the account at is in XXXX, N.Y., the routing # is : XXXX. I am engaged in an estate battle with my younger sister and our aunt over mom 's estate. Our aunt ( her name is XXXX XXXX ) is a retired county employee here ( XXXX XXXX, N.Y. XXXX ) and she has a lot of cronies, connections, etc. locally. Even though my sister had nothing to do with the family since she moved out after graduating high school, she obviously enlisted our aunt 's help so that she could more or less hijack mom 's estate when mom passed. Our aunt managed to have XXXX XXXX XXXX take over as payee for my Social Security checks shortly after mom passed, they did this without any notification or permission. This was in XXXX of 2012. The agency that now controls my SS funds is XXXX XXXX Adult Protective Svcs. The name of my current caseworker at XXXX is XXXX XXXX. I was told that there are another 130 or more people who also have XXXX as their rep payee. The department is currently being investigated for fraud by the OIG. My caseworker, XXXX XXXX, and the loan officer at XXXX bank, XXXX XXXX, have conspired to keep me financially crippled, practically bankrupt. They are obviously doing this at my aunt 's urging, she might be using bribes or threats. I managed to have the bank approve three small loans, to purchase rolling stock for my vehicle transport business. The loans were approved on the basis that they would be paid off over time with funds from my payee account, which are administered by XXXX XXXX. I was also told that the bank would approve a mortgage on a house " if I could afford it '', which never happened, of course. I was only approved for enough to purchase two very " rough '', older trucks, and one home made car haul trailer. One of the trucks I will probably have to sell for scrap, it needs too much repair, the other truck was off the road while I did extensive work on it to get it to pass XXXX inspection. And, according to the bank, I still owe around {$10000.00} for the vehicle loans. The situation with having the county XXXX as my payee is FORCING me to make bad financial decisions, the bank refuses to loan me enough to purchase decent equipment, and the county refuses to return my SS checks to a private account that I can manage. When I realized that the bank was never going to act in good faith, grant me a mortgage, etc, that they were actively preventing me from deciding how my funds are used, ( obviously at my aunt 's " request '' ), I sent an email to XXXX XXXX, in which I notified him that I've " had it '' with the fraud, I will close the accounts with Community Bank, that I am defaulting on the loans, reporting him to the fed, and that if Community bank attempts to go after me in court, that I will fight it and win. I sent the email over a month ago. The county still has a " death grip '' on my Social Security checks, won't turn payee status back over to me. Years ago, I asked the previous Social Services commissioner, XXXX XXXX, ( who used to work with my aunt ), how the county XXXX was able to take over as my payee for my SS checks. XXXX XXXX told me that XXXX XXXX received a letter from the Social Security administration, telling them that I need a payee (? ), and that she would forward me a copy of this supposed letter. Months went by, no letter. I tried calling back a few times, to ask when I might expect a copy of the letter from the SS admin. The last time that I tried calling, the receptionist threatened me, and told me that if I tried calling the commissioner 's office again, I might be arrested. My own relatives are now enemies, have turned the bank against me. I am the eldest son, our parents are dec 'd, our aunt is a sociopath, plain and simple. I'm sure that fraud involving human services agencies, their helpless clients, and the banking system is widespread, this is New York, XXXX. But in my case, a " connected '' family member is the instigator. My landline phone # is ( XXXX ) XXXX if more information is needed. Thanks so much in advance for your assistance. - XXXX XXXX, XXXX, XXXX.
03/18/2018 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Cashing a check
  • NY
  • 14810
Web Older American
XXXX XXXX XXXX & XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX ( XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXXXXXX ) XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, NY XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX Home : ( XXXX ) XXXX XXXX Fax : ( XXXX ) XXXX XXXX XXXX Cell ( XXXX ) XXXX XXXX XXXX Email : XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX : XXXX XX/XX/XXXX Dear Consumer Financial Protection Bureau : 1 . I filed a complaint against COMMUNITY BANK on or around XX/XX/XXXX, for elderly-financial abuse, theft, and fraud. This banks ' employees, involved with the organized-crime, aided and abetted an organized-crime member XXXX in stealing {$1.00}, 200.00 from me. 2. XXXX XXXX stole my {$1.00}, XXXX through a scheme of renting an illegal apartment aided and abetted by the local and state police ; so, they refused to file a police-report. When the local and state-police saw no other option, they filed the report ; but it was falsified. 3. The police-report looked like I have lived in the apartment and, then, the apartment became damaged ( by my use ) ; so, it was not fraud, but a landlord and tenant-dispute. when, in reality, XXXX XXXX rented the said apartment with dozens of violations, said that he was going to fix it before he cashed my first month-rent and security deposit. 4. After fixing the apartment, he was supposed to give me a lease and the key. Then, he was going to cash the check for the said two months. This never happened. He cashed the check immediately after I gave it to him and never repaired anything. When I went to the bank and reported the fraud and scheme, they told me that they would not follow the law ; so, I could get my defrauded money back. 5. I, and an ocular witness, have seen the local state and police- officers at the local motel -- where people drink, rent rooms for a night or two, and eat. I dont know if XXXX XXXX or his family own the said motel ; but I do know that they are friends with XXXX XXXX and hang out where he does at the said motel. 6. After I found out that they hang out at the same motel and are good friends, the said police refused to follow the law and arrest the perpetrator for fraud XXXX XXXX. After I filed a complaint with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, COMMUNITY BANK retaliated against me and ran another scheme involving covering up parts of my rent-checks, at the new place where I rent. 7. I rented another apartment because I almost died of infections from XXXX XXXX 's illegal-apartment. After I got terrible infections from the said illegal-apartment, I went to the local XXXX-Hospital in XXXX, NY. There, coincidentally, two nurses and an Assistance Physician tried to XXXX me. I have a 911-Call and ocular witness. Sincerely, XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX Citizen
02/01/2022 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Getting a loan or lease
  • Fraudulent loan
  • PA
  • 16506
Web
On XX/XX/2021 I went to the dealership know as XXXX XXXX to look at vehicles. Found a truck I like, was convinced to do a loan. The loan interest rate I was told was 4.9 % then was switch without my knowing to 6.4 % interests. Not only that but my loan and contract was signed between me and the XXXX XXXX no other interested party signed the contract. Yet they gave/sold my contract to Community Bank N.A of XXXX NY but they never signed or agreement directly between me and this Community Bank N.A . 15 usc 16 if no meeting of the minds and no wet ink signature from security interested party than the contract is void and unlawful. The loan is Fraudulent and highly preditory lending. Im paying under threat, duress and coersion. I never signed a contract with Community Bank N.A they simply used my credit and tried to charge me for a loan on an automobile that was never there's to begin with. Can't buy debt with debt. Corporations can't loan debt or credit. They are the trustee, I am the beneficiary and consumer. I gave myself a loan with my credit. You can't loan me money if there is no lawful money. HJR 192 all debts public and private belong to the United States of America. I signed a contract retaining all my rights ucc 1-308 all rights reserved. The alleged automotive loan is fraud and in violation of 15 usc 1605 ( a ). 15 usc 1692 ( d ). 15 usc 1635. 15 usc 1603. 15 usc 1692A. I've sent several certified mailings asking for them to show proof there is valid debt or loan amd if they cant prove in writing to cease and desist from reporting andcattempting to collect this debt. I also sent them certified mail letter explaining that they have 20 days to pick up said vehicle or it will be considered an abandoned Motor vehicle and under PA law would be lot fee for every day that it sits. And to get it back they would need to pay the fees and return my alleged Down payment they Fraudulent stole of {$2800.00}. {$16000.00} of lot fees. Community Bank n.a Failed to respond to any registered mail sent affidavits in XXXX, XXXX and XXXX asking to validate the debt and to cease and desist from reporting this fraudulent loan on my consumer credit reports and stop trying to collect on an alleged debt that they were paid from the Treasury for from my credit. As we all know an unrebutted Affidavit after 30 days stands as truth in commerce Under the Uniform Commercial codes, and 15 usc, fcra.
01/20/2021 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Deposits and withdrawals
  • NY
  • 14432
Web
On XX/XX/2021 I made a couple of withdraws at my bank - Community Bank NA, the XXXX NY location. I'd like some information regarding their withdraw policies, as the teller that processed the withdraws gave me some pushback about pulling money out of my account. I explained that I needed the cash so I could pay off two vehicle loans and immediately get a lien release for both from the bank holding my loans. Specifically, she stated that customers should " call ahead to ensure enough cash is on hand for large withdraws ''. Where is that policy authored and available for me to see? This was not a " large '' amount of cash - it was barely over {$10000.00}. I would expect that this is likely a small transaction in XXXX. Also, while she was processing it, she came back to the window asked me what I did for work, to which I replied " collections ''. She then asked what type of collections, to which I replied mostly healthcare. Why is she probing me for my profession? This was not friendly conversation - it was interrogation. I want a copy of the policy that advises the tellers to probe people that are taking money out of their accounts ( I had already provided her with my license ). I received chat follow-up from a " XXXX '' that was not helpful at all. She stated I should contact the local branch for questions related to federal regulations. If they're federal regulations, why wouldn't she be able to provide that info - seems it would apply to every branch in the US. I want the following done ; *I want to know why I was rudely advised that I should " call ahead to see if there is enough cash on hand to support a withdraw '', as to my knowledge there is no policy requiring customers do this. * I want to know the DOLLAR amount that would require me to call ahead to do a withdraw. * I want to know why she asked my profession, and once I advised I work in collections, why she needed to follow up with " what type of collections '' before she would continue processing my withdraw
09/19/2019 Yes
  • Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service
  • International money transfer
  • Other transaction problem
  • NY
  • 14435
Web Older American, Servicemember
XX/XX/XXXX On the early afternoon of XX/XX/2019, I paid an international wire fee to my local [ XXXX NY ] branch of Community Bank, N.A. of {$45.00}. to send a wire from my bank account to a friends bank account of {$920.00}. ( Im a retired XXXX and I was trying to provide educational help to a friend. ) The bank deducted {$960.00}. from my bank account, which was normal. The money was never deposited into my friends bank account. So, the following week I asked the local branch manager, XXXX XXXX, who sent the wire, to have a search done to determine where the transfer was stuck. ( She told me that Community Bank, N.A., uses the New York XXXX XXXX XXXX bank to send international wires. ) She told me the next day that it could take up to 90 days even to do a trace! As of today, exactly 28 days after the transfer was initiated, the money has neither been transferred nor returned to my account. Earlier this week I called the number on the banks website and someone named XXXX told me hed look into it. Nothing happened. I, therefore, messaged Ms. XXXX to cancel the transaction and return the {$960.00} to my account. Apparently, she requested that, but she also then informed me that it could take 90 days even to do just that! I believe that, if one pays for a service in advance, ones money should be returned promptly if that service is not provided. If you agree with me, I hope that youll treat this complaint seriously. Someone has been using my nearly {$1000.00} without my permission for the last month and this situation may drag on for months more. ( Meanwhile, my friend, who was counting on the money, is stuck. ) I would like you please to pressure Community Bank into returning my {$960.00} immediately as well as reasonable interest for the use of my money. ( It may not seem to be a lot of money, but Im living on a fixed income and its a lot of money to me. ) Thank you for your attention. Cordially,
03/06/2021 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Struggling to pay your loan
  • Denied request to lower payments
  • NY
  • 14226
Web
on XX/XX/XXXX, I called my lender asking for a one or two month extension on my auto loan. I have never once been later nor have I requested a previous extension for this loan. Before even explaining my situation, I was advised by the rep that they werent giving extensions for covid ( this was odd to me, as every other lender is bending over backwards to assist ). I then advised that I needed to request a one or two month auto extension due to unexpected vet bills, and was advised " well thats a first. '' She then stated that this wasnt really a valid reason and that normally extensions were only given if I was in the hospital or lost my job. I stated that I was facing a short term hardship and needed the extension. She then advised me that they only grant one month extensions. After some calculations, she advised that to defer my {$430.00} payment, it would cost me roughly {$350.00} to which none of this would go towards my loan, it was " just the cost to defer the payment. '' I asked how the Bank could charge me for my hardship, as I have never been charged for an extension with any other lender. She stated that it was just their rules. To benefit off of a customer hardship and make them pay for financial assistance is horrible and takes advantage o a customer in a time of need.
10/16/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Cashing a check
  • PA
  • 18201
Web
I made a deposit on XX/XX/2019 of $ {$460.00} and the teller made me the deposit for {$170.00}, something that is a mistake, the next day, Saturday I went to the bank, and told her that this was wrong, I asked him to look for the check for XXXX that I supposedly hand to her, but they couldn't give me that, because the check which I have in hand was for XXXX. When I went to the person who helped me that day, what she told me went to the bank again to see if her and see if had already solved this, the answer she gave me was, oh you are still aware of that, I was surprised with This answer is my money and work hard for it, I have to ask for this to be fixed and have the diferente of my money rent to me. She told me that if I was still aware of that, the teller named XXXX told me that she would look at the camera with the manager XXXX, but every time I go, they tell me something new, neither XXXX or XXXX have checked what happened with that deposit. I have been doing this for years, weekly, they know it, every day or the next day i get paid ... I take my check to deposit and withdraw what is available balance in the account.
02/27/2019 Yes
  • Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service
  • Domestic (US) money transfer
  • Confusing or missing disclosures
  • NY
  • 10011
Web
On XX/XX/18 I received a noticed from XXXX XXXX, XXXX Trust informing me of a change to my XXXX XXXX cash management sweep vehicle with no date for the stated change of cash vehicle, nor any disclosures. I wrote a demand letter XX/XX/18 requesting all disclosures for the use of cash sweeps in the Trust accounts. Additionally, XXXX XXXX, XXXX Trustees have an accounting petition pending before the Surrogate Court of the State of New York, the County of XXXX, which has been contested and for which Discovery requests for production have been sent by myself to the fiduciary and attorney, XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX. of XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. Disputed in the accounting is the use of various cash sweep vehicles for which the fiduciary failed to provide disclosures. The banking system of Community Bank System , Inc, XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX , XXXX and XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX has failed to provide disclosures for the compensation / commission arrangements between it's subsidiaries for the use of the XXXX cash sweep vehicle.
07/06/2019 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account information incorrect
  • PA
  • 18519
Web
I have contacted community bank regarding the validation of this debt and the accounting in question. I reached out to the collection manager, XXXX XXXX and I have not got a response, I have requested an original consumer contract not a photo copy and they failed to provide an original consumer contract with my signature and another signature by community bank they just provided me with photo copys, they stated that XXXX and XXXX are the ones handling the account I called and spoke to the president at the headquarters office located in XXXX New York & I was told to stop calling and stop mailing the about the account and they stated they have no business with me. By federal law a contract is binding with 2 wet ink signatures. I do believe the account is fraud because I did not give authorization without my permission to withdrawal from my account of treasury. They assured me they are not longer handling the account but they are still reporting to my credit account as delinquent.
02/25/2020 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Trouble during payment process
  • PA
  • 18612
Web
On XX/XX/2020 I sent an updated county and municipal tax bill to Ms. XXXX XXXX as instructed by her to lower my mortgage payment. The property address went to tax appeal. as a result, the house value was reduced to {$210000.00} from {$360000.00}, which greatly reduced the taxes of the property. As of todays date, XX/XX/2020 I have not received a response from Ms. XXXX XXXX. I then called the corporate office of Community Bank and spoke with the loan department about this issue. The person I spoke with advised that Ms. XXXX XXXX should have sent them the updated tax forms. But, they never received the new tax bill. I asked the loan person that if I were to fax the new tax bill, would it reduce my bi-weekly loan payment. She advised it depends if they were able to do a new escrow alliance. My complaint is that if the new tax bill was sent when I e-mailed it to Ms. XXXX XXXX, I believe the new bi-weekly mortgage payment would be reduced.
07/02/2021 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem with a lender or other company charging your account
  • Transaction was not authorized
  • NY
  • 12901
Web
I went through the process to dispute a fraud charge on my bank account with Community Bank NA. I followed what I needed to and found a hat it was denied due to more charges from that same retailer I also did not make any of those. So instead of providing good customer service the lady decides to tell me its my fiscal responsibility to manage my bank account. I am well aware of my responsibility but I did not make these charges and from then on I was very angry and upset. This could have been managed a lot better than giving me, the customer attitude. I am trying to get things better with my banking and I dont need to be talked to like that. I have again put in a dispute for these charges that I absolutely did not make and will pursue further if they are not dealt with correctly. This was beyond bad customer service and I am appalled that as a customer I get talked to like this.
06/19/2022 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Managing the loan or lease
  • Billing problem
  • PA
  • 16948
Web
I have a loan from XXXX XXXX Bank, now Community Bank in NY. It's for a usedXX/XX/XXXX. I want to pay it off. I have 23 payments left. XXXX is the monthly payment. The bank is telling me the payoff is XXXX as of XX/XX/17. That is a total of the monthly payments. I have called 3 times requesting the principal balance and I keep getting told the XXXX is what I owe to pay off the loan. I thought maybe they already got all of their interest in the way the payment was setup. That is not the case. Their website and the 3 people that I have talked to tell me the same thing. There is nowhere on the site to pay the principal. I'm being forced to pay interest on a loan I can payoff now. I know if I just make a large payment, it will be applied as if I'm just paid ahead. Not reducing the principal balance whereby reducing the amount of interest.
07/13/2021 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Problems at the end of the loan or lease
  • Unable to receive car title or other problem after the loan is paid off
  • NY
  • 14206
Web Servicemember
Vehicle was purchased in XXXX {$6000.00} down 36 months of payments of {$560.00} grand total approx {$28000.00} After the 36 months I called the bank and asked for the lien release. One week later I received a new payment book with 42 additional payments at {$560.00} for an additional {$23000.00}. which would make this used XXXX XXXX XXXX with XXXX miles {$52000.00} in XXXX. Community Bank stated to my attorney something definitely wrong XXXX used truck no way is {$52000.00} XXXX XXXX XXXX definitely messed up on the loan. The XXXX XXXX sheriff 's deputies to my truck during the covid pandemic when our mayor made the cares act law. Community Bank valued the truck at {$17000.00} which they had posted a bond for double the value. So my question is how does a vehicle depreciate {$35000.00} in 3 years.
04/23/2019 No
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem with a lender or other company charging your account
  • Transaction was not authorized
  • NY
  • 13670
Web
We had 3 different authorized transactions from our account. Community Bank Account for Our XXXX XXXX XX/XX/XXXX amount {$1600.00}, XX/XX/XXXX {$17.00}, and XX/XX/XXXX {$1100.00}. These were transactions made by XXXX XXXX from Virginia to an XXXX XXXX XXXX. I found theses and reported this to our bank on XX/XX/XXXX. We closed our account and opened a new account. After investigating some XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX refunded half the money taken. They said there wasn't anything they do because over 48 hours had passed. I am XXXX XXXX the treasurer of the club, XXXX XXXX is the one that is now Chairman for the recovery of the money. His home number is XXXX-XX/XX/XXXX-XXXX-XXXX and his email is XXXX. My phone number is XXXX-XX/XX/XXXX-XXXX-XXXX and my email is XXXX. Thank you for your time. XXXX XXXX XXXX
04/16/2022 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem caused by your funds being low
  • Overdrafts and overdraft fees
  • NY
  • 13827
Web Older American
I opened a checking account with Community Bank N. A. ( {$50.00} deposit ) about 1 year ago. A month or so after opening I tried to close it because they charge a monthly service fee. They said I could not close the account because I had a balance. So I just let it sit. I decided a month ago to withdraw the {$50.00} I had in the account and went online and had the bank send me a {$50.00} check, which I received and cashed. That is when things send bad. They bounced the check and charges a XXXX $ fee then they began charging XXXX $ a day for my account being behind. This is not fair and I want it stopped and the charges dropped. I an attaching the statements I copied from the bank..
01/15/2021 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem with a lender or other company charging your account
  • Transaction was not authorized
  • NY
  • 14706
Web Older American
On XX/XX/2020 I received a call from someone clamming to be from XXXX and had made a mistake on a refund that they where doing and instead of giving {$130.00} they gave {$1100.00} and that they needed to go into my computer to go to my bank account to withdraw the money for XXXX. In order to do the refund they had to open a XXXX account and transfer {$1000.00} to XXXX which they did. I contacted my bank, the withdrawal was pending and they would not cancel it they would however open a dispute. About the XXXX I received word from the bank that they had determined that the transaction was not a scam therefor I was out the {$1000.00}
04/08/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Funds not handled or disbursed as instructed
  • NY
  • 13690
Web Older American
Community Bank, N.A. in XXXX XXXX mistakenly transferred {$2800.00} from the XXXX XXXX XXXX account to XXXX XXXX of Virginia through the Automated Clearing House despite the fact that we do not have a debit card and do not make electronic payments from this account. Following a series of complaints, the bank refunded only {$1400.00} and claimed that we were not entitled to a complete recovery because we did not notify the bank of our loss within 48 hours. They then charged us {$16.00} for new checks to a new account because the old account was not secure.
05/16/2022 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • PA
  • 18224
Web
I'm getting repeated phone calls many times a month from this debt collector ( XXXX XXXX XXXX ) even after we have made payment arrangements to pay once a month. They always call even after I make a payment and continuously harrass us for more money. If I don't answer the phone I will get multiple voicemails. I want them to stop calling me altogether and allow me to pay the debt without being grilled and harrassed on when I'm making the next payment. They don't even wait a full 30 days from the last payment before they start calling for the next one.
11/04/2021 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Deposits and withdrawals
  • ME
  • 04043
Web Older American
I was the victim of 23 instances of fraudulent electronic withdrawals from my checking account between XX/XX/21 to XX/XX/21 for a total of {$11000.00}. The withdrawals said either -- Payment XXXX XXXX or XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. The bank account is held at Community Bank, NA in XXXX, Vermont. The bank phone number is XXXX and the address of the bank is XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, VT XXXX. I have contacted the bank branch manager, the local police ( XXXX, Vermont ), and the FBI.
11/16/2020 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account status incorrect
  • NY
  • 13365
Web
Community Bank N.A. is improperly and impermissibly reporting an account to the XXXX, XXXX and XXXX consumer as a " paid repossession '' when this is not the case. Moreover, the account has been reported twice to each of the agencies and has an inaccurate payment history - some with delinquencies reporting as late as XX/XX/2020. Complaints to the creditor and the credit reporting agencies have been ignored.
04/29/2020 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Managing the loan or lease
  • Billing problem
  • PA
  • 18848
Web
I got a notice from my bank that my car loan was late. THAT day I went to the bank to fix the problem. They repeatedly assured me that it was their mistake, and that I had fixed it in a timely manner. I then received a letter that stated I was 60 days late on my credit for the late, that I was strongly under the impression had been fixed. I am outraged. HELP ME PLEASE!
10/24/2019 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Trouble during payment process
  • PA
  • 18612
Web
Home appraised at {$200000.00} we purchased it for {$160000.00}. We have made bi weekly payments starting XX/XX/2019. The PMI still has not been removed. We are well within the range where PMI should not be taken out of our mortgage.
02/18/2021 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem
  • Investigation took more than 30 days
  • NY
  • 14209
Web
I have filed a dispute in regard to the incorrect items on my credit report. It has been over 30 days and I have not received any investigation results.
08/11/2022 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Getting a loan or lease
  • Credit denial
  • NY
  • 14103
Web
07/19/2022 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • CD (Certificate of Deposit)
  • Managing an account
  • Deposits or withdrawals
  • CA
  • 92507
Web
07/01/2022 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem caused by your funds being low
  • Overdrafts and overdraft fees
  • VT
  • 05777
Phone Older American
05/18/2022 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem caused by your funds being low
  • Overdrafts and overdraft fees
  • VT
  • 05777
Phone Older American
04/29/2022 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem caused by your funds being low
  • Overdrafts and overdraft fees
  • VT
  • 05602
Referral
03/23/2022 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem caused by your funds being low
  • Non-sufficient funds and associated fees
  • NY
  • 13308
Referral
03/22/2022 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem with a lender or other company charging your account
  • Transaction was not authorized
  • NY
  • 13308
Web
02/18/2022 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem caused by your funds being low
  • Overdrafts and overdraft fees
  • VT
  • 05676
Referral
12/22/2021 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Problem using a debit or ATM card
  • ME
  • 04043
Referral
12/14/2021 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Other banking product or service
  • Managing an account
  • Fee problem
  • NY
  • 11210
Web
12/09/2021 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Home equity loan or line of credit (HELOC)
  • Closing on a mortgage
  • VT
  • 05156
Referral
11/09/2021 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Deposits and withdrawals
  • NY
  • 14812
Referral
08/12/2021 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage
  • NY
  • 13601
Postal mail
07/15/2021 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Fee problem
  • NY
  • 12996
Referral
07/14/2021 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Funds not handled or disbursed as instructed
  • NY
  • 14813
Referral
05/17/2021 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Cashing a check
  • NY
  • 13442
Phone
04/13/2021 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Problems at the end of the loan or lease
  • Problem related to refinancing
  • NY
  • 13320
Web
04/11/2021 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem
  • Was not notified of investigation status or results
  • NY
  • 12935
Web
03/03/2021 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem with a lender or other company charging your account
  • Transaction was not authorized
  • NY
  • 14063
Referral
02/19/2021 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem caused by your funds being low
  • Overdrafts and overdraft fees
  • VT
  • 05777
Web
02/18/2021 Yes
  • Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service
  • Domestic (US) money transfer
  • Fraud or scam
  • FL
  • 33064
Web Servicemember
02/18/2021 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Savings account
  • Opening an account
  • Account opened as a result of fraud
  • MD
  • 20759
Web Servicemember
01/14/2021 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Deposits and withdrawals
  • VT
  • 05468
Referral
12/04/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Deposits and withdrawals
Phone Older American
11/24/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem caused by your funds being low
  • Overdrafts and overdraft fees
  • NY
  • 14048
Web
11/04/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Problem using a debit or ATM card
  • VT
  • 05774
Postal mail
10/13/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Fee problem
  • NY
  • 14898
Referral
09/29/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Problem using a debit or ATM card
  • NY
  • 14782
Phone
09/21/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Problem using a debit or ATM card
  • PA
  • 18201
Phone
09/18/2020 No
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Struggling to pay mortgage
  • PA
  • 18612
Postal mail
09/14/2020 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account information incorrect
  • KY
  • 40486
Web
09/02/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Fee problem
  • NY
  • 14898
Referral
07/16/2020 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Other type of mortgage
  • Closing on a mortgage
  • NY
  • 13338
Referral
07/08/2020 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Other type of mortgage
  • Closing on a mortgage
  • VT
  • 05656
Referral
06/11/2020 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem
  • Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
  • NY
  • 13635
Web
04/16/2020 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Getting a loan or lease
  • Credit denial
  • NY
  • 14895
Referral
04/03/2020 No
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Problem using a debit or ATM card
  • VT
  • 05452
Referral
01/14/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Other banking product or service
  • Managing an account
  • Problem using a debit or ATM card
  • NC
  • 28451
Referral
01/02/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Deposits and withdrawals
  • VT
  • 05443
Referral
12/03/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Problem using a debit or ATM card
  • NY
  • 12953
Referral
11/26/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Funds not handled or disbursed as instructed
  • NY
  • 14561
Referral
11/26/2019 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Trouble during payment process
  • NY
  • 12953
Referral
11/21/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Problem making or receiving payments
  • VT
  • 05403
Referral
10/29/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Deposits and withdrawals
  • NY
  • 14435
Referral Older American, Servicemember
09/16/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was already discharged in bankruptcy and is no longer owed
  • MD
  • 20906
Web
08/29/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem with a lender or other company charging your account
  • Transaction was not authorized
  • NY
  • 12857
Phone
08/28/2019 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Home equity loan or line of credit (HELOC)
  • Closing on a mortgage
  • NY
  • 12953
Web
08/23/2019 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Closing on a mortgage
  • NY
  • 14466
Referral
07/29/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Fee problem
Referral
06/18/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem with a lender or other company charging your account
  • Transaction was not authorized
  • VT
  • 05454
Phone
06/07/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Problem using a debit or ATM card
  • PA
  • 18707
Referral
05/15/2019 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Trouble during payment process
  • NY
  • 14701
Postal mail
04/24/2019 No
  • Checking or savings account
  • Other banking product or service
  • Managing an account
  • Problem using a debit or ATM card
  • NY
  • 13690
Referral Older American
04/11/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Other banking product or service
  • Managing an account
  • Deposits and withdrawals
  • NY
  • 13690
Referral Older American
02/26/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Savings account
  • Managing an account
  • Deposits and withdrawals
  • NY
  • 14532
Referral
02/25/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Banking errors
Referral
02/18/2019 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem
  • Was not notified of investigation status or results
  • NY
  • 13776
Web
12/17/2018 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Savings account
  • Managing an account
  • Deposits and withdrawals
  • PA
  • 18801
Web
11/16/2018 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Deposits and withdrawals
  • NY
  • 14717
Referral
10/24/2018 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem
  • Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
  • NY
  • 14221
Web
10/22/2018 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem caused by your funds being low
  • Overdrafts and overdraft fees
  • PA
  • 18512
Referral
10/07/2018 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account status incorrect
  • NY
  • 14221
Web
09/17/2018 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Cashing a check
  • VT
  • 05461
Referral
09/06/2018 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Cashing a check
  • NY
  • 12946
Referral
07/12/2018 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Deposits and withdrawals
  • NY
  • 14532
Web
06/01/2018 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem caused by your funds being low
  • Overdrafts and overdraft fees
  • NY
  • 14541
Web
05/10/2018 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Fee problem
  • PA
  • 18201
Web
04/04/2018 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Other banking product or service
  • Problem caused by your funds being low
  • Overdrafts and overdraft fees
  • NY
  • 14706
Referral
02/26/2018 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Closing an account
  • Company closed your account
  • NY
  • 13619
Phone
12/12/2017 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Problem making or receiving payments
  • NY
  • 14901
Phone