Collection Technology Incorporated CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
08/08/2017 Yes
  • Student loan
  • Federal student loan servicing
  • Struggling to repay your loan
  • Can't get other flexible options for repaying your loan
  • OH
  • 43610
Web
To : Consumer Financial Protection Bureau XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. XXXX, XXXX XXXX www.consumerfinance.gov XXXX Tuesday, XX/XX/XXXX My name is XXXX XXXX. I have discovered your resources via the internet. I am in desperate need of assistance pertaining to an unlawful tax intercept that occurred on XX/XX/XXXX. The tax intercept was for a student loan account. The agency that issued the loan was the U.S. Department Of Education C/O XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. The loan, like a million others, has been split into two parts. One portion still remains in the care of XXXX XXXX. That portion is being held on an Income Driven Repayment Plan. Due to my economic status, I am required to pay XXXX dollars per month. The remaining portion was improperly handled by a collection agency named XXXX. The collectors name is XXXX XXXX. The account number is. The account balance is {$14000.00} ( as of XX/XX/XXXX ). This same portion had been mishandled as well as falsely reported to the collection agency ; as I understood the information given to me via the multiple agencies, my taxes were not to be intercepted so long as I was making progressive payment arrangements. On XX/XX/XXXX, I returned the Alternative Documentation of Income for Rehabilitation Repayment Agreements to XXXX XXXX XXXX. I promptly notified XXXX XXXX of my economic status as well as having limited fixed income. XXXX XXXX informed me that my payment would be required of XXXX dollars per month for nine months to keep my account in good standing and furthermore, that it would be brought out of a delinquent status after successful completion of nine on time payments In the following weeks, I would file my income taxes. I waited patiently and continued to wait until nearly two months had passed and still no word or collection of my income tax refund. I never received any notices of a tax intercept. As a result, I had no way to prepare for this sudden loss of income and had no way to advert thee imposed tax intercept. I had discovered there had been an interception via the online services offered through the Bureau of Fiscal Service. Upon discovery, I immediately began to search for answers to my questions. A few weeks later, I had received a letter from the Department of The Treasury which states that the U.S Department of Education C/O XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX had collected on the debt. The primary question was : If I am already in an economic status of hardship, then how can my earned child tax credit be taken from me? Through much discovery, I came upon few resources that could assist me in the matter of attempting to recoup my unfairly, unlawfully, taken for hostage income tax. The first agency was the XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. This agency offered a refund of a tax offset that had created an economic hardship. After filling out proper documentation, I soon discovered to my dismay that the XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX could be of no assistance to me because they said that they do not service accounts for XXXX XXXX. I had felt that all hope was lost, until I continued to search for answers. I then found the Collection Technology Inc. The Collection Technology Inc. Agency offered a request of a refund of tax offset ( s ) due to their understanding that the tax offset may be causing a hardship. More specifically, Collection Technology Inc. needed necessary information to process my request of their client XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. I made sure that the agency serviced XXXX XXXX, making initial contact with them via phone. Shortly after, I was emailed necessary documents that would be required of me to apply for their assistance to the matter. They had told me repeatedly that I was indeed on the right track, especially since I had just traveled the misguided path of the XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. However, most importantly was the fact that the information and documentation that I sent to Collection Technology Inc. was time sensitive, meaning that the information had to be current within the last three months to be considered an economic hardship. I completed the XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, I provided proof of my financial crisis, whichincluded a ( 1 ) Letter from my landlord stating my back rent and amount owed. ( 2 ) Copies of my gross monthly income. ( 3 ) XXXX XXXX Financial Statement ( 4 ) Department of Treasury Bureau of Fiscal Service document, serving as proof that XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX collected on the debt ( 5 ) Copies of my filed income tax return ( 6 ) Proofs of my utility costs ( 7 ) Proof of everything requested on the XXXX XXXX Financial Statement. ( 8 ) A personalized letter from myself, stating specifically what I was requesting. I sent the package by certified U.S. Mail, First Class on XX/XX/XXXX. The expected delivery date was to be XX/XX/XXXX. However, with my patient understanding, I would be fine if it had taken a couple of days longer, I knew the destination of my package was a ways away. I would receive a receipt of signature once the package was received, which also provided comfort and relief. Finally, I waited six to eight weeks for the paperwork to be processed, once Collection Technology Inc. received it. I had received my signed mailed receipt approximately fourteen business days after the package was initially sent. I was grateful. I waited anxiously for two months before I made any contact with Collection Technology Inc. to check on the status of my economic hardship request. I contacted Collection Technology Inc. by phone on XX/XX/XXXX at XXXX ( Est. ) I spoke with XXXX XXXX ; who explained that she was a supervisor. Initially speaking to her, she was negative and rude and attempted to tell me that I had sent my package to the wrong address, when I told her that I had a signed certified receipt of someone at the location accepting my package, XXXX XXXX began to get even more aggressively agitated. Furthermore, I told XXXX XXXX that if in fact it was the wrong address, why wouldnt the company or whoever, send the package back addressed Return to Sender. XXXX XXXX could not give me a response then went onto explain that she would indeed have to track down the package and make contact with me when she did so. The employee Identification number that the lady supplied me with was XXXX. Her extension was XXXX. I failed to hear anything back via phone, e-mail and/or postal mail, therefore I emailed XXXX XXXX on XX/XX/XXXX asking for a response or if the package had been located. I have not heard anything since, I havent received any letters or e-mails, I havent received any phone calls, there has been no further contact on this issue and that is what has brought me to you. I am in desperate need of your assistance. I have spent a lot of time and effort in attempt to correct the matter at hand ; it is very disheartening that I havent been paid any attention. I am a single mother of XXXX and I appreciate very much so all the help that Consumer Finance. Gov can give. I have included copies of the receipts from the package that I initially sent. As well as certain documents that I felt would be helpful in assisting your company in helping me to regain a loss that should have never happened to begin with.
03/24/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • MI
  • 48842
Web
Hello! I have a XXXX XXXX XXXX that is in default status. It is being serviced with the XXXX XXXX CTI ( Collection Technology Inc. ). Back in XXXX of XXXX I spoke with a representative at the company about rehabilitating my loan to get out of default status. She took all of my information, did a financial statment, and made me agree to have my monthly payments be automatically withdrawn from my bank account. I did question her at the time about why the payment had to be automatically withdrawn, and she explained that it is required for the rehabilitation. After XXXX took all of my information, she said my monthly payment would be $ XXXX/month during the rehabilitation process. CTI immediately withdrew the first payment that same day in XXXX XXXX. XXXX said all I had to do was fax/e-mail back a document allowing them to withdraw the payment from my bank account and that I was all set. A few days later, XXXX asked me to send her a few more documents. Proof of income and proof of payments on my other student loans. I did send both requested documents. Now, fast forward to XXXX XXXX. I have received a call from a representative again, XXXX XXXX. XXXX said my rehabilitation was to be completed in XXXX of XXXX, I just needed to sign the rehab agreement letter before it being completed. After a couple more weeks of back and fourth calls, I finally receive a copy of this letter. The rehab agreement letter was dated from back in XXXX, and it stated that I agreed to pay $ XXXX/month for 9 months to rehab my loan. I contacted Cti immediately and told them that I had never agreed to pay $ XXXX/month, I agreed to pay $ XXXX/month, which I had been - automatically withdrawn each month from my account. They claimed it stated {$250.00} because I never sent the required documents and if I was not paying $ XXXX/month my rehab would be invalid and would not be completed. I have been in touch with multiple reps to resolve this. I 've sent multiple documents. And the reps continue to brush it off, claiming their system is down and they PROMISE to call me back before the end of the day. Most recently, XXXX XXXX at CTI. I called her 4 times yesterday and everytime it was an excuse - her manager was in a meeting, the system was down, manager still in a meeting ... she promised to call back and never did. Now I am very upset. I never wanted my loans to go into default. I did n't know what I was getting myself into when I even signed for the loans. My parents did n't educate me on this. My school did not educate me. Prior to getting hired at my current job, I was unemployed for almost a year. I 've been working my tail off to get my life and finances together. That includes getting my student loans into good standing. Cti has been no help. I do not want this blemish on my credit report. This collection agency has turned this whole situation into a nightmare and has done nothing to assist me in getting it resolved. I do have documents, dates, names, and specific details if needed. PLEASE HELP!! -XXXX
07/18/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Non-federal student loan
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • CA
  • 92881
Web Older American
XXXX XXXX and through their agent Collection Technology , Inc. are engaging in predatory collection practices, Unfair Business practices Dealing Ba Faith. By internal delaying send proof of settlement agreement in order to place a continued hardship and to protract wage garnishment thereby being unjustly enriched. XXXX/XXXX/16 called CTI- XXXX XXXX XXXX Ext. XXXX, to follow up on the copy of the accepted rehabilitation program, with a monthly payment of {$62.00}. Once payment arrangement are in place a formal letter will be generated with the specifics of the details. Was told that the case had been reassigned to a XXXX XXXX XXXX ext. XXXX Who then said that they are still waiting for the letter because their proceed is for the client make the agreed upon amount of XXXX dollar after XXXX research it was discovered that the latter was demanding {$120.00} so it was never send. I question that since the ordinal approval was for {$62.00} month rehabilitation l payment agreement was approved on XXXX/XXXX/2016. XXXX XXXX request to pay the XX/XX/XXXX, XX/XX/XXXX and XX/XX/XXXX pay in an effort to remove the wage garnish which is placing an extreme hardship and causing an undo prolong of the garnish. XXXX XXXX stated that that just the way thing are and offer no farther resolutions, then said that she will call when the letter is ready. XXXX/XXXX/16 called CTI- XXXX XXXX XXXX Ext. XXXX, to follow up on the copy of the accepted rehabilitation program, with a monthly payment of {$62.00}. Once payment arrangement are in place a formal letter will be generated with the specifics of the details. XXXX/XXXX/16 received called from CTI- XXXX XXXX XXXX Ext. XXXX, to accept their rehabilitation program, with a monthly payment of {$62.00}. Once payment arrangement are in place a formal letter will be generated with the specifics of the details. 1 ) After five voluntary payments of {$62.00} plus the in place garnishment will be released, i.e. 1st payment Due XX/XX/2016 then XX/XX/2016 the Garnishment would be lifted. Note the student and pick any payment date for the following {$62.00} payments. 2 ) Tax flags requested to lift after the first payment, will take several weeks to complete 3 ) 9 of 10 total on time payments are required to full complete the rehabilitation program. 4 ) Ordered a copy the Rehabilitation Letter for review which emailed to me. -- -- -- XXXX XX/XX/XXXX faxed and emailed to CTI Completed : attn. : XXXX XXXX Financial Disclosure for REASONABLE and AFFORDABLE Rehabilitation Payments
04/25/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • OH
  • 44121
Web
For several years now I have been recieving collection calls and a collection letter looking for a " XXXX XXXX XXXX '' regarding his defaulted student loans. The first collection letter which was mailed to my home address was from the loan guarantor XXXX XXXX XXXX . I did n't open the letter because it was n't addressed to me. I did call them, and told them of the mistake. Short time later I started to recieve collection calls from various companies like XXXX XXXX , XXXX XXXX and others looking for the above individual. I again contacted XXXX XXXX and US D epartment of Education as to why I was recieving calls. On XXXX XXXX , I recieved a call on my cell phone from a company called Collection Techology Inc l ooking to a XXXX XXXX XXXX . I explained they had the wrong number and asked why they were calling on my cell phone. She told me it was the number on file and wanted to verify my DOB and SS number. I gave her my date of birth and she claimed it matched, and then proceeded to request the last four of my social. I refused and told her she needed to provide the last four of what they had on file, which she did. She actually gave out the last four o f his social. Needless to say the conversion became extremely heated. I sent an email to their general counsel expressing my anger over recieving an auto dailed call to my cell phone and the violations of the FDCPA. A couple of weeks later, I recieved a response from a XXXX XXXX . The attached letter was full of errors. First they claim to be looking for me and not the other individual. I called the number back from another phone number and when I gave them my full name they stated they did not have such a file. I gave them the cell phone number they had called and they then confirmed they were in fact looking for a XXXX XXXX XXXX . The letter implied the my cell phone number was supplied to them by the original creditor and they would correct the suppliers bad information. I again called both XXXX XXXX an d US DoEd, and neither my cell phone nor landline are associated with the account. The let ter goes on the deny the use of an autodialed call and denies giving out the last four of so cial violated the FDCPA. I sent another email back to both their general counsel and the original senders email and to date have heard nothing.
10/28/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • False statements or representation
  • Impersonated an attorney or official
  • TX
  • 77039
Web
My student loans are with a company called XXXX and XXXX XXXX whom I am on a forbearance XXXX. I started working on my credit. My credit report last month showed XXXX XXXX XXXX reported me XX/XX/XXXX Delinquent. I thought that was weird because my loan has not been with them XX/XX/XXXX. It was transferred to another agency. Then two weeks ago I get a letter XXXX. I opened it and it did not have the date they sent the letter to me. Instead it shows a pay due date XX/XX/XXXX and a total balance XX/XX/XXXX. Then they provided an email address that shows XXXX. So I go to that website and XXXX it routes me to a website XXXX. Red flags go up immediately. Then I googled the number they provided XXXX. The number showed up for Collection Technology Inc. This is the company which XXXX XXXX sent my loan to when I defaulted XX/XX/XXXX. They set me up on a program where I paid for a Year straight and my loan was sent back to regular servicing after the rehabilitation program was completed. I do n't understand why four years later they start reporting me negatively on my credit and start sending me bills. My loans are not with them. They are trying to collect on loans that are not with them and reporting me. I work in mortgage and I am trained very well on FDCPA laws. This is a major violation. They are acting and sending letters under the XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX name. They provided a website like it was a government website but instead it routed to their website and worst of all reporting negatively on my credit for a loan they do not have. I will take whatever route needed because this company is hurting me and violating FDCPA. I am a single parent who is trying to get a mortgage loan and this company is hurting my credit reporting on a debt they do not have. I will take whatever legal action needed to get this resolved.
06/23/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan debt
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • PA
  • 15210
Web
The exact situation is that I am attempting to contact the collection agency, not the other way around. Agency - Collection Technologies Inc. Student loan debt defaulted, but I am in a position to attempt to resolve the issue. I requested their assistance in XXXX for debt rehabilitation. They advised me to send them information via a form on their website that I would print out, fill in, and mail to them. Since XXXX, I have resubmitted the form with the same information in XXXX, but I have not received a response from them, and my attempts to call them to make sure that they 've received my info, or what the next steps are for the loan have gone unanswered. When I call their number, I only get an automated recording telling me to contact the Default Management Collection phone number. When I call that number, I am prompted to enter my info, and then am told that I need to contact Collection Technologies Inc. There is never a live person that I speak with on either number, and I still have not heard anything from CTI in three months. The debt is being garnished from my wages, but my attempts to resolve the situation feel as though they are being ignored. I want to get the loan rehabilitated and put this behind me.
09/19/2017 Yes
  • Student loan
  • Federal student loan servicing
  • Struggling to repay your loan
  • Can't get other flexible options for repaying your loan
  • PA
  • 15205
Web
I have been dealing with wage garnishment for the last 2 months. In attempt to stop this and make payments on default loans. I have been denied to consolidate and also to rehabilataite. I have exhausted all options and afraid I will have to file bankruptcy. I have no had a steady job since leaving school in XXXX. I finally have one along with XXXX children, I can not sustain a healthy life because all my disposalable income is taken without having a fair opportunity to set up plans to pay it back. I am counting on my tax return to finally pay off some past due bills, now I 'm afraid it will go toward a wage garnishment. I need help so I ca n't start sleeping again. I am trying to set up Payment arrangements but my options that they are giving me is only wage garnishment. There must some way to get me back on track without taking all my disposalable income from me every check ... again i eant to pay it, and it almost makes sense to quit my job and try to find work u see the table, which I truly dint want to.
03/04/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Contacted employer after asked not to
  • LA
  • 70471
Web
I work for free - XXXX. CTi contacted this XXXX XXXX that I XXXX for with an Employment Verification FAX. Using a fake name. XXXX XXXX. The XXXX sent me the form and I have all the info on them. They could have tarnished my name, my daughter 's well being ( XXXX. ) Please tell me this is wrong?! Collection Technology Inc C T I XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX # XXXX XXXX XXXX, CA XXXX Phone : ( XXXX ) XXXX Contract Dispute Law Firm Solutions To Your Dispute Needs. Call To Learn About Your Options. XXXX Collection Technology Inc A privately held company in XXXX XXXX, CA. Is this your business? Claim This Profile More Details for Collection Technology Inc Categorized under Adjustment and Collection Services. Our records show it was established in 1960 and incorporated in California. Current estimates show this company has an annual revenue of XXXX and employs a staff of approximately XXXX. Company Contacts XXXX XXXX XXXX Chief Executive Officer
07/21/2017 No
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • TX
  • 77388
Web
I was enrolled and signed a rehabilitation agreement with the collections agency hired by the Dept Of Education Collection Technology Inc XXXX. I went with a rehabilitation instead of consolidation because I was told collection cost would be removed and the negative trade lines from the Department of Education would be deleted. After loosing employment, I continued to make the XXXX payments on the account for the 9 months we agreed to verbally and in writing. Only after making my last payment was I told that I was not able to rehabilitate my loan, after being out over XXXX. Now I have to consolidate anyway and my payments arr projected to be around XXXX a month when it 's completed. Without the credit line deletion and collection cost being removed I feel that the payments I made under the rehab program should be either refunded or applied to my interest and principle not collection cost.
08/10/2016 Yes
  • Student loan
  • Federal student loan servicing
  • Can't repay my loan
  • Can't get flexible payment options
  • KY
  • 40243
Web
Enrolled in rehab student loan agreement to stop payroll garnishments ... .made all payments turned in all required paperwork. They stop taking payments out of my personal account. I called them the inform them and figure out why. Agent stated I had been rejected from program due to a " black line '' on my paper work, this stopped them from approving rehab program. I re set up the payments. They start receiving the money from my personal account. My pay roll check Started being garnished 3months after I had to reapply, even when I made the payments out of my personal account. Student loan co stated that they sent the letter after I set up payments in error, however they can not stop it once its started. Im now being told they will never stop the garnishment until all money is paid ... while they continue to take the monthly payment off my personal account.
03/02/2017 Yes
  • Student loan
  • Federal student loan servicing
  • Dealing with my lender or servicer
  • Received bad information about my loan
  • OH
  • 44203
Web
My student loans went into default. I worked with XXXX. XXXX XXXX XXXX to get my student loans out of default. I st up payments with them for a year and then at the year they told me they could no longer help me. My account was then sold to another collections agency with out my knowledge. I have been trying Contact my original loan service to see where the debt had went. They were unable to assists. Said i did not owe. Now my check is being garnished by Collection Technology XXXX XXXX XXXX and when i try to contact them i can never get thru. I have never recieved a bill from the new collecion agency however they were still able to process a wage attatchmnet. I have filled out several applications for loan consolidation and I am not sure which direction I should be headed in and who to reach out for help
04/03/2015 Yes
  • Student loan
  • Non-federal student loan
  • Dealing with my lender or servicer
  • Having problems with customer service
  • IL
  • 61520
Web
I have recently had a wage garnishment put in place. I have lived at same residence for 10years and never received any documentation. I have been trying to work with Collection Technology Inc and they have been extremely rude and very difficult to deal with not returning phone calls not sending paper work, etc and so on!! I know that it is there job to collect debt but I do n't believe I owe as much as they say and I was pretty much told that is what told that is what total is and that is that! Just called them XXXX/XXXX/15 @ XXXX central time, was told we are in a meeting we will call you back and hung up on! Not sure who their CEO knows within the Department of Education for them to be able to buy this debt and then immediately start garnishment and withholding tax money.
05/18/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • NC
  • 28273
Web
In XXXX I received a {$2500.00}. loan from the XXXX. In XXXX a garnishment was attached to my XXXX XXXX XXXX paychecks. In XXXX garnishment stopped after {$6800.00} was paid. In XXXX I received another garnishment for the same {$2500.00} loan in excess of {$500.00} per month. I received a letter from CTI stating that I owe {$5900.00} on the same loan. I would have paid approx. {$13000.00}. on a {$2500.00}. I did not receive a release letter from the XXXX ; however, when I asked the XXXX to provide the letter initiating the garnishment, they could not provide XXXX. Due to this garnishment, my credit is ruined and I can barely afford to pay my living expenses. Please help.
06/16/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • MD
  • 20772
Web
CTI is using unethical practices in collection for the US Dept of Edcuation. I have sent several rehab payment agreements for my student loan. Every other three or four months I 'm being called to state that they never got my paperwork and that I put myself on a payment program when I have faxed several times over all the requested information from this office. As of XXXX/XXXX/15 I was told that they never received my paperwork and now being told I have to pay more than what was agreed upon. They are the worse at this and I ca n't believe that the federal government has allowed this agency to use and collect for them.
07/03/2016 Yes
  • Student loan
  • Federal student loan servicing
  • Dealing with my lender or servicer
  • Received bad information about my loan
  • AZ
  • 85251
Web
There is a company which was able to collect a student loan debt which is over 13 years. They were able to solicit to the Department of Education to take my income tax refund. The debt is too old according to law to collect. It is over 10 years old. The name is Collection Technology at XXXX, CA XXXX. The U.S. Department of Education, The National Student Database and the debt is too old to collect by taking a person 's income tax refund. I contact the Department Education and was inform my refund will not be returned. I no other option than to sue the Department of Education if this matter is not resolved.
07/22/2016 Yes
  • Student loan
  • Federal student loan servicing
  • Dealing with my lender or servicer
  • Need information about my balance/terms
  • TX
  • 77584
Web
I have contacted my student loan servicer several times to get a break down of the XXXX a month. How much is going to interest? I have much is going for collection fee? How much is going towards the actual loan? At some point I want to pay my loan off. I do want to make over payments, How much will actually go to the loan. On XXXX occasion they keep sending me a printout of the payments I have made. I have copies of that already. I want the detailed info so that I can pay this account off. I keep getting the run around. But no one can give me the info. Frustrated.
05/23/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Talked to a third party about my debt
  • OH
  • 44145
Web
Collections Technology Incorporated called me regarding my sister 's debt on my cell phone line. They were extremely pushy on the phone. The XXXX specific individuals from the company that I spoken with were XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX and his supervisor XXXX XXXX XXXX. His supervisor repeatedly belittled me and my knowledge of the law. The company 's phone number is XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX and the individual 's extensions were included above. The time of the call was XXXX XXXX ( XXXX ) on Monday, XXXX XXXX, 2016.
06/18/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Non-federal student loan
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • VA
  • 22508
Web
Even though I paid off my school loan in full in with the original creditor, Collection Technology Inc. still trying to collect even after I 've notified them by mail on XXXX XXXX, 2015 that it was paid off. They have now unlawfully seized my joint tax return totaling {$750.00}. They also refused to validate my loan when I notified them of payment, in violation of FTC 809, Validation of Debts.
02/22/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • False statements or representation
  • Indicated committed crime not paying
  • TX
  • 77081
Web
Collection Agency is using false and misleading information to collections for students loan which is more than 20 years old.
07/18/2018 No
  • Student loan
  • Federal student loan servicing
  • Dealing with your lender or servicer
  • Trouble with how payments are being handled
  • OR
  • 97504
Web
09/28/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Private student loan debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • GA
  • 31008
Postal mail
02/23/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Non-federal student loan
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Contacted employer after asked not to
  • AZ
  • 85255
Web Servicemember
01/11/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Sued w/o proper notification of suit
  • OK
  • 74436
Web
12/07/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Seized/Attempted to seize property
  • TX
  • 75230
Web
10/10/2016 Yes
  • Student loan
  • Federal student loan servicing
  • Dealing with my lender or servicer
  • Having problems with customer service
  • AZ
  • 85008
Web
05/24/2016 Yes
  • Student loan
  • Federal student loan servicing
  • Dealing with my lender or servicer
  • Keep getting calls about my loan
  • OH
  • 44140
Web
05/12/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • FL
  • 34221
Phone Older American, Servicemember
05/09/2016 Yes
  • Student loan
  • Federal student loan servicing
  • Dealing with my lender or servicer
  • Trouble with how payments are handled
  • NY
  • 14215
Web
01/19/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 95640
Web
10/29/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Non-federal student loan
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • MN
  • 56239
Phone
08/05/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • MO
  • 63130
Web
07/15/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Non-federal student loan
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • OR
  • 97330
Web
06/05/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • RI
  • 02903
Referral
03/16/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • Communication tactics
  • Threatened to take legal action
  • NC
  • 27405
Phone
02/12/2015 No
  • Student loan
  • Non-federal student loan
  • Dealing with my lender or servicer
  • Don't agree with fees charged
  • MN
  • 55303
Web
01/28/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • CA
  • 94501
Web
11/03/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • NE
  • 68508
Phone
10/23/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • GA
  • 30906
Postal mail
09/30/2014 Yes
  • Student loan
  • Non-federal student loan
  • Can't repay my loan
  • Can't get flexible payment options
  • TX
  • 75208
Referral
09/05/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • AZ
  • 85224
Web
07/16/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • TX
  • 77099
Web
07/11/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • LA
  • 70806
Web
06/27/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • IL
  • 60610
Web
06/12/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Talked to a third party about my debt
  • IL
  • 60090
Web
05/27/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • MA
  • 02116
Web
05/12/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Attempted to/Collected exempt funds
  • FL
  • 33701
Web
05/05/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • CA
  • 94707
Web
04/23/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • TX
  • 75252
Web
04/23/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • IL
  • 60504
Web
04/18/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • MI
  • 48216
Web
04/08/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Non-federal student loan
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CO
  • 80816
Phone
02/19/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Non-federal student loan
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • GA
  • 30328
Web
02/18/2014 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Contacted employer after asked not to
  • PR
  • 00918
Web
02/14/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • AZ
  • 85364
Web
02/12/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Attempted to/Collected exempt funds
  • OH
  • 43613
Web
02/06/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • PA
  • 19134
Referral
12/20/2013 No
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Right to dispute notice not received
  • WA
  • 98801
Web Servicemember
10/22/2013 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • False statements or representation
  • Indicated committed crime not paying
  • OH
  • 44137
Web
09/17/2013 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • UT
  • 84404
Web
08/07/2013 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Attempted to/Collected exempt funds
  • NC
  • 27205
Web
08/01/2013 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Federal student loan
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • AZ
  • 85212
Referral