CIBC BANCORP USA INC. CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
10/20/2020 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • FHA mortgage
  • Closing on a mortgage
  • IL
  • 60429
Web
I got pre-approved for a FHA loan early XX/XX/XXXX then found a home that I put a contract on in XX/XX/XXXX. My Original closing date was scheduled for XX/XX/XXXX but the lending company ( CIBC ) had a delay in Accepting the appraisal So the original Contract closing Date passed. While waiting for the clear to close, on XX/XX/XXXX my business had to shut down because of COVID-19. So after that the loan process stalled and eventually failed by XX/XX/XXXX due to Covid-19 and FHA changing minimum qualifications because of the pandemic. My earnest money was returned to me and the house went back on the market. I went back to work XX/XX/XXXX and my realtor informed me the house I wanted was still on the market. During the shutdown I was able to pay off more of my CC bills and I brought my credit score up 30 pts. My agent asked the seller if he would be willing to go under contract with me again, he replied that he would do it if we could close in 1 month because the home inspection, Completed repairs, and appraisal were already completed. We asked the mortgage company if This was possible, they said yes and so I went back under contract in XXXX. This process from this point was crazy. I was required to get prefit and loss statement for XXXX, XXXX, XXXX, and XXXX. Each request was made at the beginning of every month and was returned to them within 48 hrs. That type of rush from my XXXX was an additional {$270.00} each month requested. I was required to pay my XXXX taxes in full that I had a payment plan on, so that was {$4600.00} that I had to pay ( fulfilled that request same day ). My loan officer tried her hardest to find out what the delay was but there only response was internal compliance issues. Not sure what that means but its sounds like a lot of nothing. I am a self employed business owner with a profitable business for 9 years, my business is not in debt. I truly believe my loan contract was discriminated against because of my self employed business. They couldnt deny my contract because they had no basis. I had the credit score, I had the income, I had the money saved. But every request CIBC made was fulfilled and then responded with delay after delay. It went on so long that the original appraisal that I paid for in XXXX expired in XXXX. Not only did the process take 5 months but the seller refused the 5th extension request because it was taking so long. So he canceled the contract on XX/XX/XXXX and conveniently CIBC gave my loan agent my clear to close on XX/XX/XXXX. The seller rented the house because of the long delay. I have lost my dream house because of the mortgage company lack of transparency and the deceptive practices they created while processing my contract. I feel violated by this process. CIBC purposely held the contract in limbo until either myself or the seller back out of the deal. And after 5 months the seller pulled out and they got their wish. It should be illegal for these kinds of practices to go on and if its not illegal then I would strongly suggest that NO ONE perform any business with CIBC mortgage company.
09/17/2021 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Other banking product or service
  • Managing an account
  • Problem accessing account
  • IL
  • 60624
Web
i have had major issues with CBIC BANK CORP i have dismissed valid concerns, for example, i made a cash deposit of XXXX $ at the atm inside the bank on XXXX and I couldn't get a XXXX home and was stranded I was unaware that my money wouldn't be immediately available because i went into the bank and made the cash deposit at their atm i believed my money will be available immediately i found out that wasn't true I called THE BANK and they explained the policy i knew nothing about i went inside the bank and made A CASH DEPOSIT at their atm inside their headquarters i was completely shocked and confused only now after my situation cash deposit are NOW available immediately I won the XXXX BUSINESS RESILIENCY grant and was supposed to receive XXXX when they requested my business bank statements I was told by my bank that my account did not qualify for ONLINE BANKING i have a TIER 1 account I had no idea what that meant and was only able to get XXXX of the grant due to my inability to produce my business bank statements again I had no knowledge of this until I the organization requested the documents from CBIC to validate my company. I found out I was intentionally steered into taking a account with less favorable terms because of my race and XXXX I have been banking with CBIC since 2017 not one incident of overdrafts fraud or any issues with my accounts on XXXX I contacted the bank about the XXXX XXXX overcharging me and holding my card for a security deposit XXXX I explained documented the situation with my banker i received a call from the hotel and contacted the bank about the issues with my account i forwarded the emails to her and the XXXX issued me an apology in writing taking full responsibility for the charges and hold on my account i again forwarded the letter to Bank Yesterday i went into the bank to deposit money and learned i have a overdraft fee of XXXX!!!!!!!!! for the issue with the XXXX, i was just done CBIC and filed a complaint to be sure they take accountability for their discrimination toward XXXX XXXX business owners and my account was suddenly terminated and closed without any explanation
12/02/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Opening an account
  • Confusing or missing disclosures
  • IL
  • 62704
Web
CIBC Bank USA includes a mandatory arbitration provision in their Consumer Deposit Account Agreement effective XX/XX/XXXX. In said provision, CIBC names the XXXX XXXX XXXX ( i.e. XXXX ). See attached CIBC Account Agreement. Beginning on XX/XX/XXXX, the XXXX Consumer Rules require that any company who names the XXXX in a consumer arbitration provision has to first submit the arbitration provision for review of said provision at least 30 days before the effective date. The XXXX will then review the arbitration provision to make sure it is in compliance with the Consumer Due Process Protocol and Consumer Arbitration Rules. See attached Rule R-12 of the Consumer Rules. However, CIBC 's arbitration provision included in its Consumer Deposit Account Agreement is not included in the XXXX Consumer Clause Registry. See attached XXXX Consumer Clause Registry. So it appears CIBC is in violation of the rules. And the XXXX will decline to administer consumer arbitrations arising out of an arbitration agreement if the business declines to pay the review and Registry fee. See rule R-12. CIBC should not be allowed to force its customers into arbitration thereby giving up their right to sue in state or federal court and then fail to follow the XXXX rules resulting in their customers having no legal remedy whatsoever.
05/23/2018 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Closing on a mortgage
  • IL
  • 60130
Web
On XX/XX/18 I received an initial loan estimate and decided to lock in the rate that day and not pursue other lenders. I specifically stated that I did not wish to pay points and wanted to lock in that rate as I was already pre-approved. I had no issues with the banker I worked with during the whole process. On the day of my closing I noticed an additional charge for points and when I asked them to remove the charge I was denied. I spoke to the manager XXXX XXXX who refused to remove the charges because if he waived the fee for me, then he would have to waive the fee for everyone and he wouldn't want to lose money. He claimed to have provided a credit to offset the points, however the credit was on the initial loan estimate so that was a false statement and I couldn't do anything at that point. This type of predatory lending and his attitude was unprofessional and disappointing. I couldn't delay the closing any longer so I signed the mortgage papers. If I could go back I would pick a different lender just because of this manager. I do not recommend using his services.
03/24/2022 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • FHA mortgage
  • Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage
  • IN
  • 46410
Web
I've applied for a mortgage loan with CIBC Bank. I have been discriminated against on the basis of XXXX. There has also been discrimination, as it relates to my credit score. I filed a complaint with the bank, and no one has reached out to me. I've provided all requested items to the underwriter, and she will not clear my file to close. Each time I provide what has been requested, then she request additional items. The purchase price of the home is {$320000.00}. The Director of Underwriting, XXXX XXXX, stated that he was irritated with my loan. My file is approve/eligible, and I have the cash to close ; however, XXXX XXXX XXXX and his underwriter XXXX XXXX will not clear my file to close. I will be homeless in the next few days, as my apartment has been rented. I've expressed this to the bank, and it has fallen on XXXX XXXX. This bank 's discriminatory underwriting practices are blatant. They have already had a loan officer to leave, due to the fact of how minorities are treated, and discriminated against when applying for loans.
03/19/2018 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Closing an account
  • Company closed your account
  • TN
  • 37726
Web
On XX/XX/2018 CIBC USA, XXXX XXXX, IL called me to notify me that my 2 corporate accounts were being closed because of an incoming wire the day ( {$3000.00} ) before from a U.S.-based cryptocurrency exchange, Coinbase. They said that they don't allow transactions with cryptocurrency exchanges and that for that reason they needed to close the accounts. There was no discussion, just a 60 second phone call that we were done with their bank and that they were sending a check overnight. This has created a problem for us because we can not deposit the check and we need the money. It can take weeks to open this kind of account and we needed the money now, not one month from now. This was incredibly disruptive to my business and it would seem unjust to me given all the facts and circumstances. Can you help in some way?
05/19/2018 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • FHA mortgage
  • Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage
  • WI
  • 53210
Web
OnXX/XX/XXXX My XXXX counselor submitted my file to CBIC bank his name XXXX, I am a current client of XXXX XXXX XXXX. XXXX XXXX my name immediately called XXXX XXXX my XXXX counselor and informed her of two judgements. I paid those judgements with monies I saved to put down on my closing. XXXX informed me that once I paid the judgements that he would offer me a bank product. After waiting 2 weeks for a return call. i called XXXX supervisor he returned my call once and left me two vm, I never received a call my ile is still their. I had my XXXX counselor send my file to XXXX XXXX XXXX they had me an approval within 72hrs.
05/30/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Savings account
  • Managing an account
  • Deposits and withdrawals
  • NY
  • 10003
Web
I opened a new account with XXXX XXXX ( Online Agility ) on XX/XX/XXXX. The advertised rate on that day was 1.45 %. When the account funded on XX/XX/XXXX on completion of the test deposits, the interest rate was lowered to 1.35 %. I tried to stop the opening transfer, close the account or withdraw the money and they told me I could not do any of these or have access for 30 days even though they changed the rate from the one advertised and the amount is less than {$5000.00}. This is false advertising, and they should not be allowed to do business this way. I just want to access my money back.
01/15/2020 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Improper use of your report
  • Reporting company used your report improperly
  • GA
  • 30024
Web
I did not authorize a hard credit pull of my credit. I only authorized a soft pull. Any hard pull of my credit is to be reduced to a soft pull or removed altogether. No authorization was given to have a hard pull of my credit file.
05/23/2022 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Credit monitoring or identity theft protection services
  • Billing dispute for services
  • MI
  • 48036
Web
03/12/2022 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem with a lender or other company charging your account
  • Transaction was not authorized
Web
03/01/2021 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Closing on a mortgage
  • IL
  • 60491
Referral
12/28/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Savings account
  • Managing an account
  • Deposits and withdrawals
  • VA
  • 22301
Referral
10/02/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Opening an account
  • Didn't receive terms that were advertised
Referral
09/04/2020 Yes
  • Credit card or prepaid card
  • General-purpose credit card or charge card
  • Problem with a purchase shown on your statement
  • Credit card company isn't resolving a dispute about a purchase on your statement
  • TX
  • 76051
Referral
03/13/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Savings account
  • Opening an account
  • Unable to open an account
  • CA
  • 95924
Referral
01/07/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Banking errors
  • IL
  • 60043
Phone
08/26/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Closing an account
  • Company closed your account
  • IL
  • 60043
Phone
02/27/2019 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Home equity loan or line of credit (HELOC)
  • Trouble during payment process
  • IN
  • 46628
Referral
12/16/2018 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Opening an account
  • Didn't receive terms that were advertised
  • IL
  • 60640
Web
10/08/2018 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage
  • IL
  • 60469
Web
06/18/2018 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Closing an account
  • Company closed your account
  • CA
  • 94558
Web
11/19/2017 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Home equity loan or line of credit (HELOC)
  • Struggling to pay mortgage
  • IL
  • 60302
Web Older American
09/23/2017 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem with a lender or other company charging your account
  • Can't stop withdrawals from your account
  • IL
  • 60433
Referral