CHALLENGE FINANCIAL SERVICES CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
06/17/2021 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Problems at the end of the loan or lease
  • Problem while selling or giving up the vehicle
  • CA
  • 923XX
Web
My car was totaled XX/XX/XXXX and the finance company picked up the car on XX/XX/XXXX after the insurance company rescheduling multiple times. Now the car is no longer in my possession and Im dealing with constant harassment via text and phone. But the finance company refuses to give me any information regarding my claim and as of XX/XX/XXXX I was informed that my insurance claim can take an additional 6-8 wks but payout has already been approved. During this 6-8weeks my loan will continue to accumulate interest, also the finance company refuses to send any information from the insurance as well regarding the payout or my gap insurance. I also was informed that Im not entitled to know this information because its 3rd party but I pay for both car insurance and gap insurance why am I not entitled to the information regarding a loan that I finance and solely responsible for. Also the supervisor informed me that even though she gave me a estimate of an additional 6-8 wks theres a possibility that it might be a year. Ive explained to challenge financial this isnt my first loan nor my first totaled car and I feel like some fraud activity is going on behind the scenes. Ive read multiple reviews and from what Ive read Challenge Financial does this to a lot of customers. Ive had the car for 2yrs not one payment missed the loan started at XXXX apr 13 % and I still owe XXXX. And my previous loan was XXXX apr 24.99 % with XXXX XXXX I had the car for 3 yrs missed over 10 payments throughout the loan and when it was totaled I owed XXXX. So giving an example I dont understand how a loan with lower apr % and less to payoff with no payments missed still have XXXX dollars owed after 2 years? And why am I not entitled to know whats going on with my insurance claim if the car is in my name, my credit, and Im responsible for. Their employees call and harasses you for payments even after they have already been paid and I literally have to tell them check their system and stop sending me repo text ( one guy XXXX actually told me well you need to do my job then and hung up ), I also never went over 30days past due and would receive repo text messages. When you ask to speak with the manager they hang up. When you try to speak with a specific person they hang up even the manager has hung up on me because I was reporting a rude employee that wouldnt transfer me to the insurance claim department, the next day that same guy calls my phone after Ive already requested for him to no longer call me due to his rudeness. When your nice they become rude when your asking too many questions. XXXX actually told me he couldnt help me because I didnt know my account number Because he would lose his job and hung up ( Ive NEVER used my account number when calling ) When I called right back a lady answered and with no problem my account was pulled up with my number like I normally do. Their just overall rude and running a fraudulent company. Not all but majority or rude and shouldnt work customer service
11/05/2019 No
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Problems at the end of the loan or lease
  • Unable to receive car title or other problem after the loan is paid off
  • CA
  • 917XX
Web Servicemember
At the end of 2018 I got into an accident and it was deemed a total loss. prior to the checks being sent over to the finance company from the insurance company I fail to receive a copy of the payoff balance sheet for the total payoff amount. Because the contract was only in duration for six months the total pay off the balance should not have included the entire finance charge for the duration of the entire contract and should have. At a much lower balance than what was stated to the insurance company. I have called numerous times always to be placed on hold for extended periods of time only to be not held that the end. I have written a letter to your place of business requesting copies of every single document that they have in their files in regards to my account and I received nothing as a response to but an e-mail requesting that I could sign in online to view my account history but when I do so the history in after dating question and not for the entire duration of the contract. And to add to that what they did instead was inputted into their computer system that I now have a balance of {$1300.00} because I was asking them to return to me any excess monies paid to them after satisfying my account balance. because by law it is rightfully mine and should have been returned to me as soon as the payments were made. not only did they not supply me with any of my paperwork to document any of the details and how the appropriated any of the refund money but I also never received the title for the vehicle in which the entire loan payment was made for. As well as they have now somehow added a {$1400.00} charge to my account but have no documentation explaining why or how that number was reached or why they feel entitled to such an amount. It is also incurring interest as if I was still under contract with them which is false because the terms of the contract were met and the account was closed and that was explained to me in one of the phone calls that I made to them. they should not be allowed to charge me for attempted charge me any money without them furnishing up and supplying the paperwork necessary to substantiate such claims. They also negatively impacted by credit score for months after the accident stating that I was past due on payments when in fact they had already received payment the loan. So all around this company is doing awful business they are not meeting terms that they should be and are not supplying any paperwork as to their conduct on that side of the contract. I have upheld my side of the contract and I believe that they should be held to theirs as well. There's a lot of unscrupulous behavior going on within this company, and that is some evident.
06/19/2018 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Managing the loan or lease
  • Billing problem
  • CA
  • 925XX
Web
CHALLENGE FINANCIAL SERVICES - XXXX, CA CAR LOAN HAS BEEN INAPPROPRIATELY CONFIGURED AFTER WE RETURNED A VEHICLE AND RECEIVED OUR CURRENT VEHICLE. IN XXXX I RECEIVED TAGS FOR THE VEHICLE THAT WE RETURNED. WHEN I QUESTIONED THE COMPANY ABOUT PROVIDING ME INFORMATION FOR RELEASING THAT VEHICLE THINGS THEN TOOK A TURN FOR THE WORST. ON XX/XX/XXXX I REQUESTED A SUMMARY STATEMENT FOR MY ACCOUNT AND THEY HAVE REFUSED TO PROVIDE ME THIS INFORMATION. I OFFERED A FAX NUMBER AND AN EMAIL. THEY DEMAND I CALL THE OFFICE. I DID AND THEY WILL ONLY POST MAIL IT TO ME. ON XX/XX/XXXX OUR VEHICLE WAS REPOSSESSED FROM OUR DRIVEWAY. THE DRIVER APPROACHED US AND STATED THAT IF WE DID NOT GIVE HIM THE KEYS HE HAD OUR CAR EITHER WAY. TODAY ON XX/XX/XXXX WHEN I CALLED TO TELL THEM THAT I HAD UNTIL THE XXXX TO MAKE PAYMENT ( WHICH I BELIEVE I AM CURRENT ON ALL PAYMENTS FOR THIS VEHICLE ) THEY STATED ON THE PHONE THAT I SHOULD HAVE NOT THREATENED TO GET AN ATTORNEY AND STATED TO GET MY VEHICLE BACK I WOULD HAVE TO PAY {$2100.00}. I DO NOT HAVE THE MONEY FOR AN ATTORNEY AND THE 24 % INTEREST CHARGE THAT I AM PAYING FOR THE VEHICLE SEEMS TO BE HIGH FOR US TO ACTUALLY MAKE HEADWAY ON THE PRINCIPLE. I HAVE REQUESTED AN AMORTIZATION TABLE TO SEE HOW MUCH HAS ACTUALLY BEEN PAID ON THE VEHICLE AND THIS HAS ALSO BEEN DECLINED. SO NOW I AM OUT OF A VEHICLE AND MY MONEY DOWN. THIS LEAVES ME NO OTHER CHOICE BUT TO APPEAL TO YOUR BUREAU FOR COMPLIANCE OF UNFAIR BUSINESS PRACTICE AND LENDING LAWS. .
02/13/2018 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Problems at the end of the loan or lease
  • Problem while selling or giving up the vehicle
  • CA
  • 945XX
Web
On XX/XX/XXXX traded my old vehicle to purchase a used vehicle. The traded vehicle was financed by Challenge Financial Services of XXXX, California. XXXX XXXX XXXX traded the vehicle and attempted to payed off the vehicle with the lien holder Challenge Financial. The contact person at Challenge Financial was XXXX XXXX who proceeded to give false, derogatory, and unprofessional information to XXXX XXXX XXXX. XXXX XXXX was given the wrong address to send the payoff check by XXXX XXXX. He provided XXXX XXXX, Financial Director at XXXX XXXX XXXX, with an address in XXXX, which delayed receipt of the payoff. Meanwhile Challenge Financial on XX/XX/XXXX, deducted {$260.00} from my account and received the payoff on XX/XX/XXXX. XXXX XXXX of Challenge Financial continued to lie and say they had not received the payoff as late has XX/XX/XXXX. The tracking number ( XXXX ) from XXXX showed that they had received the payoff in XXXX, California on XX/XX/XXXX. Please keep in mind XXXX had sent the payoff the first time, on or around XX/XX/XXXX to XXXX, California and it was returned and they were forced to get the correct information from another source. This maneuver allowed Challenge Financial to take {$260.00} out of my account and receive the payoff amount as well. I have sent a demand letter requesting a refund of the {$260.00} as well as insisting that the payoff be reported to XXXX, XXXX and XXXX credit reporting agencies. This behavior is INTENTIONAL FRAUD and THEFT.
01/23/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Auto debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to turn you in to immigration or deport you
  • CA
Web
On XXXX of 2018 I contacted challenge financial company and told them I was out of work and was not able to pay the auto loan they told me theyll give me another month, so that month passed and I was unable to make the payment and till this day I havent been able to get work so today on XX/XX/XXXX after challenge financial calling my fiance with my number somehow and them calling me with my former works number somehow they hacked or did something for me to receive calls from my works number and they called threw this months my uncles and aunts and told them all about the debt and to left a message threw them for me, there was a rep that went on XXXX to my moms house and traspass her private property to look for me I dont live in that house anymore and my uncle went up to him and the rep told my uncle I would get arrested if I dont pay the car to pass on the message and today I call them to try to see if we can arrange something due to me not being able to find work and I till the lady I wont be able to pay the amount and tell her Im waiting for my work permit since I havent work since XXXX she goes ahead and harassed me and tells me shes gon na sue me even tho Im not anywhere close to where my moms house is that I wont get my permit because of it she threaten me that I wont get it because of a lawsuit she was harassing me because of my XXXX status and didnt let me talk trying to make a deal with her
03/29/2020 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Struggling to pay your loan
  • Denied request to lower payments
  • AZ
  • 852XX
Web
My car loan payment was due yesterday. I was laid of from my job 2 weeks ago because of corona virus .I started a new job last week but don't get first check until XX/XX/XXXX .I asked if I could postpone payment .Advised that I had to pay late payment fee by Tuesday XXXX XXXX which would be XXXX Told them I couldn't and when I asked if they would work with me because of situation was berated and asked well do you want your car for free. Extremely rude.Askedto to speak with Supervisor her name was XXXX who reiterated that I had to pay late fee of XXXX but she would extend it until I get paid. My payment is approx XXXX So their late fee is almost 30 % of my payment Many of the other car companies are working with their customer waiving car late fees etc but challenge financial are not doing so at all. I have bad credit and struggled to get a car loan and feel that they are milking the current situation for their financial gain Shame on them
02/25/2020 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Lease
  • Managing the loan or lease
  • Billing problem
  • CA
  • 928XX
Web
the payments are not apply correctly, already file a complaint once, but this guy who said is a manager there, call me when I was busy and I ask for document that state why they not applying the money I send to the account but he said that I have some credit for the money I send but if I paid off I guess that extra money will be taken by the company and not applied to my loan, this person was more concern on convincing me of writing a good review other then fixing the matter, I just send XXXX dollars and the statement I received shows a payment of XXXX, doesn't reflect the money I sent and want to know where is the rest of the money?. seem like they trying to take my money but I will fight to the end for my money, I have been advised to contact my local police department and show the documents and contract and if they find something wrong will opened and investigation with I will do if nothing is fixed.
03/08/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Auto debt
  • Communication tactics
  • You told them to stop contacting you, but they keep trying
  • CA
  • 924XX
Web
On XX/XX/XXXX, XXXX from Challenge Financial Services called my place of employment regarding a car payment. I provide XXXX XXXX, I explained to XXXX his calling interrupts and delays the delivery of XXXX XXXX. I informed XXXX, which he is well aware, I am within the grace period and it is inappropriate to call my employer regarding a car payment, and to cease any phone calls to my place of employment. On XX/XX/XXXX, at approximately XXXX, XXXX called my job again, after being told not to do so. I informed XXXX of the previous email I sent him to cease calling my place of employment for a car payment, which is within the grace period. I am no more than 10 days late paying the car payment, which is due to my pay dates, and also XXXX was made aware of this.
01/02/2020 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Lease
  • Managing the loan or lease
  • Billing problem
  • NV
  • 891XX
Web
I was in an auto accident. Which my insurance provider had payed my vehicle off. I went back to the same dealership and was told because it was paid off within 6 - 8 months that wasnt enough history for me to get another loan without a down pmnt. Then i was told no XXXX made vehicles because the maintenance on the vehicle if it was to break down would be to expensive to fix under their warranty. So i pick a car. Not the car i wanted but a car. I paid XXXX down. I was paying my payment then fell behind 2 months. But was keeping contact with 2 people there. I asked for an extension and was told ok just pay XXXX i paid XXXX then my account was put in reposession. They reposesed my car. I have XXXX kids. XXXX with XXXX. I was taken.
09/26/2019 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Problems at the end of the loan or lease
  • Problem with paying off the loan
  • CA
  • 917XX
Web
challenge financial added {$2000.00} extra to my loan, according to them because i didnt have insurance on the vehicle when i got it but i did i dont find fair for me to be paying insurance on their end and at a different insurance company. for me still owing {$10000.00} when the car was XXXX how is it possible for me to still owe more than half of the car. when i been paying it for over 2 years. it was suppose to be a 36 month term and now they added a whole year to it. im already over paying for the vehicle itself for them to try to take advantage of it. i already had way too many problems with this company, i getting really tired of, if it doesnt get resolved i am ready sue.
06/03/2019 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Struggling to pay your loan
  • Lender trying to repossess or disable the vehicle
  • CA
  • 917XX
Web
challenge financial services has been harassing me and people that have nothing to do with this loan. i have been trying to resolve this issue with the rep XXXX XXXX XXXX, he is really rude and unprofessional, he has been reaching out to people that know me threatening them that to let me know that he is going to pick up my car. I am very good with payments on my car just this month i fell behind because i just got another job. I've been paying this car for 2 years. I asked for a week extra time to be able to pay it but the Rep XXXX is not willing to help, instead he threatens me.
08/23/2019 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Struggling to pay your loan
  • Loan balance remaining after the vehicle is repossessed and sold
  • CA
  • 922XX
Web
The company name is challenge financial services my car was towed and I called the financial services so they would take the car out I didnt have money to pay back so thy took the car I didnt have the car then they wanted me to pay back a balance of {$2500.00} I was not making enough money to pay back so I didnt pay it back this was back XX/XX/2008 and now Im on XXXX and they are going to garnished my XXXX check and I can not afford to pay my bills and now is worse with the garnished of my check
03/26/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • CA
  • 921XX
Web
Challenge financial services Had agreed to repair the vehilce, and continued to accept XXXX payments from me ..3 after car was impaired, I had warranty extended. They took my cash and XXXX deceived me and repossessed the car after taking my money, each time I wanted to record her calls for verification she would hang up on me ... .in effort to avoid a record of the agreements, malicious lender!! Needs to be investigated.
06/06/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Auto debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • AZ
  • 850XX
Web Older American
Challenge Services send me a subpena in which i replied in a time in a timly matter with the court and send them a registered letter, and they are using the tactic of not received the reply in a timely matter to get the court to get a judgment against me. Plaintiff : Challenge Financial Services XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX Ca XXXX Ph XXXX XXXX case # XXXX Defender : XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX Az XXXX
10/25/2020 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Managing the loan or lease
  • Problem with the interest rate
  • CA
  • 927XX
Web Servicemember
I have had the loan for 3 years and my principal balance has not gone down. I tried to call them to ask questions regarding the terms of my loan, but no one has called me back. I asked for a copy of my contract several times and no one has sent it to me or called me back with details of my loan.
11/15/2019 No
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Managing the loan or lease
  • Problem with the interest rate
  • GA
  • 309XX
Web
I have been financing a XXXX XXXX XXXX that was involved in a lemon law case the car insterest Im being charge is extremely high and amount due does not match the car value I was sold this car without knowing it had issues with oil consumption and have been having issues since
07/16/2021 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account information incorrect
  • ID
  • 83646
Web
06/30/2021 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Managing the loan or lease
  • Problem with additional products or services purchased with the loan
Phone
12/22/2020 No
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Managing the loan or lease
  • Problem with additional products or services purchased with the loan
  • CA
  • 92056
Referral
06/19/2020 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Managing the loan or lease
  • Billing problem
  • CA
  • 91761
Web
01/30/2020 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Managing the loan or lease
  • Billing problem
  • CA
  • 928XX
Web
01/08/2020 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Struggling to pay your loan
  • Lender trying to repossess or disable the vehicle
  • CA
  • 92354
Phone
04/16/2019 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Information belongs to someone else
  • CA
  • 91761
Web
03/18/2019 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account status incorrect
  • CA
  • 92395
Phone
01/28/2019 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Managing the loan or lease
  • Billing problem
  • CA
  • 917XX
Web
01/18/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Auto debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • KY
  • 40505
Web
11/16/2018 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Managing the loan or lease
  • Problem with additional products or services purchased with the loan
  • CA
  • 95370
Web
03/25/2018 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Struggling to pay your loan
  • Denied request to lower payments
  • CA
  • 91762
Web