CDI Affiliated Services, Inc. CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
05/12/2021 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account information incorrect
  • CA
  • 93313
Web
The first big problem that Im having with this collection is that I totally disagree to even owing the money theyre collecting on and they appeared on my credit report without giving me a notice and a chance to prove myself to NOT owe them before the account was placed on my credit report. Not only that, but also when I tried to solve this by myself and requested an itemized statement of debt to see what and why am I being charged for I was told that they were going to send it to my current address. This was in 2018. But until this date, I still have not received anything from them and its ridiculous, after numerous of calls they still wont help me solve their mistake. To make things worse, they said the initial notice was sent to the address the XXXX XXXX gave the collector. This brings two problems with what the collectors are saying. One, either the apartments DID get my notice to move with a forwarding address making this debt a lie. Two, they gave the collectors the address where I lived BEFORE I moved into the apartment or my apartment address for the collector to send me an initial notice which of course I didnt receive. The collector even admitted they had to skip trace me because they had other numbers for me which proves they didnt have my number initially to call me before this was placed on my report. After various attempts to solve this by myself, I decided to go get help from someone with more experience on this type of situations and he proceed to call them with my permission. First, he spoke to XXXX and since she seemed to not be able to handle the situation my representative asked for a supervisor. After that he was transferred to XXXX ( Supervisor ). XXXX stated the Itemized statement was sent to my old address and not my current address, she also stated that after I put the account under dispute, I was sent a letter which I had to reply to with proof of not owing the debt and since I never replied they validated the debt to be mine and cancelled the dispute. The big issue is that I never got any letter so they just cancelled the dispute and the account is there on my credit report hurting my credit. Once again, they took action without getting me a notice or chance to validate my dispute which they should have done so and therefore violated the fair credit reporting act. They even kept collecting on the debt and affecting my credit report since it went back to my credit report after 30 days of dispute. How am I supposed to reply to them if they dont even reach me? Even my representative was told that I did NOT get a letter and since I did not reply to what they mailed me they ended the dispute and claimed the debt to be mine ( If I had received a letter or any other type of notice I would have replied. ) Also, I did send them a dispute letter of my own as well as to the credit bureaus. You want to know what response they gave me? We didnt receive your dispute letter ... Even my representative asked them how they were being hypocrites by saying they are validating the debt because they never got mail return when they sent me a letter but when I said I sent them a letter they are saying since they never received anything this was valid. So when I say I dont have anything from them I get punished with a bad report but when they say they got nothing from me its ok? I was told by my representative that the action theyre taking on me is against the fair credit reporting act so this is the reason of me filing this complain to see if someone could assist me with this problem that Ive been having for around 4 years now and hopefully put an end to my frustration. Also, not only are they saying that I owe them money and theyre affecting my credit report, but theyre the ones that owe me money. When my representative was speaking to XXXX, he was told that my charges where for cleaning carpet, general cleaning, keys unreturned, load of belongings and rent from XXXX to XXXX at {$23.00} a day for failure to provide notice, the thing is that I did return the keys, did give them a final notice 30 days prior, and paid my rent on XX/XX/XXXX so they are violating the FDCPA since theyre trying to charge me after I performed my obligations.
05/12/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • NJ
  • 07419
Web
Hello, Right up front I must state that my issue does not exactly fit into any of the categories listed. It relates specifically to the time period involved with this alleged debt, which I believe would most closely fall under the category of " time-barred '' or statute of limitations. I am providing a very high level overview here and will include my letter to the NJ State Consumer Affairs Board as an attachment. The letter which was originally submitted in XXXX of this year ( XXXX ) is more detailed, unfortunately I have not received any type of response despite numerous attempts to follow up. 1 ) On XX/XX/XXXX I received an invoice from XXXX XXXX XXXX stating that I had an outstanding balance of {$830.00} for services rendered ( initial billing date ) of XX/XX/XXXX. Since this was the 1st time I was hearing of this outstanding charge I requested further information.I also inquired as to why this was coming to my attention at this time, having never received previous notice. XXXX responded that they had just recently undergone a computer systems conversion and this balance appeared on an exception report. They also claimed that I had " most likely '' been previously notified but they could not verify this due to those records ( notifications ) no longer being available after the computer conversion. 2 ) XXXX did send me copies of what records they had relating to this balance, which were listed as unpaid insurance claims. I then called and forwarded the information to my insurance carrier- Horizon XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX ( XXXX ) of New Jersey XXXX However the dates and claim numbers XXXX provided did not align to the service records that XXXX XXXX had on file for me. After an extended period of back and forth between both entities XXXX informed me that they would need to forward this matter to their archival research dept and that they could not give me an estimate of how long it would take to complete my research request. I relayed this information to XXXX who told me that they would put my case " on hold '' pending insurance response. 3 ) On XX/XX/XXXX I received a letter from CDI Affiliated Services that my account had been turned over to them by XXXX for collection. I immediately replied to CDI with the full explanation of the status of the situation, explaining that I was waiting on insurance information. 4 ) XX/XX/XXXX I received documentation in the form of Explanation of Benefits ( EOBs ) from XXXX showing that the negotiated covered expenses, which XXXX agreed to, totaled {$410.00} and that a check was issued in this amount to myself. I forwarded the documentation to CDI who verified with XXXX and adjusted my amount owed to {$410.00}. 5 ) The outstanding issue now is that I no longer have personal financial records from this period due to the amount of time that has elapsed. I believe that I deposited the insurance check into my bank account and issued a personal check in it's place, which was my normal course of action at the time. The problem is complicated by the fact that the bank no longer exists, having been acquired by another institution in the interim period. I am extremely familiar with the ... .challenge this presents as that bank was my employer at the time. The chances of my getting a copy of that paid check are minimal at best. Had I been notified in a more timely matter I either would have still had my personal records or been able to contact the bank while it still existed. This brings me to my question of is there a statute of limitations pertaining to billing for a past debt? Thank you for your time and attention with this matter. I sincerely appreciate it.
10/06/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Communication tactics
  • You told them to stop contacting you, but they keep trying
  • OR
  • 97457
Web
Debt Collector : CDI Affiliated Services XXXX XXXX XXXX, ID XXXX Date of Statement : XX/XX/2021 Amount of alleged debt : {$4900.00} Reference number XXXX Date of Service : Not included on the statement - unknown Provider of Service : XXXX XXXX XXXX Reference number XXXX I received a notice from the debt collector CDI Affiliated Services, XXXX XXXX XXXX, ID XXXX. on XX/XX/2021. I responded on XX/XX/2021 with a Debt validation letter asking for an itemized breakdown of the charges and fees, a copy of my signature with the provider of service to release my information ( HIPPA ), and proof that this company has the legal authority to collect debt in my state. I also asked that all communication is through letters. ( I copied the FTC Debt validation letter ). I sent it a certified letter. I followed up 3 weeks later with a call to see if they had received my letter and when would I receive a response. I told them that the phone number that I was calling from was for work only and that I only wanted to communicate through the mail. I was told on the phone that my letter was received and being processed. I was assured that I would receive a response to my letter. the phone call ended. The next day I started receiving 3 calls a day on my work phone. two weeks late I received another bill with a breakdown of cost for a procedure that I never received. I did not receive a copy of my signed HIPPA release authorizing the release of information to a third-party creditor, and I did not receive proof that this company has the legal rights to collect debts in Oregon. I did not have the services that they are saying that I had. I am too afraid to call because I am still getting two to three calls a day from them at XXXX. I sent another certified letter and I have not received any response. I am sending the second letter again tomorrow in hopes that this can be resolved. Now the company has reported the debt to the collection- this is against the Fair Credit Reporting Act. I had asked in the debt validation letter to Cease any credit bureau reporting until the debt has been validated by me. The company has not complied with any of my requests and instead, I am receiving multiply calls from the company as a harassment tactic. Thank you, XXXX XXXX
05/26/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • OH
  • 44035
Web Servicemember
This is a medical account that had been paid off almost 2 years ago. When I paid it off, my doctor XXXX XXXX contacted this agency and had it removed. I checked my credit and was surprised to see this on my report because without an account number or anything that actually connects it to me. I did not received any contact whether call, email or letter to say that this had been done. I contacted the collection agency CDI Affiliated Serv. regarding the matter and I was told that they had no ideal how this appeared on my report, that it must have been a glitch in the system because it was closed with full payment. I was advised by the Service Rep. to dispute the item on my report and as soon as they get the dispute they will remove said item. I have also contacted my doctor of this situation. Well, I have now disputed it twice with XXXX, who allowed this to happen without verification or validation, because it came back as verified. This false claim has brought my fico score down more then 80 and I am furious. I work hard at trying to maintain good credit and it is ridiculous that any company from any where can report false, old and other individuals mess to the credit bureau and have it verified as being accurate. This is not fair to the consumer.
07/21/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • ID
  • 83705
Web Servicemember
CDI is trying to collect debt which is not mine. I am not liable for this debt. I did not sign, oral, or implied to be responsible for a work related accident. I was ordered to have the ambulance my former employer called, when toxic chemicals were released in the workplace. I did not call the ambulance for service. I since recovered and all medical bills have been paid for this work related accident by the insurance, however, this creditor " XXXX XXXX XXXX " did not file a lien against the workers compensation case to get paid. I gave them all the information and yet they did not file a lien and said they have no one in the office that knows workers compensation procedures. I even sent them the forms to file a lien and told them when the case is closed the insurance must pay them before the case can be closed. They did nothing and now they are coming after me for their incompetence. They insist that I must pay and threaten me with legal action, and ruining my credit. I asked them to remove them adverse erroneous information from my credit report but they do not.
04/17/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • ID
  • 83651
Web Servicemember
The original debt of {$520.00} has been paid to the original creditor, XXXX, about a 1 1/2 years ago. CDI Affiliated Services insist I owe them a sum of {$260.00} of pure interest. There is no more principal because XXXX accepted my payment in full in order for me to receive services from them again. As far as I can tell CDI A.S. is in a violation of The Fair Debt Collections Act 808 15 USC 1692f Section ( 1 ) The collection of any amount ( including any interest, fee, charge, or expense incidental to the principal obligation ) unless such amount is expressly authorized by the agreement creating the debt or permitted by law. I can assure you no such agreement was ever established or authorized while creating the debt. CDI is not attempting to collect a single penny as principal, but rather {$260.00} of pure interest. Are they, or are they not in violation of this Fair Debt Collection Practices Act? They still currently show as owing XXXX {$260.00} on my credit report.
10/02/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Right to dispute notice not received
  • TX
  • 77073
Web
XXXX XXXX XXXX sent my bill to CDI AFFILIATED services for {$51.00}. I have a co-pay every time I see the dr and that MUST be paid before I see the dr . They schedule extra services " after '' insurance is verified that I will not have an out of pocket expense. The Dr. changed insurance payment and I never received an invoice. I continue to see the Dr. and was never advised I had a past due amount. I called their office and they advised since the changed insurance payment carriers they have no record. I looked at all my EOB and there is not one statement that shows I might have an out of pocket expense. Why would I go to a dr. and not pay the amount I owe? This appeared on my credit with no notice, no letter, no phone call XXXX 2015. I only came to realize this when I attempted to refinance my house and was denied.
06/29/2022 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • NM
  • 88007
Web
I have a ambulance debt to pay of XXXX which i agree is my debt and i just payed XXXX towards it today XX/XX/22 which should leave me only XXXX to go but this agency is charging me a extra XXXX for public agent fee which brings total for this debt to XXXX which is not on the contract and they told me i would still have to pay this extra fee to have debt paid in full. The supervisor i talk to and told she can not charge me the extra fee said yes she can even though it is against federal law of extra charges and was not in contract and i did not sign any papers at all due to a ulcer burst and was not awake at time.
04/25/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • ID
  • 83644
Web
Calls began on XXXX XXXX for a debt owed to another individual. I have received cal and messages on XXXX XXXX , XXXX XXXX , XXXX XXXX , XXXX XXXX , and XXXX XXXX . I sent an email on XXXX XXXX to stop calling my number as I was not the person they were attempting to reach. Then called on XXXX XXXX and they proceeded to tell me they have no record of calling my number and proceeded to check if I had any debts owed instead of resolving the matter. Then I emailed again on XXXX XXXX to stop the collection calls
07/08/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • FL
  • 32043
Web
XX/XX/XXXX - notified CDI Affiliated Services that the debt they are trying to collect is the result of an employment disagreement is not owed to the company initiating the claim. XX/XX/XXXX - noticed a drop in my credit report, called and spoke to XXXX at CDI Affiliated who said the notice to the credit reporting agency was filed in error and this was going to be removed. I believe this is a way to harass me for payment even though there is no valid claim from my previous employer for the amount they are trying to collect. Thanks
01/11/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • ID
  • 83274
Web
Items noted in collections with CBP Affiliated services were never corresponded to myself prior to collections. No contract was made with said company, no billing statements or notices were ever received by reported creditor. No balance or amount owed was ever provided by the creditor. No communication attempts were made by the creditor. I can not acknowledge or verify the validity of any portion of any collection attempting to be obtained by the creditor.
09/02/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • ID
  • 83651
Web Servicemember
This is in reference to a previously submitted complaint XXXXXXXXCDI Affiliated services resolution is to simply state that the account has been flagged as disputed on the consumer 's credit profile. That is not good enough. I insist they acknowledge that they as debt collectors fall under Idaho statute XXXX XXXX chapter XXXX and not under XXXX XXXX chapter XXXX. This will go to litigation if they do not remove themselves from my credit report.
04/05/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • TX
  • 77494
Web
I am in XXXX, TX and they sent a XXXX XXXX lab {$37.00} bill which is located in XXXX, XXXX. I have never heard of this out of state company and they never sent any bill. If I do XXXX search for this company in XXXX. THe invoice billing company is CDI Affiliated Services Collection Department, XXXX XXXX XXXX, ID XXXX. The phone number is XXXX and XXXX. This bill needs to be cancelled and unnecessary threat of collection agency.
01/21/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • TX
  • 77021
Web
I received several phone calls with regards to this collection account for the amount of {$510.00}. After speaking with this creditor the conclusion was this is not my account because the social security number does not match. They agreed to remove this collection from my credit report.
01/12/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • UT
  • 84081
Web
XXXX XXXX XXXX is reporting on my credit and I have never received anything from them. The debt is paid and should have never went on my credit report. They never even notified me and I had no idea what this was for until it showed on my report.
08/30/2022 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • GA
  • 31313
Web
11/09/2021 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem
  • Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
  • ID
  • 83401
Web
01/21/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • WA
  • 98023
Web
12/22/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • TX
  • 76134
Web
05/29/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • TX
  • 76262
Web
03/11/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • LA
  • 70811
Web
02/07/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was result of identity theft
  • ID
  • 83813
Web
01/14/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • ID
  • 83687
Web
01/29/2018 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Old information reappears or never goes away
  • TX
  • 77494
Web
09/20/2017 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account status incorrect
  • OR
  • 97469
Web
07/17/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • OH
  • 44070
Phone
01/09/2017 Yes
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on credit report
  • Account status
  • TX
  • 77346
Web
10/20/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • ID
  • 83202
Web
09/15/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • MO
  • 63383
Postal mail
07/24/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • ID
  • 83642
Web
02/19/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Right to dispute notice not received
  • OR
  • 97401
Web