Castle and Cookie Mortgage LLC CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
07/13/2017 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Closing on a mortgage
  • CO
  • 80013
Web
The short version is that when I went to refi my home mortgage, the company tried to insert a last minute brand new fee of {$990.00} for " 0.500 % of Loan Amount ( Points ) ''. I indicated I was not longer interested in the transaction. They removed the fee. I reluctantly proceeded but in the meantime, I was up against the deadline for my existing mortgage payment which I made in the amount of {$1300.00}. This payment did not affect the payoff terms ( one would think the payoff amount would be reduced by the payment ). When I inquired, the agent said : " This will be refunded to you within 30 days of closing. It typically does not take 30 days and it typically sent within a couple of weeks. Expect a check from XXXX for the payment. Per RESPA a customer cant make a double payment on a loan at the time of the payoff. I hope this answers your question. Thanks and have a great day! '' I have never received this reimbursement. I sent a certified letter to the CEO of Castle and Crooke on or about XXXX XXXX, 2017. In response to this letter, yet another representative of the company called and made false promises. XXXX XXXX called on XX/XX/XXXX and said she would call the following week. To my knowledge this never occurred. here is a copy of the content of the letter to XXXX XXXX, CEO of Castle and Crooke : " XXXX XXXX, 2017 XXXX XXXX President and CEO XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX, UT XXXX Dear XXXX XXXX, Representatives of your company have misrepresented information, failed to answer questions, attempted to charge more for a mortgage than was agreed upon, obfuscated the mortgage financing process and failed to return my phone call.

I had done a home mortgage with Castle and Cooke in the past so when it was time to refi I contacted the local office to initiate the process. Although the person I had previously worked with was no longer with the company I assumed I would receive the same honest and straightforward customer service I had received before. This was not the case.

When I was provided with the electronic documents to sign to lock in on the deal, your company tried to insert an unapproved {$990.00} fee for 0.500 % of Loan Amount ( Points ) at the last minute. Fortunately, I caught it.

Unfortunately, due to the delay caused by this attempt to overcharge me for my loan, I had to make an additional payment on my existing mortgage to avoid penalties. This additional payment did not change the payoff amount on the new loan.

I presented this situation to XXXX XXXX, the Castle and Crooke agent handling my refi ( see emails attached for documentation ) : I had made a mortgage payment last week when it looked questionable as to whether we were going to get the deal done ( there was that last minute {$980.00} points fee added on ). Anyway, it looks like that payment just went through according to my bank app. This was not considered in the final calcs for the refi. How will this be handled?

XXXX XXXX replied : This will be refunded to you within 30 days of closing. It typically does not take 30 days and it typically sent within a couple of weeks. Expect a check from XXXX for the payment. Per RESPA a customer cant make a double payment on a loan at the time of the payoff. I hope this answers your question. Thanks and have a great day!

I have yet to receive this reimbursement as promised by your employee.

Attached you will find a fairly thorough email transcript of communications between myself and representatives of Castle and Crooke, LLC. You will find documentation that shows that questions were not answered, promises were not kept, etc.

Finally, I received a voice message from XXXX XXXX, Compliance Director, on XXXX XXXX, 2017, after I emailed XXXX XXXX indicating that I was still not satisfied and was interested in escalating the matter ( to you specifically ). I returned the telephone call on XXXX XXXX, 2017, requesting that XXXX XXXX return my telephone call. I have not heard back.

I was told by a representative of your company that I was to be reimbursed for the payment. He even cited federal law as some sort of assurance that this was to be the case. Although I have received an escrow payment, an insurance reimbursement and a mysterious refund for a discount point fee that was apparently misapplied to my transaction, I have not received a reimbursement check.

I look forward to your response. It would be my preference to avoid having to take legal action regarding this matter.

Sincerely, XXXX XXXX

03/20/2015 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Other mortgage
  • Loan servicing, payments, escrow account
  • NM
  • 87031
Web
On XX/XX/XXXX I purchased my home through Castle and Cook Mortgage company that deals with Loancare online. I started a hazard insurance policy and flood insurance policy on XX/XX/XXXX. After the XXXX year was up FEMA sent me a statement saying my current policy was not going to be honored. I started making arrangments to create a new policy. As I was making arrangements the check from escrow went out to XXXX XXXX for renewal of XXXX dollars that got changed and then only gave me 11,000 dollars of coverage. I created a new policy with XXXX insurance that could not be finalized till funds were recieved. When i contacted the mortgage company loancare to get a check sent from my escrow account they said they could not send funds because XXXX checks were already sent out. The XXXX check at XXXX and the XXXX of XXXX straight to FEMA, neither that i authorized because I was in process to get a new policy. I was then told i could not cancel the XXXX policy until a dec page was recieved for the policy i created with XXXX. Farmers was unable to get me a dec page until payment was funded, which was not available from my escrow due to XXXX checks being sent out without my authorization. I was able to cancel the homowners policy with XXXX XXXX right away so in this time period I had recieved a refund from them for the homeowners policy which i took and paid the policy through XXXX. At that time I finally got a copy of the dec page and sent this to XXXX XXXX to cancel the XXXX renewal policy which they told me I was unable to cancel because it was past the deadline. So at this point refunded to my escrow account should have been the funds for the homeowners policy and flood policy through XXXX XXXX which never went back due to fault of the loan company. The policy with XXXX XXXX had to stay in place for a year before cancelation since I was passed the cancelation period. So for the next year XX/XX/XXXX I had XXXX policies in place for my flood insurance. I believe this is the main reason why my escrow account is shorted and was at no fault to me. When the policy had to stay in place the XXXX dollars was not refunded to my escrow. So in the end there was the XXXX dollars for the flood policy and the XXXX for the homeowners policy that i paid to XXXX for the new policy, neither were credited to my escrow. I am claiming that the loan company has poor communication and did not notify me of the XXXX check sent and the escrow account being shorted as of XX/XX/XXXX. I was never told that the escrow was shorted and they have been advancing my escfrow account XXXX every month since XXXX to cover their mistake and pin this on me. The XXXX check for XXXX was finally refunded and applied to my escrow on XX/XX/XXXX which brought down the advancement to my escrow to XXXX for the last two months.
06/07/2017 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • FHA mortgage
  • Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage
  • CA
  • 91745
Web
About six months ago I decided to start the home buying process, I am a mother of XXXX XXXX XXXX and work hard everyday to support my family ... I was referred to cook and castle by my realtor and without prior experience I had full trust in them, the lender stated he had experience in my type of loan and credit history. I provided all documents that were asked of me and also a co buyers documentation ...

I was hopeful they would look over everything and point us in the right direction, and if we were not ready they would provide assistance in what needed to be done for the future. my lender gave the OK to look at homes even gave us a number of XXXX with 104 % financing all I had to do was put a good faith deposit.. I fell in love with a house so I put in the offer and the seller accepted my offer! We were ecstatic!!!

The seller asked for XXXX dollars in a good faith deposit ..I was so nervous, that was a lot of money for me, almost half of my savings, but the seller put a contingency that if the loan could n't get approved she could keep my money, but my lender keep re assuring me everything was ok.. the further we got the more things keep coming up more money and more money needed to be paid. At one point I ran out of money but kept trying to keep up.. At no point did my lender say to stop this process, my credit was not ready at all ... and when the moment came and the seller asked to sign over my good faith deposit, he said " everything looks good '' and advised to sign it over ... After paying the appraisal..everyday something else came up that I needed to pay, nothing was ever for sure.. still no direction to stop and cancel He realized things were going wrong and things were over looked and I really was n't ready to buy a house ... the only reassurance I was getting was a promise he would pay back the good faith deposit if the loan fell through ... just keep saying in text that you could not put it in writing just to trust you..

This whole experience has been a nightmare for me and my family, I even took my son out of his school and put him closer to the new house .. cook and castle should have never let it get that far.. I trusted this lender to guide me in the right direction.. now My family is left with a empty bank account, no house and devastation At what point was he going to say ... XXXX you are not ready.

I am requesting my good faith deposit and appraisal/ inspection funds that I have lost in the process XXXX XXXX

03/21/2015 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • FHA mortgage
  • Loan servicing, payments, escrow account
  • TX
  • 79938
Web
I purchased my home in XX/XX/XXXX. I recently received my XX/XX/XXXX Annual Escrow Account Disclosure Statement from my loan provider Castle & Cooke Mortgage. My current mortgage monthly payment is {$1400.00}. Upon reviewing the statement, I realized my new mortgage payment increased to {$2500.00}. I called Castle & Cooke for an explanation. The representative explained ... ..they did n't pay your XX/XX/XXXX taxes. She kept referring to they when assigning blame. When I asked who is they, she did n't answer me. I asked again and then she said the service provider. Then I asked ... ..are n't you the service provider? She finally admitted it Castle & Cooke failed to properly collect the funds for escrow. She did not provide means or options to resolve the issue. I had to ask for my options at resolving this issue. I am concerned because this is a problem generated by Castle & Cook, a problem, I believe they intentionally perpetrate. The representative stated this is a common occurrence. The representative stated I had up to 36 months to pay for the shortage of escrow funds. I asked if there would be a fee incurred and she stated no. I am leery of her statement but plan on proceeding with this option. Once I find out exactly how this works, I may submit another complaint or add to this one. During my research of Castle & Cooke, I found your organization has taken action against them for steering consumers to costlier mortgages. I feel I am being exploited and being taken advantage. I venture to say there are many consumers in similar situations who have not voiced their concerns.
10/25/2019 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Other type of mortgage
  • Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage
  • GA
  • 30296
Web Servicemember
XXXX and XXXX are two of the most incompetent duo in the mortgage industry. they totally botched my loan and caused me to loose my property, Ernest money and my appraisal fee. the easiest part of doing a loan is supplying a customer with a preapproval letter, XXXX miscalculate my income and gave me a preapproval letter and for 4 months XXXX never checked behind him to verify that his work was accurate. so in the mean time im looking for properties and putting down Ernest money. when i found the property i wanted they had me pay for an appraisal and set up several closing dates with my realtor and attorney only to come back and say that due to there mistake and there error that we could not do the loan. i supplied them with all my financial information in the beginning, so there was no change in in my finances to warrant me not getting this loan other than there miscalculation and negligence. even after XXXX admitted to it being there error, he would not refund my appraisal fee or my earnest money. these are some shady and elusive characters, and i was suppose to by law receive a letter from them telling me why my loan was denied and i have never received that due to the fact that it was due to the negligence and they dont want that in writing
09/19/2018 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • FHA mortgage
  • Closing on a mortgage
  • TN
  • 38018
Web
The Castle & Cooke Mortgage Co denied the loan and never send the paper work to FHA due my legal status, they said I'm not qualify for buying a house, they told Mr. XXXX XXXX contact me a 1 month ago stated that in order to buy a new house I need to sell the current one, so I sold my because he told me that everything will be ok but 3 days before my closing for the new house he denied my loan due I'm not a citizen, this is descrimination I have to expend money that I never have to use due his acts, XXXX XXXX approve my Loan in less the 3 hours, I bought my house trough them. Castle and Cook Mortgage start with illegal questions about inmigration, I'm legal on USA since XXXX, and I bought my first house on XXXX, this is not a good company to do business with, I lost more then {$3000.00} due this guy because just 3 days before we closing he decide not to follow the process. SO HOW IS POSSIBLE THAT XXXX XXXX APPROVE THE LOAN IN LESS THAN A DAY AND CASTLE & COOK TOOK MORE THAN A MONTH TO DETERMINATE TO APPROVE MY LOAN, THEY MAKE ME SELL MY HOUSE AND PROMISE THAT EVERYTHING IS OK AND CHANGE EVERYTHING IN THE LAST MINUTE, THEY DUE THE SAME THING WITH OTHER 2 XXXX IN THE SAME MONTH, PLEASE INVESTIGATE.
09/25/2018 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • FHA mortgage
  • Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage
  • MS
  • 39401
Web
I am a XXXX XXXX and Castle & Cooke Mortgage out of the Mississippi location told my borrower she could do a bond loan through XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX via one of their programs or if that didn't work she could do a loan through the XXXX XXXX. The borrower well exceeds the income guidelines for both programs as well as exceeds the income guidelines for USDA. I spoke with them and told them she did not qualify. I was told they wouldn't be counting her stipend income or her second job income. I contacted all 3 entities and confirmed what I knew to be correct ... this is fraud. The fact they knew her income was too great for the programs they were telling her they would put her under even after she had provided income documentation seems to be a clear cut bait and switch tactic to me. I explained this to the borrower but at this point they pulled the FHA case number the day we tried to pull it and will not transfer it. They are still telling her they can do one of these loans or find something with no down payment. I inquired with them about the programs they offer and no such program exist based on this customer profile. My XXXX # is XXXX.
07/14/2021 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage
  • CA
  • 93263
Web
XXXX requires use of its owned mortgage company. XXXX misleads consumers into thinking it is required to use its mortgage company. XXXX ignored me for several weeks when I was attempting to follow up and use a different lender. Eventually, XXXX said it is permitted to use my own lender. I asked XXXX if they will change their policy as to other consumers and they did not respond. I conferred with State Department of Real Estate and they said it would be more appropriate to complaint herein.
04/18/2015 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • FHA mortgage
  • Loan servicing, payments, escrow account
  • TX
  • 79911
Web
My escrow payment increased significantly from one month to another without warning. I still do n't understand why this issue could have been avoided. After several calls to my mortgage company Castle & Cooke I remain confused with the lack of customer service provided.
06/09/2016 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • FHA mortgage
  • Application, originator, mortgage broker
  • UT
  • 84120
Web
I was denied credit for a mortgage loan without receiving an adverse action notice as to why.
07/12/2021 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage
  • HI
  • 96707
Phone Older American
09/13/2019 No
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Closing on a mortgage
  • ID
  • 83642
Web
11/22/2017 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage
  • CA
  • 94526
Web
12/19/2016 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional fixed mortgage
  • Settlement process and costs
  • AZ
  • 85351
Web
06/01/2016 No
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional fixed mortgage
  • Loan servicing, payments, escrow account
  • AZ
  • 85202
Web
05/26/2016 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • FHA mortgage
  • Loan servicing, payments, escrow account
  • UT
  • 84655
Web
04/27/2016 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Other mortgage
  • Application, originator, mortgage broker
  • AZ
  • 85298
Referral
06/25/2015 No
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional fixed mortgage
  • Application, originator, mortgage broker
  • CA
  • 92881
Web
12/18/2014 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional fixed mortgage
  • Loan servicing, payments, escrow account
  • NM
  • 87048
Web
09/03/2014 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional fixed mortgage
  • Application, originator, mortgage broker
  • HI
  • 96789
Web
08/29/2014 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Other mortgage
  • Loan servicing, payments, escrow account
  • AZ
  • 85340
Postal mail
08/13/2014 No
  • Mortgage
  • Other mortgage
  • Loan servicing, payments, escrow account
  • NM
  • 87105
Referral
07/07/2014 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional fixed mortgage
  • Settlement process and costs
  • NV
  • 89129
Phone
06/23/2014 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional fixed mortgage
  • Application, originator, mortgage broker
  • NV
  • 89012
Phone
06/23/2014 Yes
  • Bank account or service
  • Other bank product/service
  • Making/receiving payments, sending money
  • NV
  • 89012
Phone
04/24/2014 No
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional fixed mortgage
  • Application, originator, mortgage broker
  • AZ
  • 85251
Web
01/21/2014 No
  • Mortgage
  • Other mortgage
  • Other
  • CO
  • 80109
Referral
11/13/2013 No
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional fixed mortgage
  • Application, originator, mortgage broker
  • UT
  • 84721
Web Older American
10/12/2013 No
  • Mortgage
  • Other mortgage
  • Settlement process and costs
  • CA
  • 92878
Web
01/06/2012 No
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional fixed mortgage
  • Application, originator, mortgage broker
  • CA
  • 95409
Web Older American