Cascade Collections, Inc. CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
02/01/2022 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • MD
  • 20772
Web
XX/XX/2022 XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX To Whom It May Concern : I am XXXX XXXX representing MYSELF and I am the consumer in fact and not a third party. I am communicating with you directly as requested regarding concerns/ issues with my credit report. This letter represents my formal request to again dispute the aforementioned accounts as well as inquiries which are illegally being reported on my account. It was communicated to me to reach out to each individual agency to expedite the removal. As of the date of this letter, it has been over thirty days with no compliance to the Fair Credit Reporting Act ( FCRA 15 U.S.C. 1681 ) enacted by the United States Congress. By their findings, it is now my legal right to have these accounts and inquiries ( FCRA 15 U.S.C. 1681n ) removed. I understand the individual in receipt of this letter is most likely not an attorney. Therefore, I have attached the laws and definitions to educate any person of my legal rights in the United States of America. I appreciate you understanding how this adversely affects me and is in violation of my rights. Thank you for helping me take this federal matter seriously! Accounts Requiring Immediate Removal : Cascade Collections with for a debt you claim I owe of {$39.00} that is reporting as a Collection/Charge Off Be advised this is not a refusal to pay, but a notice sent pursuant to the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, 15 USC 1692g stating your claim is disputed and validation is requested. This is NOT a request for verification or proof of my mailing address, but a request for VALIDATION made pursuant to the above-named Title and Section. I respectfully request your offices provide me with competent evidence that I have any legal obligation to pay you. At this time, I will also inform you that if your offices have reported invalidated information to any of the XXXX major credit bureaus ( XXXX, XXXX or XXXX ) this action may constitute fraud under both Federal and State Laws. Due to the fact, if any negative mark is found on any of my credit reports by your company or the company that you represent, I will not hesitate in bringing legal action against you and your client for the following : Violation of that Fair Credit Reporting Act, Violation of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, and Defamation of Character. If your offices are able to provide the proper documentation as requested in the following Declaration, I will require at least 30 days to investigate this information, during which time all collection activity must cease and desist. Also, during this validation period, if any action is taken which could be considered detrimental to any of my credit reports, I will consult with my legal counsel for suit. This includes any listing of any information to a credit reporting repository that could be inaccurate or invalidated. If your office fails to respond to this validation request withing 30 days from the date of your receipt, all references to this account must be deleted and completely removed from my credit file, and a copy of such deletion request shall be sent to me immediately. CEASE AND DESIST Pursuant to 15 USC 1692c. ( c ) I am notifying you in writing that I refuse to pay this alleged debt, and I am demanding that you cease all forms of communication with me through any and all mediums. Pursuant to 15 USC 1692c. ( c ) ( 2 ) - I am invoking my specified remedy as a consumer, and the original creditor I am demanding all of the following : Zero out the balance on this account. Grant me my title lien free. Pay the attached invoice and compensate me for every violation labeled in the attached exhibits. Deletion from all consumer reports. Best regards, XXXX XXXX Please provide the following information : 1. Name and address of alleged creditor. 2. Name on File of alleged debtor. 3. Alleged account # 4. Address on file for alleged debtor. 5. Alleged account # 6. Amount of alleged debt 7. Date ( this alleged debt became payable ). 8. Date of original charge or delinquency. 9. Was this debt assigned to a debt collector or purchased? 10. Amount paid if debt was purchased. 11. Commission for debt if collection efforts are successful. Please attach copies of the following : Agreement with your client that grants ____ ( Collection Agency Name ) the authority to collect this alleged debt. Signed agreement Debtor has made with Debt Collector, or other verifiable proof Debtor has a contractual obligation to pay Debt Collector. Any agreement that bears the signature of Debtor, wherein agreed to pay Creditor. All Statements while this account was open. Have any insurance claims been made by any creditor regarding this account? Yes No Have any judgements been obtained by any creditor regarding this account? Yes No Please provide the name and address of the following bonding agent for ( Name of Debt Collector ), in case legal action becomes necessary : Authorized Signature of Creditor : __________________________ Date : ________________________________ You must return this completed form along with copies of all requested information, assignments or other transfer agreements, which would establish your right to collect this alleged debt within 30 days from the date of your receipt of this letter. Your claim can not and WILL NOT be considered if any portion of this form is not completed and returned with copies of all requested documents. This is a request for validation made pursuant to the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. Please allow 30 days for processing after I receive this information.
08/15/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • Auto debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened or suggested your credit would be damaged
  • OR
  • 97006
Web
After almost 4 weeks of trying to reach XXXX from cascade collections. She finally emailed me and told me to call her as she has very little options for payment plans. I called her and she started to tell me I need to get a loan or a family member to lend me {$5000.00} to payoff this debt as my {$100.00} set up payments are no longer allowed she also said if I disagree there will be a judgement against me told me she knows I never had any and I should try to get the money before it happens she asked me what else do I pay and to provide 3 months worth of paystubs than her and her manager can look over. I told her I have XXXX kids and the father of my kids is not with me. I told her I can not afford a lot. I really cant. She told me since there has been a retuned check she can not accept payment with checks I advised I can pay with debit card she said first I need to see if I can get a loan even from my XXXX and she asked what loan places I have used and I did tell her I have tried but I can not get approved I told her if when I get my taxes I would clear the balance she said with all those kids you get a good refund. She also stated if I can not do {$300.00} a month she is not going to accept payments and will sent to involuntary collections where my credit will be affected. I asked why if for the past weeks I have attempted to satisfy my delinquency? She didn't address that question and told me to send her 3 months worth paystubs. We have never had a written agreement she always was helpful up until now she did state her manager is the one telling her to not accept payments. She also asked if the father of my children pays child support I said no that I am currently working on taking it to court she asked how much you asking for child support I told her {$500.00} and she said I could use that once it starts. I am pressured and scared for my livelihood I pay XXXX of rent and my car and insurance is almost {$1000.00}. She and I had an agreement that they would wait for my taxes to payoff now they want the full balance and said her client ( XXXX XXXX XXXX ) Comes first
01/19/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not disclosed as an attempt to collect
  • OR
  • 97701
Web
XXXX with Cascade Collections called my cell phone today from ( XXXX ) XXXX, XXXX/XXXX/2016 at XXXX. She said she received a message via their website from me that I would like more information on an account in their office and said " what can I help you with ''. She made no attempt to verify who I was before 1 ) Sharing information with me about the debt, 2 ) Giving me an address where a letter regarding this debt was previously sent 3 ) Stating the amount owed, and 4 ) She not once said this was an attempt to collect a debt. She said she would email me my documents ( I requested ) if I emailed her first. At this point, she still has no idea who I am, as I previously stated she did not verify any information with me. She also asked for my current address and said she would be mailing out a validation letter. This is a violation under the 15 U.S. Code 1692e - False or misleading representations : ( XXXX ) The failure to disclose in the initial written communication with the consumer and, in addition, if the initial communication with the consumer is oral, in that initial oral communication, that the debt collector is attempting to collect a debt and that any information obtained will be used for that purpose, and the failure to disclose in subsequent communications that the communication is from a debt collector, except that this paragraph shall not apply to a formal pleading made in connection with a legal action. ********************************** I will be filing a complaint with the original creditor and if need be, in court as this creditor can be fined up to {$1000.00} plus attorney fees and damages. Thank you.
12/04/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Auto
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Contacted employer after asked not to
  • UT
  • 84116
Web
I am currently going through an appeal. In the midst of my case, I feel my privacy rights are being violated. The lawyer XXXX XXXX XXXX, that is representing the Plaintiff ( Cascade Collections ) in this case. ( Case # XXXX ), has not only mailed but faxed paperwork regarding my case to my place of employment. The Federal Debt Collections Practices Act was created to protect us as the consumer, so that we may be able to work with out feeling harassed or feeling anguish in our place of employment. He has had phone conversations with my boss, who should n't have even known about my case situation other than just the garnishment and to solely garnish my wages as requested until the appeal case is resolved. Nothing more. The fax machine that the attorney XXXX. XXXX XXXX faxed information to, regarding myself. Is a fax machine that everyone uses at the office for medical reasons. Not for personal cases regarding employees. He did n't have permission by myself or my employer that he could do so. He also mailed a copy of my case to my place of employment. Now everyone in my clinic knows that I have a collections debt in court and that I am being garnished unfairly. I am in jeopardy of losing my job and now have no money to even pay for the debt he is coming for. Because this has caused me such anguish and embarrassment. The attorney has abused his power and I have proof that Cascade Collections knowingly produced a false collection letter that was never sent to my home. I am in such a hard place, in the fact that I am just an average person earning just enough to pay my student loans and other regular bills deemed necessary.
08/10/2021 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • TX
  • 78251
Web
After reviewing my credit profile on XX/XX/2021 I identified a discrepancy with account listed under Cascade Collections. I requested a validation on XX/XX/2021 as this was an account that I did not recognize. I reviewed my credit report again on XX/XX/2021 and the account continues to reflect on my credit report and I have not received any correspondence from creditor to validate this account as correctly belonging to me despite my credit report nor any updates to reflect that the account is disputed and therefore a 2nd validation letter was sent out on this day. As of XX/XX/2021 I have not received the requested validation in a timely manner according to the Fair Debt Collections Practices Act and I do not believe the account belongs to me nor do I believe that the creditor has HIPAA authorization to access the account nor authorization to attempt to collect on the account and the account continues to negatively affect me. Please strike and remove this account from all 3 credit bureaus until adequate validation has been received proving that the account belongs to me and all information is correct.
12/05/2017 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • NY
  • 14618
Web
I received notification onXX/XX/XXXX from XXXX XXXX that a new collection had been added to my report. I notified Cascade Collections that they were in violation of FCRA by email and did not receive any response nor did I receive any notification of the collection from Cascade. They gave impacted my credit report, have not sent me notification nor did they send me verification of the debt. The same complaint is against the original company XXXX who refused to send my text book rental back to me and claim I owe them {$260.00} for a {$20.00} textbook. They refuse to send me receipt or documentation for this debt. XXXX promised to send me back my book- they never sent it and claim there was a time limit on their gesture which is not noted anywhere on the email.
12/26/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Right to dispute notice not received
  • AZ
  • 85283
Web
I contacted a collection agency that has posted an active collection on my credit report indicating that i do not owe a debt to this collection agency and to remove the collection or provide documents that indicate I owe the debt to them. They replied with a letter about my residence at the time of the original debt and included copies of statements of prior debt to original creditor. No opportunity to dispute and no documents that they have a right to the account or that I ever signed an agreement that I would owe this collection agency in the event of default of the original debt.
04/07/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • MO
  • 64083
Web
I paid off my Home ownner Association dues before a left the home.That was approximately 5 years ago. The Home owners association confirmed the debt was paid. Over the years I have told them numerous times that their records are wrong and it is effecting my credit rating. They refuse to correct this and keep sending me demand notices. The name of the agency is Cascade Collections , Inc. XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX ( XXXX ) XXXX. The name is XXXX XXXX account # XXXX Re : XXXX HOA in XXXX XXXX. I live at XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX
12/26/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • AZ
  • 85283
Web
I disputed a collection account that is on my credit report. This agency has no authority to collect on this account as they have not proven that ownership of the original account was transferred to them. I have never agreed to nor are there any legal documents that state I am liable to pay Cascade collections. I never entered into an agreement to pay Cascade collections and they have failed to prove that. Therefore I do not owe a debt to Cascade collections. The credit bureau did not review the authenticity of the attestation.
08/30/2019 No
  • Debt collection
  • Auto debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • OR
  • 97321
Web
I bought tires from the XXXX store in XXXX, OR. I paid the balance when I picked up my car using a XXXX XXXX that I had and my credit card. Months later they started sending me credit collection notices. The last notice I received I wrote on the collection notice that I paid the balance in full at time of service. I have not heard back from them and this is showing up on my credit report. I need it removed from my credit reports.
10/15/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • OR
  • 97302
Web
Cascade Collections in XXXX, Oregon state in written form ( XX/XX/XXXX ) that a debt of {$820.00} was owed and that if I didnt pay or respond by XX/XX/XXXX that I may be taken to small claims court. The actual amount owed was {$660.00}. Collection agency stated above, lied about the amount owed. Ive paid the debt in the amount Cascade Collection falsely claimed I owed under the assumption that I may be taken to court otherwise.
11/30/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was result of identity theft
  • LA
  • 70810
Web
Creditor is reporting accounts that are invalid and unverified. XXXX have investigated this account and they concluded the account was not matching my records of being assigned to me. I would like proof these accounts were disputed per FCRA/ FDCPA. This is causing me anguish and its slandering my good name. Please block this account from my report so I can breathe again.
11/30/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was result of identity theft
  • LA
  • 70810
Web
Creditor is reporting accounts that are invalid and unverified. XXXX have investigated this account and they concluded the account was not matching my records of being assigned to me. I would like proof these accounts were disputed per FCRA/ FDCPA. This is causing me anguish and its slandering my good name. Please block this account from my report so I can breathe again.
05/19/2017 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • TX
  • 76112
Web Servicemember
The following agency is not bonded in the state of TX and can not legally collect debt. Please remove from my credit report and confirm that debt is not owed. Please and thank you! I hope you have a great day!
01/13/2021 No
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account status incorrect
  • NC
  • 28262
Web
This book rental was returned but it is reporting to my credit as not returned and showing that I owe a balance. Since I returned the book rental, this should not be reporting to my credit.
08/13/2018 No
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Old information reappears or never goes away
  • CO
  • 81652
Web Servicemember
this debt is over 9 years old and is listed as closed on XXXX and XXXX the dates are changed and has been removed from all 3 reporting agencies at least 3 times over the last 6 years
12/14/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • WA
  • 98332
Web
Cascade collections keeps damaging my credit when we went to court and the judge ruled in no ones favor meaning I owe them nothing they owe me nothing
07/13/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • OR
  • 97321
Web
02/16/2021 No
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Information belongs to someone else
  • CA
  • 93622
Web
02/06/2020 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • OR
  • 97017
Web
01/14/2019 No
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account information incorrect
  • WA
  • 98056
Web
03/18/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • PA
  • 19151
Web Servicemember
03/12/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • DC
  • 20011
Web
11/29/2017 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was already discharged in bankruptcy and is no longer owed
Phone
08/07/2017 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • TN
  • 38108
Web
04/04/2017 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • OR
  • 97360
Web
03/25/2017 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • AZ
  • 85201
Web
06/01/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • PA
  • 16365
Referral
05/05/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • OR
  • 97378
Web Older American
04/25/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • KS
  • 66503
Web Servicemember
08/26/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • CA
  • 94565
Referral
08/06/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • CA
  • 94565
Referral
04/14/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Talked to a third party about my debt
  • OR
  • 97038
Web
01/07/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Communication tactics
  • Threatened to take legal action
  • OR
  • 97071
Web Older American
01/29/2014 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • FL
  • 34484
Web