Capital Recovery Corporation CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
10/04/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 925XX
Web Older American
On XXXX XXXX, XXXX my wife sent a letter to XXXX XXXX, stating that we were changing health insurance companies to the group policy that her employer offered. The new policy would become effective on XXXX XXXX, XXXX. XXXX XXXX apparently did not receive the letter, so we sent the letter 3 more times over the next few months. In XXXX of XXXX, I re-sent all of the documentation and another letter to XXXX XXXX, Certified Mail - Return Receipt Requested - see attached proof of delivery. Now XXXX XXXX has hired a debt collection agency and they are both claiming that XXXX XXXX never received my cancellation letter and that I owe them for 1 month of premium for coverage that I did not receive, request or use. The proof is clearly available in the Certified Mail Receipt and their statement that I never notified XXXX shows that they are not able to manage their own mail and deliver important documents to the designated departments within the company ( XXXX ).
07/22/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Talked to a third party about my debt
  • CA
  • 920XX
Web
I got contact from a debt collector, CR Corp around XXXX 2015 relating to an outstanding debt to Health Net Insurance that was in an investigation phase with the Department of Managed Healthcare. Before the investigation was finalized they called me to collect {$580.00} that I did not owe to XXXX XXXX. Not only was the debt reported to the credit reporting agencies before a decision was made, when I asked them them to stop calling my cell phone and please contact me in writing instead, the continued to call my cell thereafter and then found a number connected to my relative, not related to this account, and contacted them on XXXX other occasions to collect the debt. My relative confirmed that I had resided with her, unknowing who she was talking to, but consistently told them to please stop calling her about my personal business. Now they are still calling her and my cell and sending threatening letters of judgement as of XXXX XXXX, 2015.
08/27/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • AZ
  • 853XX
Web
I was going to sign up for XXXX through healthcare.gov, but when I found out that I would only get coverage for one month through them and then would have to switch companies, I decided to just go without insurance for one month. I called XXXX and told them I did n't want their coverage for the one month, and did not pay the premium, thus never activated my insurance. I have now been sent to collections through XXXX for a premium I should n't owe. They never provided coverage to me. I told them I did n't want their coverage, which again they did n't ever provide because it was never activated for that month. In addition to my complaint that they are billing me for services they never provided me, as far as I know through the affordable care act, it is illegal for them to send me to collections for an unpaid medical premium in the first place.
09/28/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • CA
  • 951XX
Web Older American
A collection agency, pretending to be a medical clinic, mailed a bill for {$440.00} two months AFTER my insurance company had already settled the bill. There was no date of service stated on the bill There was no type of service stated on the bill The bill was titled " 1st Notice '' to make it look as if it was in collections. The company has since admitted that it is a collection agency working on behalf of a medical clinic to collect payment for services. I am a senior citizen and if I were not able to contact my insurance carrier, I would have no method of sorting out the details of this billing error.
02/20/2017 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • CA
  • 900XX
Web
I continuously get calls from a XXXX from CR Corp calling that I owe them money. The calls come at XXXX every morning. I do n't know what this is about. I do n't want to call them back because after looking up this company, they appear to be a collection agency. I do n't owe any money and I do n't know why this company continuosly calls me.
05/09/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • CA
  • 917XX
Web
I keep getting calls from different numbers, claiming that they're XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX and are collecting debt on behalf of XXXX XXXX XXXX. I haven't received a letter of validation for my debt. They did not even disclose how much I owe. I haven't even received an email, which I know XXXX XXXX has my email.
09/10/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • WA
  • 98038
Web
05/11/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • CA
  • 91605
Web
03/08/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • CA
  • 92614
Postal mail
06/20/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • WA
  • 981XX
Web