CADENCE BANCORPORATION CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
05/13/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem with a lender or other company charging your account
  • Transaction was not authorized
  • TX
  • 77020
Web
I opened a Cadence Bank auto-debit account because I financed my mortgage through them and was informed if I opened an account I would receive a .025 % discount on my mortgage interest rate. In addition to this promotion, my mortgage had to be paid using the auto-debt account as well and my account would not be charged a service fee if the balance exceeded {$500.00}. Initially, I thought this was a win, win situation because my account would never go below {$500.00} dollars because my mortgage payment exceeded that amount each month. However, about a few months ago, dating back from XXXX my account has been continuously charged a {$6.00} service fee monthly. I recently just noticed the charges as I was reviewing my monthly statements. I immediately called Cadence Bank to understand why I was being charged when my account superseded the required amount. I was informed by a customer service representative that Cadence Bank no longer waived fees for any checking account. I was never informed of this and immediately asked how this could impact my mortgage agreement with them. I was informed if I changed banks to pay my mortgage I would incur a higher interest fees on my monthly mortgage payment. At this point, I am livid because I agreed to finance my mortgage through Cadence because of the interest savings I would incur if I opened an account. I was never told that my checking account would be charged service fees - that defeats the point of me signing on and opening the account in the first place when they are essentially charging me on a monthly basis what I would be saving using their auto-debt account. It's just unfair and predatory lending that keeps people stuck using their accounts. In addition, I have had issues with their Mortgage Servicing Department as they will not incorporate my tax savings from my Homestead Exemption. Isn't that my right as a US citizen? I am essentially being charged 25 % more in escrow tax payments because of this. I have tried to copy the XXXX County Tax Assessors ' office on email with the servicing department to confirm the documentation I provided is what is required for tax savings and it has now been 14 months and nothing has changed. There is no direct contact number to speak with any supervising manager and none of my complaint have been answered. Please help. XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX
05/06/2021 Yes
  • Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service
  • International money transfer
  • Wrong amount charged or received
  • AL
  • 35242
Web
I enlisted the service of Cadence bank starting in XX/XX/2020 in order to make a transfer of XXXX USD in order to finish paying for a property purchase in XXXX. After four failed transfer attempts ( this string of disasters has been documented with the XXXX XXXX over the course of approximately six months and almost losing the property due to Cadences inability to fulfill any of the four wire transfers to the XXXX XXXX bank account, I was forced to threaten legal action property purchase be lost. On the fifth attempt, the transfer was successful, which marks the beginning of the complaint that I am now submitting. Upon reviewing my Cadence account from which the XXXX XXXX was to be taken, I noticed two things which constitute the bulk of this complaint. Firstly, I had been charged wire transfer fees for each transfer attempt. I do not accept paying for four transfer fees that were never completed. The contact at the bank, XXXX, indicated that I must shoulder these fees due to the fact that despite the outcome, wire work had been performed and therefore I was responsible for these fees. I do not agree ; I did not receive the intended outcome for the service I ostensibly paid for, therefore I should not have to shoulder those fees ( the four failed transfer fees total XXXX USD ). I am obviously willing to pay for the one successful transfer, but not for five. Secondly, the amount which was taken out of my account totaled XXXX USD. I only authorised a transfer of XXXX. Upon questioning XXXX, she could not provide me with an answer ( the common response from Cadence is I am asking department X, Y or Z about it but subsequently do not receive any acceptable answer to my questions ). Essentially, after four failed international transfer attempts, Cadence has additionally 1 ) transferred more money that I authorised and 2 ) charged me for services that were not provided. I have sent an email to XXXX on XX/XX/XXXX explaining my position on these two points, but have not yet received a response from her. After 6+ months of dealing with XXXX XXXX from Cadence, I am understandably reluctant to wait any longer.
07/17/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Savings account
  • Managing an account
  • Problem making or receiving payments
  • GA
  • 30824
Web Older American
RE : COMPLAINT ID XXXX SUBMITTED ON XX/XX/XXXX This complaint referenced above has been closed with XXXX XXXX XXXX stating Cadence Bank must now contact the federal reserve to attempt to locate my missing {$7000.00} payment from the Cadence Savings Account ending in XXXX. I've copied the original complaint below and will attach XXXX XXXX XXXX 's final complaint response and redacted XXXX Statement. I must now respectfully enlist your support in dealing with Cadence Bank as my numerous attempts in person and on the phone dealing with local and regional management has yielded nothing but the continuing accusation that XXXX XXXX XXXX lost my money and that they were responsible for returning it. Please help me ; again. Attempted a split payment of my XXXX XXXX XXXX credit card bill due XX/XX/XXXX. A portion of the balance was taken from business checking and the other from personal savings as it was a large medical bill. Both accounts were debited. Three days later an email arrives stating the {$7000.00} debit from savings had been returned unpaid. After four separate phone calls to XXXX XXXX XXXXXXXX and several to Cadence Bank ( where the saving account resides ) I still have the funds missing from my account yet XXXX XXXX XXXXXXXX says they never received it to refund it. XXXX XXXX XXXXXXXX claims I entered routing/account information wrong on their website yet the money was debited and 2 and a half weeks later has not been returned. Cadence Bank is conducting their own internal investigation. XXXX XXXX XXXX, whose representative named Justice in digital banking had said the money would be returned to Cadence Bank with 10 business days ( today. ) Today XXXX says the money doesn't exist to return. I must pay the {$7000.00} by XX/XX/XXXX ( the next due date ) but have not interest in paying another {$7000.00} until the first {$7000.00} has been returned to me. I'm extremely displeased with XXXX XXXX XXXXXXXX at this point and find their handing of the entire matter wholly unacceptable. Please help.
05/26/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Funds not handled or disbursed as instructed
  • MA
  • 02199
Web
Cadence Bank sends notifications of the customer account activities via unsecured and not encrypted email messages. The information in the messages includes payment transaction amounts and names of the payees and is made accessible by unauthorized third parties. When contacted by the customer about the issue, Cadence Bank responded that they do not consider transaction amounts and payee 's addresses sensitive information. Cadence bank rationale of not protecting transaction amounts and payee addresses as sensitive information, as expressed in the attached response from its customer service, was that it is the same information " as would be printed on a physical receipt at any merchant ''. While I understand that certain physical instruments used in processing payments by the banking systems contain payee 's name and transaction amount, I expect that such physical instruments are protected from being accessed by unauthorized third parties by being physically stored in secured locations or transported by mail carriers with appropriate level of security. It appears to me that Cadence Bank 's management does not understand the difference between storing and transporting sensitive customer data via physical instruments and unsecured and not encrypted email messages. Perhaps the Cadence Bank 's management is not aware that information that is transmitted by unsecured email messages is travelling through multiple internet cables and routers, it is being stored in unsecured and not encrypted form by many parties handling the data transmission, and as such is easily accessible by unauthorized third parties anywhere in the world. There are plenty information online describing why companies should not use unsecured email to transmit the type of information that consumers would like to keep private. For example, a quick internet search can point Cadence Bank management to the following article XXXX XXXX XXXX
05/04/2021 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem
  • Investigation took more than 30 days
  • GA
  • 30312
Web
I am becoming more and more frustrated. I understand that mistakes happen. Nevertheless after repeatedly communicating with you company that the information that your company has been reporting is inaccurate I would like to think that you all would act fast to resolve the issue. Especially since this is a violation of ( 15 USC 1692e ), which states that ( 2 ) the false representation of ( A ) the character, is illegal! This is also a violation of ( 15 USC 1692d ) 1. ( 1 ) The use or threat of use of violence or other criminal means to harm the physical person, REPUTATION, or property of any person. By reporting inaccurate items on my credit report you are tarnishing my reputation which I will not allow even if I have to seek litigation. Also this is clearly defamation of character! Which I remind is you will not be difficult to prove in a court of law. 1. I can prove the information being reported is invalid 2. I can identify your company as being the one who made the false statement ( copy of your report is easy evidence ) 3. I also can prove that this was reckless and was a knowingly made action ( I have evidence that I have contacted you guys about the error and know actions have been taken ) 4.The statement was published ( once again my copy of your reports can be used as evidence for this ) 5. The false statement harmed me ( I have proof of the denial letters that have occurred because of your misleading information being provided on my credit report ). Also let me remind you that the banking system relies on the accuracy and fairness of credit reporting! According to FAIR CREDIT REPORTING ACT 15 USC 1681! In case you did not know Civil Liability ( REMEDY ) ( 15 USC 1692k ) states that I can receive compensation for each violation! So please resolve this ASAP or I will seek litigation!
02/26/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem with a lender or other company charging your account
  • Transaction was not authorized
  • MD
  • 21403
Web
I authorized State Bank and Trust of Georgia to auto-debit interest payments from my personal bank account with XXXX XXXX XXXX in Maryland. State Bank and Trust has recently been purchased by Cadence Bank , N.A . On XX/XX/19 Cadence Bank , N.A . debited through ACH {$950.00}. On XX/XX/19, State Bank and Trust debited {$950.00} from the same account. This second payment was not authorized. I contacted the bank as soon as I learned of this through a review of my financial records. This second erroneous and unauthorized debit from my account put a significant strain on my finances and required utilization of overdraft coverage with XXXX XXXX XXXX. My online account with Cadence Bank , N.A . confirmed a credit for {$95000.00}. There was no record or credit of the second debit of the same amount. I contact a banking representative who stated after XXXX emails that the bank was investigating. I emailed again on XX/XX/19. A response stated that I should be receiving a credit from my account. I have no credit in my account at XXXX XXXX XXXX as of this writing. Cadence Bank, NA has violated the terms of my ACH authorization. I have emailed twice regarding my revocation of authorization for auto-debits from my account. They refuse to acknowledge this request. I have placed a stop payment with XXXX XXXX XXXX for Cadence Bank and State Bank and Trust for any auto-debits. I have email a copy of a letter to this effect. I am requesting help should I not receive a credit, in a timely fashion, for this erroneous second debit which has cause my family significant financial hardship. They refuse to acknowledge this hardship or my desire to be invoiced directly, prior to authorizing payment, for any interest payment due on this loan.
03/31/2019 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Trouble during payment process
  • TX
  • 75077
Web
The mortgage company is holding funds for a homeowners insurance claim. The funds from that are being shown on the monthly statement. Received a statement showing a negative balance ( XX/XX/XXXX. XXXX {$6700.00} ). Called in ( XX/XX/XXXX ) and was instructed that since the balance was negative, I did not need to pay. Received a call a couple of weeks ( XX/XX/XXXX ) later looking for payment. Explained what had happened. They apologized, and I set up a payment. Was told on that call that it was an error in the way the statements are generated and it should be corrected. 1 ) I was assessed a late fee of {$27.00}. This is after a ) they send statements that inaccurately show the amount due XXXX it is a negative number ), and b ) they told me not to worry about the payment since the statement showed a negative balance and c ) I paid within 48 hours after they called and explained THEIR mistake. 2 ) The statements are still wrong. The statement dated XX/XX/XXXX shows a balance of - {$6100.00}, and an amount due of the same amount ( - {$6100.00} ). This should be corrected as it is misleading to the consumer, me, and misleading to the folks working at the bank since they told me not to worry about paying with such a large negative balance.
12/09/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • CD (Certificate of Deposit)
  • Managing an account
  • Problem with renewal
  • AL
  • 36461
Web
In XXXX of 2020, I received a card dated XX/XX/2020 stating my certificates of deposit at Cadence Bank in XXXX, Alabama were up for renewal and I had ten days to respond or the CDs would automatically renew for the same term at the interest rate in effect on the maturity date. I called the toll free number and it went to the bank in XXXX, Alabama. A female employee told me she would ask someone in the XXXX branch to contact me. A few days later, Ms. XXXX XXXX, Branch Manager of the XXXX Cadence Bank, called me. We discussed the CDs and I agreed to renew the CDs for six months at a rate of .60 % which she stated was the rate the bank gave to their customers who had had accounts for years. She asked me to come in and sign the forms. Because of the Covid 19 pandemic, I told her I was in the high risk group and did not feel comfortable coming into the branch to sign the forms for renewal. She agreed to put the forms in the mail the next day for me to sign and return. However, I never received the forms. When I called her two weeks later, she apologized for not sending the forms and promised again to send the forms. I did not receive these forms either. I called for a third time and she again promised to send the forms. ( See attached sheet )
09/30/2019 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Struggling to pay mortgage
  • GA
  • 30075
Web
I have had this mortgage for almost 8 years now, previously with State Bank. State Bank was bought out by Cadence Bank and my mortgage now keeps changing. I went from a 3.75 % interest rate and it has adjusted several times, most recently all the way up now to 6.375 %. When I called the bank they said it was based on Wall Street, however interest rates are lower than they've been so while the rest of the nation is seeing rates drops, my mortgage keeps raising my interest. My payment for almost 8 years was $ XXXX {$2800.00}. I just got my most recent statement and it spiked all the way up to {$5600.00}. This does NOT include insurance and taxes which is another {$2000.00} month for me. I'm not able to pay this much and don't know why my mortgage jumped so high! When I called they said it was because it was interest only and now principal is being applied, but I never had an interest only loan. I had always had principal and interest with my original loan. I don't know why or how it is legal for Cadence Bank to make these changes that are detrimental to my home. I can not afford this mortgage based on what they have done and I'm afraid I will loose my home if this doesn't get resolved asap!
02/21/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Problem accessing account
  • GA
  • 30309
Web
Last Friday, I received an email stating State Bank was merging with Cadence Bank and our online banking was no longer available. I tried to use Cadence Bank 's instructions to access my account without success. I called Cadence Bank on Saturday morning ( per the customer service hours on the website which are not accurate ) and there was no one available to assist me. Monday was a bank holiday. I called the customer service line again on Tuesday. I waited 10 minutes and someone answered ( XXXX, I think ) and said they had IT issues and she would call me back. Nothing. I called several times on Wednesday and no one at customer service ever answered. I've had no access to my account for almost a week and can not pay bills via bill pay ( which are now getting late fees ), have no idea what is being debited from my account, and can not make online deposits. The XXXX XXXX branch tried to help me yesterday and can not and has me on a list of IT issues. I think it is unacceptable for a financial institution to have such disregard for it's customers and cut access to their accounts for this length of time without resolution.
08/16/2021 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Problem accessing account
  • FL
  • 34653
Web Servicemember
I closed my account because they let XXXX take funds from my account could not tell me for what I made joke about going after XXXX for my money bank called police sent my house XXXX threat but real reason I have refunds about {$200.00} and they are holding my funds plus cant access old account for {$230.00} taking out for fake XXXX purchase I never received need documents to send to XXXX they took money out my account but cant find it???? I just want my bank stand my refunds that I can prove items returned purchase with cadence bank and XXXX bank they called police on me after joke made and after speaking to bank manager saying it was joke sent police to my home .XXXX people quick to call authorities on XXXX people if they feel uncomfortable threatened just refund my money never seen any XXXX employees working for cadence bank either
01/14/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Fee problem
  • MS
  • 39759
Web
Dear Government Officer : I'm a customer of a cadence bank in Mississippi. From last XXXX. They changed the account policy. Start to charge me {$6.00} each month for maintaining the account. Although my my deposit never lower than {$250.00}. But they automatically classify my account into the group which needed to pay month fee. ( Earlier the policy is over {$50.00} ). And accoring to the manger, s own word they only mail a letter to inform this policy change, but for years they already no longer sended papaer based account details by mail but tell us to use the e-account to check account detail. In my opinion this is a kind of fraud to all the customers. Hope you can help them to correct this behaver. Thank you.
07/26/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Other banking product or service
  • Problem caused by your funds being low
  • Overdrafts and overdraft fees
  • AL
  • 35480
Web Servicemember
XX/XX/XXXX I deposit a check to pay my bills I had enough money to pay my bills But Cadence Bank held the check and caused over drafts on to of my bills all together that cost me about XXXX XXXX dollars that I needed I went to the bank to request that I be refunded my money that has not happened. Cadence is bad about not refunding your money back I have had several incident where money was taken out of my account and cost overdrafts and Cadence never refund even for reversals that not your fault I complained about the ATM machine shorted me XXXX and the bank never refunded me that either Cadence Bank is very bad by not giving you your money back. I have a fixed income and they could care less.
11/18/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem with a lender or other company charging your account
  • Transaction was not authorized
  • GA
  • 30319
Web
On XX/XX/16, my account was erroneously charged with a {$170.00} charge that appears in my account as : AC-XXXX XXXX XXXX -GA XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. I went into Cadence Bank, where the account is held, to dispute the charge in writing. As of this date, XX/XX/2016, I still do not have my funds returned and have not gotten any resolution. In XXXX, this happened - same AC payee info, I went into the bank to dispute, and the funds were returned. Unfortunately, the account got hit again with no safeguards even though I was assured this would not happen again. We do not pay our taxes out of this account, do not have our epin tied to this account and do not owe any GA taxes.
05/27/2020 Yes
  • Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan
  • Personal line of credit
  • Getting a line of credit
  • TX
  • 77242
Web Servicemember
On XX/XX/2020, I immediately applied for line of credit, PPP, sba loans, grants and any money I could access since I had to close my XXXX XXXX of 15 years, I hoped for only a few months. I help consignors, communities, XXXX patients, elderly, battered women, children shelters and the Endangered monarch butterflies showing and assisting women how they can start over in life. I have received NO help whatsoever. Please, someone help us. Please.
08/21/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Opening an account
  • Unable to open an account
  • GA
  • 30824
Web
On XX/XX/XXXX and XX/XX/XXXX I applied for an bank account, but was told that they had to decline my application. The reason for declining my application, because my Credit report had a freeze on it. I have spent two days reaching all three credit bureaus about having a freeze on my report. All three credit bureau stated that I DONT have a security freeze. So, now I can not open any accounts, because of this.
02/08/2021 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Funds not handled or disbursed as instructed
  • GA
  • 30096
Web Older American
I made an electronic payment, the company never received it, found that out 5 weeks after the payment was made. So, a stop payment was issued, I was charged {$35.00} for that process, Cadence Bank said the funds, {$1700.00}, are being put back in my account on XX/XX/2021. As of XX/XX/2021, the funds have not been returned. When I call the bank, they tell that they are working on it.
12/26/2018 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account status incorrect
  • WV
  • 26003
Web
XXXX Shows Me owing a Balance on XXXX and XXXX this is incorrect
09/22/2021 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Fee problem
  • AL
  • 35768
Referral
07/23/2021 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Trouble during payment process
Phone Older American, Servicemember
05/12/2021 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Other banking product or service
  • Closing an account
  • Company closed your account
  • GA
  • 30501
Phone
04/27/2021 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account information incorrect
  • TX
  • 77365
Web
12/03/2020 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Other type of mortgage
  • Trouble during payment process
  • ME
  • 04640
Referral
10/28/2020 Yes
  • Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service
  • International money transfer
  • Fraud or scam
Web
10/06/2020 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • WA
  • 98012
Web
08/11/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Deposits and withdrawals
  • GA
  • 31030
Referral
06/29/2020 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Struggling to pay mortgage
  • GA
  • 30622
Phone Older American
06/17/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Problem using a debit or ATM card
  • CO
  • 80517
Referral
05/28/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • CD (Certificate of Deposit)
  • Managing an account
  • Deposits or withdrawals
  • FL
  • 33573
Referral
05/06/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Banking errors
  • GA
  • 30066
Referral
03/23/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Opening an account
  • Account opened as a result of fraud
  • GA
  • 30809
Web
02/28/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Fee problem
  • NY
  • 10031
Referral
02/21/2020 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem caused by your funds being low
  • Overdrafts and overdraft fees
  • GA
  • 31310
Phone Older American
01/27/2020 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Trouble during payment process
  • TX
  • 77072
Phone
01/23/2020 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Trouble during payment process
  • GA
  • 31204
Referral
12/13/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Problem with a lender or other company charging your account
  • Transaction was not authorized
  • OH
  • 44102
Referral
11/18/2019 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account status incorrect
  • FL
  • 34212
Web
10/25/2019 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Struggling to pay mortgage
  • GA
  • 31091
Phone Older American, Servicemember
09/11/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Problem using a debit or ATM card
  • GA
  • 31210
Referral
07/29/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Other banking product or service
  • Managing an account
  • Problem accessing account
  • MS
  • 38821
Phone
05/21/2019 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Incorrect information on your report
Phone Older American, Servicemember
05/15/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Checking account
  • Managing an account
  • Funds not handled or disbursed as instructed
Phone
04/02/2019 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Struggling to pay mortgage
Phone Servicemember
03/22/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • CD (Certificate of Deposit)
  • Closing an account
  • Can't close your account
  • FL
  • 33912
Referral
03/21/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Other banking product or service
  • Managing an account
  • Problem making or receiving payments
  • SC
  • 29841
Referral
03/04/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • CD (Certificate of Deposit)
  • Closing an account
  • Funds not received from closed account
Phone Older American
02/28/2019 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Closing on a mortgage
  • TX
  • 77550
Web
01/22/2019 Yes
  • Checking or savings account
  • Other banking product or service
  • Managing an account
  • Deposits and withdrawals
  • GA
  • 31028
Referral