Brown’s New Credit Bureau Inc. CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
01/10/2019 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • NC
  • 28590
Web Servicemember
XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, Az XXXX XX/XX/2018 This is my second attempt of formally asking you to validate this alleged debt. In regards to this alleged debt, I am sending this complaint through the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau requesting the following documented information from your company : I would like this angency to provide me with the information in accordance with the " Fair Debt Collection Practice Act '' [ 15 U.S.C. 1692 et seq. ] 1 ) The original or certified copy ( NOT a photocopy ) of the parse synatx grammer document contract signed by the authorized representative of your agency and autographed by myself, that each individual entered into knowingly, intelligently, with full disclosure, and with a meeting of the minds saying that I owe you or your agency payment of this alleged debt, with both your agencies authorized representative 's wet ink signature and my wet ink signature. 2 ) Proof that this debt has not been " wrote off '' to an insurance company and claimed as a " business loss '' and redeemed through an insurance claim by the original creditor. 3 ) Proof that this debt has not been sold to your agency for a lesser amount, and if so the amount your company purchased the allege debt for. 4 ) Your agencies license to lawfully and legally to collect debt in the state of NORTH CAROLINA and provide me with your agencies license number. I am fully aware of your license number in the state of Arizona which is 00000017. 5 ) Validation of the alleged debt ( the actual accounting showing loss to your agency ) and the CUSIP number of the alleged debt along with a copy of a completed XXXX and Total Amount Due statement. 6 ) Verification of your agencies claim against me ( either a sworn affidavit or hand-signed invoice ) 7 ) The original or a true and certified copy ( NOT a photocopy ) of the Original Note or Promissory Note ( Credit Agreement ) under penalty of perjury, that I have with your agency showing my agreement to pay to your company this alleged debt. 8 ) The name of the authorized representative from your agency who has carried out due diligence and what actions s/he has taken in regards to this alleged debt. 9 ) The contract between your agency and the original alleged creditor saying they gave your agency authority to collect the alleged debt with both agencies authorized representatives wet ink signature. 10 ) Proof that I was given FULL disclosure of any contract signed between your agency and myself, and/or I was I was given FULL disclosure of any contract signed between your agency and the alleged creditor. 11. ) Proof the Statute of Limitations has not expired on this account.10. ) Proof that I was given FULL disclosure of any contract signed between your agency and myself, and/or proof Please be advised, if your agency has reported invalidated information to any of the major Credit Bureaus, said action might constitute fraud under your Federal and State Laws. If any negative marks are found on any of my credit reports by your agency, this may result in a legal action against you or your agency for the following : Violation of the Fair Credit Reporting Act Violation of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act Also, if your agency continues to attempt to collect any alleged debt, that I do not legally or lawfully owe to your agency that could constitute as : Violation of U.S.C. title 18 Section 872 ; attempts to extort Violation of U.S.C. title 18 Section 1341, 1342 ; Fraud and swindles, use of fictitious names through postal services ( Addressing alleged debtor by improperly spelled name/ALL CAPITAL ) If and when your agency provides me with ALL of the information requested above, I will require at least 30 days to investigate and verify ALL information provided. NOTICE : The use of any statutes, codes, rules, or regulations by this alleged debtor, shall not be construed by your agency or any other person ( s ) or agencies that alleged debtor has submitted to, or entered into any jurisdiction of any agency or other person ( s ). I do not give your agency consent to contact me by phone, I will be in contact with your agency only by mail. If your agency can not produce all said information stated above and/or does not respond to this letter within 21 days, a dishonor has occurred and you agree to the following, 1. ) The alleged debt did not exist in the first place ; OR 2. ) The alleged debt has already been paid in full ; 3. ) There is not and never was a contract binding your agency and myself that was entered knowingly and intelligently stating I owe such alleged debt ; 4. ) Any negative remarks made to a credit reference agency in regards to this alleged debt will be immediately removed ; 5. ) You or your agency will no longer pursue this matter, you or your agency will offset the balance of this alleged debt to XXXX ( XXXX ) and close this account ; By : XXXX XXXX No assured value, No liability. Errors & Omissions Excepted. All Rights Reserved. WITHOUT PREJUDICE WITHOUT RECOURSE Sincerely, XXXX XXXX
07/15/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • NC
  • 28590
Web Servicemember
XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, Az XXXX XX/XX/2018 In regards to this alleged debt, I am sending this complaint through the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau requesting the following documented information from your company : I would like this angency to provide me with the information in accordance with the " Fair Debt Collection Practice Act '' [ 15 U.S.C. 1692 et seq. ] 1 ) The original or certified copy ( NOT a photocopy ) of the parse synatx grammer document contract signed by the authorized representative of your agency and autographed by myself, that each individual entered into knowingly, intelligently, with full disclosure, and with a meeting of the minds saying that I owe you or your agency payment of this alleged debt, with both your agencies authorized representative 's wet ink signature and my wet ink signature. 2 ) Proof that this debt has not been " wrote off '' to an insurance company and claimed as a " business loss '' and redeemed through an insurance claim by the original creditor. 3 ) Proof that this debt has not been sold to your agency for a lesser amount, and if so the amount your company purchased the allege debt for. 4 ) Your agencies license to lawfully and legally to collect debt in the state of North Carolina and provide me with your agencies license number. I am fully aware of your license number in the state of Arizona which is XXXX. 5 ) Validation of the alleged debt ( the actual accounting showing loss to your agency ) and the XXXX number of the alleged debt along with a copy of a completed XXXX and Total Amount Due statement. 6 ) Verification of your agencies claim against me ( either a sworn affidavit or hand-signed invoice ) 7 ) The original or a true and certified copy ( NOT a photocopy ) of the Original Note or Promissory Note ( Credit Agreement ) under penalty of perjury, that I have with your agency showing my agreement to pay to your company this alleged debt. 8 ) The name of the authorized representative from your agency who has carried out due diligence and what actions s/he has taken in regards to this alleged debt. 9 ) The contract between your agency and the original alleged creditor saying they gave your agency authority to collect the alleged debt with both agencies authorized representatives wet ink signature. 10 ) Proof that I was given FULL disclosure of any contract signed between your agency and myself, and/or I was I was given FULL disclosure of any contract signed between your agency and the alleged creditor. 11. ) Proof the Statute of Limitations has not expired on this account.10. ) Proof that I was given FULL disclosure of any contract signed between your agency and myself, and/or proof Please be advised, if your agency has reported invalidated information to any of the major Credit Bureaus, said action might constitute fraud under your Federal and State Laws. If any negative marks are found on any of my credit reports by your agency, this may result in a legal action against you or your agency for the following : Violation of the Fair Credit Reporting Act Violation of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act Also, if your agency continues to attempt to collect any alleged debt, that I do not legally or lawfully owe to your agency that could constitute as : Violation of U.S.C. title 18 Section 872 ; attempts to extort Violation of U.S.C. title 18 Section 1341, 1342 ; Fraud and swindles, use of fictitious names through postal services ( Addressing alleged debtor by improperly spelled name/ALL CAPITAL ) If and when your agency provides me with ALL of the information requested above, I will require at least 30 days to investigate and verify ALL information provided. NOTICE : The use of any statutes, codes, rules, or regulations by this alleged debtor, shall not be construed by your agency or any other person ( s ) or agencies that alleged debtor has submitted to, or entered into any jurisdiction of any agency or other person ( s ). I do not give your agency consent to contact me by phone, I will be in contact with your agency only by mail. If your agency can not produce all said information stated above and/or does not respond to this letter within 21 days, a dishonor has occurred and you agree to the following, 1. ) The alleged debt did not exist in the first place ; OR 2. ) The alleged debt has already been paid in full ; 3. ) There is not and never was a contract binding your agency and myself that was entered knowingly and intelligently stating I owe such alleged debt ; 4. ) Any negative remarks made to a credit reference agency in regards to this allegeddebt will be immediately removed ; 5. ) You or your agency will no longer pursue this matter, you or your agency will offset the balance of this alleged debt to zero ( 0.00 ) and close this account ; By : XXXX XXXX No assured value, No liability. Errors & Omissions Excepted. All Rights Reserved. WITHOUT PREJUDICE WITHOUT RECOURSE Sincerely, XXXX XXXX
09/20/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • AZ
  • 85364
Web
About 3 years ago the wife had XXXX. XXXXnsurance covered most of it but the gas to put her under was not covered we didnt know at the moment that it didnt cover nothing so we had to pay everything out the pocket. We couldnt pay it at the time. So they had sent her information to browns collection. After about 12 months I get a call from ( Ms XXXX ) stating that they kept on send me mail ( they had the wrong address ) to get the debt paid. That I needed to pay her debt since we are married and it can affect me credit. So I started to send payments as they requested. The wife asked if they had a debt settlement which she stated they didn't that we had to pay everything in full. So I never missed a payment until recently due to covid19. Around XXXX Ms. XXXX calls and advised that the payment was due. I advised her that Im the only one working and wont be able to make the payments since they took my overtime away. She said she was going to note it in her system. Which was good i didnt think they were going to make a big thing about it since everyone is going through this covid19. I also asked if they had any help ( Hold on payments ) they can give due to covd19. She replied no they only have it for people that are paying over XXXX a month. I said ok and let it be. XXXX comes around and she calls me around the XXXX around XXXX ( 10 days before due date ) that there is 2 payments ( XXXX and XXXX ) Due on that same day she called me. I advised her that i still havent gotten my hours back. She continued to say that the debt will collect interest and that my information will be sent to attorney if i dont send the payment. I advised her that I dont have the money at the moment that Im not going to leave my family with out food. To do what she needed to do to get her money. She said she was going to note it. We will be sending her what we can until I get my overtime back.
06/09/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • GA
  • 31320
Web Servicemember
My medical debt was transferred from XXXX XXXX XXXX to Browns Collection Service in XX/XX/XXXX. In XXXX of XXXX I explained that I did not have the funds to pay in full and could realistically pay {$200.00}. They told me the minimum was {$280.00} and that it was a courtesy they didn't need to offer. I sent 3 payments, only 2 were received. They are now threatening me with a lawsuit if I do not pay in full. During a global pandemic. I do not have the funds to pay {$3600.00}. When I was trying to work out an arrangement, XXXX XXXX was rude the entire time. Told me I was " lucky '' to even be getting a payment arrangement, and that the lawsuit would take care of dealing with me if I couldn't. XXXX has yelled at me numerous times, told me I was poor with money management, alleged that my husband should take care of it if I couldn't, and said my inability to pay was " luxury items '' she told me I had no reason why I couldn't take care of it, didn't ask if I was struggling with employment, or other life events, and said that she was the expert after 20 years of doing this and that my account isn't special. XXXX. Unreasonable torment for someone that's just trying to do the right thing and pay their bills.
01/19/2022 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened or suggested your credit would be damaged
  • AZ
  • 85350
Web
i called Browns Collection Agency at XXXX i requested validation of these accounts showing where I received this type of service and they have not yet provided them I disputed these items with the credit bureaus and it has been over 60 days and still no response Browns Collections have threaten me to take me to jail if I don't pay these account all i ask them to do is to verified my accounts i want to know what services were provided i want a copy of the original contract with my wet signature and authorization for them to release my medical information I have an understanding that if they cant verify the debt it has to be removed from my credit report they keep sending threats of reporting these accounts to the credit report agencies acct # XXXX {$3100.00} acct # XXXX {$31000.00} acct # XXXX {$3000.00} balance on credit report shows incorrectly acct # XXXX {$500.00} acct # XXXX {$500.00} acct # XXXX {$720.00} acct # XXXX {$56.00} acct # XXXX {$77.00}
03/04/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Threatened to contact someone or share information improperly
  • Contacted your employer
  • AZ
  • 85365
Web
On XX/XX/2019 my son was ill and treated in the ED. I had started a new job and was in a 30 day window of no insurance. The ED bill was {$4200.00} and was swiftly transferred to collections in a very short time. The collection agency has contacted me a few times. Today they contacted me and refused any payment plan short of {$100.00} a month which I stated I can not afford. I explained the financial hardship Ive experienced with the loss of a job back in XXXX and am just getting stable again. The representative told me if you dont pay, then our attorney Mr. XXXX will contact your employer directly to collect the money. I stated do not make empty threats to me. You can not contact my employer to take money without a court order. The representative replied Im just telling you what our attorney will do. And then promptly hung up on me. The agency refuses to work with me on a payment plan and is now threatening to take illegal actions.
06/10/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Contacted me after I asked not to
  • AZ
  • 85364
Web
on XXXX/XXXX/16 at XXXX I received a call from a XXXX XXXX introducing her self requesting why the bill had n't been paid after several notices had went out, when I asked to verify the address or the amount she responded never even advising me where the collection was from, 'you got the letters and continued yelling, i asked can she please lower her voice and i would verify my address since i moved within the last year. She continued yelling and cussing ( so not necessary ) XXXX if you do n't give me your address i will find you one way or another. i asked again please lower your voice there is no need to yell she continued with Im not yelling and im done i will find you, then hung up, i called back to speak to a supervisor and she answered the call saying she was the supervisor and that XXXX XXXX did n't have time for this nonsense and hung up again.
10/05/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • AZ
  • 85364
Web
I noticed this account was listed as a collection on my credit report as ( Browns collection services ) with a phone number of XXXX I had no idea what it was for so I requested a Validation of debt to them and received a response on XX/XX/2020 with a letter stating this was a copy of a bill from XXXX with a copy of my medical treatment information which stated what medical procedures where done and the cost also a copy of the office policy but never did they send me a Release form to share all this medical information with the collection agency This is a violation of my rights The HIPAA law protects patient privacy and that includes third party debt collectors accessing your information. They also never send me a notice of my right to dispute the debt and on the statement send to me the balance is {$250.00} but they are reporting a debt of {$420.00}
01/20/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened or suggested your credit would be damaged
  • GA
  • 31320
Web Servicemember
Browns Collection Service violates the SCRA laws. My husband is listed as a co-owner on this debt and was called to XXXX XXXX service which should have rendered the payment to be less than 6 % interest. I have been paying 10 % interest for the entire time. When I call and ask about it, they say they do not have to honor SCRA benefits and admitted that it was above them, which means they have also been damaging other service members credit accounts.
08/03/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • MA
  • 02571
Web
Past due medical bill from XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX was purchased by Browns Collection Service out of XXXX Arizona with my original balance being {$1800.00}. Browns collection service has been charging me interest that was not part of my original contract with the hospital. The last balance I received from Browns Collection Service was {$3100.00}. There has been at least {$1300.00} that I have been charged in interest I never agreed to.
04/29/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was discharged in bankruptcy
  • AZ
  • 85344
Web
They keep showing account open and reporting it to " my credit report ''. This was discharged in bankruptcy, I would like them to show it closed.
03/04/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was result of identity theft
  • AZ
  • 85022
Web
I have a fraudulent account on my credit report that I have never heard of.
05/02/2022 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • AZ
  • 85350
Web
05/02/2022 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened or suggested your credit would be damaged
  • AZ
  • 85350
Web
04/10/2022 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem
  • Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
  • AZ
  • 85364
Web
02/18/2022 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Information belongs to someone else
  • AZ
  • 85364
Web
07/01/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • AZ
  • 85349
Web
06/22/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • AZ
  • 85349
Web
06/22/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • AZ
  • 85349
Web
08/23/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • AZ
  • 85713
Phone
04/30/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Sued you without properly notifying you of lawsuit
  • AZ
  • 85364
Web
06/26/2017 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • AZ
  • 85364
Web
04/28/2017 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Notification didn't disclose it was an attempt to collect a debt
  • TX
  • 75070
Web
11/11/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • PA
  • 15017
Web Older American