ASTA FUNDING INC. CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
06/10/2022 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • CA
  • 95618
Web Older American
This is an official complaint filed against : XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX, the so-called attorneys who never answer the phone and who have their whole website set up as payment scam. Address:XXXX XXXXXXXX XXXX XXXX XXXXXXXX NJ XXXXXXXX Phone : XXXX <>It is also a complaint against 'Palisades Collection ', represented by XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX at the same address.<> <>On XX/XX/XXXX, I was notified by XXXX XXXX that they were holding {$1400.00} of my money to satisfy a mysterious court judgement. Unfortunately, the judgement XXXX referenced was not attached to their form letter. After numerous calls to my bank manager in XXXX, as well as to XXXX corporate office in XXXX XXXX, I was able to get a copy of the court order several days later.<> <>As it happens, I have never heard of either the plaintiff, Palisades Collections, nor XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX, but a cursory XXXX search quickly revealed that Palisades Collection is a junk debt buyer who buys up old debts from banks, credit card companies, cell phone companies, hospitals, and doctors for pennies on the dollar. They have a long history of unscrupulous collection practices. According to the XXXX XXXX XXXX website, Asta Funding, owner of Palisades Collection, has been sued for bringing improper collection action against hundreds of consumers. They have a record of obtaining illegal judgements against unsuspecting victims like myself.<> <>I have never received any communication of any kind from either Palisades Collection or XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX, or their representatives. I have tried calling them over a dozen times since being made aware of this situation, only to have my call repeatedly disconnected, as hundreds of people before me have reported.<> <>I do not recognise the address assigned to me in the court order as a place I ever lived or worked. From XXXX - XXXX, I lived and worked in XXXX XXXX. Prior to moving to XXXX XXXX, I lived and worked on the XXXX XXXX for XXXX year, XX/XX/XXXX - XX/XX/XXXX. This is the only time I lived and/or worked in XXXX XXXX XXXX Prior to that, I lived my entire life in XXXX, where I have lived since XXXX <>When I moved to XXXX XXXX in XX/XX/XXXX, I did not have any debts, or outstanding bills. While it is possible identity theft may have taken place during the XXXX years I lived abroad, had I been properly notified of the situation, as required by law, I could have addressed it immediately.<> <>How is it possible to get hold of someones bank account, without also getting hold of the person at the address attached to that bank account? I am an extraordinarily easy person to find. Always have been.<> <>Summary<> <>This is a travesty of justice and XXXX Bank is as culpable as the instigators for allowing this to happen. I have addressed their top executives about this shameful situation and have successfully had some, but not all, of my money returned because of their failure to honour XXXX State Law. They have proven to be derelict of their duty on a multitude of levels, which will be addressed in due time.<> <>I shudder to think how many innocent people are victimised like this when all it would take is a couple of minutes to identify a criminal operation, like Palisades Collections and XXXX, XXXX & XXXX and put them out of business. Instead we are here, clogging up the courts, wasting everyones time and resources pandering to fraud.<> <>Thank you for giving this grievous situation the prompt attention it deserves.<>
07/06/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • MA
  • 01028
Web
I, XXXX XXXX, hereby file a formal complaint with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau on a law firm that is trying to obtain a wage garnishment on a judgment illegally filed against me in XX/XX/XXXX. I attach copies of my complaint with the Office of Attorney General, Commonwealth of Massachusetts, stating that the original law firm that obtained this judgment obtained this judgment illegally. Since XX/XX/XXXX, the Federal Trade Commission has been active pursuing hundreds of collection agencies that obtain and enforce illegal judgment procedures and subsequently wage garnishments against American consumers illegally. The ethical procedures were simply not followed in my case, and the documentation process on ownership of a debt were not followed by Palisades Collection LLC. The Federal Trade Commission, as the main consumer protective federal agency now has under its supervision another federal agency called the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. This complaint will be forwarded to this agency as part of my request for a true investigative process. The Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, ( 15 USC 1692 et seq. ), which became effective in XXXX XXXX, was designed to eliminate abusive, deceptive, and unfair debt collection practices. The Federal Trade Commission, by federal court action was able to establish a firm collection process for all citizens under FTC v. XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX ( XX/XX/XXXX ). As part of a federal lawsuit for a collection agency using abusive collection practices, the following directive was established for debt mitigation for any licensed collection agency against consumers. That mandate is as follows : A consumer, if given notice of a collection process must be made aware of the original creditor. The balance must be certain along with any applied interest and penalties based upon the original contractual agreement signed upon by the credit obligator. If the debt was assigned for collection, the fact that a validation request was sent to the credit obligator is not relevant unless the collector shows proof of debt assignment from the original creditor. There are no exceptions to this stipulation. As in my lawsuit, I have no knowledge of who the original creditor was, nor given any proof of a legal transfer, either for debt collection purposes or if purchased by a debt buyer. In all aspects of my complaint, there has never been proof of a connection from any original creditor to Palisades Collection, LLC. There can not be a connection by electronic transfer through a debt pooling agreement, and there can be no robo-signature procurement, as the validity of such an arrangement is purely a federal and state violation of my rights in legal collection activities. The debt, if established valid by the XXXX previously mentioned criteria, can not be enforced if deemed no longer collectible by Commonwealth of Massachusetts statutes. On this issue there is also no exception. From my research, Palisades Collection LLC is not licensed as a debt collector or debt buyer. There is great ambiguity as to what Palisades Collection is pertaining to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts Division of Banks. " A debt buyer purchases debt that is already in default and attempts to collect on the purchased debt. A debt buyer must be licensed as a debt collector by the Division of Banks. Debt buyers are subject to the Commonwealth collection laws and regulations. '' My complaint shows serious violations of my rights under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act and legal precedents on proper debt collection procedures with the Attorney General 's Office in Massachusetts. " I believe that in my original lawsuit there consisted of little more than a summary electronic data file from the debt buyer. I have been given no proof of meaningful account-level documentation!!!
02/10/2022 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • FL
  • 34736
Web
This is a debt from XXXX to XXXX cell phone service. The debt not warranted and XXXX XXXX XXXX told me after numerous call that I did not owe this money. Again this was in XXXX, I called XXXX and terminated service to my ex mother in laws phone and step daughters phone. they tried to tell me that they could deactivate the cell phones but if the other party used them it would be reactivated. I told them I would not be able to physically get the phones after numerous calls and talking to numerous people they said they would terminate the contract. No charges would be owed. This again was in XXXX. Palisades somehow bought a collection for this transaction and has filed default judgements sending any correspondence to old addresses. They filed a garnishment through my current employer and sent the notice to an address I have not lived at since XXXX. They had to know my current address as they had to pull my credit report to find my current employer and my address is listed there as well. I filed an exemption from garnishment and they did not even show up for court. I was granted the exemption and they are still calling my employer to try and get a garnishment. I am attaching the signed exemption from the judge. The judge actually emailed me the signed order of exemption to make sure they would not get any payments. This is not even a debt I owe. I didn't know anything about palisades trying to collect this debt until they contacted my employer. This again is a debt from XXXX, 18 yrs ago that was not even a debt I owed. They can't give me any proof whatsoever or even tell me what the debt is for only that it is from XXXX XXXX XXXX. I only had them as a cell provider in XXXX so that is the only thing I can think of that this cold be tied to. They will not stop contacting my employer and threatened me today that they will just keep refiling the garnishment. I will still get an exemption because i am raising my XXXX yr old granddaughter whose father passed away. I was told that they can keep on filing to make me settle the debt. I am not settling a debt I do not owe. They are basically using harassing tactics too try to force me into a settlement.
10/06/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • VA
  • 20120
Web
XX/XX/2018 This started all on XX/XX/2018 when I received an email from my employer about a garnishment for XXXX XXXX aka XXXX XXXX. I've never been XXXX XXXX and I even noticed some time ago XXXX XXXX appeared on my Credit Report and I tried to remove it but it's still there. They related me to XXXX XXXX who probably owes this debt. XXXX XXXX XXXX is collecting on a debt that I do not owe for their client XXXX XXXX. I called XXXX XXXX and they refuse to provide proof that I owe this debt. There is a garnishment on my pay! I've called XXXX XXXX XXXX every day and multiple times a day since my pay was first garnished. I called them when I found out about the garnishment and they were supposed to send me the dispute form but when I gave them my address information they put it in wrong so I never got the forms. My pay was garnished two weeks later and I called again and they were just going to correct the address but I kept calling in irate and they finally emailed me the forms and gave me the information to fax it in. I continue to call and then I started looking up more information for XXXX XXXX and called them, the guy gave me another number of the debt collector to get more information. I called them and they said they just route the collection and that I would need to speak to the debt holder which was some other company name and gave me the number. When I called the new number it was XXXX XXXX and the guy actually picked up and then hung up on me. I called back and just let the phone ring until he finally answered. I continued requesting the information like the contract with my signature for this debt and he kept saying he can't give it to me over and over. Now I continue to call XXXX XXXX XXXX every day checking on the status of the request they sent to their client and they are 'still waiting '. on XX/XX/2018 they said they received a notification that the client sent proof of debt validity and I think it's going to be the judgement from the court which is in the attached pdf. They have already garnished {$1800.00} in a single paycheck. Which is incredible for a DEBT THAT'S NOT EVEN MINE!
12/15/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • NY
  • 11224
Web Servicemember
Greetings is purchasing an coop found out though XXXX XXXX about this debt collection agency filed a civil suit against me in year XXXX for a debt that was from XXXX XXXX. I do not recall owning a credit card from that Bank I am accuse of owning. Contact the bank with my real estate agent and they could not find anything for over a period of transfere and holds. Then after a good hour they said I had a checking account their which I had with my son but no credit card from what Im being accused of owning money on however received information they sold this account to a credit collecting agency. I called agency gave my name they said they could not find so gave social security number than they ask for my address in which I gave. I ask them how much money was I suppose to own and they said XXXX after a brief hold on the phone I told them I do not recall owning any credit card company that amount of money. Now today the XXXX of XXXX they send me a notice threatening to garnish my salary from work and having a notice issue after I said I do not own them money Now claiming XXXX dollars. Sir/Ms. I have been working on my credit report for some time and ask the credit bureau at the time and it was not on my credit report after searching for it. I pray for a quick resolution to this underhanded treatment. I am moving and this credit collecting agency has file falsely against me I truly believe I Do not own anything to this agency that file against me after they collected my personal information from me over the phone knowledge about me wanting to purchase my new home in a short time span. They are the only agency that is trying to collect money from me falsely. I pray that you review what I have written and give quick judgement for I am truly innocent on this if you can look at my credit report I have resolved with other creditors with debts I know I owe. This agency knew I would dispute because I told them I would so they went and refile again.
07/15/2022 No
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • FL
  • 33407
Web
Last year I filed a complaint against Palisades collection agency. In complaint XXXX I outlined a credit card debt that I knew nothing about. Court papers were served at an address I no longer reside for a number of years. They were awarded a garnishment of my wages. No papers were served to me. I requested proof of service yet no response. My complaint was forwarded to Palisades collection with a response to by XXXX XXXX General CounseXXXX representing Palisades. In his response he stated " Case Closed ''. On XX/XX/XXXX, I received a letter from my payroll department stating there is another garnish by the same company in the amount of {$1300.00} for interest accrued awarded by the Court of XXXX XXXX XXXX for the same garnishment. There is no date on the document except it was signed by XXXX XXXX dated XX/XX/XXXX. There is nothing on the XXXX XXXX XXXX court docket stating this collection. Since XXXX XXXX they started another collection for the same case even though stated closed. As of pay period ending XX/XX/XXXX a total of {$3000.00} is collected from my salary. That is {$1700.00} more than the stated amount. To date they have collected a grand total of {$4600.00} from my salary for a debt XXXX XXXX said they acquired XX/XX/XXXX. I was informed by my payroll dept that unless a letter of satisfaction is received, the garnish will remain enforced. I would like an enforcement to be brought against this company as well as initiating lawsuit. I believe I am a harm consumer with my salary at the mercy of this collection agency using it as their personal piggy bank. I also believe the documents they furnish to job is false. I made numerous attempts through emails to different parties and by certified mail but no replies. Phone calls are extended wait times then switch to voicemail. Please see attachment of previous complaint.
01/27/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Sued you without properly notifying you of lawsuit
  • CA
  • 93727
Web
wasn't aware of owing any creditor as i check my credit report frequently. On XX/XX/2020 i went to withdraw some money from my account and my balance was {$0.00} on checking and my savings so i went into the bank and was told that the XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX had a judgment against and was allowed to take money from my accounts. So I called XX/XX/2020 spoke with a gentleman asking why did they take my money he then asked for my last for of my social I gave to him. He then said yes I owed money so I replied to who do I owe money to how much and what is the company name that I apparently owe money to he then said hold, but hung up on me. I then called back no answer so I called repeatedly and no answer. I did get a copy of the Judgement and everything that shows for my current Information is incorrect except my social security #, So I was never given or even mail me a judgment so I could respond. The address noted on the judgment is not my address there is no ph # for me so I do not understand how they got away with taking someone's money like that no up to date or current info. I just lost my XXXX-year-old son he was XXXX and the money in my savings was money i had saved and collected to bury my son so you can imagine what I'm going through having to deal with something that has nothing to do with me as far as I can see. They have violated my rights in every way this is unjustifiable, recklessness on their part and should not be practicing as a lawyer. How many other consumers have they done this to most likely no one has spoken or made an attempt to file a complaint because they are a lawyer so the consumer gets scared. well, i demand that they suspend their license for knowingly Intentionally taking advantage of a consumer who they most likely thought would not take this further.
04/03/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 94306
Web
I first like to refer to case number : XXXX and Related Case Number : XXXX Wherein Palisades Collection LLC responded to my initial complaint filed through CFPB in XX/XX/XXXX by stating the following : " In the spirit of goodwill, Palisades Collection , L.L.C. will close the account as well and no further contact or collection efforts will be made. The account will not be sold. '' However, today XX/XX/XXXX I received two new collection notices from Palisades Collection, LLC one for {$2500.00} and another {$6800.00}. Palisades Collections LLC, knows full well that 1 ) this debt is not associated to me personally, is 2 ) long past the statute of limitations for collections, have 3 ) been notified already by my attorney in XX/XX/XXXX to cease and desist ALL communications and debt collections from me, and 4 ) the above quote from the most recent complaint filed in XX/XX/XXXX - wherein they promise categorically to cease and desist attempting collection. Therefore, I intend to file a mail fraud complaint against Palisades Collection, LLC for attempting to collect on a debt that they have already acknowledged is neither mine, nor collectible, and for which they have agreed in writing to " close the account as well and no further contact or collection efforts will be made. The account will not be sold. '' If I do not receive a satisfactory response from them through your offices to fully and forever cease and desist from attempting to communicate ( or to sell this bogus debt ) for collection, I intend to file with the State District Attorney in California and further to file charges with Federal authorities for Mail Fraud ( 18 U.S.C. Section 1341 ). Thank you in advance for contacting them again for something that was supposed to have been resolved four years ago. Sincerely, XXXX
02/13/2020 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Public record information inaccurate
  • MO
  • 63011
Web
I can only give you today 's date because it is the last straw. My husband and I have been getting called at least twice or three times a week and they always call from a different number because we have blocked their calls but they keep on calling. I have politely requested on several occasions not to call me or my husband anymore, howeve they have ignored our requests. The collection company is Palisades Collection LLC. The calls are regarding a case that has been closed since XX/XX/2011 and has changed collection agencies 3 times. Now I'm trying to refinance and they have sent a fraudulent letter to the mortgage company who has forwarded the fraudulent letter to me at my request. When my mortgage company told me about this issue I started contacting Consumer Agencies for help with these harassing and fraudulent issues. It is effecting my health and well being because of the stress the company is placing on myself and my husband. I'm also contacting the State Attorney General 's office and placing a complaint with them as well. I fear that if this behavior is going to continue there will be medical attention that will need to be addressed and I believe I should be compensated for all charges from Palisades Collection LLC. should it come to that. I don't know where to turn for help when collection agencies are able to write letters to companies and also calling these potential institutions with lies and deception. Please help me or provide information that can stop this harassment and stop them from ruining my reputation with fraudulent letters and calls. Any help you can provide will be greatly appreciatedl Respectfully Submitted!!
09/03/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was already discharged in bankruptcy and is no longer owed
  • OK
  • 74112
Web Servicemember
I was on XXXX XXXX military at XXXX XXXX AR when I got an XXXX XXXX XXXX phone in XXXX. For the first several months I was charged for roaming charges. Each month they would take the charges off. About 4 months later I was moved to XXXX XXXX XXXX in XXXX XXXX. I had so many issues involving my bill and coverage I talked to XXXX XXXX XXXX and because I was XXXX XXXX they said I would be released from the contract. On XX/XX/XXXX I find out my check has been garnished by XXXX XXXX. I called XXXX XXXX XXXX n they all tell me the account was closed and not sent to collections. XXXX refuses to send me the Inormation about the judgement and say my debt is now {$6000.00}!!! That's a 4 month phone bill. I find out that they served the papers to my father and we didn't even live in the same state. They refuse to take my calls or answer emails. I have sent a request for all information that is required from them by law. They have not responded in a timely manner or at all. They continue to garnish 25 percent of my net paycheck even though Oklahoma law allows only 15 percent for head of household. I. Sure that this is judgement is in no way right or fair. XXXX XXXX have multiple lawsuits for fraudulently obtaining judgement including not giving notice, fraudulent evidence, inaccurate debt amounts and information, statue of limitations. They also were indicted XXXX vs Asta funding on RICO act, and lost class action. Please help me. I am a father of XXXX children and a wife all depending on my support. This is allegedly from 13 years ago
03/17/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt resulted from identity theft
  • TX
  • 77033
Web
Palisades Collections, LLC has continuously contacted me and harrassed me for a XXXX Account from XX/XX/XXXX, that I have previously Disputed as not being my account, as it is a result of Identity Theft previously with the XXXX, XXXX, XXXX. Then a few years later Palisades Collections, filed a lawsuit against me and it was dismissed as past Statue of Limitations ( by a few years ). I feel that Pallisades Collections, LLC knowingly filed a lawsuit that was past SOL with hope of a non-response default judgement. After several years of not hearing anything since the lawsuit, on XX/XX/XXXX, " XXXX '' of Pallisades Collections, LLC called me at XXXX from XXXX, to collect on this account. But because I would NOT verify my SS #, I was not provided the Name of the original creditor. So I called back on XXXX at about XXXX and spoke with a male named " XXXX ''. After learning of the original creditor, I immediately pointed out the SOL of this debt has long passed. And I was not paying a debt that I do not owe. I explained that I have very little concern with an account that is more than 15 years old. " XXXX '' then told me that he would continue placing inquiries on my credit reports to negatively impact my credit score. I believe this company will go through any unethical means to intimated, make false threats and also resort to unfair business measure to negatively impact consumers credit reports, IF Pallisades Collections, LLC. 's debt collectors feel the debtor will let it go unchallenged.
11/02/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • CA
  • 93619
Web
Palisades Collection LLC placed a wage garnishment with my employer. The debt is not mine as it originated in XXXX while I was in high school. They advised a judgment was entered in XXXX and I was served of this. Looking at the court documents I have no idea who signed to receive the documents, as I have never had a roommate. The person listed I have no idea who they are. I pulled the 54 pages of court documents and they are all over the place including filing in XXXX XXXX and XXXX XXXX. It is not on my credit report and the attorney stated : " consider yourself lucky it is not on your credit report ''. I spoke with an attorney who advised proper notice was not done and various other issues. I also shared with the creditor that when I received a letter in XXXX XXXX stating I owed them, I responded with a letter requesting proof. I sent via certified mail and confirmed with XXXX received, but they denied receiving it. I have tried to get them to remove and stop garnishment but the will not, so I am working with an attorney in the hopes of resolving. I researched the company and found the the Attorney General in New York XXXX https : XXXX ) obtain a settlement against the parent of XXXX which is XXXX XXXX, XXXX. I now have to try to hire an attorney to clear this up and stop from garnishment my check. I am a personnel XXXX for XXXX XXXX of XXXX and to have this occur is very embarrassing, to say the least. Thank you
04/14/2016 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Vehicle loan
  • Problems when you are unable to pay
  • TX
  • 77066
Web Older American
XX/XX/XXXX, I purchased a XXXX Dodge Intrepid. I fell behind on my payments in XX/XX/XXXX. I was notified in writing in a letter dated XX/XX/XXXX from the law offices of XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX that Palisades Collection LLC an Assignee of XXXX XXXX was collecting from me a loan balance of {$20000.00}. Palisades filed a judgment against me on XX/XX/XXXX the judgement amount was for {$20000.00}. I paid my debt off in full to XXXX XXXX in the amount of {$20000.00} with a cashier 's check. I received a paid in full letter from XXXX XXXX dated XXXX. The paid in full letter from XXXX is dated XX/XX/XXXX and the judgment was filed on XX/XX/XXXX. This judgment should have never been filed. On XX/XX/XXXX I received a letter from XXXX XXXX and XXXX, XXXX collecting for Palisades Collections. They were trying to collect {$20000.00} from me. On XX/XX/XXXX I spoke with XXXX XXXX with Palisades Collections and he said this debt had to be paid. Now I can not find no trace of XXXX XXXX XXXX. When I called the telephone number XXXX the company this number belongs to is XXXX XXXX, and Palisades is a subsidiary of this company. I just want to get a release of lien letter from whomever has a lien on the vehicle I owned. my vehicle vin number is XXXX. The judgment is no longer on my XXXX credit bureau reports. Please help me to get a release of lien for this vehicle.
03/11/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • FL
  • 33407
Web
XXXX XXXX XXXX garnished 25 % of my bi-weekly paycheck. Starting XXXX, totaling {$1500.00} They were represented by XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX I was never informed of intent to garnish the debt by the agency. I was informed of the garnishment by my job 's payroll department a week before the first disbursement. Copies of court papers and all other documents were furnished to me after the garnishment started. The agency delivered court papers to my old address unbeknown to me. When I did not respond to the courts due to no knowledge of the case, they were awarded the garnishment. I contacted the collection agency by phone to dispute the debt in XXXX of XXXX the lady on the phone said it was for a credit card with XXXX Bank back in 2007. I told her I never own that card or knew anything of it. She state the garnishment will be placed on hold pending further investigation. This did not happen, they continued the collection. After that I made numerous phone calls to their office in XXXX over a period of time, each time I was placed on extended hold time. Eventually the calls would be dropped. Finally when I got someone to talk with, I was told the person handling my case does not discuss ongoing cases. I continued to call only for each person being deceptive. They used the courts in a deceptive manner to garnish my wages.
10/12/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • VA
  • 20120
Web
Based on complaint : # XXXX XXXX claims debt originates from XXXXXXXX XXXX. XX/XX/2018 - XXXX XXXX - I contacted XXXX XXXX / XXXX - ( XXXX ) XXXX and they did not have any records of me every having an account. They transferred me to the department that handles charge-offs and selling accounts - XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX and they have no record associated with my social security number. They recommended I contact XXXX XXXX. XX/XX/2018 - XXXX XXXX - I contacted XXXX XXXX - XXXX ( XXXX ) XXXX and they only found two accounts ( current ) having ever been opened under my social security number. XX/XX/2018 - XXXX XXXX - I contacted XXXX XXXX XXXX - XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX to discuss the above and they have been told to no longer discuss this account because I filed a complaint and the complaint department will be handling this. I requested to speak to the manager and was transferred to the voicemail of XXXX, out until Monday. I identified myself by name and social security number and advised of the above and that the Proof of Debt Validation letter has arrived and that I would be awaiting a response. It has been 14 days since my wages have been garnished for a debt that is not mine. CC : Virginia Attorney General XXXX XXXX Office of the Attorney General XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, Virginia XXXX ( XXXX ) XXXX
07/09/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened to sue on too old debt
  • NY
  • 14467
Web Older American
I have been garnisheed numerous times over the last 25 years. I owed the IRS and any garnishees previous were discontinued. I paid off the IRS and suddenly a garnishee re appeared. The current XXXX is Pallisade Collection are actually the collection agency who bought the debt. It has been so many years I have no idea who. After this I am in understanding that a Palisades Collection who purchased debt is waiting in the wings and placed a judgement XXXX of 2014 which I have no paper work for and no idea who it is for. Any credit cards that I have been garnisheed for are at least 15 years old, probably more. Most of the garnishments on me were placed and I ca n't even begin to tell you by whom and I may be paying debt more than once. I am please asking for this to be looked into and help me if possible. Consent to publish the description of what happened? Consent providedWhat do you think would be a fair resolution to your issue? These garnishees need to be stopped. They are at over double the statue of limitaions in NY State. There is no verification or proof of any kind.
02/12/2016 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Vehicle loan
  • Managing the loan or lease
  • NC
  • 28215
Web Older American
I bought an auto from XXXX XXXX in XXXX within the 45 day return period the transmission went on the vehicle. I was able to negotiate with XXXX & purchase a different vehicle, which was paid off in XXXX. I received a judgement letter from Palisades Collection ( dated XXXX/XXXX/XXXX ) in XXXX XXXX & an " executive notice '' from the county sheriff 's department from palisades just this past month ( XXXX ). I have sent palisades a request for more info. I recently received the same letter from XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX.. I guess they are representing PC. I responded to them with the same request. I never received any type of court orders prior to these notices. They are 2nd & 3rd party collectors, trying to collect a debt that I do not even owe, that is more than the statue of limitation in NC. They have threatened to take my personal possessions. I have requested them to cease these actions, however they have continued to harrass.
08/24/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Sued where didn't live/sign for debt
  • NY
  • 10305
Web
I received a XXXX letter ( not certified ) from XXXX XXXX in NY stating my wages were being garnished for an XXXX debt from XX/XX/XXXX and judgement was filed against me in XX/XX/XXXX and never seen any correspondence because I have never lived at the address stated on the judgement. I called XX/XX/XXXX fraud department and they have nothing under my Social Security number for the cell number they gave or anything from XX/XX/XXXX. I called the law firm and they sent a notice to XXXX to withhold from garnishment. I called Social Security and claimed Identity theft and was sent an affidavit to fill out and get a police report. I called the law firm back and they will not speak to me unless a law firm is representing me. The collection agency is Palisades Collection LLC and the law firm is XXXX in NY. My credit reports no such judgement against me that was filed.
03/28/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 94806
Web
I received a notice from Palisades Collection , L.L.C. today, XXXX XXXX for the first time and the notice is dated XXXX XXXX offering me Tax Season Discount Opportunity to pay account balance of {$8600.00}. According to the notice, XXXX was the original creditor. I have lived at my current address since XXXX and this is the first time I have been contacted about this debt. I also have a freeze on my credit since around XXXX and I have no collection on my credit report. I do not owe any debt that I have not paid. This collection agency failed to first write attempting to collect a debt letter. This collection agency failed to grant this consumer the opportunity to dispute the debt. This collection agency demanded payment whether or not this consumer in fact did owe this debt. I dispute owing the debt in question. Thank you.
04/17/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • MI
  • 49519
Web
The debt collection agency is name XXXX XXXX XXXX, who also hired another company name XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. The companies are trying to collect money from me for a account with XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX which I do not have. The collection companies can not and have not provided me with documentation of this account. I contacted XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXXXXXX about this matter, which I am a current customer and have been for awhile and was told I have no past due or a old account with them. The collection company has sent me court papers trying to collect money from bank accounts and other means. They also sent me a thing full of papers asking for copies of private information that I am not going to send them. I have contacted this company a few times about this matter and still yet havent been resolved.
08/01/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • MO
  • 63135
Web
Received a default judgement served to my then XXXX year old daughter. The company is Palisades Collection LLC. Its dated XXXX. No one signed for it. Weve had bank account garnished as well as wages. After receiving payment, this company filed for funds four more times with all different amounts. Each have file stamped XXXX and the judgement dates are Filed XX/XX/XXXX Garnish issued XXXX Amount {$1900.00} File XX/XX/XXXX Garn XX/XX/XXXX Paid {$3600.00} File XX/XX/XXXX Garn XX/XX/XXXX Paid XXXX File XX/XX/XXXX Paid {$2000.00} File XX/XX/XXXX Paid {$470.00} XXXX/XXXX/XXXX We are not able to find out who is behind each one of these suits. This is totally frustrating!!! The last action in XX/XX/XXXX, they froze and garnished our entire bank account and as a result, our home is in foreclosure. XXXX
12/29/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Communication tactics
  • Threatened to take legal action
  • NY
  • 14467
Web Older American
Palisade Collection bought a credit card debt and forwarded it to XXXX XXXX XXXX now known as XXXX and XXXX to be collected. A judgement had been placed at least 8 - 12 years ago. They garnisheed for it. The XXXX was collecting on my salary so this discontinued. They are now telling me this is not time barred debt, that it is a " money judgement. '' which there is no explanation for. They tell me it is XXXX credit card so I am confused as to why it would not be time barred. They are now threatening to lock my bank account to take funds. My husband & myself are both XXXX and I have a XXXX XXXX. This requires a lot of medication. I can not have my bank account locked and funds taken. This would be beyond detrimental. I need someone to help me on this case.
06/05/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Sued you without properly notifying you of lawsuit
  • NY
  • 13165
Web
Today, I received an income execution from the XXXX County Sheriffs Department datedXX/XX/XXXX, indicating that my wages are going to be garnished for an original debt amount of : XXXX due to XXXX XXXX XXXX with an original judgement date of : XX/XX/XXXX.

It also added an additional {$5600.00} for interest, {$620.00} for XXXX, {$40.00} 1rst stage and $ {$30.00} for 2nd stage, for a total due of : {$13000.00} payable to XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. Not only am I unaware of what this debt is for, I do not recall being served a summons to court over 9 years ago! In addition, the interest on this debt seems exorbitant and unjustified. This item does not appear on my credit report, nor do I feel that I owe this, being that it has exceeded the 7 year collection.

05/22/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was result of identity theft
  • NY
  • 11003
Web
on XXXX XXXX XXXX , I receive a mail from my bank state that I have a court order levies on my account, for the amount of XXXX of outstanding principal remains due and unpaid., assigne to whom this debt is owe i s ( palisades collection, llc ) J UDGMENT DATE XXXX .th e sc am by the collection agency is using my old address @ the court in oder for me not know about it, until now he come after m e, 1 ] fo r a 10 years plus debt, I want to have a full detail of that debt, and how debt was made, and also how much palisades collection .llc paid for it. from who he brought it from? XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX of XXXX index XXXX plaintiffs palisades collection, llc defenda nt, XXXX XXXX INDEX XXXX
02/09/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • False statements or representation
  • Impersonated an attorney or official
  • OR
  • 97520
Web Older American
Received copy of letter and motion falsely stated to have been submitted to a civil court with notice of hearing date and time. Contacted court and found that no motion had been submitted to them, but the original case referred in the supposed motion had been filed in a name similar, but different from mine XXXX XXXX, 2006, living at a address in a state I have never been to. Having checked out online Palisades Collections, LLC, the original debt collection company, I found numerous complaints similar to mine which were obviously fraudulent attempts to get people other than the original debtor to pay debts for the sole purpose of protecting their credit ratings and avoiding possible legal action. Please check XXXX
07/10/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • TX
  • 77872
Web
my bank was levied suddenly and it was until then that I realized I had been sued. The debt was from sometime in XX/XX/XXXX-XX/XX/XXXX, the judgment was left at my mothers address, which I did use at one point as a mailing address, however, I had not received any further communication since then. I received a notice from post office for a certified letter from " XXXX & XXXX '' but it was by COD and because I did not know who that was from I did not pick up. I requested a validation of debt, they sent me the alleged creditor and amount, however, I do not recognize any of it. The alleged original amount is about {$2000.00} and now they 're saying I owe about $ XXXX. What are my rights?
01/05/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • PA
  • 15901
Web
I received notification that my wages were being garnish for an paid XXXX bill that I have no recollection of. I never resided at the address listed on the bill and I was also XXXX at that time. The amount of the bill is XXXX . I have never heard of the company and I only learned of the debt from my employer. I do believe this debt is over 15/16 years old, and I don't understand how they are able to garnish me after all these years. I have been a resident of Pennsylvania for over 12 years. This debt is for a New Jersey address that I never resided at or ever had listed as my place of residence.Any information regarding this matter will be helpful,Thank you
10/26/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • OH
  • 44203
Web
I have had a law suit filed against me back in XX/XX/2007. I never received any papers on it. I did not know there was a judgement. This year they sent me a letter stating that they wanted to reopen it. Went to court which did no good. They said that they agreed with the company and ordered me to pay the amount I owe plus interest. It is very involved and would like to talk to someone about this. they have refused to give me a copy of the original loan. I am very upset, now they want to garnishee my wages. I do not owe any XXXX and need this to get cleared up as soon as possible. Please help I am at my wits end and seems like no one wants to help me.
03/10/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • NY
  • 13165
Web
My wages are currently being garnished due to a Default Judgement entered on XX/XX/2008, as confirmed by the XXXX County Sheriff Civil Division. I was never notified of the Court appearance to dispute this debt or to defend myself against this lawsuit. This Judgement was issued without my presence or knowledge. In 2008 ; I was married, going by the name of : XXXX XXXX, which also was not noted In this Judgement. I have already filed a Motion To Set Aside this Default Judgement with the same Court. I have also contacted the original creditor, who have indicated that they were not a party to and have no knowledge of such a lawsuit or judgement.
01/26/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • PA
  • 15522
Web Servicemember
I recently received a fraudulent collection letter from a " legitimate '' collection agency, XXXX, that is a running a scam and stealing money and identities. They claim that XXXX XXXX XXXX submitted a collection to them and are requesting my personal information and that I pay the balance. No balance exists with XXXX XXXX XXXX. I researched this company and found that they have been running similar scams, stealing people 's money using fake claims, stealing identities, and effecting people 's credit ratings. They are running a fraudulent scam and trying to extort money which is not owed by threatening to negatively impact my credit.
06/01/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Talked to a third party about my debt
  • NV
  • 89102
Web Older American, Servicemember
My account has been passed from one collection agency to another. The lastest one is Palisades Collection LLC. They are hard to reach and XXXX gave me a hard time and the run around. He also refused to let me speak to a manager or supervisor. He also blocked my phone number so I could n't call back. I originally called to negotiable a lump sum settlement for {$700.00}. I received a letter from However, I could n't complete the transaction because of XXXX 's behavior. I was able to speak to a female account representative who was willing to accept my offer. Unfortunately, when I called back to give her my fax number, I got XXXX.
10/20/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • NC
  • 27513
Web
Hello I have a bill for a cell phone i took out for a friend of mine in 1999 the debt is on my credit report as a civil judgement. I called the collection agency bcs i stalled on paying back bcs like i said i did not feel i should but i know it is my social and my information on the debt. it was originally {$850.00} and that is on my credit report. Now i called them and they want to charge me a daily rate of 4 % on the balance which according to them is {$1800.00} they wont stop the intrest accruing daily or work with me to reduce the debt i want to pay off. Can you help me.
10/06/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Right to dispute notice not received
  • NY
  • 13440
Web
This company Palisades collection is suing me for {$4700.00} this Debt is from XXXX/XXXX/2008 the statute of limitation for nys is 6 years This Debt is over 8 years old they never contacted me on this matter until i got a summons telling me they are going to take income execution on my wages. I have read that under the FTC and NYXXXX statute of limitation is 6 years in NYXXXX. I was never contacted about going to court on this matter or would have and fought this.
08/27/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Threatened to contact someone or share information improperly
  • Contacted your employer
  • OR
  • 97303
Web
ON WEDNESDAY XX/XX/XXXX ... XXXX XXXX XXXX SENT A GARNISHMENT TO MY EMPLOYER. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND REALIZED THE JUDGMENT WAS DISMISSED. THEREFOR I WAS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR THE DEBT ANYMORE. THEY ARE TRYING TO COLLECT FOR A JUDGMENT THAT IS DISMISSED AND THERE IS NO GROUNDS FOR THE GARNISHMENT. THERE IS ALSO NO JUDGMENT ON MY CREDIT REPORT HISTORY. I HAVE ALREADY EMAILED AND FAXED THEM A COPY OF THE COURT CASE THAT I FOUND ON OREGONS PUBLIC COURT XXXX
03/31/2022 Yes
  • Credit card or prepaid card
  • General-purpose credit card or charge card
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account information incorrect
  • FL
  • 33157
Web
Good afternoon, This a formal complaint agains Asta Funding Inc Located at XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX NJ XXXX This company has been reporting incorrect information on my credit report I have reached out to them but nothing has been done the have reported incorrect balance to my report multiple time which has cost me the loss of me being able to close on a home purchase because of there mistakes. Credit report should reported every month correctly.
01/18/2018 Yes
  • Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service
  • Domestic (US) money transfer
  • Wrong amount charged or received
  • OK
  • 73142
Web Older American
I sold some of my annuity to a company called XXXX XXXX. We did several transaction over a years time, involving different amounts of my {$1100.00} a month payments. A year ago, I was offered to sell the remainder of what I understood was the rest of the monthly amount for {$33000.00}. Later I ask XXXX XXXX the balance left of my annuity which I bought for {$180000.00}. That 's when I was told that XXXX XXXX owned all my money.
06/11/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • NY
  • 13165
Web
This company is attempting to collect on a debt that became a judgement on XXXX / XXXX / 2008 . I n NYS, the statute of limitations is 10 years ; and up to 20 years ( see attached ), however ; the debt collector must re-file the judgement a year prior to the expiration of the 10 years ( see attached ) This company is illegally attempting to collect on a debt and judgement without the proper protocol and is illegal in NYS.
05/03/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • MD
  • 20785
Web
I received a Writ of Garnishment of Wages from my employer regarding a cell phone bill that is more than 7 years old . I was incarcerated when the debt went into default. I have not been notified of the debt from Palisades XXXX or XXXX , XXXX XXXX XXXX , XXXX XXXX XXXX , located in XXXX , MD, until this time. The {$710.00} debt has accrued other interest and fees over the years, totaling over {$1500.00}.
04/12/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • MI
  • 48316
Web
Received letter at a family members address from XXXX district court about a court case started in XX/XX/XXXX. The letter was a change in attorney. The plaintiff is Pallisades Collections. The defendant is a business i dissolved inXX/XX/XXXX. I have not received any detail about the bill to verify it is still owed. It is XXXX. Anything beyond six years is uncollectable. The statute of limitations is 6 years.
03/31/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • TX
  • 77095
Web
This company continues to report on my credit report after I sent them a letter telling them that this account was not mine and I have no idea what it is or who it belongs to! I asked for proof of a signed contract, I asked for a license to collect in my state, I asked for copies of all information referenced for this debt and still to date, I have not received anything but harassment from this company!
08/31/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • NY
  • 11756
Web
I never have account with this company which XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX Attorney freezing my bank account in XXXX XXXX. It happened also in 2009 when this same attorney freezed my bank account in different banks. After I filed complaint to the Office of Comptroller of Currency, he released all accounts. Even he knows that this is not my account but still he giving me trouble to freezing my bank account.
04/05/2021 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • NY
  • 10303
Web
A judgment and a summons QUESTION NEAR WAS SENT TO ME UNDER A NAME XXXX XXXX THE COMPANY IS PALISADES COLLECTION LLC FILED NUMBER IS XXXX the judgment is not mine and they unlawfully filed it under my name XXXX XXXX I also wrote a letter to them and a copy of a police report showing that I been a victim of identity fraud and that this debt belongs to XXXX XXXX. Unknown persons or person
06/03/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • FL
  • 33406
Web
XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX of XXXX XXXX send a letter on XX/XX/XXXX to me and my employer. The letter said they want to collect the amount of {$2900.00} from my salary. The credit card with this bank was close in XXXX. I believe this is an unfair action and I am very disappoint because I never receive any letter prior from XXXX or the court letting know about any issues.
07/19/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • Called before 8am or after 9pm
  • NC
  • 28144
Web
I am being called by this debt collection company multiple times a day, every day of the week, and early in the morning/late at night. The calls are automated and a partial voicemail is left each time. I do not have any outstanding debt that I have failed to pay. The call is listed as Robo Caller by my cell phone company. I want this company to stop harassing me.
02/27/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Seized or attempted to seize your property
  • IN
  • 47978
Web
there is company palisiades collections that is trying to sue me, for a debt that is 14 years old. sent a judgement to fill out papers to garnish. I have not heard from the original creditor since XX/XX/XXXX. and then a judgement to garnish was sent to the wrong address my parents address. I know there is a statute of limitations. but isn't this a violation.
03/12/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Seized or attempted to seize your property
  • CA
  • 92603
Web
On XX/XX/XXXX my bank account and my sons bank account were beyond wiped out by this company claiming I have a cellphone bill from XXXX for $ XXXX with XXXX XXXX XXXX. Illegal practices, scam artist. They can not provide me with the bill or the original proof of service yet XXXX XXXX allowed them to take my funds. Consulting with a consumer attorney.
12/21/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Seized/Attempted to seize property
  • NY
  • 21216
Web
Asset was seized without warning in the amount of {$4800.00}. for a credit card that i have no knowledge about. they did not send me any notification but my money was seized from my XXXX account, by Palisades collection LLC, in XXXX and XXXX.. when asked i was informed it was for a credit card i had open with XXXX Bank in 2004.
11/16/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was already discharged in bankruptcy and is no longer owed
  • IN
  • 46835
Web
ASTA FUNDING AND XXXX FAILED TO ADHERE TO THE BANKRUPTCY NOTICE, AND WAS RE-INSERTED BACK ONTO MY XXXX CREDIT REPORT. THE S.O.L. HAD EXPIRED AND THE CALLS TO MY CELL STOP CALLING. ( 11 CALLS OVER 3 YEARS. THEY HAVE VIOLATED F.C.R.A., F.D.C.P.A., T.C.P.A. S.O.L. ETC. MORE IMPORTANTLY VIOLATED THE DODD-FRANCK ACT.
11/16/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was already discharged in bankruptcy and is no longer owed
  • IN
  • 46835
Web
ASTA FUNDING AND XXXX FAILED TO ADHERE TO THE BANKRUPTCY NOTICE, AND WAS RE-INSERTED BACK ONTO MY XXXX CREDIT REPORT. THE S.O.L. HAD EXPIRED AND THE CALLS TO MY CELL STOP CALLING. ( 11 CALLS OVER 3 YEARS. THEY HAVE VIOLATED F.C.R.A., F.D.C.P.A., T.C.P.A. S.O.L. ETC. MORE IMPORTANTLY VIOLATED THE DODD-FRANCK ACT.
06/08/2022 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Sued you without properly notifying you of lawsuit
  • TX
  • 75219
Web
I received a letter to appear in court on XX/XX/2022, I have absolutely no knowledge of this company, what the debt pertains to nor was i ever served any papers that i owed any debt. I sent them a certified letter proving this debt to me as well as the courts and demanding them to throw out this ridiculous case out.
08/25/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was result of identity theft
  • NY
  • 11234
Web
I lost my wallet years ago as a result of that I have had fraud committed in my name several times the 1st was from XXXX the second was XXXX XXXX the third was my Checking account at XXXX. and now this a XXXX XXXX credit card that I never heard of for the sum of XXXX Please Help Me Thank You
08/25/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was result of identity theft
  • NY
  • 11234
Web
I lost my wallet years ago as a result of that I have had fraud committed in my name several times the 1st was from XXXX the second was XXXX XXXX the third was my Checking account at XXXX. and now this a XXXX XXXX credit card that I never heard of for the sum of XXXX Please Help Me Thank You
09/10/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was discharged in bankruptcy
  • NY
  • 14580
Web
Palisades Collection is attempting to collect a debt that was discharged. They are harassing me at my workplace and at home. It appears that they know the ramifications but they are persistent and they are sneaky and nasty ( and intrusive ) with their ploys.
02/17/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Right to dispute notice not received
  • TX
  • 77494
Web
I have come to find out that Palisades Collection, LLC XXXX has obtained a judgment against me that I never received notice to dispute, I called the Court and they say it was served to an address that I never resided at? How is this possible?
03/17/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • NY
  • 10314
Web
I received a letter from XXXX stating that I own over {$28000.00}, It may be for a credit card. I do n't have credit cards for the last 15 years.
03/23/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was result of identity theft
  • NY
  • 11385
Web
This account has been pass from one collection agency to another XXXX just I got me that you are the owner of this account
12/09/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 90805
Web Servicemember
I have received a collection letter from this company and have not had XXXX XXXX XXXX since 2002. 13 years ago.
05/20/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • IL
  • 60445
Web
ASTA PURCHASED XXXX XXXX AND IS REPORTING ON MY CREDIT REPORTS IN VIOLATION OF FDCPA , FCRA AND S.O.L. LAWS.
07/06/2022 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • NY
  • 11693
Web
05/26/2022 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Threatened to contact someone or share information improperly
  • Contacted your employer
  • TN
  • 37074
Phone
09/13/2021 Yes
  • Credit card or prepaid card
  • General-purpose credit card or charge card
  • Other features, terms, or problems
  • Other problem
  • NY
  • 10032
Web
01/22/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • NJ
  • 07105
Web
08/27/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • PA
  • 19053
Phone
03/17/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • IL
  • 60462
Postal mail
03/03/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Seized or attempted to seize your property
  • CA
  • 92603
Web
10/08/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • NY
  • 12443
Phone
04/05/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • FL
  • 33311
Web
02/14/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Threatened to contact someone or share information improperly
  • Contacted your employer
  • TX
  • 77459
Web Older American
12/26/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • ND
  • 58577
Postal mail
11/19/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Collected or attempted to collect exempt funds
  • MI
  • 49509
Web
10/03/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Sued you without properly notifying you of lawsuit
  • OK
  • 74112
Referral
06/30/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • NJ
  • 08057
Web
06/28/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • MI
  • 48081
Phone
03/09/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
Phone
12/21/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • NY
  • 11752
Postal mail
11/02/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was already discharged in bankruptcy and is no longer owed
  • GA
  • 31404
Postal mail
06/27/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Sued you without properly notifying you of lawsuit
  • PA
  • 18704
Web
01/04/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • MA
  • 02302
Web
05/18/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • NJ
  • 07052
Postal mail
05/05/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened to sue on too old debt
  • IL
  • 60426
Phone Older American
04/27/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • VA
  • 20120
Web
04/23/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Non-federal student loan
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • MI
  • 48235
Phone
04/19/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • NY
  • 14489
Web
04/15/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • NY
  • 14489
Web
02/18/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Seized/Attempted to seize property
  • PA
  • 19126
Phone Older American
02/18/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Attempted to/Collected exempt funds
  • PA
  • 19126
Phone Older American
01/30/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • PA
  • 15537
Web
01/25/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Seized/Attempted to seize property
  • TX
  • 75088
Web
12/12/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • TN
  • 37216
Web Servicemember
11/24/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • NY
  • 10552
Postal mail
08/29/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 90720
Web
08/28/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • NY
  • 11934
Phone
08/26/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 94901
Web
07/27/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened to sue on too old debt
  • CA
  • 95121
Web Older American
06/12/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Right to dispute notice not received
  • PA
  • 19020
Web
05/26/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • NY
  • 11411
Phone
04/28/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 92129
Web Servicemember
04/24/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CO
  • 80120
Web
04/22/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • CA
  • 95136
Referral
04/03/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • MN
  • 55104
Web
03/17/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • TX
  • 78501
Web Older American
03/06/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • IL
  • 60445
Web
02/28/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • NY
  • 11377
Web
02/26/2015 Yes
  • Bank account or service
  • Other bank product/service
  • Problems caused by my funds being low
  • PA
  • 18080
Web
02/18/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not disclosed as an attempt to collect
  • NY
  • 10030
Referral
02/08/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • NJ
  • 07024
Web
02/06/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • False statements or representation
  • Impersonated an attorney or official
  • OR
  • 97123
Web
01/31/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • NY
  • 11105
Web
01/27/2015 Yes
  • Credit reporting
  • Credit reporting company's investigation
  • Inadequate help over the phone
  • FL
  • 34266
Web Servicemember
01/26/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 91362
Web
01/25/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Contacted me instead of my attorney
  • CA
  • 94306
Web
01/20/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • NY
  • 11385
Phone
01/16/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • TX
  • 76119
Web Older American
01/15/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt resulted from identity theft
  • PA
  • 17520
Web
01/13/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • FL
  • 34119
Web Servicemember
01/06/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • PA
  • 19026
Referral
11/14/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt resulted from identity theft
  • CT
  • 06109
Web Servicemember
11/13/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 91750
Phone Older American
11/12/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • TX
  • 77095
Web
10/20/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 93950
Web
10/16/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • False statements or representation
  • Indicated shouldn't respond to lawsuit
  • TX
  • 75056
Web
10/07/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 90277
Web
09/18/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Seized/Attempted to seize property
  • NY
  • 11951
Phone
09/17/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • PA
  • 15601
Postal mail
09/10/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CT
  • 06478
Web Older American
09/06/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • NY
  • 13478
Web
08/27/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • WA
  • 98074
Referral
08/20/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • OH
  • 44094
Web
08/13/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Contacted me after I asked not to
  • NJ
  • 07093
Web
08/12/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • MO
  • 63146
Web
08/11/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • TX
  • 77389
Web Servicemember
07/31/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • TX
  • 75098
Web
07/31/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Contacted me after I asked not to
  • DC
  • 20017
Web
07/29/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Sued w/o proper notification of suit
  • NM
  • 87124
Web
07/24/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened to sue on too old debt
  • SC
  • 29579
Web Older American, Servicemember
07/24/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • NY
  • 10469
Postal mail
07/17/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • NV
  • 89423
Web
07/15/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • AZ
  • 85003
Web
07/08/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 95386
Web
07/02/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Auto
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • AE
  • 09250
Web Servicemember
06/23/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • MO
  • 65263
Web Servicemember
05/30/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Auto
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • PA
  • 19121
Web Servicemember
05/26/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • NJ
  • 07024
Web
05/16/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Seized/Attempted to seize property
  • NY
  • 11220
Web
05/13/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Sued w/o proper notification of suit
  • FL
  • 33510
Web
05/12/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • NC
  • 27516
Web
04/18/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • FL
  • 33175
Referral
04/05/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • WA
  • 98661
Web
04/01/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • WA
  • 98512
Web
03/27/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • NY
  • 11363
Web
03/22/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • FL
  • 33610
Web Servicemember
03/21/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • MI
  • 48220
Fax
03/20/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • FL
  • 33765
Web
03/19/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • NY
  • 10025
Referral
03/13/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 90042
Web
03/13/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • NJ
  • 07010
Web
03/13/2014 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • MI
  • 49232
Web
03/13/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • NJ
  • 07010
Web
03/08/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not disclosed as an attempt to collect
  • IL
  • 61068
Web
02/11/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • OR
  • 97206
Web
02/07/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • TX
  • 77583
Web Servicemember
02/04/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • GA
  • 30815
Web
01/16/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Talked to a third party about my debt
  • IL
  • 60506
Web
01/09/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt resulted from identity theft
  • CA
  • 94601
Referral
01/08/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • FL
  • 34996
Web
12/13/2013 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • MI
  • 48084
Web
12/08/2013 Yes
  • Credit card
  • Arbitration
  • DC
  • 20002
Web
11/23/2013 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt resulted from identity theft
  • NY
  • 11209
Web
11/07/2013 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was discharged in bankruptcy
  • GA
  • 31548
Web
11/06/2013 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • IN
  • 46407
Web
11/05/2013 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • False statements or representation
  • Impersonated an attorney or official
  • IL
  • 60626
Web
10/17/2013 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Sued w/o proper notification of suit
  • NY
  • 10462
Web
09/13/2013 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • KY
  • 42303
Web
09/07/2013 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened to sue on too old debt
  • FL
  • 33541
Web
08/12/2013 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • FL
  • 34653
Phone Older American
07/18/2013 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • NY
  • 11735
Referral
07/18/2013 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Communication tactics
  • Threatened to take legal action
  • DE
  • 19720
Web
07/10/2013 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Sued w/o proper notification of suit
  • NY
  • 10037
Web