Asset Recovery Inc CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
07/22/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • VA
  • 22032
Web
Several years ago while living in XXXX, Maine, I went to a local optometrist for an eye exam. While in the chair, the person performing the exam said they would like to do an exam to check for - whatever it was, I do n't remember. She simply asked if it was ok, to which I of course replied " yes '', When checking out, they informed me I owed +/- {$80.00} for the additional exam. I was not informed of the additional charge or the fact that it was not covered by insurance. I rejected their claim explaining why and was told - too bad, you owe us the money. They continued to bill me, I continued to refuse payment until they finally referred it to a debt collector who then harassed me threatening legal action and to ruin my good credit rating. I sought the advice of an attorney who convinced me the easiest and cheapest thing to do was just to pay the bill. Legal action could have otherwise been costly. So, despite their not deserving to be paid, I paid. But now I had to pay not only the optometrists bill, but also the debt collectors bill as well. Meanwhile, they went ahead and reported it to the credit agencies and to this day, that black mark is on my record. At the time, I reported their underhanded business practices to the State of Maine, the Maine Licensing Board and anyone else who would listen. All to no avail. Having just now listened to the XXXX XXXX show, I now know, although years later, that I should have perhaps contacted your office, which prior to the show, did not know existed.
03/20/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Right to dispute notice not received
  • NY
  • 115XX
Web
XXXX XXXX XXXX sent me a letter in XXXX XXXX stating I owed {$540.00} on a service from XXXX XXXX. XXXX XXXX XXXX then explained that this was an error on their part and that they were going to get in touch with my insurance company. I did not hear back from them from that last phone call. I then received a letter from Asset Recovery , Inc. in XXXX XXXX stating they were a debt collector and was attempting to collect a debt for XXXX XXXX XXXX. This came as a shock for me because that last I heard from XXXX XXXX XXXX center they were contacting my insurance company to fix the error they made in billing on their part. After numerous conversations back and forth with Asset Recovery for about 2 weeks trying to explain to them what happened and also trying to make payments to them for it ( and got returned checks ), they then placed it into collections when I was in contact with them consistently and tried to make payments. This debt is now effecting my credit score and it still sitting on my credit report after numerous calls and attempts to pay the debt. Asset Recovery put this debt onto my credit report PRIOR to even notifying me that this debt was in collections. Since this company was not acting in good faith my attorney advised me to pay this debt in full which I have just done.
11/27/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • OR
  • 97058
Web
I am XXXX XXXX and XXXX. I was sent a letter from the medical company for a bill that was from XX/XX/XXXX. I responded with a letter ( XX/XX/XXXX or XX/XX/XXXX ) stating that I believed I had already Pais this debt, asking for proof. I heard nothing back from he medical facility. I received a letter in XX/XX/XXXX from a debt recovery firm claiming that I owed this debt. I called them and spoke to a young woman who was very accommodating I explained that I thought the debt was paid and panicked because I just moved and my files are not yet organized. I was sure I paid this debt and was concerned about it going onto my credit report. She said not to worry, she would request the appropriate proof from he medical facility and then get back to me. I reiterated that I was concerned about them placing it into my credit file and she reassured me that they would not do this because I was communicating. She was going to get back to me regarding the medical facilities invoicing. I received an alert on my credit report XX/XX/XXXX that they had reported this debt without any communication as I was promised. I received a letter from them the day after this was reported with no documentation of the charges, payments, etc just stating that I owed them this amount $ {$470.00}.
09/16/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • VT
  • 057XX
Web
Asset Recovery Inc ( XXXX Vermont ) has placed 6 ( at this time ) XXXX XXXX on my credit report. I can not see the account numbers for these collections to provide to you. They did not send a dunning letter for me to dispute the alleged debts. I was unaware they were attempting to collect any alleged debts.This is the 3rd time this company has done this in the last year. Any of my alleged medical debts are covered by XXXX XXXX XXXX ( Paid insurance ) Any remaining balance is covered by XXXX XXXX XXXX program thru XXXX I have Spoken to my financial counsel at XXXX. They tell me the invoices were sent in error. This is the 2nd complaint I have made against Asset Recovery Inc this year. The 1st complaint took them 2 months to respond. They said they were removing the collection I complained about. They have not taken any action at this time. This has a drastic impact on my credit score and ability to secure funding. The collections they are reporting are inaccurate and untrue. This company is willing to report unverified, non valid accounts knowingly and not held accountable for doing so.
03/23/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • NY
  • 129XX
Web Servicemember
the asset recovery company is not the original debtor and some of the debts are very old as well. the medical place that takes care of my bills pays my bills and i pay the deductible. they have threatened to take actions against me n repeatedly call me. the original debtor XXXX no longer exist even. they sign paper work with XXXX and always try collecting more. a form of double billing. these debts asset recovery keeps reporting has hurt my credit like they said they would do. again the original debtor is out of buseness n asset recovery bought the debt and are doing all they can to hurt me financially.
10/07/2023 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • VT
  • 057XX
Web Servicemember
I had paid off my last debt in collections around {$640.00}. I have been trying to get the debt off my report. I have disputed it 3 times, and it wont come off. Called XXXX and they were no help getting it off. The debt agency was called Asset Recovery Inc. However, they permanently close. The debt has been paid to XXXX XXXX XXXX in full. But since Asset Recovery Inc closed down permanently, they can't take off the debt from report since they no longer exist.
09/08/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was already discharged in bankruptcy and is no longer owed
  • NY
  • 140XX
Web Servicemember
The company name is Asset Recovery ; I have sent them bankruptcy papers with the discharge. In fact when I filed I sent them papers and when it was discharged Ive sent them the discharge papers. They have stopped calling me however they have NOT updated XXXX to reflect the Discharged in Bankruptcy Status. Balance XXXX! I have tried to call them repeatedly and not only have they failed to show the first collection was discharged but they added a second.
02/22/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • CO
  • 80226
Web Servicemember
Third party creditor collecting for a party who decided to generate false accounts receivable for services not rendered.
07/14/2021 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • VT
  • 05701
Web
07/19/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • NY
  • 12992
Web Servicemember
08/27/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • CO
  • 80226
Web Servicemember
08/27/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • CO
  • 80226
Web Servicemember
01/21/2015 No
  • Credit reporting
  • Improper use of my credit report
  • Report improperly shared by CRC
  • MA
  • 02638
Web