Apothaker & Associates, PC CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
06/28/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • Auto
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • PA
  • 15102
Web Servicemember
I contacted the lawyer XXXX XXXX representing XXXX who had purchased an existing loan of mine from XXXX XXXX when I was served on XXXX/XXXX/15 for an old loan. I was told they would sue me if I did n't come to an arrangement. I agreed to make payments with them under the condition they would remove the balance off my credit report as I made payments. In XX/XX/XXXX 2015 I pulled my credit report and noticed that the original balance and the ending balance were still the same. I called to confront the Apothaker office and asked why they had n't reported to my credit. Their response was that they never agreed to that. I asked if they recorded all conversations and they said they did. I then asked them to play back the original conversation from XXXX and they refused. I hung up, called my wife and she then called Apothaker the same say asking about the recorded conversation. They refused to play it for her as well, she asked to speak with the manager and after an hour she was transferred to " The owner '' of the company. The " Owner '' apologized to my wife about the fact that someone agreed to remove that from the report. My wife called me back to fill me in and at that point I called Apothaker and told them they were not authorized to take money from my bank account anymore because they violated the agreement. I received a nasty phone call from them a week XXXX later threatening to sue me and I could n't not pay them. Last Week on the XXXX I received a writ of execution in the mail saying they were going to seize my property. I was confused by this because I never knew I had lost a lawsuit because they told me the previous year if I made payments I did n't need to worry about a lawsuit. I contacted a lawyer and he recommended that I file a complaint with your organization. He also stated that had I contacted him last year that I never would have had to pay them in the first place because they 're a predatory company.
03/11/2022 No
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Seized or attempted to seize your property
  • PA
  • 17042
Web
I had a family issue that caused me to take custody of my nephews in XX/XX/XXXX. It had placed a financial burden on my family as I couldnt work due to their needs. This caused me to miss payments, etc. I was going to file for bankruptcy but decided to try to negotiate settlements with the card companies. I couldnt get a settlement with XXXX and then XXXX XXXX bought the debt. They sued me through Apothaker Scian. I set up a payment plan and everything was going well until XX/XX/XXXX when XXXX erroneously charged me twice. While this happened, it caused my payment to be returned to Apothaker Scian and I didnt realize this had happened. Honestly I deposit enough for the bills and then have everything set up automatically so I dont check the account as often as I should. Apothaker Scian said they notified me by mail that the payment was returned but I never received any communication from them. Maybe lost in the mail?!? However, they never tried to resubmit the payment or tried pulling funds for any subsequent payments that I had preauthorized. They have no frozen my bank account and have caused more damage ( missed daycare payment, insurance payment, late fees, etc ) all over a relatively small amount owed. Especially during a pandemic ( we maybe coming out of it now? ) when everything is rising and things are already tough for many people.
04/12/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Impersonated attorney, law enforcement, or government official
  • PA
  • 19141
Web
the complaint against " Apothaker Scian P. C. '' was not if I owed a debt to XXXX. It was not about if XXXX, who they claim to get my debt account from was owed. A complaint was filed due to this company being believed to have falsely gotten & purchased even requested my personal account from XXXX out of retoliation ... I suspect that " Apothaker Scian P. C. '' may have allegelly, got representatives or whomever from XXXX to turn over my account to hem rather as they stated that it was sent to them for XXXX. Again, since when does XXXX take a college student to court for a {$900.00} charge even with interest as little as totaling {$1000.00}? This is unheard of. Not that I wouldn ; t agree to pay or haven't been paying, but, this would have just been put on my credit report. So, again, my complaint is to find out if XXXX sent this account I owed to this Apothaker that I owed to XXXX ONLY, or if it was requested. Also, if so, does the legal dept. or XXXX XXXX even know about the hearing they filed for me to attend. Why would XXXX use an attorney from NJ where my mother and me, Miss XXXX XXXX have been having so much politics come against us? How did they get the account. Please, do not take their word for it.
02/07/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Sued you without properly notifying you of lawsuit
  • NJ
  • 07017
Web
Now I've disputed with both XXXX XXXX and the lawyer who is representing them. I did not recieve any letter in the mail that I was being sued, court date or anything to challenge them. I requested numerous times and disputed with letters this account. They can't produce anything. No copy of any original contract with signature only copies of statements which aren't proof at all. They did not send me anything that they are producing to the bureaus as 100 % verified and accurate. They directed me to their lawyer and I received nothing but a letter today of court. XXXX said they have nothing with my signature and everything was started online. All this is done without my knowledge. Instead of addressing this issue and since they couldn't prove anything a lawyer is involved.
08/06/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Sued you without properly notifying you of lawsuit
  • PR
  • 00682
Web
During a routine credit application, I learned that there is an outstanding default judgment from XXXX in NJ in the amount of {$4200.00} filed by Apothaker Scian PC on behalf of XXXX XXXX XXXX. I did not live in XXXX XXXX in XXXX. I moved to XXXX XXXX in XXXX and sold the house in XXXX XXXX. The lawsuit shows service performed at my old XXXX address, four years after I moved away. I was never served, never given a chance to respond to suit, and never made aware there was a default judgment. Now this is harming my ability to get credit. Apothaker Scian claims to have no knowledge of who holds this default judgment and XXXX XXXX XXXX was purchased by XXXX XXXX XXXX. XXXX XXXX XXXX also claims to have no knowledge of this judgment.
08/07/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • PA
  • 18337
Web
Apothaker Scian knowingly continues to threaten legal action against me for the credit card debt in question, though according to the debt validation they provided, the statute of limitations to enforce collection through the court system has passed. Arbitration documents were recently mailed to me with court stamps from a year ago however, these documents were not served to me at the time they were stamped. The documents also state that I consented to act as my own attorney during the arbitration process which is false. Below are reference numbers for previous complaints submitted for this continuing issue. XXXX XXXX XXXX
01/05/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Auto debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Collected or attempted to collect exempt funds
  • NJ
  • 07106
Web
XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX sent me court documents in the mail on a inactive case in which the judge ruled in my favor on XX/XX/2015. She tried to deceive me with the information that she sent me. She did not file a new Civil Action : with Superior Court Of New Jersey XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. The documents stated that I had to respond in 7 days to opposed or unopposed, if not, the order of garnishment of wages will be carried out. Back around in XXXX was her first attempt to collect my debt and this is her second attempt to collect my old debt in the amount of {$6900.00}.
05/07/2016 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Problems when you are unable to pay
  • PA
  • 19131
Web Older American, Servicemember
this is an addition to a complaint I filed with you few days ago. Apathaker XXXX ( handling judgements against me ) has offered a written in stone proposal that I pay $ XXXX/mo for 24 months. I am a XXXXyo XXXX veteran on a fixed income and can not possibly meet this arrangement. I have an agreement to satisfy another judgement with the same attorney. I have been paying $ XXXX/mo. I recently learned that in spite of my arrangement this attorney plans to garnish my bank account. How can I honor the agreement if they plan to take my money????
10/03/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • NJ
  • 07013
Web
I have a situation with a harassing collector with verification of validation letters, and I am still investigating why they are wanting to collect on a debt that exceeds the amount and the time of the statues of limitation in my state of NJ. My finances went out of control, and I have the reason to believe based on collectors standards, any debt charged off from the original institution, is sold pennies on a dollar. So if in any case I should pay, it should be above the amount purchased enough for them to attain a fair profit.
11/13/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened or suggested your credit would be damaged
  • NJ
  • 07017
Web
I sent a medical dispute to the collection agency only to receive a pamphlet basically of copies of statements and bill of sale. No copy of license to collect in my state, no hippa form with signature, no copy of identification or social. Now this is in violation of hippa laws and they are trying to skate by. I know my rights. You have not proven the account is mine and being a lawyer is involved they should know better. I do not owe {$730.00}.
01/28/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Private student loan debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • NJ
  • 07604
Web
The collection agency stated that this debt is from 1998. I didn't have a student loan from this date. I asked for the original paperwork that states the amount and the loan they said they would try to get me this to me but im still waiting to receive the papers. Also I have two collection agencies coming after me for one student loan. There is no working or speaking with this company, they have to be the best rudest nastiest people alive.
05/17/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • NJ
  • 08081
Web
On XXXX XXXX, I discovered that my savings account was levied due to a judgment against my husband. The collection agency, Apothaker and Associates, has withdrawn funds from my husband 's account several times. The last withdrawal was XXXX XXXX in the amount of {$1600.00}. I contacted the agency to alert them of my complaint and they stated that a cease and desist was ordered on the account so they could not discuss any information.
03/05/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • NJ
  • 08103
Web
This is in reference to XXXX credit card. the debt was in the hands of XXXX XXXX XXXX before I became disable as of XX/XX/2015. Most of my creditors have cancelled my debts as to my XXXX status but XXXX XXXX XXXX is pursuing an old debt for XXXX who purchased the debt. They have threatened to take legal action if i don't pay and this is the first and only letter I have received from their firm.
05/05/2016 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Problems when you are unable to pay
  • PA
  • 19131
Web Older American, Servicemember
Through a consumer action agency, I made contact with Apothaker XXXX P.C. ( the attorney 's office ) handling a judgement against me for XXXX XXXX credit card. The only offer they would make required me to pay {$640.00} /mo for two years. They said they had a rule against extending the time. I am a XXXX veteran on a fixed income and ca n't possibly meet these demands.
05/04/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • PA
  • 15501
Web
XXXX XXXX XXXX. claims i owe a debt that i do not owe!!!
10/20/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Seized or attempted to seize your property
  • PA
  • 18052
Web
09/30/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • NJ
  • 07304
Web
07/28/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Auto debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Impersonated attorney, law enforcement, or government official
  • NJ
  • 07512
Web
11/08/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • NJ
  • 08886
Postal mail
10/24/2019 Yes
  • Vehicle loan or lease
  • Loan
  • Struggling to pay your loan
  • Loan balance remaining after the vehicle is repossessed and sold
  • NJ
  • 07083
Phone
06/29/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • NJ
  • 07001
Postal mail
06/11/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Seized or attempted to seize your property
  • PA
  • 18052
Web
03/21/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • PA
  • 18201
Web
08/24/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • PA
  • 18337
Web
06/19/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • PA
  • 17109
Web
06/15/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • NJ
  • 08724
Fax
10/23/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • NJ
  • 07728
Web Older American
09/28/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was already discharged in bankruptcy and is no longer owed
  • NJ
  • 08077
Referral
09/19/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • NJ
  • 07728
Web Older American
06/30/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • NJ
  • 07728
Web Older American
06/22/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened to sue you for very old debt
  • PA
  • 18037
Phone
08/02/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • NJ
  • 07631
Web
08/02/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • PA
  • 18518
Fax
09/11/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • PA
  • 15065
Referral
04/03/2015 Yes
  • Consumer Loan
  • Installment loan
  • Problems when you are unable to pay
  • MI
  • 49508
Web Older American
12/23/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • NJ
  • 07109
Web
10/13/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • PA
  • 19046
Web
08/22/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Sued where didn't live/sign for debt
  • NJ
  • 07735
Web Older American
07/23/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Communication tactics
  • Used obscene/profane/abusive language
  • PA
  • 19023
Web
06/04/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • PA
  • 19505
Web
04/11/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • PA
  • 19403
Postal mail
10/03/2013 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • PA
  • 18052
Web Servicemember