AMERIFIRST FINANCIAL, INC. CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
05/17/2021 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Closing on a mortgage
  • CA
  • 92129
Web
On XX/XX/XXXX, I was provided the contact information of XXXX XXXX at Amerifirst Financial Inc to assist me with the purchase of a home in XXXX XXXX Nevada. The information was provided to me by my Buyer 's agent, XXXX XXXX from XXXX and XXXX who highly recommended XXXX and advised me she would definitely be able to provide me with a loan. I proceeded to make an offer on a home on XXXX XXXX and proceeded with an XX/XX/XXXX loan application. XXXX assisted me with my loan requirements and provided me with a pre-approval letter with the intent of closing on XX/XX/XXXX. I put a deposit in escrow of {$25000.00}. On XX/XX/XXXX, I received a call from XXXX to advise me that the investor who offered XX/XX/XXXX loans pulled out of the XXXX XXXX market and is no longer offering these types of loans and we would have to source another investor and extend closing. My loan contingency was extended through XX/XX/XXXX and subsequently to XX/XX/XXXX with closing extended through XX/XX/XXXX. Despite being qualified for the loan and meeting all requirements and providing all the documents being requested, Amerifirst was not closing my loan. On XX/XX/XXXX I receive a call from XXXX and my broker advising me that their systems were hacked and they can not access my files and will need to extend the closing further to XX/XX/XXXX while they work out how to submit all the documents manually. i'm asked to resubmit all the documents to XXXX to her personal email so she can forward them to the underwriters. At this point my loan contingency had lapsed due to delays from Amerifirst that continued without any clear communication as to what had transpired and why. I was assured my loan was approved and that it was a matter of time to close. Despite multiple requests from me and from my agent to get an update on the status of my loan, my lender did not return calls or emails including an email that I sent to the CEO of the company and a voicemail that I left for him explaining my predicament and asking for urgent assistance, no one got back to either myself or my agent. Every day until XXXX, I was assured by my lender that my loan was approved and that the XXXX 's were going out that week. On XX/XX/XXXX, when I was due to close escrow, I was informed by XXXX that they needed another extension as the underwriters were still reviewing the file, but I was assured my loan was approved and that I would be closing by XX/XX/XXXX. I kept asking about my deposit and I was assured I would not lose my deposit as I will be closing on XX/XX/XXXX. On XX/XX/XXXX, I received a call from my agent who asked me to send an email and call XXXX asking her to transfer my entire mortgage file to another lender so that I didn't run the risk of losing the house as Amerifirst had failed to produce my loan approval and failed to send my closing disclosures. The other lender was the seller 's agent lender and the seller had agreed that if I transferred the file over to the new lender, they will extend my closing by 2 weeks to allow time to close on the house. I called XXXX on XX/XX/XXXX and explained that I needed her to transfer my entire file which she confirmed she would despite being upset for losing her commission, and I sent her an email the same day requesting the same copying my agent and the new lender. She called me back and confirmed she would send my file but she failed to send my file to the new lender, and instead issued a loan approval letter and an email on XX/XX/XXXX saying that my XXXX 's had gone out. This letter and email went to the seller 's agent, myself, and my agent. At this point, her email served as a confirmation of a loan and my agent told me there was no need to move forward with another application to the new lender. I had already started the application on XX/XX/XXXX, but didn't proceed upon instructions from my broker. On XX/XX/XXXX, the seller put the house back on the market. I immediately contacted my agent XXXX and my lender XXXX to let them know and pleaded for help. XXXX did not respond, but XXXX called to tell me that she will contact the seller 's agent as the XXXX 's were on their way and I should have no issue closing on XX/XX/XXXX. She then asked me to provide a few letters of explanation for minor items/amounts in my bank account. I provided all that she asked for on XX/XX/XXXX. On XX/XX/XXXX and XX/XX/XXXX, I chased XXXX and XXXX and XXXX was not responding. XXXX kept telling me that the XXXX 's would be going out that day. For 2 more weeks, I kept chasing the lender and my agent only to be told they were " working on it ''. In the meatime, the seller proceeded with marketing the house and selling the home. Despite meeting every request made of me by the lender and despite giving me a firm loan approval letter, the lender failed and fraudulently tried to impede me from going to another lender to save her commission on the transaction at the expense of me losing my home purchase, losing my deposit of {$25000.00}, incurring extensive additional costs for temporary housing, moving expenses, hotel stays, and losing my ability to purchase any other home due to the hiking market prices. I am filing a complaint against XXXX XXXX, her manager XXXX, the CEO of Amerifirst, XXXX XXXX, for giving me false information, failing to protect my earnest money deposit, and for failing to close my loan despite providing a loan approval and confirming that XXXX 's had gone out. This was pure misrepresentation and deceptive practices.
09/28/2019 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • FHA mortgage
  • Closing on a mortgage
  • AZ
  • 85037
Web
On XX/XX/2019 I obtained an FHA loan and purchased My property, with the loan agency Amerifirst Financial Inc, with the loan agent XXXX XXXX and realtor XXXX XXXX ( XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX ). This transaction was released at XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX with XXXX XXXX as the representative. The issue An FHA loan was approved with fraudulent inspection done to the home that clarified that the roofing was in good condition. In reality the roof is not in good conditions to be approved by the FHA because of this reason the home insurance has been declined even when we paid the first year in advance. It is unknown to my knowledge how an FHA loan was approved when the roofing is not in good conditions to be accepted by any insurance. At the moment my property is uninsured with no coverage at all because the roof does not qualify to be insured. I have asked for help to all three parties that were involved and that were mentioned above. None of them has given me solution yet. I believe that I am a victim of mortgage fraud in the way my loan was approved by the FHA. I would be greatly appreciate if you could help me with this issue that these companies are making me go through. Also Send a Complaint to OFFICE OF THE ARIZONA ATTORNEY GENERAL CIVIL LITIGATION DIVISION CONSUMER PROTECTION & ADVOCACY SECTION This office sent information of our complaint to the lender and the lender. I answer that everything was done under the normal norms and that they could not help me. This Office Tells Me That If The Problem Is Not Resolved That Again Submit A Claim, BUT THE LENDER SAYS THAT THE PROCESS IS NORMAL. MY QUESTION IS : IS IT NORMAL THAT AN FHA LOAN BE ACCEPTED WITH PROBLEM ON THE PROPPERTY? Also Send a Complaint to FHA Resource Center After quite a few days and many phone calls they tell me that if the lender made any mistakes in our qualification or submitted false inspections in the home inspection, the only thing that will happen is that they will be given a call to pay attention to the lender ... ..?????????? Lender XXXX XXXX and the XXXX XXXX XXXX told me Lies, They said that the property insurance was canceled because there were 300 USD left to pay the insurance, they wanted to charge me more money, we paid a year in advance for the insurance in the closing costs at the title agency, Then the Title Agency CALLED THESE TWO PEOPLE TELLING THEM WHY THEY CHARGED ME IF WE HAD PAID THE INSURANCE, THEN THESE PEOPLE SAY THAT THE DIFFERENCE WILL BE PAID BY XXXX XXXX. The truth was that the insurance was canceled for not passing the inspection carried out by the insurance company. They are Non-Honest People, UNTIL THE TIME THEY HAVE NOT CALLED ME TO SOLVE MY PROBLEM BUT WE FOLLOW THE PROBLEM My house was purchased in XX/XX/2019, insurance was paid for one year, and the insurance was canceled in XX/XX/2019, until today our property has no insurance, no company accepts me to cover the roof for not being in acceptable conditions. QUESTION AGAIN ; HOW DOES AN FHA LOAN BE ACCEPTED IF NO ROOF INSPECTION DOES? IS AN INSPECTION DELIVERED WITH FRAUD? I NEED YOUR HELP PLEASE!!
08/03/2020 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Closing on a mortgage
  • CO
  • 80007
Web
XXXX I received a text message from my loan officer stating we were getting ready to lock the interest rate for a XXXX XXXX close. XXXX received loan docs with estimated closing costs at {$13.00}, XXXX XXXX close scheduled forXX/XX/20 and paid for appraisal XXXX text massage from loan officer agreeing to meet preferred lender within {$600.00} - requested updated estimate for loan officer XXXX received text message form loan officer stating our rate was locked at 3.5 % with a monthly pmt of {$3200.00} +- closing disclosure cash to close {$54000.00} XXXX received confirmation of loan approval from loan officer with approval to resign XXXX received a call from lenser stating " XXXX XXXX '' is requesting a lock extension with a cost of {$2500.00} - however, we did not break lock XXXX received updated loan disclosure with cash to close {$57000.00} after XXXX alone approval and final loan disclosure - text message from loan officer " they are re-balancing and everything should be correct now - when I questioned this further, I received a text massage stating this was a change of circumstance - we never signed a change of circumstance with another text from loan officer stating " your old amount should be correct as we are just adding {$2500.00} XXXX we wired {$57000.00} to title to close XXXX arrived at closing appointment and was instructed to wire an additional {$560.00} adding {$960.00} to the original amount to close and exceeding the original agreed upon amount by more than {$2000.00} XXXX received text from loan officer stating I was charged twice for the appraisal in error ( however I was not ) XXXX received text from loan officer stating he was '' fixing the {$2500.00} ) and that I was credited back for the appraisal - I was never credited back for the appraisal and that Title would write me a check for the overpayment. Also that I would receive a refund from the appraisal company for {$370.00} XXXX F/U with loan officer about overpayment and status of refund of minimum {$960.00} XXXX questioned rate lock extension by XXXX - loan officer states he requested final loan docs form Title XXXX again questioned rate lock extension, as we didn't break lock ( initially told by XXXX ) - response from loan officer " Amerifirst was requiring the lock extension because they would not be able to sell the loan until you had at least one paycheck. That is a requirement no matter who is servicing the loan. We may have underwritten with XXXX but they must not have bought it. As far as the difference, did you take into account the potion of the appraisal that was credited back to you '' my response " I have not received a credit ''. Again, I received a text that the loan officer would look into it. then another text from loan officer " now that I am remembering ... .you should have received credit for the entire appraisal '' XXXX informed loan officer I am requesting a full loan audit as to date I have not received any clarity concerning my loan I can provide copies of all text messages
04/12/2016 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional fixed mortgage
  • Loan servicing, payments, escrow account
  • CA
  • 92592
Web
AmeriFrist pulled my wife 's and my credit on XXXX for what they claim is to sell our loan. Unfortunately, AmeriFrist sold our loan to XXXX back in XXXX. Below is what has transpired with AmeriFirst. XXXX/XXXX/XXXX XXXX made a hard credit pull on our credit. XXXX/XXXX/XXXX I called XXXX to see what the hard pull was for. XXXX told me that is came from The AZ branch of AmeriFirst. XXXX/XXXX/XXXX I called Ameri First and they transferred me to you. I explained to XXXX XXXX at AmeriFirst what was going on and XXXX XXXX at AmeriFirst said " let me research it and I will get back to you ''. XXXX/XXXX/XXXX After a week went by and I heard nothing. I called XXXX XXXX at AmeriFirst back. XXXX XXXX at AmeriFirst explained to me that " that when we went through Ameri First to finance the purchase of our new home we signed a " Blanket '' statement allowing Ameri First obtain any information they needed to sell our loan on the second market and that includes hard credit pulls ''. I asked how many times will Amerifirst pull our credit? XXXX XXXX at AmeriFirst said " As many times as they want, but the credit report is good for 90 days. Did n't you read what you signed? '' I requested a copy of the " blanket '' statement and our credit report. XXXX XXXX at AmeriFirstsaid no problem and that we would also would receive a letter from your legal department explaining what is going on. XXXX/XXXX/XXXX I called XXXX XXXX, who has serviced our loan since XXXX/XXXX/XXXX. I explained to them what was going on and asked if they were trying to sell our loan. They told me no they are not selling our loan and they do not know who AmeriFrist is. XXXX/XXXX/XXXX I called XXXX XXXX at AmeriFirst and explain to you what XXXX said. You said the same thing again " AmeriFirst has the right to pull your credit when we are trying to sell your loan. '' I then asked " Why would Ameri Frist need pull our credit to sell our loan? XXXX is servicing our loan and has been since XXXX? '' XXXX XXXX at AmeriFirst said " let me research it and I will get back to you ''. XXXX/XXXX/XXXX We received in the mail a copy of the " blanket '' statement, the HUD and a letter from XXXX XXXX at AmeriFirst stating the same thing about selling our loan on the second market and how AmeriFrist has the right to pull our credit. There was no credit report or letter from AmeriFirst 's legal department. XXXX/XXXX/XXXX I called XXXX XXXX at AmeriFirst to ask what is going on and to call me back. XXXX/XXXX/XXXX XXXX XXXX at AmeriFirst called left me a message and asked me email you my complaint and what my expectations are. Since my loan servicer does not know who AmeriFrist, and AmeriFrist no longer has anything to do with our loan since XXXX of XXXX it makes no since why AmeriFrist would pull our credit in XXXX.
10/16/2021 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Struggling to pay mortgage
  • AZ
  • 85340
Web
In XXXX of 2021, I entered a CoVID-19 forbearance program under the CARES ACT. Prior to forbearance, all previous mortgage payment were made on time. In XXXX of 2021, I requested to end my forbearance status through the loan modification option. It is now XX/XX/2021 and I have not been contacted by the servicer regarding the loan modification and my attempts to get status was unsuccessful. I need to be out of forbearance to qualify for a business loan that is essential to keeping my business open. Without the business loan, I am at a risk of additional financial hardship. Any delay in processing the loan modification increase my risk of losing my source of income. Background : Since my request for a loan modification, I have not been contacted by the servicer. They have not contacted me to fill out an application, request for documentation or ask for any information. All communications between the servicer and myself were initiated by me. From XXXX of XXXX XX/XX/2021, I proactively called the servicer more than XXXX times to ensure a timely resolution. However, each time I called, the only information provided is that that the loan modification is under review. In recent weeks, I have asked to communicate directly with the loan processor and was informed that is not possible, however, the customer service representative was able to email the processor on my behalf. As such, I made 5 separate requests to the loan processor thru email from the customer service representative for some type of status and was told that the processor will contact me within 24 hours. The loan processor never contacted me. Due to lack of communication and transparency from the servicer regarding the loan modification process and my need to urgently take action to prevent additional financial hardship, I was forced to enter the deferment option which is expected to be process and finalize sooner. Complaint : Mortgage servicer failed to respond to borrower ( me ) after repeated attempts at communication. Mortgage servicer did not work with borrower throughout the loan modification process. Delays in sending certain notices and taking certain actions required by Regulation X. Did not demonstrate effectiveness in helping borrower through the loan modification process. Lack of communication. Did not effectively managing borrower requests for assistance, promoting loss mitigation, and ultimately increasing risk of avoidable foreclosure. Did not respond to borrower requests and complaints in a timely manner. As a result of the complaints described above, I was forced to end my forbearance through an option that increases my financial hardship.
12/14/2020 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Closing on a mortgage
  • AZ
  • 85323
Web
AmeriFirst finical XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, AZ XXXX To whom it may concern, I am writing this letter as a formal demand for reimbursement of my losses due to poor management of our transaction due to the following reasons our transaction did not close nor did it get handled appropriately Lack of communication After sever emails calls and attempts by my realtor it took him calling another branch to get a response We have several reviews of your company that say the exact same thing Refused to answer simple questions in regards to the transaction Failure to properly timely process paperwork and a response. Paperwork was not done in a timely matter causing the transaction to go past the close of escrow date still with no response After many attempts by my Realtor to contact XXXX XXXX and ask when the file should go to underwriting or quality control, we never got a response until after scheduled close of escrow date These are just a few reasons this transaction was poorly managed and why the transaction failed to close or failed to give us proper notice it would not close. I had moved into an apartment from the understanding that your employee would do her job. I waited until after inspection and appraisal my Realtor had contacted XXXX XXXX and asked if she sees any issues with the file and she assured him she does not My expenses are as followed Moving company- {$3500.00} Apartment - {$3200.00} Mortgage payment- {$1400.00} Misc. ( late fees, Interest, additional expenses ) - {$3500.00} In the event you need a breakdown or proof of fees I will be glad to provide Please send the Check or response to XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, AZXXXX Due to the poor management of your buyers file it has put my family into a finical hardship. If this is not handled appropriately and timely I will file a formal complaint with the NMLS and state. As well as a claim suit Sincerely, XXXX XXXX
08/09/2021 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Closing on a mortgage
  • CA
  • 92624
Web
We started a refi with Amerifirst Financial Inc. -NMLS XXXX in XXXX of XXXX. The refi dragged on for almost 5 months at no fault of our own. The lender, XXXX XXXX, of the XXXX XXXX CA office continued to string us along with excuse after excuse of why we hadn't closed. I'm requesting our file to be reviewed and believe XXXX XXXX, who runs the XXXX XXXX office is a fraud. We were told the delays were due to many refi 's happening which was very believable. We were then told it was because of the holidays ( also believable ), and then again told there was a system malfunction nationwide. We were told about 20 more excuses dragging the refi out, most of which I have retained in text messages and emails. When we finally closed in XXXX, we signed with the notary for a REFUND of almost {$4000.00} and have received NO refund. It is my belief, the lender, XXXX XXXX, extended our loan multiple times without ever discussing, disclosing, or anyone agreeing on fees & he used our refund to cover the cost without EVER disclosing those fees. He now has discontinued communicating without delivering an explanation to where our money is.
04/19/2022 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage
  • OH
  • 44041
Web Servicemember
I went through XXXX Amerifirst financial mortgage with a lender XXXX XXXX. I decided to go to another lender. He called my cousin who is a real esate agent to tell him I went elsewhere and gave him the info of who I went went with. This is unethnical and my information should of not been told to anyone. This also has caused a huge rift in my family by his actions. I then reached out to the company XXXX financial mortgage based out of Arizona and am no longer receiving calls back from this man named XXXX at XXXX that is in the complaint department. I am not being heard and its against the law to give out information on a client.
11/04/2020 No
  • Mortgage
  • VA mortgage
  • Closing on a mortgage
  • CA
  • 91767
Web Servicemember
Approved for a loan by Amerifirst loan officer XXXX XXXX. His company is unprofessional, disorganized, and cost me time and money. There was a credit issue that was seen in the initial credit check which was ignored and inevitably cost me the loan financing! Due to XXXX incompetence, I also lost my earnest deposit as it was XXXX who said we were good to go removing loan contingencies!
09/21/2020 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • FHA mortgage
  • Closing on a mortgage
  • AZ
  • 85326
Web
Amerifirst financial failed to close a loan. They made empty promises and told the buyer they will close as well as the seller. They failed to put the client in any sort of underwriting until 2 days before close of escrow because they forgot about the file. They shared the buyers personal information as well as the ssn with all parties. Costing the seller over XXXX in damages
07/12/2022 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Trouble during payment process
  • TX
  • 78665
Phone
03/28/2022 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • FHA mortgage
  • Trouble during payment process
  • WA
  • 98387
Web
12/22/2021 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • FHA mortgage
  • Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage
  • AZ
  • 85382
Web
12/09/2021 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Information belongs to someone else
  • CA
  • 91205
Web
11/11/2021 No
  • Mortgage
  • FHA mortgage
  • Closing on a mortgage
  • NC
  • 28580
Web
08/18/2021 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage
  • NV
  • 89129
Referral
04/06/2021 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage
  • AZ
  • 85281
Web
02/08/2020 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Other type of mortgage
  • Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage
  • NC
  • 28443
Web
10/19/2017 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional home mortgage
  • Closing on a mortgage
  • CA
  • 92109
Web
12/21/2016 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • VA mortgage
  • Application, originator, mortgage broker
  • CA
  • 92555
Web
06/18/2016 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • FHA mortgage
  • Settlement process and costs
  • AZ
  • 85138
Web
11/05/2015 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Other mortgage
  • Application, originator, mortgage broker
  • AZ
  • 85204
Phone Servicemember
02/20/2014 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • FHA mortgage
  • Credit decision / Underwriting
  • AZ
  • 86326
Web
11/08/2013 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Other mortgage
  • Loan servicing, payments, escrow account
  • UT
  • 84124
Web
06/12/2013 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Conventional fixed mortgage
  • Settlement process and costs
  • CA
  • 92084
Web
03/11/2013 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • Other mortgage
  • Loan modification,collection,foreclosure
  • ID
  • 83686
Postal mail Servicemember
02/25/2013 Yes
  • Mortgage
  • FHA mortgage
  • Loan servicing, payments, escrow account
  • AZ
  • 85201
Postal mail