American Capital Enterprises, Inc. CFPB Complaints

Back to Dashboard
2000 Latest Complaints
Date Received Timely Response Product Issue State / Zip Submitted Via Tags
04/07/2016 Yes
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on credit report
  • Account terms
  • CA
  • 90406
Web
I have hired American Credit to dispute inaccurate credit reporting on my credit reports now for almost six months. Several companies have destroyed my credit and reported inaccurate information without contacting me, sending me a bill or even explaining the debt owed. If I receive a bill I always pay it and on time. My credit is very important to me. T 15 USCS 1692e 1692e. False or misleading representations A debt collector may not use any false, deceptive, or misleading representation or means in connection with the collection of any debt. Without limiting the general application of the foregoing, the following conduct is a violation of this section : ( 1 ) The false representation or implication that the debt collector is vouched for, bonded by, or affiliated with the United States or any State, including the use of any badge, uniform, or facsimile thereof. ( 2 ) The false representation of- ( A ) the character, amount, or legal status of any debt ; or ( B ) any services rendered or compensation which may be lawfully received by any debt collector for the collection of a debt. ( 3 ) The false representation or implication that any individual is an attorney or that any communication is from an attorney. ( 4 ) The representation or implication that nonpayment of any debt will result in the arrest or imprisonment of any person or the seizure, garnishment, attachment, or sale of any property or wages of any person unless such action is lawful and the debt collector or creditor intends to take such action. ( 5 ) The threat to take any action that can not legally be taken or that is not intended to be taken. ( 6 ) The false representation or implication that a sale, referral, or other transfer of any interest in a debt shall cause the consumer to- ( A ) lose any claim or defense to payment of the debt ; or ( B ) become subject to any practice prohibited by this title [ 15 USCS 1692 et seq. ]. ( 7 ) The false representation or implication that the consumer committed any crime or other conduct in order to disgrace the consumer. ( 8 ) Communicating or threatening to communicate to any person credit information which is known or which should be known to be false, including the failure to communicate that a disputed debt is disputed. ( 9 ) The use or distribution of any written communication which simulates or is falsely represented to be a document authorized, issued, or approved by any court, official, or agency of the United States or any State, or which creates a false impression as to its source, authorization, or approval. ( 10 ) The use of any false representation or deceptive means to collect or attempt to collect any debt or to obtain information concerning a consumer. ( 11 ) The failure to disclose in the initial written communication with the consumer and, in addition, if the initial communication with the consumer is oral, in that initial oral communication, that the debt collector is attempting to collect a debt and that any information obtained will be used for that purpose, and the failure to disclose in subsequent communications that the communication is from a debt collector, except that this paragraph shall not apply to a formal pleading made in connection with a legal action. ( 12 ) The false representation or implication that accounts have been turned over to innocent purchasers for value. ( 13 ) The false representation or implication that documents are legal process. ( 14 ) The use of any business, company, or organization name other than the true name of the debt collector 's business, company, or organization. ( 15 ) The false representation or implication that documents are not legal process forms or do not require action by the consumer. ( 16 ) The false representation or implication that a debt collector operates or is employed by a consumer reporting agency as defined by section 603 ( f ) of this Act [ 15 USCS 168
01/15/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Communication tactics
  • Used obscene/profane/abusive language
  • CA
  • 94558
Web
I received a notice of an outstanding debt I forgot to pay when I moved in XX/XX/XXXX. I immediately called American Capital. The number was not in service. I called again on XX/XX/XXXX a weekday and it worked. I spoke to XXXX, the person on the notice, and requested he investigate the debt as I thought it was paid. He said he would do so and call me back. On XX/XX/XXXX I called again and left a message for XXXX as I had not heard from him. I called again on XX/XX/XXXX and left another message for XXXX. Between XX/XX/XXXXXX/XX/XXXX, I received at least 3 phone messages from someone named XXXX saying he was returning my call. I never called someone named XXXX. After the 3rd or 4th such message, I called back, asked the secretary if she could tell me why this person was calling me, she refused to do so despite multiple queries, she refused to tell me what their company did and put me on hold. XXXX answered the phone and immediately began YELLING at me about how I was making him look bad by lying about the number of times I left messages for him, demanding I send him copies of my cell phone bills, and telling me I should n't lie and make him look bad. I asked him to stop yelling and he responded, " This is n't yelling, lady. You 'll know when I 'm yelling at you. '' I continued for at least 3 minutes attempting to get him to tell me who he was, why he was calling, what he wanted, etc. He finally told me he was calling about " a personal matter ''. At no point in time did he tell me he was calling about a debt or was from the collection agency. He proceeded to lecture me for 2 minutes on how I should n't cause him so much trouble at work ( while still yelling ), how awful I was treating him on the phone ( when I could n't even get in a word edge wise ). I finally asked if he was calling about the debt owed to the City of XXXX and he patronizingly said, " Why, yes, XXXX, why on earth would I be wasting my time on you? '' I explained that in my line of work I made many phone calls and left messages for people so having that information at the start of the conversation would have been helpful so I knew who he was and what he was calling about. Keep in mind that AT NO POINT had I ever left a message for this person, only for XXXX. At no point did XXXX ever state he was calling on behalf of XXXX or a collections agency. He only said American Capital which, without the notice in front of me, I had no idea what that was- it could have been a solicitor for all I knew.I asked him how I could pay the debt. He told me the amount. I asked him again how I could pay the debt and he said by check or by phone. I said fine, I would pay it by credit card via phone. He said he was going to transfer me to someone else. When I asked for clarification on who that would be, he sighed condescendingly and began lecturing me as if I was a naughty two year old. I hung up. I still do n't know if this person even works for the debt collection company. All I know is it was a humiliating, unnecessary situation. I have yet to be provided with anything verifying the debt itself despite my request, just a letter from American Capital saying I owe the debt. I have never been treated so poorly or rudely, much less been yelled at from the start of and throughout a phone call. XXXX never told me I could pay online ( which I did ). I was shaking when I got off the phone. I tried to reason with him, tried being polite, never raised my voice once, yet he was belligerent, condescending and abusive. He should be fired and this company should be put out of business. XXXX was perfectly nice and helpful when I spoke to him. I still have no idea why this XXXX person called me or what happened to my messages to XXXX. That was never explained. Instead, I was verbally abused with the implication being I was a stupid woman.
04/09/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • CA
  • 90305
Web
I have challenged the accuracy, compliance, and reportability of this listing. I've asked that this debt be validated with American Capital Ent and provide me with copies of any documentation associated with this account, bearing my signature. In the absence of any such documentation bearing my signature, I formally request that this information be immediately deleted from the credit file you maintain under my Social Security number. Upon further investigation, I have retained new copies of my credit reports and noticed that you did not furnish the credit bureaus withthe required disclosure within the period required by law. You are required by federal law to place a notice of dispute on my account within 30 days of my dispute, which you signed for on XX/XX/2020. I have retained a copy of your signature and date of receipt, as well as a time-stamped copy of my credit reports, showing that you have violated the Fair Credit Reporting Act, Section 623 ( a ) ( 3 ) and/or the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act Section 807 ( 8 ) by not placing the disclosure within the required 30-day period. Be aware that I am making a final goodwill attempt to have you clear up this matter. The listed item is entirely inaccurate and incomplete and represents a very serious error in your reporting. I am maintaining a careful record of my communications with you for the purpose of filing a complaint with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau and the Attorney Generals office, should you continue in your non-compliance of federal laws under the Fair Credit Reporting Act. I further remind you that you may be liable for your willful non-compliance, as per FCRA 623 ( a ) ( 3 ) - Responsibilities of furnishers of information to consumer reporting agencies [ 15 U.S.C. 1681s-2 ] ( 3 ) Duty to provide notice of dispute. If the completeness or accuracy of any information furnished by any person to any consumer reporting agency is disputed to such person by a consumer, the person may not furnish the information to any consumer reporting agency without notice that such information is disputed by the consumer. ( B ) Time of Notice ( I ) The notice required under subparagraph ( A ) shall be provided to the customer prior to, or no later than 30 days after, furnishing the negative information to a consumer reporting agency described in section 603 ( p ). As you have violated federal law, by not properly providing the credit bureaus with the proper notice within the required timeframe, and I have evidence of such, via certified mail receipts, you must now remove the item. Any other action ( or inaction ) on your behalf may result in a small claims action against your company. I would be seeking a minimum of {$1000.00} in damages per violation for : Defamation Negligent Enablement of Identity Fraud Violation of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act ( including but not limited to Section 807-8 ) Violation of the Fair Credit Reporting Act ( including but not limited to Section 623-a-3 )
08/05/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Communication tactics
  • You told them to stop contacting you, but they keep trying
  • CA
  • 90047
Web
In XXXX, I contracted with XXXX XXXX XXXX to spray my front and back yard for pest once a month. They knew that the gate to my back yard is always locked. I operated a XXXX from my home, so there was always someone at my residence to open the gate and give them access to my back yard. From the time I hired XXXX XXXX XXXX they kept charging me for services they did not provide. I told them them to knock on my door when they arrived to spray my yard, so I can open the gate. I also told them to leave a notice on my door, if no one answered the door. They never came to my door and never left any message that they were there for months. Then I started getting calls that my payment was past due. I told them that I was not going to pay them, unless they showed proof of the service I requested. They kept harassing me with phone calls. I have not lived at that address since XX/XX/XXXX, and these people are still harassing me to pay them and they know that they did not provide the service. They started by telling me I owed them XXXX dollars, after I told them that I was not going to pay for a service that they I did not receive. They have taken drastic measures by submitting my name to XXXX XXXX to collect {$260.00} from me. This company has submitted derogatory and erroneous information to the credit bureaus, tarnishing my name publicly. I reporting XXXX XXXX XXXX to you for you to stop them from pursuing this fraudulently collect debt they say I owe. Someone has to protect we the consumers from these vultures.
01/08/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • CA
  • 92410
Web
XXXX 'S XXXX XXXX XX/XX/XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. XXXX XXXX, CA XXXX ( XXXX ) XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX, Ca XXXX account # XXXX I SOLD A VEHICLE BACK ON XXXX A NOTICE OF TRANSFER AND RELEASE OF LIABILITY FORMS WAS SEND TO THE DMV ON XXXX. ON XXXX, XXXX XXXX I RECEIVE A LETTER FROM AMERICAN CAPITAL TO ADVISED ME THAT THE ACCOUNT WAS ON COLLECTIONS. I WAS ON SHOCK SINCE I NEVER RECEIVE ANY ADVICE FROM XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. ON XXXX I RESPOND TO AMERICAN CAPITAL BY CERTIFIED MAIL. THE ABOVE MAIL INCLUDED THE FOLLOWING. -COPY OF VEHICLE/VESSEL TRANSFER AND REASSIGNMENT FORM -COPY OF TRANSFER AND RELEASE OF LIABILITY FORM. -COPY OF THE PHOTO ID OF THE NEW OWNER. ON XXXX, XXXX XXXX I RECEIVE A RESPONSE FROM AMERICA CAPITAL CHARGING ME THE DEBIT. I CALL AND TALK TO XXXX XXXX, REGARDING ABOVE LETTER, SHE TOLD ME THAT INFORMATION I SEND WAS NOT ENOUGH TO PROVE THE LIABILITY. SHE TOLD ME THAT I NEED A ( FORM CALL INF 70. ) I WENT TO THE DMV RIGHT AFTER TALKING TO HER. DMV TOLD THAT I SHOULD NOT BE RESPONSIBLE OF THE VEHICLE SINCE XX/XX/XXXX. DMV STAMP THE FORM AND ALSO STAMP MY LIABILITY FORM AS PROVE THAT I AM NOT THE RESPONSIBLE PERSON. ON XXXX I CALL AGAIN AND TALK TO XXXX XXXX. AND SHE TOLD AGAIN THAT IS NOT ENOUGH. PLEASE HELP ME I NEVER BEEN IN COLLECTION ON MU LIFE. AND PLANNING TO BUY A HOSE NEXT YEAR. THIS IS NOT FEAR.
08/02/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened or suggested your credit would be damaged
  • CA
  • 92562
Web
BACKGROUND : On XX/XX/XXXX, I received an XXXX XXXX as prescribed by my private physician. This XXXX was in conjunction with the course of treatment prescribed by my Workers ' Compensation ( WC ) treating physician. Initially, the merging of this XXXX into the comp system was denied, however, upon appeal it was accepted as an industrial-based injury. Subsequently, disposition of billing was passed to WC ( XXXX ) for payment. Over the last four years, XXXX XXXX has ignored correspondence between my attorney, XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, who repeatedly advised them to cease and desist as per California Labor Codes 4600 and 3751 ( see attached ) and recommended actions to apply for relief. CURRENT : Most recently, however, despite the final balance of {$250.00} being PAID, American Capital Enterprises , Inc. maliciously reported this payment as a serious derogatory on XXXX. This malicious report resulted in a significant FICO score loss from XXXX to XXXX, a XXXX point value reduction as per XXXX Credit Bureau ( see attached page ). XXXX XXXX and XXXX have not reported same and do not currently reflect similar damages. I further assert that the CFPB should investigate this case and render immediate relief to my " good-excellent '' credit rating and exercise all punitive options against America Capital Enterprises , Inc.
11/19/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • CA
  • 90305
Web
Dispute Timeline I noticed on my credit report a collections account from American Capital ENT claiming I owe {$1800.00}. This debt is not mine and they will not respond to my request to remove this fraudulent item from my credit report. File Name : Dispute Letter 1 XXXX XX/XX/XXXX 1st Dispute letter mailed on XX/XX/2020, with no response. File Name : USPS Certified Mail Receipt Receipt for 1st Dispute Letter being sent. File Name : USPS Tracking Date Letter Received XX/XX/XXXX 1st Letter received by American Capital on XX/XX/2020. File Name : Credit Report American Capital XXXX XX/XX/XXXX I downloaded my credit report dated XX/XX/2020, with no mention in the comment section account being disputed by the consumer. File Name : Credit Report American Capital XXXX XX/XX/XXXX I downloaded my credit report 46 days later from the date the letter was received by American Capital, with no mention in the comment section that this account is being disputed by the consumer. File Name : Dispute Letter 2 XXXX XX/XX/XXXX 2nd Dispute letter sent to American Capital with no response. File Name : USPS Certified Mail Receipt XX/XX/XXXX - Receipt for 2nd Dispute Letter being sent. File Name : USPS Tracking Date Dispute Letter Received XX/XX/XXXX - 1st Letter received by American Capital on XX/XX/2020.
01/22/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • CA
  • 92557
Web
I was refinancing my mortgage in XX/XX/ 2018 and my lender told me that there was an unpaid collection of {$1600.00} on my XXXX file. I was provided with the contact information and the account number of the collection agency. I called the company and was told by the person handling the account that the money represented an amount owed to their client for towing and impound services ( apparently the vehicle was never retrieved ). I asked how they identified me as the individual owing the money and he claimed that they had obtained it from the Department of Motor Vehicles, He claimed that the license plate of said vehicle ( a XXXX XXXX ) showed that it was registered to me. I asked for the license plate number so that I could research said vehicle and he refused to give me that information so I was unable to contact the DMV to do research. Instead he told me I should go to the DMV and ask for a list of vehicles that were at some point in time registered to me. The facts are as follows : I have never owned a XXXX XXXX and I have never had a vehicle towed. I have no knowledge of this matter and I do not owe them any money.
01/20/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 92807
Web
American Capital Enterprises , Inc. said I owe a debt for my son, As I have no sons, I am confused. I do have XXXX daughters, but XXXX of them were at or over the age of XXXX at the time they are saying the debt occurred, so I would not be responsible for their debts. They also said they did not have my address, even though it was part of my last complaint. For the record, my mailing address is : XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, CA XXXX. I request # 1 proof that this is my debt with my signature, # 2 proof that this debt was assigned to them and # 3 proof that this debt can legally be assigned and collected by a 3rd party ( again, I need a signed contract showing this ). If this proof can not be provided, they are in violation of the fair credit laws and reporting such a debt on my credit report is illegal. Also for the record, I am disputing this debt and all the legal responsibilities and rights that go with this need to be enforced by American Capital Enterprises , Inc.
07/24/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • CA
  • 91767
Web
I spoke to your company before and informed you that I am in dispute with the medical service provider and that you needed to validate this debt. This is NOT a request for " verification '' or proof of my mailing address, but a request for VALIDATION made pursuant to Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, 15 USC 1692g Sec. 809 ( b ) that your claim is disputed and validation is requested. This is NOT a request for " verification '' or proof of my mailing address, but a request for VALIDATION.. I respectfully request that your office provide me with competent evidence that I have any legal obligation to pay you and provide a detailed, plain and simple list ( not coded ) of any and all services or a line by line itemization report of charges. If your offices have reported invalidated information to any of the three major Credit Bureau 's ( XXXX, XXXX or XXXX ), said action might constitute fraud under both Federal and State Laws. If so please delete from collection Thank You
08/05/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • CA
  • 91773
Web
Hi there, thank you for your time in reviewing this complaint. Please excuse my memory with dates and times, I have XXXX and it makes it very tough. Around 2014 I got a job with " XXXX XXXX '' and when I hit 6 months I was able to get health insurance. I finally was able to go, and only went in 1 time for a XXXX, and showed my XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX card. Only thing I can think of is that they didn't use my insurance card and just billed me?? Or that when taking my insurance card something was entered wrong?? Possibilities are endless. Also after having that job I moved to Oregon. Recently I looked up my credit and didn't know I had a collection. I will be buying a car for my new wife and newborn in XXXX. I've contacted as many people as I can and getting nowhere. The original creditor is XXXX XXXX XXXX, and now is in collection at XXXX XXXX XXXX, and looks like they reopened the claim. Please I beg that we can resolve this. I'm getting hit hard with XXXX and then this.
11/02/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was result of identity theft
  • CA
  • 92591
Web
My name is XXXX XXXX XXXX and I am sending this request myself to address the inaccuracies on my Credit Reports. I believe I am a victim of identity theft. Due to the Pandemic, we have been facing a lot of problems in terms of financial, emotional, and physical aspects. Also, I have been hearing a lot of recent news that the XXXX Bureau is having data and system issues. I disputed the fraudulent information from my credit report. I have no idea how the theft took place. I also have no knowledge of any suspects. I did not receive any money, goods, or services as a result of identity theft. I have done many attempts to reach out to the XXXX Credit Bureau but they failed to give me any results or feedbacks about this concern. Please investigate and remove it from my personal credit file. Below is the erroneous account reporting on my Credit Report : 1, AMERICAN CAPITAL ENT XXXX Balance {$68.00}
06/23/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • CA
  • 92501
Web
I was in a car accident was XXXX and consequently had to have XXXX on XX/XX/XXXX the XXXX was performed by XXXX XXXX XXXX ( XXXX XXXX XXXX ). My case was settled in XX/XX/XXXX. At that time all medical bills and doctors ' bills were paid by XXXX and the Law Offices of XXXX XXXX XXXX I was sent a courtesy copy of what was paid and to who it was paid from both my attorney and XXXX XXXX and XXXX XXXX. Years later I get a bill from the XXXX XXXX XXXX stating that they sent my nonpayment to collections American Capital Enterprise, INC. I assured the receptionist that these expenses were paid. She informed me that I needed to pay the balance {$6000.00} At any rate they have not stop harassing me for payment that was already made to XXXX XXXX XXXX XX/XX/XXXX. They insist on payment that was already made and is now in collections. Sincerely, XXXX XXXX
05/28/2021 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Communication tactics
  • Used obscene, profane, or other abusive language
  • CA
  • 90660
Web
I have called the creditor who owns a false medical debt to inquire about the collection. The original creditor pull the amount " owed '' as it was not valid. I have called the new creditor who owns this amount American Capital Contact XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, CAXXXX ( XXXX ) XXXX To make sure it's removed and they keep saying its been referred to legal and I do not get contacted. Today I called spoke with XXXX at the company and she repeated the same thing " No one is in and I'll get a call back ''. When I asked to complain I was told to write in or fax. The write in/fax option is designed to make it harder for consumers to get heard. XXXX was condescending and had no interest in helping and this violates my consumer rights because I am being prevented from speaking to anyone. This firm needs to be investigated.
08/22/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was result of identity theft
  • CA
  • 90017
Web
I am a victim of identity theft. Due to the Corona Virus Pandemic, we are all facing which has me sitting still at home and I saw the recent news about the multiple XXXX Data breaches. I decided to look at my credit reports from the 3 major credit bureaus and found that someone had used my Identity. I have no idea how the theft took place. I also have no knowledge of any suspects. I did not receive any money, goods, or services as a result of identity theft. I contacted the Credit Bureau and told me to file an Identity Theft Report which I am doing. I appreciate your effort in getting this matter resolved. Thank you. Please let me know if you need any other information from me to block this information from my credit report. Thank you.
04/09/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Contacted me after I asked not to
  • CA
  • 90301
Web
XXXX XXXX needs Calls and Harassment to Stop. She also wants a Stay of Medical Bills debt collections and or Negative Credit Reporting. The Billing Company named America Capital keeps calling me and or contacting me for Medical Bill payment even after I have asked her to stop contacting me. The XXXX 's Representative name is XXXX. Their phone number is XXXX. The harassment has been on going for nearly a year. I am afraid to answer phone and or be sued without notice or relief. I received assistance with communication through XXXX XXXX with American Capital.He can be reached at XXXX. I also need help with getting a 6 month stay under the new federal law on medical bill and negative credit reporting or usage.
09/10/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • CA
  • 92563
Web Servicemember
This number called my cell numerous times ; XXXX called today at XXXX,, XXXX XXXX, 2015 from American Capital asking for my daughter, who is a minor. I do not owe anything. All my bills are paid. I have excellent military insurance that give me a co-pay to pay which I have to do before services are rendered. I have repeatedly made this clear. I keep getting fraudulent calls and placed into collections for co-pays form XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX of XXXX on XXXX XXXX. I have called back many times and are being harassed and bullied to pay expenses I do not owe. I have already paid several co-pays XXXX or that I do not owe to stop the XXXX billing practices, bills and phone calls.
12/06/2015 No
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Improper contact or sharing of info
  • Contacted me after I asked not to
  • HI
  • 96730
Web
I told them that they are not licensed to collect a debt in my State of Hawaii. And that they should cease collection including verifying with the bureaus and removing themselves from my credit reports as they are committing a crime against a consumer by not being licensed to collect any debts in my State. They ignore the facts and continue to blemish my perfect credit with their illegal tactics. They also have failed to respond to my letters for them to validate this debt! I guess it 's because they are breaking the law.
01/08/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 92807
Web
An item on my credit report says I owe a debt that I did not know about. As I have not had any loans or credit cards since around 2004, If this is my debt, it is over the 7 year reporting limit, and it is also a time barred debt ( Cal. Civ. Proc. Code 312 et seq. ), so it should not still be reporting on my credit report. I have disputed this item on my credit report and been told it will not be removed, but requests for proof that is my debt and when this debt was last paid, have gone unanswered.
07/10/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Threatened to contact someone or share information improperly
  • Talked to a third-party about your debt
  • CA
  • 90280
Web
American Capital Enterprises was collecting my mothers information and charged her on her credit report as a collection then my mother told them I've never been in the ambulance or called an ambulance then they asked her well is a person by such name live there at the property she said yes that's my son then they told her orbits him that owes us then so they did not have correct info on who owed who please resolve cause its hurting my credit thank you date open XX/XX/2014
12/06/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • CA
  • 92203
Web
I am disputing account number XXXX ( Balance {$160.00} ) with American Capital Enterprises because I have sent several dispute letters to the credit bureaus and it comes back verified every single time. I have contacted American Capital Enterprises to get the method of verification and debt validation on this account and they not provided me the information I have requested per the Fair Credit Reporting Act and the Fair Debt Collections Practices Act.
09/30/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • CA
  • 92592
Web
Received notice of debt with no explanation. Sent letter via certified mail within 30 days requesting validation. The response we received was a copy of a medical form called " Authorization for Use, Disclosure or Publication of Photographs '' with no financial information. Sent another letter asking for more explanation but never received a response. ACE has since reported a collections to credit agency with no explanation of the amounts, etc.
09/04/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • CA
  • 92392
Web
American Capital Ent is collecting for XXXX XXXX XXXX. I have never received any service from XXXX XXXX XXXX. I have never signed up for service that I received. American Capital Enterprises has never contacted me about this or I would have been able to tell them that I disputed the debt. They should have validated whether or not I had the debt or not before they go and just put it on my credit. I am unable to get housing because of it.
04/05/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • CA
  • 90250
Web
I have repeatedly requested that American Capital Enterprises provide me with an explanation of the amount they claim I owe, how that amount was calculated, account history. They have refused to provide this or any copies of documentation that this debt is in fact mine. Yet they have been willing to put this unverifiable debt on my credit report, as well as send me a continuing stream of collection letters. Please see attached.
02/27/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • CA
  • 92345
Web
I have repeatedly requested that American Capital Enterprises provide me with an explanation of the amount they claim I owe, how that amount was calculated, account history. They have refused to provide this or any copies of documentation that this debt is in fact mine. Yet they have been willing to put this unverifiable debt on my credit report, as well as send me a continuing stream of collection letters. Please see attached.
11/13/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • CA
  • 91945
Web
I wrote a letter to the collection agency agreeing to settle the debt if in return they remove the account from my credit report. They sent me a letter back stating that once the check/funds cleared they would remove it from my credit report. The Funds cleared on XX/XX/18. In my letter I requested that it be removed from my credit report within 10-15 days. This account is still showing on my credit report.
12/02/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • CA
  • 95961
Web Servicemember
I have asked the collection agency to provide me with documents the will confirm the debt. I lady kept cutting me off and was argumentative so I ask them to never call again until the can establish if I owe them. They continue calling 2 to 3 times a day. On Friday, XX/XX/2018, starting at XXXX pm they called me a total of 13 time back to back
08/13/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • CA
  • 90003
Web
Since XXXX XXXX American Capital Enterprises say 's that i owe them {$1900.00}. I dont recall any of these accusations. Since XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX say 's that i owe them {$580.00}. i dont recall any of these accusations either, this has to be identity theft .Because of these situations i cant open a bank account at all.
01/12/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • CA
  • 92563
Web
There were several disputes back and forth regarding service that were not rendered. A settlement of {$1200.00} was paid XX/XX/2016. They sent a new statement on XX/XX/2016 that they found new charges. I called and they said they just found them. I explained that our account has been settled and paid.
05/30/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Communication tactics
  • You told them to stop contacting you, but they keep trying
  • CA
  • 90501
Web
Ive repeatedly disputed this collection from my credit stating that I had medi-cal insurance at the time and still do. They then began to perform a HIPAA violation give me continuous harassing phone calls and text messages. I have changed my phone number numerous times because of this.
06/28/2021 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Information belongs to someone else
  • CA
  • 91722
Web
I am a victim of identity theft. The following accounts were opened without my knowledge, consent or authority. I have no idea how the theft took place, nor do I have knowledge of the suspects. I did not receive any money, goods, or services as a result of the identity theft.
09/06/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt resulted from identity theft
  • CA
  • 92127
Web
American capital enterprises, XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, XXXX, ca XXXX. phone, XXXX. The company states that this collection belong to me, which it is not accurate, please advice XXXX credit report to delete this collection from my account, my report number with XXXX is XXXX.
08/06/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Credit card debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • CA
  • 90044
Web
I PULLED MY CONSUMER REPORT AND SEE UNAUTHORIZED REPORTINGS OF ACCOUNTS ON MY REPORT. THE COMPANY IS IN VIOLATION OF : 15 USC 1681 ( a ) ( 4 ) 15 USC 1681 ( a ) ( 2 ) ( b ) 15 USC 1681 ( b ) ( a ) ( 2 ) 15 USC 1681 ( b ) ( 2 ) ( a ) 15 USC 1681 ( c ) ( 2 )
12/06/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • False statements or representation
  • Impersonated attorney, law enforcement, or government official
  • MO
  • 63104
Web
This company ( American Capital Ent ) which I have " NO Contract '' with is in violation of the FCRA. They have no legal right to collect the debt per the contract with the original company. Reporting of the debt is a violation of the FCRA.
07/08/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • CA
  • 92345
Web
I recently started a monitoring service and noticed account that do not belong to me.I never had such an account and I have never given anyone to open such an account on my behave.
02/21/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • CA
  • 92880
Web
This DEBT was paid to XXXX XXXX and the collections agency is falsely reporting that the debt is late or outstanding.
01/18/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • CA
  • 92860
Web
I have been maintaining my credit score and this collection has been handled before. This is not mine.
05/14/2016 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt resulted from identity theft
  • CA
  • 90706
Web
American Capital Enterprises is reporting a debt that I do not owe
07/06/2022 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • CA
  • 90026
Web
06/15/2022 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was result of identity theft
  • CA
  • 92154
Web
12/14/2021 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Information belongs to someone else
  • CA
  • 92009
Web
10/18/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • OH
  • 45843
Web
10/12/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened or suggested your credit would be damaged
  • CA
  • 91367
Web
10/08/2021 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem
  • Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
  • CA
  • 93550
Web
09/01/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • CA
  • 91367
Web
06/17/2021 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem
  • Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
  • CA
  • 90032
Web
06/02/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • CA
  • 90043
Web
06/01/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was result of identity theft
  • CA
  • 90044
Web
05/28/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • CA
  • 90211
Web
04/20/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • CA
  • 92019
Referral
04/19/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • CA
  • 92543
Phone
03/25/2021 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem
  • Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
  • CA
  • 92345
Web
03/09/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • CA
  • 90247
Web
01/20/2021 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • CA
  • 90221
Web
09/29/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • CA
  • 90706
Web Servicemember
09/14/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • CA
  • 90305
Postal mail
09/08/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • False statements or representation
  • Attempted to collect wrong amount
  • CA
  • 92584
Web
08/18/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • CA
  • 90305
Postal mail
06/22/2020 Yes
  • Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports
  • Credit reporting
  • Incorrect information on your report
  • Account information incorrect
  • UT
  • 84128
Web
04/03/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • CA
  • 90048
Web
03/17/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Communication tactics
  • Frequent or repeated calls
  • CA
  • 92083
Referral
02/13/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • TX
  • 77573
Phone Older American, Servicemember
01/21/2020 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • CA
  • 90019
Web
04/05/2019 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • CA
  • 92530
Web
07/30/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • CA
  • 91945
Web
07/21/2018 No
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
  • GA
  • 30016
Web
03/21/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • CA
  • 90047
Web
02/02/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • CA
  • 90249
Web
01/22/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • CA
  • 90305
Postal mail
01/18/2018 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
  • CA
  • 90232
Phone
12/13/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Took or threatened to take negative or legal action
  • Threatened or suggested your credit would be damaged
  • CA
  • 92592
Web
11/17/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical debt
  • Written notification about debt
  • Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
  • CA
  • 91944
Web Servicemember
11/15/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Auto debt
  • Attempts to collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not yours
Phone
01/18/2017 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • CA
  • 91710
Web
10/27/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 90250
Web
09/25/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • CA
  • 90047
Web
08/02/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Taking/threatening an illegal action
  • Threatened to sue on too old debt
  • CA
  • 90280
Web
06/16/2016 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • CA
  • 92870
Referral
09/17/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 92407
Web
03/18/2015 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 90061
Postal mail
11/17/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 92870
Web
09/28/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 90301
Web
07/22/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • CA
  • 90277
Web
06/24/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Disclosure verification of debt
  • Not given enough info to verify debt
  • TX
  • 76107
Web Older American
05/11/2014 No
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 92702
Web
05/09/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • I do not know
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt is not mine
  • CA
  • 90025
Web
04/23/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Medical
  • Communication tactics
  • Used obscene/profane/abusive language
  • CA
  • 91101
Web
01/13/2014 Yes
  • Debt collection
  • Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)
  • Cont'd attempts collect debt not owed
  • Debt was paid
  • CA
  • 92562
Web